We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monique's Guest House

Orbitz.comUS$82*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$101*
US$82*
US$84*
US$101*
US$82*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Monique\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
Start your review of Monique's Guest House
 Click to rate
Holetown, Barbados
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Visited during carnival time. Clean, courteous staff. No complaints whatsoever. Budget priced location with better than budget facilities. Next to the road so transportation is easy although traffic can sometimes be a bit noisy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bajan_Gal_K
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 30 days on a business, otherwise I would have not stayed here. The rooms are stark with a strong musty odor. It is freshly painted and has fresh linens, when housekeeping comes. There are no shades on the lights in the room except the one beside the bed. Asked to have toilet repaired several times without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice H
Trinidad and Tobago
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I checked into Monique’s quest house on Friday 28th October 2016 with my sister and left on Saturday the 11th December 2016.We chose Monique’s because of the close proximity to a Medical Facility in the city of Port of Spain which we had to go to daily and for its quiet peaceful surroundings in the lush slopes of Maraval. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yolanda834
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the family room with a kitchenette. Very welcoming staff. The rate was reasonable and the area was good. You can catch a cab right outside and are less than 5 minutes from the supermarket, food locations, pharmacy and a coffee shop. Now, the not so good. The restaurant does not have a large assortment. Sort of like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wcharlesjr
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

Made reservations via email. Checking in was simple and easy. The room was a bit dated but still cozy. The toilet and bath were clean but also dated. The bed was comfortable and neatly made with fresh looking and smelling sheets. The stay was average and for the cost very reasonable. If ever looking for a b & b on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander V
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed here 1 night only. It is an average place.. I say you get what you pay for, but this place does rather need a refresh. Room was pretty basic, shower took ages in morning before we had hot water and it was a trickle rather than a shower. No milk cream powder nor pot for tea. Black tea?...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malnit56
Curacao
Reviewed 13 October 2015

I stayed in this guesthouse for four nights with two friends. The room that we had was very spacious. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean although some edges of tables etc. were a little bit dusty. But overall it was clean and nice. The shower-head needs a replacement, because the water comes out hard. it has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Genius T
Winnie W, Front Office Manager at Monique's Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, your review will help us with improvements to Monique's. Thank you for choosing Monique's.

Orlando
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Believe everything you read about the staff member who is rude. Winnie must really be hard up for help to keep him around. I stayed here with a large group for a family reunion in June. I had read reviews that mentioned the rudeness but I experienced it first hand. It is unfortunate because Winnie was always kind, gracious,and accommodating....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MochaTigerMom
Dresden, Canada
Reviewed 9 May 2015

For most who travel with or to visit family in places where Nuclear/Multi-generational families are important, we come to recognize early, that seniors often need help walking, and stairs pose difficulty. While beautifully cared for gardens among the rain-forest flourish, and the rooms beautifully appointed, with a reasonable price per room with twin queen beds, kitchenette, tv, spotty wifi, mostly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefan P
Winnie W, Front Office Manager at Monique's Guest House, responded to this review

As advertised Monique's is wheelchair accessible. Also as advertised our kitchenette rooms also called Monique's on the hill is on a Hill that does not allow for wheelchair or walker access. We do not recommend Monique's o the hill or our kitchenette rooms for disable or physically challenged guest. When making reservations clients would asked for disabled rooms and we...

Barbados
Reviewed 30 April 2015

This place is beyond disgusting. We stayed for the weekend ,what we wanted to be a romantic get away, as this place was recommend as a nice establishment. However it felt ALOT to be desired, staff was inattentive and came across as rude, on checking in our room was not ready and we were told that it was being cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nanya Agul E

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maraval
1.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
1.3 km away
Tower 64 Motel & RV
Tower 64 Motel & RV
#6 of 10 in Trinidad
107 reviews
1.8 km away
Quality Inn Trinidad
Quality Inn Trinidad
#4 of 10 in Trinidad
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
5276.2 km away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
5277.2 km away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Monique's Guest House

Address: 114-116 Saddle Road, Maraval, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Maraval
Price Range: $113 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monique's Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monique's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monique`s Guest House Hotel Maraval
Monique's Guest House Trinidad/Maraval
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monique's Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Monique's Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hills are steep”
MochaTigerMom, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
“don't stay here!”
stefanp525, 9 May 2015 | Read review
“Some of the rooms have a seated area outside, ask for a room with this”
A7407IRdavids, 21 Aug 2014 | Read review
“If you are playing mas and unfimiliar with the island or have no family nor friends PLEASE stay in a hotel and pay for a driver. It will cost but worth the money!”
ShawnMonik, 21 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Choose a room that in the second building with a kitchenette if you are staying longterm.”
s1980leduc, 16 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$82* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$84
TripAdvisorUS$82
HotelQuicklyUS$101
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates