We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

East Winds

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
East Winds
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

783 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for East Winds
See the most recent reviews
Showing 772: English reviews
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Wow, what a hotel. The staff were absolutely wonderful and nothing was too much trouble for them. They were so helpful, (always smiling) and made you feel very special. They were happy to arrange any trips you wanted to go on even if it was something out of the ordinary. I am sure the manager must be really proud of...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank LizM186230
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

DREAM REVIEW – THANK YOU Wow – what a review! Thank you very much for your enthusiastic posting relating to your recent stay at East Winds Inn. Everything you comment on, from the “absolutely wonderful staff” who were always smiling and clearly out to please, the “wonderful, airy and spacious rooms” that had everything you needed, the “beautiful grounds” of...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

First time in Caribbean, so unsure what to expect. But St. Lucia and East Winds have both met our best expectations in all respects. We have just completed the most relaxing one week break we could ever imagine. Booked via BA holidays and was upgraded to deluxe cottage with aircon. In fact never used aircon as ceiling fan more than...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank approaching60
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

THANK YOU FOR THE LOVELY REVIEW OF A WEEK IN PARADISE Any review which begins by stating that you have just completed the most relaxing one week break you could ever imagine has to be a good one, and yours certainly is. We greatly appreciate all the kind comments and recognition of detail that made your trip so enjoyable, and...

Oxford, UK
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We choose to go to EWI after our original honeymoon destination caught fire and we didn't want to change our travel dates. We wanted, small (no more than 40ish rooms), all inclusive and no kids. Our travel agent spoke highly of it and we had considered it when doing our research so we set off happy in our choice. We...

 Report
Helpful?
18Thank Lennox'smom
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

THANKS FOR THE VERY GOOD REVIEW We appreciate the review of your recent honeymoon stay at East Winds Inn, where you chose to come after your initial selection of a Caribbean location experienced an unfortunate fire. We are pleased we could accommodate you on such short notice, as there is typically a lull in hotel occupancies shortly after the New...

Ashtead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is a small resort where you really can relax. The staff are delightful and they make a real effort to please you. The food, cocktails and wine are excellent. There are no queues and there is no scramble for sun beds. The most stressful activity you are likely to encounter is whether to choose the pool or beach; the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John W
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

RELAXED AND ENJOYED YOUR REVIEW – THANK YOU Your review of the second family visit to East Winds Inn is greatly appreciated, particularly the manner in which you highlight the relaxing aspect of the hotel and the choice of activities. Comments pertaining to the delightful staff and their efforts to please are also recognized, as were your enjoyment of the...

Reviewed 13 January 2013

We had a wonderful time. The service was superb and warm. The food was generally delicious particularly the produce. The accommodations were top rate. We loved the semi outdoor but very private shower. The grounds were like a botanical garden. The beach was very inviting and the swimming area was gentle and quite large. We used the Hobie cat and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jesse K
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

A WONDERFUL REVIEW – THANK YOU We greatly appreciate your candid and favourable review covering your recent stay at East Winds Inn. Your style is concise and to the point, and your overall tone and remarks are most flattering – especially relating to the service being “superb and warm”. All the staff at East Winds will be most happy to...

London, England
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This is a lovely place. It's not earth-shatteringly stunning in the way that Jade Mountain is. It's a cosier, simpler, gentler experience. The staff are really exceptional. The food is good (not mind-blowing, but good). The beach is very pleasant and, apparently, this is the only small hotel on the beach in St Lucia. The other beach-front places having been...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank BLJ
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

THANKS FOR THE SPECIAL REVIEW This is a lovely review. It encapsulates all the important elements of East Winds Inn accurately and with feeling – particularly the human characteristics that make it tick. Receiving such positive feedback from a seasoned traveler and reviewer is both gratifying and meaningful for any potential guest, with emphasis on some of the adjectives which...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I am usually a "cup half full gal" and from all the fabulous reviews on Trip Advisor, I thought I had it figured out, East Winds was going to be perfect for a 6 day get away, on my own for peace and quiet and from what I was charged, I was expecting to receive reasonable luxury and good service....

 Report
Helpful?
21Thank FreeGal23
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

CUP HALF EMPTY REVIEW GOOD, BUT CERTAINLY NOT GREAT We acknowledge your review of the six days spent at East winds Inn over the recent Christmas period, and are genuinely disappointed that you did not have the total experience of your expectations. The Christmas Season is viewed as a very special time of year for the resort, with all the...

Birmingham
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My wife and I visited East Winds for 10 days in summer 2012, having spent the past 3 summers at different resorts in Antigua. The primary reason for choosing East Winds were all of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, and knowing how much stock the resort places in the reviews I've given it 4/5 with some trepidation (!) but ultimately...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank PaulandJane10
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

THANKS FOR THE “VERY GOOD” REVIEW FROM YOUR TRIP LAST SUMMER We appreciate receiving our first review for the 2013 calendar year, albeit based on a very good experience dating back to June 2012. The minor items you have specifically commented upon that held you back from granting an excellent review have been dealt with - quite some time ago...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Like many of the other reviewers on this board, we had read the trip advisor posts and figured everything people said was too good to be true. Well, it wasn't. Following our wedding earlier this month, my wife and I headed to East Winds for a much needed 9 day vacation and by the time we departed, we agreed we...

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank Jim G
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

THANK YOU FOR THE PERFECT “SPOT ON” HONEYMOON REVIEW As we have been by so many other reviews before receipt of this special posting relating to your honeymoon experience at East Winds Inn, we are again humbled by the sheer magnitude of positive comments which we too find too good to be true, yet appreciate so gratefully. It is only...

Mayfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I went to East Winds to recover from a recent bereavement, and could not have been more impressed. The beachside location is idyllic, and the food and wine is superb. East Winds attracts a delightful clientele, mostly English, many of whom have returned again and again. There were many couples, who were incredibly kind and welcoming to me while at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SusanStreet
George R, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review

THANK YOU FOR THE “SUPERB” REVIEW We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at East Winds Inn which was initiated by such a difficult situation as the need to help recover from the loss of a loved one. We are flattered that you chose East Winds for this type of meaningful getaway,...

1,100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (832)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (186)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (99)
Viewed
View from Room (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Dining (101)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
2:21
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (296)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (231)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Beach (40)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (44)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
24.7 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
879 reviews
12.2 km away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
27.7 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
1,965 reviews
3.6 km away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
805 reviews
35.9 km away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 

Additional Information about East Winds

Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Price Range: $802 - $1,635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, West Indies and Agoda so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from East Winds staff and other travellers.
68 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (68)

Questions? Get answers from East Winds staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Suite is superb.”
 of 5 bubbles davidlP226HC, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“This is a small resort, all cottages are wonderfully placed.”
 of 5 bubbles 333beachgirl333, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front mini-suite is beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The cottages are fab, further from the beach, pool & restaurant but are set in such stunning gardens that we loved the walk through them”
 of 5 bubbles sarasassy2015, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are individual cottages. We had a garden room very close to the pool. All are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles N6909DVjackie, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5