We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay St Martin / St Maarten
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (609)
360
Panoramas (2)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 7 hotels in Simpson Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Azure is family owned/ operated boutique hotel on the most spectacular/ uncrowded beach on Saint Martin. Completely renovated. Watersports, marinas, restaurants, casinos, bars, shops all within walking distance. White sand beach, crystal clear water, the world's biggest mega yachts within a stone's throw. Kitchens, US satellite TV, AC. FREE WIFI, FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLS (most countries), concierge. Lounges with umbrellas on the beach. Book activities and excursions right on our website. Our friendly staff will make sure you have everything you need! Simplify your vacation, we make it easy!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Beach
Diving
Snorkelling
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

67Somewhat walkable
Grade: 67 out of 100
23Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
1Attractionwithin 0.5 km
523Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 424
  • 82
  • 10
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
2linda wrote a review Jan. 2023
Toronto, Canada24 contributions5 helpful votes
I stayed here in November with my mom. We loved the hotel. Mike, the owner and host, was so helpful and friendly and created such an inviting atmosphere that all guests enjoyed chatting and getting to know each other. The location is excellent with many great restaurants within walking distance. It is on an absolutely beautiful beach, which was wonderful for swimming and walking. We really enjoyed out stay and would highly recommend this little piece of paradise.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fawnette and Sky Angelides, Owner at Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Responded yesterday
Dear Linda K, thank you for the wonderful review, it was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nionene69 wrote a review Aug. 2022
new york13 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I recently gathered 16 of my closest family & friends for a week stay at the Azure Hotel & Art Studio. To say the vacation was perfect is an understatement. It was ABSOLUTELY OVER THE TOP PERFECT! Like seriously, where have you gone that you didn’t have at least 1 complaint? Where in creation can you find perfection? At the AZURE Hotel & Art Studio in Simpson Bay SXM, that’s where!! The beach, the sand, the rooms, the beds, the amenities in the rooms, the working Weber BBQ grill and patio seating, the Daily housekeeping, the housekeepers, the grounds keeper, the FREE WIFI, the Free WORKING wifi on the beach, the owners hospitality, the Tortoise sanctuary, the pond - the Love! You will Not be disappointed. And as an added bonus, the owners are onsite to address any issue that arises during your stay. Top that!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fawnette and Sky Angelides, Owner at Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Responded Aug. 13, 2022
Wow, thank you for the amazing review! Tattoo would be a welcome addition to our establishment, but I think he is retired. :) We are ecstatic that you had zero complaints, but if you did, we would listen and do our best to fix it. The Weber grill has served many guests well over the years, sadly this will be the last year it is in service. Next year it will be replaced, with a bigger and better, brand new Weber grill. As with everything at the Azure, we are constantly upgrading and improving our service, building, rooms, patios, amenities and garden. If you can think of anything we can do better, please let us know. Thank you so much for staying with us, we are looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Miranda L wrote a review Oct. 2022
Nashville, Tennessee
This place is a true blessing! Let the waves lull you to sleep...the rooms are very comfortable, with either garden views, or beach views, as it is right ON the sand!!! Closeby to all amenities, yet not even detectable during your stay! I could walk out of my room onto the sand! My hosts and their staff were all stellar people. Five stars, highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Bring sunscreen, sunglasses, and a hat.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fawnette and Sky Angelides, Owner at Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Responded Oct. 17, 2022
Thank you for the stellar review, it was so nice having you! We are looking forward to your next visit, until then, all the best!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meredith W wrote a review Oct. 2022
We had a wonderful time staying at the Azure Hotel. The owners are lovely people who truly care about their guests' comfort and enjoyment. I loved being right on the beach and hearing the ocean waves at night. Having a refrigerator and cooking facilities was a big plus. Michael and Fawnette are artists and the rooms have their beautiful artwork for decor. I look forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
hershey17036 wrote a review Sep. 2022
Hershey, Pennsylvania29 contributions8 helpful votes
Did 3 nights at Orient Beach and 1 night is Saba. Back to St Maarten for 1 night before departing the next day. This is close to airport (no the noise won't bother you!!... We never heard anything unlike other hotels down the beach). Rooms are quaint but have everything you need! Steps to beach. Michael was perfect: got us in early (we did not expect that), arranged two taxis we needed and great food recommendations. For the price and location, you can't beat it!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fawnette and Sky Angelides, Owner at Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Responded Sep. 18, 2022
Thank you for the perfect review! Just wanted to mention, we usually have housekeeping daily, we offer it every other day when we are really slow. Mostly in late August through October. You can request fresh towels or sheets on off days. We are happy to help with cabs, recommendations and anything else you need. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Morgan B wrote a review Aug. 2022
2 contributions
One of a kind We had the pleasure of staying on property for one evening. We found a true gem along the coast of Simpson Bay. Azure is quiet, peaceful, and friendly. Michael and his family were kind enough to stop to chat while on their evening beach walks. Michael was full of suggestions and never batted an eye lash when we asked him more questions. Truly a one of a kind place with a one of a kind style. The best part about our stay, besides the view, and the cozy 5 star comfort of our bed, was letting the waves lullaby you to sleep at night. Wether you can stay for one night or many more, Azure comes highly recommended!! We surly wished for another night in room 7!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fawnette and Sky Angelides, Owner at Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Responded Sep. 6, 2022
Thank you so much for the excellent review, it was a pleasure having you both stay with us! We invest heavily in our beds and linens because we believe that a great vacation starts with a good nights sleep. Looking forward to seeing you again, hopefully for more than just one night!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maritza B wrote a review Aug. 2022
1 contribution
Excellent stay!!!! A small and intimate hotel packs a big punch in terms of beauty! It has the best strip of beach on the island & the hosts were amazing. We truly felt like family during our stay and we couldn’t have asked for more. It’s a keeper for us!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fawnette and Sky Angelides, Owner at Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Responded Aug. 13, 2022
Thank you for the excellent review, we are delighted that you had such a great time! It was a pleasure hosting your special event and getting to know you and your fantastic friends. We truly look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Antuan R wrote a review Aug. 2022
1 contribution
I had one of the most special vacations at Azure at the end of July and I will be going back next year. I wouldn't have considered myself a beach goer before this trip, and I do now. They have created a peaceful and serene getaway that is easy to fall in love with. Three of us stayed in the Garden Suite, which has two bedrooms, full range, ample refrigerator space and excellently quiet mini-split AC units. The beach is less than a minute walk from the room and there are plenty of beach chairs to enjoy the gorgeous ocean view. I walked the beach several times and I can say the Azure has the best stretch of beach. The owners are respectful, personal and treated each of us so well. They were there when we needed them and also gave us the space we needed. If you want to really get away and also feel at home, the Azure is the place to go. -Antuan
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fawnette and Sky Angelides, Owner at Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Responded Aug. 13, 2022
Dear Antuan, thank you for the perfect review, we are so glad that you enjoyed the beach and the Azure! We enjoyed having you and we are always happy to help. We are looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristie F wrote a review Aug. 2022
1 contribution
Azure Hotel & Art Studio shall forever be my place to stay when I visit St. Maarten. You cannot ask for a better view, with just a few steps away from your room, you are immediately walking onto the best section of the beach. It is so serene, intimate and the perfect setting for anyone to kick up their feet and unwind. The owners of the hotel Michael and Fawnette were a pleasure, anything we needed or could ask for was already provided with a smile and great conversation. Both Michael and Fawnette have brought their passion for art into every detail throughout the hotel. The rooms are immaculate and the beds are insanely comfortable. I promise you will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fawnette and Sky Angelides, Owner at Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Responded Aug. 13, 2022
Thank you so much for the great review, we enjoyed having you as our guests! It is truly a beautiful stretch of beach and the fact that it is walking distance to excellent restaurants and nightlife makes it even better. We are happy to converse with our guests, but also understand privacy and the desire for relaxation with out intrusion. It's a fine line that we have learned to walk and it is heartwarming when we make new friends. Over the years we have invested so much of ourselves in to the Azure, but this year will be special as our renovations have finished and we can complete our vision of accommodations packed with original art. Thank you for noticing the beds, I am sure that we spend more on our mattresses than your average boutique hotel. We are looking forward to your next visit my friends, see you then!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
david d wrote a review Aug. 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This was my partner and I first time to this hotel. There was a group of 16 people and we rented out the whole hotel for a week. The owners Mike and Fawnette were wonderful. The room and king bed was so comfortable to us. The ability to walk from your room right onto the beach was heaven. We will Definelty be back next year
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Bring bug spray. Hotel does have some if needed
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fawnette and Sky Angelides, Owner at Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Responded Aug. 13, 2022
Dear David, thank you for the wonderful review! It was so nice having you and your friends, it was such a pleasure seeing you all enjoy everything the Azure has to offer. We are glad that you found the beds so comfortable, we think it is one of the most important things while on vacation so we put a lot of research and trial and error into them. There were mattresses that we only kept for 6 months because they were not up to par, but now we have found the right combination of elements to offer a great nights sleep. Many of our guests say they sleep better at the Azure then they do at the Azure and that is exactly the kind of reward that we have been searching for. Thanks again, we are counting the days until you return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$108 - US$222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
azure beach studios hotel simpson bay
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Azure Hotel
LOCATION
CaribbeanSt Martin / St MaartenSint MaartenSimpson Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Azure Hotel & Art Studio - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (St Martin / St Maarten, Caribbean) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Which popular attractions are close to Azure Hotel & Art Studio?
Nearby attractions include Naruto sxm (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Azure Hotel & Art Studio?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and diving.
Which room amenities are available at Azure Hotel & Art Studio?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Azure Hotel & Art Studio?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Azure Hotel & Art Studio?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Atlantico, Dinghy Dock Sailors Bar, and SALE & PEPE SXM.
Are there any historical sites close to Azure Hotel & Art Studio?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Amsterdam (5.1 km) and The Rusty Parrot - Sint Maarten Pirate Experience (6.5 km).
Does Azure Hotel & Art Studio have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.