We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Horizon Boutique Resort

Save
Share
Carretara 996 Km 4.3, 00765 Puerto Rico
Lowest prices for your stay
US$225
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-09-16
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$225
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-09-16
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUS$225
eDreamsUS$225
Orbitz.comUS$225
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (174)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (28)

About

#6 of 6 hotels in Isla de Vieques
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set on the island's southern coastal road, less than a mile west of Esperanza on Vieques Island. The Blue Horizon Boutique Resort is perfectly situated on a bluff overlooking the waters of the Caribbean Sea; 800m of ocean front coastline. Its centerpiece is an airy seafront house, built in a Mediterranean style in 1975, whose soaring living area opens onto a view of the blue horizon. It's 10 air-conditioned rooms. Our restaurant, Carambola and Blue Moon Bar open 7-days a week year-round! Massages are available in-room, cliff or pool side by our selective therapists.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Internet
Pool
Infinity pool
Bar / lounge
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
437Reviews16Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 224
  • 93
  • 37
  • 37
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sarah S wrote a review Apr. 6
New York2 contributions
We stayed at Blue Horizon for 5 nights with our teenagers. We originally booked one room through Expedia but upon arrival realized we would need two rooms. Thankfully one room (closer to reception) was available. The property is gorgeous but feels a bit unkept. Horses roaming around is nice but the amount of poop that no one seem to ever pick up is a bit gross. The restaurant was clearly understaffed and despite the servers’ best efforts, service was long. What bothered us what the passive agressive attitude of one of the lady at the front desk (lulu?). We started on the wrong foot when she asked us to share our kids emails and phone numbers for Covid tracking. Our kids are minors so I added my details but the attitude I received was not professional. The quality of service is not on par for the price paid. The pool was not well kept (empty can of beer left for 5 days), the gardens which are beautiful also could use some tlc. Over all, feels like a hotel that relies on its gorgeous location but unable to provide the service you would expect. No cleaning of our room for the duration of our stay (5 days). Kids room was serviced once (bed made) but no vacuuming despite sand on the floor. Other hotels are able to manage some cleaning service in times of covid... Ants in our room (Josephina) which other guests have reported. No car rental available, due to gas shortage during our stay. Slow service for beverages (hello expired Diet Coke from last year with no apology!) No offer of a glass of water upon arrival or at any other point during our stay. Just minimum service. In conclusion, a mixed experience despite the beautiful location. Clearly understaffed and could use a management overhaul...we have to wonder if we would have received better service had we booked through their website versus Expedia...
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
WilderC2 wrote a review Feb. 2021
Miami, Florida2 contributions
They call me 2 day before my arrive to let me know the only way to get to the island was by plane, I try to book a plane but was not available date because was short notice so when o try to cancel my reservation they was no able to help me and they charge me the full about of my reservation they should put this on they website for people to know about the ferry is not working for Turistas because for COVID 19 and only way to get the island is by plane
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ivelisse Medina, General Manager at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Responded Mar. 6, 2021
Dear Wilder, We are very sorry you feel that way. Upon verifying with our guest service agent you were contacted in fact 5 days ahead of your arrival date. Our guest service agent was in contact on regards of your transportation methods and offered to schedule your flights and ferry transportation and the air taxi charter as stated by you looking forward the most economic transportation alternative. Unfortunately people doesn't take time to understand terms and policies as well as type of reservations under non refundable category. Our beautiful Island has multiple ways to get into being the most used the little aircrafts. Respectfully,
Read more
Coco F wrote a review Jan. 2021
2 contributions3 helpful votes
I booked hotel for one night getaway after we relocated to fajardo. After booking I realized the ferry is not available for non residents anymore so I contacted the hotel to cancel. A hard no with no sorry not sorry or anything. Honestly I love to support local businesses but this hotel’s attitude made me really disappointed and disgusted. If they can simply gave me a call back saying it’s their policy and they felt sorry I’ll let it pass and they can keep the money, after all it’s only $200. Called 10+ times no reply with this number they provided (787) 741-3318 on their website. Also they reported my first review addressing the issue because “The guest never stayed there” So I took a charter plane to visit them yesterday just I can write this review and it’s even more disappointed to see a small room with a strong odor possibly from smoking or mold(room Josephina). The property is nice but a 7mins drive to the main area with food and drinks. Horse poops everywhere on the grass mind your steps! The girl in the front desk was nice enough to chat but the poor management really doesn’t deserve any stars. I feel bad for people work there too I highly doubt they will be treated better. It’s purely sad just to see a nice area with bad energy. Be my guest and deal with them you will see yourself!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Christiana C wrote a review Nov. 2020
15 contributions7 helpful votes
The view is outstanding, but the rooms and staff could use improvement. The staff was very friendly but weren’t aware what was and was not open restaurant wise on the island and recommended numerous places for lunch that opened later in the day. I had to ask the the staff for bedding for the pull out couch for our third guest. They brought a top and fitted sheet and a throw blanket, but no comforter or actual blanket. I had to ask for that comforter 3 more times and was eventually given another throw blanket. Unrelated, I had to ask three times through out the day for more towels. The room is small with nice art but no TV or refrigerator. I wanted to reserve the King Suite with Ocean view but was suggested I reserve a lesser room as they will most likely upgrade me because of the slow period. Received no upgrade and were given the farthest room on the property (with my handicap mother) and hardly any ocean view because there was a large party at the resort at the same time. Because of this large party, the restaurant was closed for breakfast, lunch and dinner for two of our three night stay. Also, there was a cute puppy at the resort that belonged to a staffer, coincidentally there was dog poop left on the entrance sidewalk for a full 24 hours. We walked around it many times, I refuse to believe no one else saw it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Krystin Garcia, General Manager at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Responded Nov. 28, 2020
Hi Christiana, Thanks for your feedback- We were sure to provide you with the necessary towels and blankets upon your request. We do not advertise TVs on any of our websites. You agreed to pay a best available room rate which we did let you know, based on what you preferred to pay meant that we can give you the best available room possible at that time. We did not receive a request or a notification prior to arrival or upon your arrival that you needed a handicap room, if you would have let us know we would have been happy to move you closer. Our restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner and with current restaurant regulations only allowing us to operate due to executive orders. As you noticed upon your arrival to the property we do have wildlife (such as horses) roaming so at any time they may pass through the sidewalk. We hope you enjoyed your babymoon in Puerto Rico.
Read more
Anne R wrote a review Feb. 2020
Lancaster, Pennsylvania8 contributions4 helpful votes
just came for dinner, did not realize hotel had reopened. spectacular location that feels very upscale - overlooking the water. ceviche and spicy margaritas are some of the best we have had. very friendly and attentive service. this place is a real gem and not to be missed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$242 - US$373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
blue horizon boutique hotel isla de vieques
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Inn on the Blue Horizon
LOCATION
CaribbeanPuerto RicoIsla de Vieques
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Blue Horizon Boutique Resort?
Nearby attractions include Caracas Beach (7.8 km), Bioluminescent Mosquito Bay (4.2 km), and Balneario Sun Bay (2.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Blue Horizon Boutique Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coqui Fire Cafe, El Quenepo, and Bigotes Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Blue Horizon Boutique Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Puerto Ferro Lighthouse (7.8 km).
Does Blue Horizon Boutique Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.