The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina

The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina

Traveller (749)
Panorama of the Allamanda Pool at The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
360
Panoramas (15)
Beachfront suite
Room & Suite (202)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#3 of 7 hotels in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina, your island hideaway, is located on an exclusive waterfront setting on Simpson Bay in St. Maarten offering premium views of the Caribbean bay from your elegant, spacious, fully furnished villa. It also features the largest on-site water sports facility on the island: Aqua Mania Adventures. This is an ideal location on the island, as every important spot at Simpson Bay is located less than 3.5 km away: Paradise Plaza, the Casino Royale, Mullet beach and other fine restaurants and boutiques.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Massage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Cable / satellite TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Billy Folly Road No. 37A, Simpson Bay St Martin / St Maarten
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 82 out of 100
82
Princ. Juliana Airport
Esperance Airport
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles600 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina have garnered appreciation for their comfortable, spacious rooms that cater well to families, according to many travelers. Guests frequently commend the hotel's value, though there are mentions of unexpected additional charges. The cleanliness of the resort consistently receives high marks, enhancing its appeal. While the service is generally acclaimed for being friendly and helpful, a few visitors experienced minor issues. The hotel's amenities and prime location, offering proximity to dining and shopping, are popular highlights, although more laundry facilities are desired by some.
Location
Convenient
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
600Reviews78Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 292
  • 189
  • 69
  • 28
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lisa M wrote a review Jan 2020
Port of Spain, Trinidad412 contributions229 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Can’t beat ocean front views. We stayed on third floor. Room were very clean tidy.
Buccaneers Beach bar near end of building was loud only on weekends till early hours of morning so beware.
Housekeeping was aggressive as they came at 930 every morning as they were unhappy when they were told to return after lunch - THAT was worst part of the vacay.
We were very happy with the pool
, the pool bar and La Patrona
Parking was decent but very crowded all the time and you must repeat your parking ticket pass number every time 🙃. Generally ,we were pleased. Best parts were the patio views at breakfast and dinner times. Amazing
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melindaa_M11 wrote a review Jul 2021
Fairfax, Vermont17 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first time staying in St. Maarten. The resort seemed to be in a very central location and offered a lot of different activities onsite. The resort was very clean but some of the bathrooms seemed to be outdated and we did have an issue with no hot water and trouble with the toilet. However, each problem was resolved very quickly. Walking distance to many restaurants, grocery store, and pharmacy, plus the resort offers a free shuttle.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gerardo González, Other at The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina
Responded Jul 26, 2021
Hello Melinda, thank you for sharing your comments with us. We would like to take a moment to thank you for your selection of The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort as your accommodations of choice when you visited St.Maarten. You are now one of our valued guests, and it was always a pleasure and an honor to serve you. Your trust and preference is what we owe the success of our resort. Our sincere appreciation of your patronage cannot be overstated. We want to assure you that we will continue to do all we can to justify your confidence in The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Ory A wrote a review Jan 2022
Richmond Hill, Canada7 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family vacation at the Simpson Bay Villas was scheduled between December 19 - 28.

The Villas are lovely, centrally located in the resort, spacious and well appointed. The staff is generally quite friendly and helpful, and although we ran into a couple of minor issues here and there, so long as you’re not expecting Ritz level Karen perfection you will not be disappointed.

Most importantly, on the third day of our stay I woke up with a sore throat, and tested positive along with my daughter the following day. Unlike the horror stories that you read about online, the way in which our situation was handled by the resort’s facilities manager Mr. Gomez was nothing short of incredible.

Firstly, Mr. Gomez was helpful in getting us organized such that my daughter and I could more easily isolate from the rest of the family (who tested negative). Secondly, Mr. Gomez shared with us his direct number and requested that if we require any assistance to reach out to him night or day (we are talking X-Mas to New Years week). Thirdly, Mr. Gomez coordinated directly with the St. Maarten authorities payment for our extended stay while we were isolated (covered by the mandatory St. Maarten insurance), and was also able secure a reasonable rate for the remaining time as we had to wait 14 days from our positive test to get home due to Canadian regulations.

All in all, Mr. Gomez and the Simpson Bay resort turned what could have become a nightmare scenario into a comfortable Isolation and extended stay for us. Needless to say, and due to this we will plan to stay at the resort again during future visits.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Stay at the Villas or rooms that are located next to the beach otherwise you’re facing a steep...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
788rob256 wrote a review Mar 2020
Orillia, Canada2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The room has a view of the entire bay. You overlook anchored sail boats pointing into the wind of course. The building is less than fifty feet from the ocean adding to the close up view. There is a full kitchen with all the appliances you will ever need if you wanted to cook meals in the room, as there are very few all inclusive's on the island. The property is located just steps away from many great bars and restaurants so you can have alcoholic beverages and walk back to the villa without driving. The villa provides a free shuttle to many close by restaurants and bars.There are many security guards and controlled parking making us feel very safe. A car rental is a good idea as there are many places to explore such as Phillipsburg, Orient beach and Marigot as well as grocery store visits as needed. This is a great alternative to the all inclusive vacations as you feel freedom to roam the island.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms come with a spectacular view. There are elevators of course and there are ground floor...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria C wrote a review Jun 2023
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania104 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Villas will not disappoint. Every room has an ocean view. Were were so lucky to end up on the 8th floor and our views were BREATHTAKING. Everyone is so friendly and welcoming. You can walk to hundreds of restaurants, bars, nightclubs from this location. We loved the private beach. All the pools have bars. Minerva was amazing and remember all of us each time. This hotel had air conditioned washer and dryer room, so convenient to be able to wash all your wet clothes etc. There is a supermarket right across the street where you can get food, alcohol etc. The resort had 4 amazing restaurants on site. They also have a taxi stand making it easy to get around the island. Highly recommend this resort for the views, service and location!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gerardo González, Other at The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina
Responded Jun 20, 2023
Hello, Thank you for sharing your comments and for recommending us to other travelers. It has been a privilege to have you as a valuable guest. We have always made sure to provide all our guests with the best quality work. Here in The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort, Marina & Spa we consider every guest as part of the family. Thank you for choosing us. It feels great when we are able to meet your expectations. We hope to retain this relationship for the many coming years.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ron C wrote a review Apr 2022
Macomb, Michigan58 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Villas at Simpson Bay in a 2-bedroom suite in April. The room was spacious. The beds were firm, I love that. The views of the bay from the room were gorgeous. Housekeeping only came once a week which I don’t love, but in covid times I guess that’s the new norm. The swim up pool bar, attended by Minnie the bartender, was our favorite part of the day. The Pelican Beach Bar was so fun too. Good menu. Pretty water. We would definitely come back again, but we would rent a car. If you plan on leaving the resort to explore other beaches, activities, or restaurants, the cab rides get REALLY expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cassie S wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My overall experience was a mix of positive and negative aspects. The resort itself is undoubtedly beautiful, with a stunning beach and a variety of food options that cater to different tastes. While the accommodations were generally comfortable, my experience was ruined due to the extremely loud music on the weekends. The volume was so high that it made it nearly impossible to get a good night's sleep.

Regrettably, this disrupted my entire trip, as the lack of sleep took away from my ability to fully enjoy the resort's amenities during the day. I brought this concern to the attention of the staff, but they said it was out of their control.

In summary, if you value a peaceful and restful environment, I would advise against staying in the villas during weekends. While the resort itself is nice and offers great beach and dining options, the disruptive noise from the music negatively impacted my overall experience. If the hotel management could address this concern, it would significantly enhance the quality of the stay for future guests.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gerardo González, Other at The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina
Responded Jan 26, 2024
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback on your recent stay at The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort. We appreciate your positive remarks about the beautiful resort, stunning beach, and diverse dining options that cater to different tastes. However, we deeply regret that your overall experience was marred by the disruptive noise from the weekend music, affecting the quality of your sleep and, consequently, your ability to fully enjoy the resort's amenities during the day. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused and understand the importance of a peaceful environment. We have taken note of your concerns and will work towards finding a solution to mitigate the impact of weekend events on our guests' rest. Your feedback is invaluable, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort, providing a more comfortable and enjoyable stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan wrote a review Jan 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was beautiful, clean with a great view. The beaches & pools were clean and not over crowded. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a shuttle into town with very friendly drivers & staff to call a taxi if you wanted to go further into the city or over to the French side of the island. We had dinner & drinks at Replay a few times. That was my favourite place to eat & drink at the resort. Jonesy was our waiter each time. He was amazing, fun, friendly & full of laughs. Best of all - My boyfriend took me for a walk to the beach where he got down on one knee and proposed to me! ❤️ It was the perfect place to be. Beautiful. Warm. Peaceful, but most of all romantic. We are planning a second trip later this year.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
By the beach wrote a review Dec 2022
Ocean City, New Jersey565 contributions283 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed at The Villas at SB for 10 days. The location was perfect as it allowed us to walk to great restaurants and stores. We booked through Expedia and were to receive an upgraded room and a bottle of wine during our stay. We did not ask about this during our check in as we were tired and just wanted to get to our room (which was ready). The next day we went to the front desk to check on the wine since we did not receive it. We needed to show them proof that we were to get the wine. I’m not sure if the room was an upgrade but we were satisfied with the room as it was further away from town and the load music. Also, it was a third floor room right next to the only ice machine and the washer and dryer was across the hall. I think that 2 bottles of water is provided initially in your room at check in but we did not receive it. The room was fine for our needs (a junior suite) and had a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. It was clean and housekeeping came daily to empty the garbage, replace towels and make the bed. The only downfall was the loud music from town. One night we heard the music until 2:00am. You can also hear it earlier in the day which makes lounging peacefully problematic. The ice machine broke down for a day or so and as our unit did not have a full refrigerator we called the front desk. Our call was greeted cheerfully and we were brought a bag of ice. The next day the machine was still out of service so we called again and received the same response except when we thought that the delivery of ice had arrived two maintenance men showed up and said that the ice machine is broken and that we should go across the street to buy ice. A call to the front desk this time was met with hesitation until we voiced our concern (only one ice machine on the whole complex?). Overall, a well-maintained property with great proximity to a number of good eateries and sweeping views of the bay. In addition, a courtesy shuttle is provided to nearby stores and restaurant. The big negative is the load music that can be heard across the bay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gerardo González, Other at The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina
Responded Dec 23, 2022
Hello, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. It has been a pleasure serving you during your last trip to St.Maarten. We feel very happy that you were pleased with our service and accommodations. The growth we have experienced over the years is thanks to all the comments we have received, each one of them is an opportunity to learn and some comments like yours are an incentive that lifts our spirits in our daily work. We appreciate your trust, and we’ll do our best to continue to give you the kind of service you deserve.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
4everamused wrote a review Dec 2022
Racine, Wisconsin114 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our third time staying at the resort and our second time at the villas. We absolutely love this property! The rooms are great with balconies (or patios) overlooking the pool and Simpson Bay and the landscaping is beautiful. The resort has everything you could ask for: multiple restaurants, several pools (almost all with their own pool bar), a beautiful beach, a casino, a mini mart, shops, and Aqua Mania Adventures. The staff all throughout the resort are super friendly and we were very impressed with the superior level of cleanliness and sanitization of all public areas. We are already looking forward to our next stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gerardo González, Other at The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina
Responded Dec 23, 2022
Hello, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We want you to know that we truly enjoy serving you and feel honored to be your chosen resort for your recent trip to St.Maarten. Your trust is much appreciated, and we will do our very best to continue to meet your expectations. Your continued patronage and suggestions are a vital part of our growth. And for that, we are most grateful. Thanks again! We look forward to serve you for many years to come.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Massachusetts2,869 contributions167 helpful votes
So, Yes!😁👍👍
Answer from 4everamused
Racine, Wisconsin114 contributions49 helpful votes
You are correct, the junior suites do not have ovens or a full kitchen. There is a mini fridge, sink, microwave, and toaster.
Answer from JB_NYC18
New York City87 contributions7 helpful votes
Their site says: Mondays: Open from 5pm to 7pm Tuesdays: Open from 5pm to 7pm Wednesdays: Closed at the Resort but guests can go to HCLS Lab in Cole Bay Thursdays: Open from 5pm to 7pm Fridays: Open from 5pm to 7pm Saturdays: Open from 1pm to 2:30pm Sundays: Closed at the Resort but guests can go to the Test Center at the airport. All guests taking the test must bring their passports in order for the Lab to process their names correctly. I went to Medwork Sint Maarten in Simpson Bay nearby as their hours were better.
Answer from Miltacha
Saint-Martin, St Martin / St Maarten2 contributions1 helpful vote
royalreservations is good.
BklynFamilyof4 asked a question Aug 2021
Brooklyn, New York114 contributions68 helpful votes
How far is the beach from the pool?
Massachusetts2,869 contributions167 helpful votes
10 steps!👣👣👣👣👣👣👣👣👣👣
Compass78746 wrote a tip Jun 14
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Yes, chill out and enjoy the fun at the marina pole bar!"
Read full review
Eliza B wrote a tip Mar 2024
Selden, New York2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beach gets crowded quickly, reserve your spot early."
Read full review
Kim T wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great restaurants and grocery right on property!"
Read full review
Denise J wrote a tip Oct 2023
Durham, North Carolina3 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Other than the airport chaos this will be a great experience for you. "
Read full review
Fearless26506984641 wrote a tip Sep 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You can by sunscreen everywhere, for an affordable price. I wouldn't pack 2 many clothes, swimsuit, 1 pair of cargo shorts is fine. Enoy!!!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Simpson Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
C$209 - C$330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort, Marina & Spa
LOCATION
CaribbeanSt Martin / St MaartenSint MaartenSimpson Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
166
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina
Which popular attractions are close to The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina?
Nearby attractions include The Red Piano (0.05 km), Kim Sha Beach (0.4 km), and Island Church SXM (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bovin Steak House, Juliette's Bistro, and Isola Italian Restaurant & Lounge Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina have airport transportation?
Yes, The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Simpson Bay HotelsSimpson Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Simpson BayHotels near The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort and Marina
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars