We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,725 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,238: English reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

I recently traveled to st.maarten and stayed at sonesta great bay resort. From the minute I walked into the hotel the staff were very welcoming and friendly. We arrive early, way before check it and the staff made it their priority to check with housekeeping to check the status of the room. After being greeted with champagne and a cool...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Shaneka M
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Shaneka M, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're glad to see you had a fun time at our resort and that enjoyed you vacation from beginning to end. We hope to see you back again in the near future. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 July 2015

Our hotel rooms were clean and inviting, although an aging property. Housekeeper Cherry was wonderful. Thank You Cherry. The Security people were very nice and vigilant. Sadly, the Food was good ~ but disappointing in that they did not change it up at all, same breakfast daily etc. The property appeared on the web site to have multiple restaurants, it...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jill H
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jill H, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We're pleased to see you enjoyed your room. staff and entertainment. We do appreciate your valuable feedback and assure you that we have gone over your review with us our Management Team and we do hope you will come back again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort...

Ontario
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

Just got back. Had a great time. This resort is close to the shops and town. We were in room 727 it was clean and a good size. It's the second last room. I didn't really like the pond view but the ocean view is nice. The pond needs cleaned. The shower is terrible and the bed is firm. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank peachessdog
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear peachessdog, Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us. We're glad to see you had an enjoyable vacation at our resort and we hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

This place is sooooooooo fun to be there staff is so amazing ...... I just leaved and I want to go back ..... they welcome us wit open arms ...... always was there if you needed something . Room was very clean and just soo beautiful love it I would go back again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katrina C
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Katrina C, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We're glad you had a fun time and that you enjoyed our great staff. We hope to see you soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort

Reviewed 17 July 2015

My husband & I came choose this for our honeymoon after reading the good reviews. We started off good... at check-in we were offered a upgrade for the occasion which we were initially excited about. Until we realized that the room was ROACH INFESTED. I made several complaints to the front desk which were ignored to the point where I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah C
Karl B, General Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Hanna C, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy all aspects of your vacation with us. Thank you for bringing the breakdown of your experience to our attention. We appreciate feedback as such and we already shared your review with our team and necessary plans...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 July 2015

I treated my husband to a beach resort for his birthday. I am so glad I chose Sonesta Great Bay. First of all it's "Adult Only". Second, it was one of the most peaceful vacations we had in a long time. It's a quiet resort without a lot of loud music. Cleopatra and her staff, including Wendy and Karin, were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Linda M, Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. We're so pleased to see that your trip to our resort was your best vacation ever and we hope to see you and your husband again in the near future. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Hotel was really fantastic all around. The location is excellent, the beach has some rough waves at times but very pretty, and the rooms are clean in great condition. The grounds are fantastic, from the moment you get to the lobby and look out, you feel like you are in tropical paradise. We initially booked at maho stayed one night...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank B G
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear B G, Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us. We're pleased to see you had a great experience with us and that your enjoyed our resort overall. We can't wait to see you back again. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Monroe, Michigan
Reviewed 15 July 2015

We came in a little early and they had cool towels and champagne waiting for us while we checked in. We were in the pool with drinks within 20 minutes of arriving and had the option of being in the ocean too. This is a great adult resort and within walking distance to downtown Philipsburg. The staff is very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Jimmy S
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jimmy S, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're glad to see you had a good time with us and that you enjoyed our adults-only resort, the delicious food served and relaxing atmosphere. We hope to see you soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Toronto, On
Reviewed 14 July 2015

We (2 couples) stayed at the Sonesta Great Bay in St. Maarten May 28-June 4, 2015. The hotel is rated a 4, I suppose the hotel itself might be a little dated but the friendliness of the staff and the food made it a 6+! We were expecting a smaller resort after viewing the website, it was smaller but, it...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Sandgram
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sandgram, Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. We are so happy to see you had the best time at our resort and that you will be coming back to see us next year! Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort...

Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Reviewed 14 July 2015

I stayed at this lovely resort with my three best friends at the beginning of this month. We had the BEST experience ever! All of the people at Sonesta made us feel so welcomed & safe! By the end of the trip, they felt like our 2nd family & we didn't want to leave! The food, the drinks, the overall...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Corynne P
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Corynne P, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're so glad to see you had an absolutely wonderful time with us and we hope you will be returning soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

3,198 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2674)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (617)
Viewed
View from Room (251)
Viewed
Dining (173)
Viewed
Room/Suite (256)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (400)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (921)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (441)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Beach (30)
Viewed
Grande Island View Room (36)
Viewed
Grande Ocean View Room (34)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (7)
Viewed
Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
Main Pool (21)
Viewed
Miramar Wing Pool (17)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Butler Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
4.9 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
9.4 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,695 reviews
1.3 km away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
7.3 km away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
0.8 km away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Price Range: $434 - $929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa staff and other travellers.
442 questions
Ask a question
Medina, Ohio
4 months ago

See all questions (442)

Questions? Get answers from Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We liked the 2nd floor beach view, same level as the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles 643tomz, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“High Floor Ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles ggordon13, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“grand ocean view”
  • Great Bay Ocean View Room
 of 5 bubbles nolam20, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose the odd numbers. Even numbers face the country side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 504mimar, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for the Ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles 678nicholasl, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay