We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Casa de Tortuga

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Casa de Tortuga
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Start your review of Casa de Tortuga
 Click to rate
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Casa de tortuga is set in the very best location on the island in my opinion. It is just 1 block from the water on the Esperanza side. Its close to most of the restaurants and 2 little stores. The hostess was very nice and made sure we had all that we needed. They have a nice pool and an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
Crystal, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We originally planned on staying in Vieques for 2 nights, but ended up loving it so much we stayed an extra night. Our first 2 nights we stayed in a room upstairs (I don't know the name of the rooms) tht has a private patio and was beautifully decorated with an ocean theme. It was beautiful, peaceful, and serene. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darcy G
Management response:

Hi Darcy! Thank you so much for giving us your feedback! It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We've fixed the water pressure issue in the Hidden Gem and we are currently having installed a new inverter air conditioner that will definitely cool the room a whole lot better! We really wish to see you back with us...

Harrington Park
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at Casa de Tortuga in Vieques for 4 nights in February 2017. It was perfect! We requested 2 bedrooms . The location was perfect. We had breakfast at Trade Winds on the corner overlooking the Caribbean every morning and walked along the strip for dinner every night. We rented a jeep for our daily beach...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna D
Management response:

Thank you so much for your feedback! We definitely wish to see you back here with us! It's always a pleasure to serve you and make your experience as wonderful as it can be! Hope to see you soon! Remember you are always welcomed here!

Reviewed 21 February 2017

Nice people, we meet Veronica and She was very friendly and help us with all the questions and plans Air conditioner room, nice bed, you may have breakfast in a bakery close by Has small pool, which I do believe is not needed with so many good beaches around It is at La Esperanza area so can walk to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alfredo G
Management response:

Thank you so much for choosing us and letting us know about your experience!!! We are so happy that you had a pleasant stay with us!! We can't wait to welcome you back here with us!!! You are always welcomed here!!! Remember we please to serve, so if there is anything we can help you in reservations, recommendations of any...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I have been to Vieques a few times and have stayed everywhere from private homes, to the W and Tradewinds.. Casa de Tortuga was definitely overall value/experience top notch. The location cannot be beat.. just a stone throw from the nightlife on the Malecon and close to my favorite beaches. The rooms are adorable and include cute light fixtures and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JDlovestoviajar
Management response:

We are so glad you had a great experience with us and we definitely are more than eager to welcome you back again! Thank you for choosing us and even more for extending with us!! We really hope to see you here back again!

Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the "Yatch club" unit from Dec 26-29. When we arrived the first impression was that the unit had not been opened in a while nor refreshed for our arrival. We were a party of 6 and there were only 2 towels left for us. The filters of the air conditioner consoles were completely covered with dust. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
Management response:

Hello Liz, Thank you for your review. However we just had a check out the same day you checked in, not sure why it did not feel that it had been open for a while. What we accustom to do is leave one roll on the holder and one extra roll on the shelve. However we are more than happy...

Trenton, Michigan
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Warm, clean, pool. Awesome staff. Nice room. Affordable. Like a little bit of paradise in paradise. Actually could have stayed in this micro paradise all day long and never left the gates- it was that relaxing!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jafgarlitz
Management response:

We're so glad you had a wonderful stay with us! We can't wait to welcome you back with us again! Don't forget we have the pay three nights and stay four promotion, feel free to contact us directly for your next stay! It was our pleasure having you stay with us!

Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Great location. Decent place. We were there for a week in March, 2 families with connecting room which was nice. My only complaint was no one ever cleaned our rooms the entire stay. Would have liked the floors swept free of sand. Managers were nice enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
Management response:

We're so glad you enjoyed your experience with us, we can't wait to welcome you back with us again. We apologize for not having housekeeping at that time, however we fixed that problem and now once you stay a week you will have housekeeping clean your room, and if you stay less than a week housekeeping can clean your room...

philly
Reviewed 7 April 2016

This was a perfect location for my family while staying in Esperanza. This is situated about one block away from the Malecon. The location is more like an apartment complex with different sized units. Our hostess Eith was very welcoming. As I sat at the pool at the end of every day adventure, prior to going out for the night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank finedinedude
Boston (well, an hour south)
Reviewed 4 April 2016

This place is great! It is close to the main strip in Esperanza where all the shops/restaurants are located. It is a block away so it is quiet. They have a pool and it is also close to a bakery. Yummy. Next to the bakery is a little store where you can buy snacks and drinks. The rooms are cute...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank su2doz

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (35)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
7.5 km away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
365 reviews
0.5 km away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
224 reviews
1.1 km away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,779 reviews
6.9 km away
SeaGate Hotel
SeaGate Hotel
#3 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
393 reviews
0.1 km away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#2 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Casa de Tortuga is set in the heart of Esperanza, just a half block away from the waters edge and a 5 minute walk to all of the towns restaurants and bars. We have studio, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom units, which include either a kitchenette or a full kitchen. The grounds include common areas with barbecue grills, and wonderful pool for cooling off after a day at the beach. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa de Tortuga

Address: #6 Calle Hucar | BO Esperanza, 00765, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $153 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa de Tortuga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Casa de Tortuga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Tortuga Hotel Isla De Vieques
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa de Tortuga staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Casa de Tortuga staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Water pressure in upstairs rooms is HORRIBLE. Roosters are LOUD!”
  • Beautiful ocean themed room upstairs. ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE WATER PRESSURE. a/c not great
  • Beautiful ocean themed room upstairs. ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE WATER PRESSURE. a/c not great
  • Beautiful ocean themed room upstairs. ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE WATER PRESSURE. a/c not great
  • smaller room by pool. No TV.
  • Beautiful ocean themed room upstairs. ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE WATER PRESSURE. a/c not great
  • Beautiful ocean themed room upstairs. ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE WATER PRESSURE. a/c not great
  • Beautiful ocean themed room upstairs. ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE WATER PRESSURE. a/c not great
  • Beautiful ocean themed room upstairs. ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE WATER PRESSURE. a/c not great
DarcyG366, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I had poolside room on 1st floor - AC worked great”
JDlovestoviajar, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If a couple, we liked #3 Casita upstairs - private and can hanh out shared balcony outside”
MarbellaBeach, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
“room 4 is above room 1,. they are both closest to the pool. And furthest from the road.”
gmarc13, 24 Feb 2015 | Read review
“No real tip needed here all rooms seem to be great.”
DRPalone, 11 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates