Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Traveller (3576)
Panorama at the Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (1043)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#3 of 4 resorts in Soufriere
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St. Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 130 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Cottages, Villas, and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pools, four poster beds, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalized butler service. Two stunning white sand beaches, a beautiful Rainforest Spa with treehouse treatment rooms, a full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Aerobics
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Luxury

Location

Val Des Pitons La Baie de Silence, Soufriere St. Lucia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 57 out of 100
57
George F. L. Charles Airport
22.5 km
See all flights
Hewanorra Airport
15.6 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,831 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled between the iconic Pitons, Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, is celebrated for its luxurious amenities, pristine beaches, and a spectacular setting that captivates guests. Travelers frequently commend the immaculate cleanliness and the resort's atmosphere, adorned with personalized details. While some visitors note the prices are steep, the exceptional service and lavishly appointed rooms with private pools often feel worth the splurge. Despite occasional service hiccups, the resort's commitment to a high-quality experience is evident, making it a popular choice for those seeking an indulgent getaway.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Luxurious
Rooms
Luxurious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Lavish

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
2,831Reviews354Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,169
  • 382
  • 162
  • 69
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jonathan R wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom89 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sugar Beach (FKA Jalousie) is big resort with around 100 villas scattered over a large area of forested hill side overlooking the pitons and a beautiful bay. The rooms mostly have private plunge pools and sun decks, and are situated thoughtfully to provide privacy. Although some are high up the hill, the hotel runs a constant shuttle service between the rooms, beaches and restaurants, which you can call via a dedicated mobile phone to your butler who will arrange collection as well as sorting out restaurant and taxi bookings and anything else you need to arrange. The views are spectacular, the sea is crystal clear, the coral reef right by the beach is a marine reserve with beautiful fish. Food is generally vet good - breakfast on the terrace overlooking the bay, lunch at beach bars or the bayside restaurant, and a more formal ‘Great House’ restaurant open in the evenings. All this comes at a corresponding price tag even after you have paid for the room - ($175 for a pair of beach shorts?!) the beach BBQ for example is $90 per head - but was far better than others I have had in the Caribbean. The other thing to mention is that given the mountainous terrain it is impractical to walk anywhere from the resort, you will need tiger taxis, so apart from specific trips we mostly stayed at either of the two beaches or by our pool. The views from all these were truly stunning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MarkSterner_SBV, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Dear JonathanR2237, We would like to thank you for the lovely and detailed review provided about your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, especially the service provided by our butler service, our location between the Piton mountains, our dining offer and the private plunge pools in our Villas. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to St. Lucia. Sincerely, Mark Sterner General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
danandev wrote a review Nov 2020
New York, NY4 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and two children (boys, 14 and 11) stayed at the Sugar Beach Viceroy for a special birthday for my wife. We did this in Nov 2020 during COVID protocols, That said, the resort and staff went out of their way to ensure we had a relaxing trip. We reserved a 2BR residence, and were pleased upon arrival to be upgraded to a beautiful 3BR residence. The villa was up on the 2nd level of houses above the beach with an unobstructed ocean view. There is a good size lap pool behind the house though not warmed, but it didn't take long to get used to. A hidden outdoor shower complemented the outside. There was also an outdoor dining area where we had a few meals and the room service team set the table up so nicely. We had also pre-ordered food prior to our arrival, and the fridge and cabinets were stocked with all sorts of things to make us happy during our 4 day stay.

One thing to understand about the Viceroy is there isn't a true main 'hotel' anywhere. In fact, check in took place right at our villa, as did check out. There is a main reception in a small building, but no real reason to go there. There are three main restaurants on site - the breakfast area in the 'main building' which was lovely, the Bayside restaurant right down by the beach which had the best food, and the upscale dining restaurant, where we found the food crazy over priced (and we're from NY) and the service just ok. Stick with Bayside for most meals - it was fine.

The beach is picture perfect, though lots of rocks in the shallow part of the water. Water sports were the normal fare of stand up boards, kayaks, and snorkeling, but the location between the two pitons made the water smooth so easy to use and paddle around. We rented a catamaran for a half day sail one afternoon which picked us up at the hotel and dropped us otf, which was great.

To use the gym it was a huge hike from our villa, almost a mile, so you wind up taking these little bus shuttles all around. And there is no really flat ground given you're on the side of mountains, so running/etc was on treadmills vs roads or the beach. But the gym was fine, and largely empty during our stay.

It is a beautiful resort, largely catering to couples, but we had a great stay. About 50 minutes from the airport by shuttle, so be ready for a long windy road to get there.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Sterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Responded Dec 5, 2020
Good Day danandev, Thank you for sharing your glowing feedback about your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort and a very happy birthday to your wife from all of us. Our Residences offer wonderful views of the ocean and majestic pitons, we are happy you were pleased the upgrade and the amenities catered to your needs. We are committed to ensuring our guests have stays that are fulfilling and memorable and I am delighted that this was the case for you and your family. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our oceanfront oasis. Best Regards, Mark Sterner General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Danyel F wrote a review Sep 2020
Cincinnati, Ohio11 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I wish I could give sugar beach 10 stars ! My fiancé and I had the most magical time. The efforts and steps they took to ensure safety and cleanliness during Covid was impeccable from sanitizing beach chairs to requiring temperature checks when leaving room. Bianca at the spa was absolutely amazing, very knowledgeable and the sweetest. Karen’s service was thorough and high class. Karen has a great sense of humor and makes anyone feel comfortable. The food was delicious and also accommodated off menu item requests. We stayed in a cottage nestled in the rainforest. Highly recommend Sugar Beach and will most certainly return!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Sterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Responded Sep 14, 2020
Dear Danyel, We would like to thank you for choosing Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, for your recent stay in St. Lucia and for recommending our property to other TripAdvisor members. We are delighted to read you and your fiancé had a great stay, enjoying not only our facilities, but also the service provided by our staff. It is heart-warming to read that Bianca from our Rainforest Spa, and our butler Karen went above and beyond to ensure you felt comfortable and provided assistance during your stay. We are also happy to hear our cuisine lived up to your expectations. Our culinary team works hard to ensure that our guests are always satisfied and have a memorable dining experience. It is gratifying that you thoroughly enjoyed what we had to offer. Once again, thank you for your feedback. On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Best Regards, Mark Sterner General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Isabella Garofanelli wrote a review Apr 2021
Miami, Florida125 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Based on the site of an 18th century sugar plantation, this luxury property really is sweet. In fact, my stay here was a dream come true.

Set amongst a jaw-dropping landscape of pristine beaches, lush green mountains and bright blue sea, the Viceroy Sugar Beach resort is truly a treat for the senses.

My villa was a serene haven where I felt instantly at home. The staff provided a number of thoughtful touches that made me feel so welcome at the property, and were extremely covid conscious, providing hand sanitizer wherever possible and going above and beyond to keep guests safe.

I have to mention the cocktails here, too - they were a work of art! After all, it wouldn’t be a trip to St. Lucia without a healthy dose of rum.

There were plenty of fun activities available too, including hiking in the Pitons, visiting the Rainforest Spa (of course), ziplining and horseback riding. You can come here and totally relax in complete tranquility, or fill your days with wholesome outdoor activities - it’s up to you.

Thanks to everyone at Viceroy Sugar Beach for your warm hospitality and for making my stay so special.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Sterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Responded May 19, 2021
What an amazing review! Thank you for the detail and time you spent writing this. I can see you love our island as much as we do. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luisa Z wrote a review Jan 2021
15 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the most incredible time at the Viceroy Sugarbeach in September. From the moment we arrived at the resort, everything was absolute perfection. The driver the hotel coordinated for us drove us straight to our villa, where our butler met us to check us in. Being able to check in directly in your villa without the hassle of waiting and going to reception was the perfect way to start our vacation. Our villa, 505, was very private since it was located at the far end corner of that section of villas, so it had the most spectacular views of the piton as well as the bay. Everything inside was immaculate and beautifully decorated, and we were greeted by local rum cocktails. Our butler Gary went above and beyond and helped us with dinner reservations, boat reservations, and arranged a private dinner at the beach. He was always available and happy to help with anything we needed.
The property itself is breathtaking, nestled in the middle of the pitons and surrounded by the luscious rainforest. The beach was beautiful, and I really liked the round floaters they have in the ocean where you’re able to get in, have a drink and relax. They also have free snorkeling gear as well as other water sports. When we went there was only one restaurant open, which wasn’t a big deal as there is a good variety of food. Since we couldn’t leave the resort as St Lucia was still in the reopening phase, we took full advantage of the facilities going to the spa and playing tennis. I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention Kaime, a wonderful server we had a few times including at our private dinner.

In terms of COVID, our airline changed our flight twice to different dates, and the hotel was very accommodating to our changing itinerary. I’m grateful for their flexibility especially during the pandemic. We felt very safe in the hotel as everyone wears masks in public areas like the restaurant, spa, gym, bathrooms, etc, and there were hand sanatizers readily available everywhere, including the shuttles we took around the resort.
I cannot recommend the Viceroy Sugarbeach enough — the people, the service, the views, the beach, and overall property were something special and made for an unforgettable vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Sterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Responded Feb 7, 2021
Good Day 128luisaz, Thank you for your 5 star rating for Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort and for sharing your positive comments. I am glad our accommodations, amenities and offerings more than met your expectations and that your stay was nothing short of perfection. It is a pleasure to know that Gary and Kaime helped to enrich your stay. They will be commended for a job well done. Please know that your comments and your business have been greatly appreciated. On behalf of the entire team, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our oceanfront oasis. Best Regards Mark Sterner General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GLB wrote a review Mar 2021
New York City, New York7 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I enjoyed our second visit to this wonderful hotel just as much as we did our first.

We were definitely concerned about travelling during the pandemic. Our arrival to St Lucia was well organized, and we felt safe from the time our plane landed to the time we arrived at our room. The hotel even arrange for guests to have a COVID test before leaving the hotel to return back home.

We were upgarded to a Beach Bungalow, which was super appreciated and magnificent in every way!

Our butler Michaela greeted us with a warm "Welcome Back my Honies" and our room had a bottle of champagne with "Welcome Back" written out in flower petals on the table. How nice is that?!

We enjoyed the food. Yes, you can probably skip The Great Room (for now at least), but we met the super friendly new F&B Director Christian who assured us that the experience would be totally upgraded when the resort reopens after their extensive renovation. His experience before coming to Sugar Beach is quite impressive, so we are excited to see what he does moving forward. Other than that, the food gets a solid A.

What makes this place stand out above other hotels in the Caribbean (other than the jaw-dropping views) is the people who work there. Nice and genuinely caring does not begin to express how terrific we find the service.

So many people to thank, but of special note (other than Michaela) are Clian, Linus, Adriana, Nevious, Annetta, Luanette, Simeon, and Zenith (please forgive us if we spelled anyone's name incorrectly).

A HUGE Thank You to everyone at Sugar Beach! We will be back for sure!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Beach Bungalow for sure!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Sterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Responded Apr 5, 2021
Good Day Gregory B, On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort a second time. We are delighted to learn that your return visit was as memorable as the first for all the right reasons. We are delighted that the special touches and attention to detail provided by our team helped to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. I will share your glowing comments with the individuals mentioned and commend them for a job well done. They clearly provided those extra special touches that enhanced your stay. Once again, your loyalty, comments and business are greatly appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again. Best Regards Mark Sterner General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ines B wrote a review Nov 2020
London, United Kingdom19 contributions30 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We've been here a few years back and loved it.
Owner ship changed. When we decided to return prices standard and covid information was only regarding watersports. We paid $15.000 not including flights.

When we arrived the house was closed. House being the main building that has the cane bar and breakfast as well as the Japanese restaurant and library. This was never mentioned to us.

You either had your villa or the beach and pool.

We had an all inclusive package and unless you were down at the beach you would need to pay the room service charge.

If it wasn't for the restaurant manager of the beach side breakfast/ lunch/dinner place I would have been concerned for my fiance who doesn't like everything. She really saved the day by increasing our menu options. I'm sorry I forgot your name and pronouncing it wrong several times. She is amazing.

Staff was generally amazing! Except when the new Teutonic management showed up, you could sense a drop in atmosphere (being German myself I'm allowed to say that).

There wasn't a welcome beverage, there wasn't a small bottle of Gay Rum in the room, there wasn't a mosquito net in the bedroom where we got bitten in the morning and squashed them bloody, they sprayed for mosquitos once in 8 days.

Please note the villas are gorgeous but the doors have gaps, mosquitos can easily get in.

It's still one of the most beautiful places in St. Lucia but maybe not worth the extra buck.

To long, didn't read: staff is great, management changed and is aweful.

P.s. Dengue is aweful but rarely dangerous.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TDN wrote a review Aug 2020
New York City, New York3 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Sugar mill rooms need a serious update, after complaining we were moved to a bungalow that was very nice (but overpriced). Even though the hotel’s occupancy was poor due to COVID, it took them 2 days to move us.
-
Poor food, expensive, limited menu, low quality. We were not informed that the restaurants would be closed, and there would be only the Bayside Diner open, until after we arrived...
-
We had arranged a transfer with the hotel, however the driver who picked us up at the airport asked us to pay cash, that we did and later on the hotel informed us that we paid too much?!? Was the round trip from & to the airport cost also included in our bill? We don’t know, we haven’t received a copy of our bill yet, 4 days later, they said that it would be emailed...
-
On a positive note,
Beautiful beach & views
Most of the staff are very nice
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Sterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Responded Aug 12, 2020
Dear Inspiration552911, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. It’s lovely to learn that our beautiful setting left a lasting impression, as did the attention provided by most of the team members. I am truly sorry for the disappointment that you highlighted with the room category you booked for your stay. We are; however, pleased to learn the upgrade to the Luxury Beachfront was perfect for you. After looking into what transpired with your arrival transfer, there seemed to have been a slight overage which will be reimbursed. We have also sent over your final folio which shows that you were only billed for one way transfer. We apologize sincerely for the experiences you have described and welcome feedback such as yours so that we can improve on areas highlighted and help to enhance the overall satisfaction of our guests. Again, thank you for your feedback. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Best Regards, Mark Sterner General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tanya C wrote a review Jan 2021
London, United Kingdom31 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
To say that Sugar Beach and it’s staff were amazing is an understatement. My now husband and I visited in December, but we had originally planned our holiday for November. We were planning both our holiday and an eloping in one, and the lovely Lori was amazing in helping us change our booking (a number of times) when the Uk went into another round of lockdown right when we were meant to travel. Also before arriving I was working with also Anisha and between the two ladies they helped my husband and I plan a beautiful wedding for two.
Travelling during COVID had its complexities, but majority of the time at the resort there were only small reminders with daily temperature checks and masks being work in communal areas. We also were only allowed to leave the resort for approved excursions, but this broke up our time enough, and while normally we would prefer to explore our holiday location more, my husband and I enjoyed a more relaxed pace of holiday. And of course this didn’t take away from the beauty of the location and the amenities of the resort which were second to none!! I continuously said it felt like being in the garden of eden!
We were staying in some of the more modest accomodation, but even still with that the room was lovely and we had the most amazing and friendly of butlers available to help us day and night. Peter and Gary were just the best and felt like our friends by the end of our stay!
Peter’s kindness and thoughtfulness and Gary’s energy and friendliness were a highlight of everyday.
We enjoyed various activities during our stay, snorkelling, swimming, boat trips, hikes, utilising the resort’s spa and visiting the sulphur springs. But of course the highlight was getting married down on Sugar Beach.
Everything was organised, so aside from having hair and makeup done on the day and putting on dress and shoes, nothing was needed to be worried about! The afternoon and evening was lovely, the setting, the staff and the dinner were perfection. We were able to make the most of the resort and were able to have photos taken at multiple locations thanks to having our own shuttle and then in the evening we had our own dinner setting on the beach to enjoy a four course meal! We also had the most fantastic server, Daniel was the bomb!
The only aspect of our stay that wasn’t 10/10 was the food as my husband and I are vegan. There were various eating options within the resort, but with a stay that was 9 days, we ended up eating the vegan options numerous times, which was a bit of a letdown. I imagine when you visit when COVID isn’t an issue, being able to visit different food locations around the island would mean that this isn’t an issue. And overall the food was great, just there were many options sadly. The thing that did make it better however was the amazing staff who worked across the restaurants and bars. They were detailed and patient with all our requests and by the end of our stay knew us, so were extra understanding and helpful!
I cannot recommend Sugar Beach enough to visit, especially if your thinking of an elopement location!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Sterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Responded Feb 7, 2021
Good Day Tanya C, Congratulations! We are thrilled that you chose Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort as your wedding and honeymoon destination. It is heart-warming to read reviews such as yours and to know that my team went above and beyond to ensure your stay was memorable for all the right reasons. They will be so proud to read your comments and know that their special touches made all the difference. We are glad you enjoyed our services and amenities, and got the opportunity to explore a few of what our stunning island has to offer. Your feedback has been greatly appreciated. We all look forward to welcoming you back—perhaps for your first wedding anniversary. Best Regards Mark Sterner General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CharlieVictor007 wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom18 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good Bits
• Covid - the reassuring preventative measures that have been taken
• Quality of food – exceptional
• Wi-Fi speed and coverage. Beach included. Better than my UK provider
• Location and beach. Spectacular
• Room, quality, size and location – although we did pay for a Beach Bungalow
• Shommette was super efficient waitressing both in the restaurant and beach side.

Less good
• Cost – a very, very expensive place to stay
• Pace (or lack there of ) of food service. There is a fine line between relaxing whilst dining and feeling that you are waiting significant periods of time to be served. 10 days in resort showed consistent imbalance of waiting. You can reduce lead times slightly by pouncing one staff but even then, expect a simple one or two lite course lunch to consume 90-120 mins of your precious day in the sun. We defaulted to lunch on the beach which meant that all the waiting could be done on our sun lounger!
• Variety of menu. Commendable given covid but could / should easily vary further. Same sources are used for multiple of the meat dishes.
• Visiting fishing boats keep their Diesel engines running whilst dropping / collecting guests. One day the boat was running its smokey exhaust engines or 2 hours whilst moored up on the hotel’s jetty. Fumes were carried through into the open dining area which wasn’t pleasant
• Sports team should have warned us of the risks of stinging that the occasional batch of floating sea weed can present. My wife had quite a bad skin irritation having swum through clumps of floating seaweed (brought in from a recent storm). We’d later find out that the sports team had told some guests of the risks but not all. Could have avoided this discomfort/issue very easily if they had put a sign up or told us all in other ways
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: beach bungalows were amazing (and amazingly expensive to boot)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Sterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Responded Jan 18, 2021
Good Day CharlieVictor007, Thank you for sharing your feedback of your vacation at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. We appreciate you sharing your highlights as well as comments about the areas that concerned you. We take pride in ensuring that every guest has a memorable experience, had we been aware of your highlighted opportunities we would have ensured that these concerns were rectified. It is a shame we were not aware of your concerns before you departed. Rest assured that we have discussed your feedback and it has been taken on board to ensure improvements. I am sorry for the inconveniences you experienced. We hope that you might consider a return visit at some point in the future to experience firsthand the improvements made. Best Regards, Mark Sterner General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GSUKKENT asked a question Jan 2024
London, United Kingdom196 contributions139 helpful votes
I like hotels with great food but hate buffets. Do you think this is the place for me? Thanks
Answer from Ryan M
2 contributions2 helpful votes
The food at Sugar Beach is good, but I wouldn't say memorable. We too enjoyed their elegant breakfast buffet most mornings and had several lunches at their beachside restaurant JaLousie Grill. But don't let that deter you! There are all sorts of amazing dining options within very short taxi drive which the hotel will happily arrange. Hotel Chocolat, Ladera, and Mango Tree were just a few of our favorites. The latter three have out-of-this world, views as well. Schedule well ahead of time to get a good table right at sunset!
Answer from Natasha12707
1 contribution
During our time in St Lucia, my husband and I opted to rent a car. The journey from the airport to Sugar Beach Resort took just around an hour. Alternatively, you could inquire with the resort about shuttle services from the airport. We didn't find it necessary to make restaurant reservations prior to our arrival. Once we got to the resort, making reservations was quite effortless. Your butler will gladly assist you with that.
Answer from Dream454155
Ashburn, Virginia1 contribution1 helpful vote
The beach bungalows and sugar mill rooms are walkable to everything. All other room locations require you to call the butler for a shuttle. At least this is my understanding. We stayed in the sugar mill rooms and walked everywhere. Never used the shuttle.
Eve J wrote a tip Jun 4
Manchester, United Kingdom28 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We got our taxi to stop at a supermarket on the way to get a couple of crates of piton beers and a bottle of Prosecco for in the room."
Read full review
Antonio A wrote a tip May 2024
New York City, New York10 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bonte is best place to eat. Their head chef put together a really nice menu."
Read full review
Mikeofokc wrote a tip Apr 2024
Edmond, Oklahoma474 contributions120 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eat a big breakfast that is part of room price. Grab a few items for mid day snack. Enjoy dinner but spend wisely."
Read full review
Sarah B wrote a tip Apr 2024
Asheville, North Carolina59 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have room preferences please contact hotel in advance (ie privacy, location, walking distance) as all rooms are slightly different "
Read full review
Denise P wrote a tip Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom157 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to snorkel on the right hand side of the beach if facing the ocean. Spectacular fish and coral. Also order a coconut drink."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Soufriere area.
PRICE RANGE
C$1,275 - C$2,171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jalousie plantation hotel soufrière, jalousie plantation soufrière, jalousie plantation st lucia, jalousie hilton
LOCATION
CaribbeanSt. LuciaSoufriere QuarterSoufriere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort?
Nearby attractions include Grand Eden Estate (4.6 km), Pitons (2.8 km), and Anse Mamin Beach (5.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Martha's Tables, Jade Mountain Club, and Treetop Restaurant and Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Balenbouche Estate Heritage Site (8.6 km).
Does Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Soufriere HotelsSoufriere Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SoufriereHotels near Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars