We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

S.J. Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
S.J. Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 228: English reviews
miami, fl
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So first I will give you the good. This hotel is located in a very good location. You are in the middle of old SAN Juan so you don't have to get a taxi unless you want casinos. Restaurants, clubs, the fort, cruise port, shopping all within a short walk. The not so good: this is an older building that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank truthNtravel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very convenient to restaurants and shops. Nice helpful staff. The beds were not horrible but yet not that comfortable. Only complaint is that walls seem very thin. Could hear every conversation and door slam in the hallway

 Report
Helpful?
Thank candice T
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location , comfortable rooms , friendly staff. I felt very comfortable at this hotel and definitely they will see me again among their guests. Rooms are clean , nice and makes you feel good. Great value for your money. Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alon C
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have traveled to Old San Juan many times and stayed at several hotels that would be similar in price. Our first impress of the room was that we wanted to leave. The room was very hot, carpets were old, sheets and pillows were old and overall looked tired. We spoke to the lady at the front desk and she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Over all I enjoyed my stay. It was inexpensive. A bit in the older side. Nobody at the desk at night no phones in the room. Parking is a few blocks a way. But it was very cheap. We paid like 3 bucks a day. The daytime concierge Raymond is awesome. Very informative and helpful. The room was very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay D
SJSuites, Manager at S.J. Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Jay D. We hope to see you on your next trip to Puerto Rico. Raymond

Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

This place is a joke they said there's complimentary coffee but they have no cups, the smell in this place is unbelievable our first time here in Puerto Rico and this is the service weekend I will never stay at a place like this ever

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Longoria E
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Two of us went to San Juan Memorial Day weekend to celebrate my birthday. It was my first time in Puerto Rico and didn't much care for anything spectacular in a hotel choice. My main thing was location...which this hotel is smack in the middle of everything important. We did book this hotel through a package on Kayak. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SheKnowsOk
Sierra Madre, California
Reviewed 30 May 2016

1st night: no hot water in our room. Lumpy mattress. Night clerk did not change our room. Next morning: day clerk changed us to the adjacent room, that had plenty of hot water and a comfortable bed. Bare minimum supplies: no drinking glasses; one tiny wastebasket, in bathroom. No windows. Room rate was very inexpensive. AC worked. Really not a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonathan K
SJSuites, Manager at S.J. Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review, we really appreciate it. Apologies for any inconvenience in the room changes. We are striving to better our guest experience. Thank you for letting us know, your opinion helps us. We do hope you return sometime in the near future. Regards, The S.J Suites Team.

Monroe, New Jersey
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Great location for a night's stay before going on a cruise. It is conveniently located in Old San Juan, close to sights, restaurants and shopping. The staff is friendly. The negatives are no windows in the room, a/c is controlled at desk and very spartan. The "suite" is one room. We did ask several times to have the temperature adjusted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CCH1223
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We cancelled our trip a month before due to the Zika virus and pregnancy. The CDC and our doctor told us to not travel. Unfortunately we booked our first and last night here. S.J. Suits is the only hotel that would not refund our money. The other hotels/airline/excursions all gave us full refunds. The owner and manager were not helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank katelholmes

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
893 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.3 km away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#12 of 46 in San Juan
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#27 of 46 in San Juan
562 reviews
0.2 km away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
482 reviews
0.2 km away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#4 of 46 in San Juan
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Old San Juan. Enjoy the rich history of Old San Juan. Old San Juan has an abundance of museums, stores, excellent restaurants, open air café, tree shaded plazas, majestic homes and buildings the let you appreciate its old beauty and architectonic peculiarity.Whether for a day or a week, by staying in S.J. Suites Hotel you are assuring that you’ll have a stay full of interesting things to do in Old San Juan, declared as World Heritage Site by UNESCO in (1983). Explore & enjoy the amazing array of points of interest in Old San Juan and then come and rest in one of our comfortable rooms.We're also conveniently located close to the Cruise Piers. There are over 40 points of interest steps away from S.J. Suites Hotel… so get ready to explore! ... more   less 

Additional Information about S.J. Suites

Address: Fortaleza St. #253 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Price Range: $159 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — S.J. Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your S.J. Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s.j. Hotel San Juan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from S.J. Suites staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
SAN JOSE
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from S.J. Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have problem with noise ask an inner rooms as they have rooms which are facing the street.”
 of 5 bubbles alonc677, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“check that hot water is available. check for comfort of mattress. check that bathroom sink is securely attached to floor.”
 of 5 bubbles mrhipster2, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with windows.”
 of 5 bubbles CCH1223, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The rooms overlooking Fortaleza can be a bit noisy at night (car noise and passers-by)”
 of 5 bubbles kevinbduff, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Stayed on level 4 - found the room to be quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 871lanaj, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay