We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,935 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,430: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 29 May 2015

I just returned from a week vacation at Sonesta Great Bay from May 21-May 28. First of all I can’t even begin to describe how amazing the staff at this resort is. I have been to many resorts and I have to say they have one of the best teams of staff I have ever encountered. We also went to...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Stephanie D
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie D, We appreciate your taking the time to share your comments with us. We're glad you had a nice week long stay with us and we are already missing you too, so we hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Sonesta Great Bay Resort is in bad need of a makeover. One person at checkin - took forever. Room was outdated. Bathroom tile and ceiling had mold. Our balcony over looked a retention pond that smelled like a sewer. Food service was poor. Food selection never changed and always cold. On the first day of arrival our room door would...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ann C
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ann C, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're disappointed to see you did not have a better time with us and assure you that we have gone over your comments with our Management Team. We do hope to see you back in the future so we can restore your confidence in us. Best regards, Sonesta Great...

Muskegon, Michigan
Reviewed 27 May 2015

We just got back from staying here for 9 days for our honeymoon and we had a blast. The location is right by the ocean, the pools are clean, and the staff was very friendly. I was a little nervous about some of the bad reviews but went in with an open mind. We had a very helpful, friendly staff,...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Kimberly F
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kimberly F, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're so glad you decided to stay with us to celebrate your honeymoon and that you made such great memories here. We hope to see you and your husband again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Rouyn-Noranda, Canada
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

Very nice experience!!! Great place to go...good service, good food!!! We rent a car and we made a island tour to visit many places. To finish we enjoy a wonderful massage at the serenity spa they are very good! See you soon Sonesta Great Bay!!! 🙋

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank anichloe
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear anichloe, Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. We're glad you had a nice experience at our resort and that you enjoyed the good service and food. We hope to see you back soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Georgetown, Delaware
Reviewed 27 May 2015

We were a group of five women celebrating 50th birthdays. We could have gone anywhere, and chose St. Maarten after talking with a travel agent. This hotel was three star I believe, and that's what we got. The hotel was not in the greatest location but the oceanfront views were spectacular! The "garden" views looked out on the road and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dewheels2015
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear dewheels2015, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the food, views and drinks. We hope to see you back again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

New York City, New York
Reviewed 26 May 2015

was in in july of 2013, the hotel is was small which was nice in a way that you had the pools all to yourself at time. The rooms were very dated can use a overhaul. Get a ocean front view..the other views face the moutains and parking lot. The food was ok, better in the restaruants then the buffets....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carol D
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 26 May 2015

My daughter and I stayed there just last week and I must say that everything about this hotel is good. Short walk to all amenities, food was very good, pools clean and beach area nicely manicured. Overall it was a great holiday! Thanks to all the staff for making this possible.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lupching
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lupching, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We're happy to see that you and your daughter had a nice stay with us and we hope to see you both again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Newtown, Connecticut
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Just got back from a weekend at Great Bay Sonesta. Let me break down review by accommodations, location, food/drink, service & entertainment. Accommodations - Rooms were clean and fine. Realize the "garden view" is that of a parking lot so no view at all. I'd pay extra for the ocean side next time. Rooms were clean and while not new...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank JJP7775
Alliston, Canada
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

What a great resort! Not too big, so you feel like part of a small community while enjoying your stay. The Beach Long beach but the sand is coarse, it is kept clean from seaweed, but littered with cigarette butts. We never had a problem finding available beach lounges and umbrellas. A pleasant short walk along the beach takes you...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank IcePylon
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear IcyPylon, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're pleased to see you had a nice stay at our resort and that you enjoyed our beach area, food, comfortable rooms and staff. We hope to see you soon. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

Port Colborne, Canada
Reviewed 25 May 2015

We had a great time at this resort, this is my first review although we have traveled quite a bit. I am a travel consultant and I would recommend this resort for people looking for a quieter, relaxing time, there is entertainment, it's not boring, but I am sure it is not what 20-25 year olds are looking for. If...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank StefNRick
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review

Dear StefNRick, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're glad to see you had a great time with us and that you got to relax and enjoy the views, food, service and location. We hope to see you back again in the future. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management

3,317 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2793)
Viewed
View from Room (281)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (411)
Viewed
Dining (178)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (645)
Viewed
Room/Suite (271)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (949)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (441)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Beach (30)
Viewed
Grande Island View Room (36)
Viewed
Grande Ocean View Room (34)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (7)
Viewed
Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
Main Pool (21)
Viewed
Miramar Wing Pool (17)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Butler Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
4.9 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
9.4 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,733 reviews
1.3 km away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
7.3 km away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
10.1 km away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 19 Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Price Range: $407 - $779 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa staff and other travellers.
518 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (518)

Questions? Get answers from Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beach view rooms are much better than street view.”
 of 5 bubbles TheTravellingPirate, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“stay above 2nd floor”
 of 5 bubbles gangdarla, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for the bay view room. It's worth the extra bucks.”
 of 5 bubbles E467RLbobs, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view is the only way to go”
 of 5 bubbles jimdQ5263QY, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Oceanview rooms are well worth the small upgrade charge. Our first-floor room had a cabana directly outside it.”
 of 5 bubbles gkq, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5