We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Show Prices
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Frenchman\\
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,043 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,988: English reviews
Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I wish I could give this 0 stars. My family and I were staying in San Juan and booked flights to fly over to st. Thomas for the rest of our trip. We called the Marriott Frenchman's Reef before booking the airfare and they said they would hold us a room and had many rooms available. We quickly booked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexisNewton11
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear AlexisNewton11, We deeply regret the experience you had with our reservation team, and the way you were handled when trying to make a reservation at the resort. We take great pride to extend the Marriott hospitably we are known for even before a guest arrives, and we are sorry you did not experience this. We have taken note of...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Night Kayaking with Josh was awesome! We saw large fish, small fish, learned about the native landscape and saw two Sea Turtles..We loved it! Would recommend it to anyone staying at the Frenchman's resort..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alisaj2003
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear alisaj2003, Night Kayaking has fast become our most popular adventure that we offer at the resort, due in part to our great location, and our very experienced, and entertaining kayaking tour guides! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your adventure, and appreciate your high recommendation to future guests! Thank you!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My mom and I recently stayed at the hotel for President's weekend and was not impressed with this property, especially given the Marriott reputation. For starters, the hotel price point at 450 per night with one night at 675 given the long weekend is downright egregious, but I paid it because of the long weekend and more importantly I expected...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mlonyc
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear mlonyc, Thank you as a loyal Marriott guest,for taking the time to review your recent stay at the resort. We consider your feedback invaluable, and would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back. We are confident as we move forward that we can eliminate any inconveniences and assure you a better experience as we’re investing heavily in both interior...

Gloucester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I had a great time night kayaking. It was a calm, moonlit night and we saw lots of fish, stingrays, and turtles through our clear-bottomed kayak. Fernando was an exceptional guide who provided ongoing commentary that really embellished the trip.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim_and_Caryl
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jim_and_Caryl, We are happy to know that the moonlit night, and your exceptional guide, Fernando, all made for a wonderful night kayaking experience! Thanks for letting us know that you both had a wonderful experience!

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We got stranded at the St Thomas airport while coming back from St John to the mainland. Feel incredibly blessed that we were able to get a room here, and added an amazing night to our already fabulous vacation! The pools are amazing, the views are unbeatable, the restraints are terrific, and the rooms were what you would expect (and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank moondogi
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear moondogi, We are excited to hear that your unexpected overnight stay with us at the resort was an amazing time, adding to your already fabulous vacation! Our resort offers breathtaking views, many dining options, beautiful pools to relax in, and we are happy to hear you were pleased with everything. We are also glad that you liked your room...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We read the reviews before we went but hoped improvements had been made - as "elite" members of Marriott we hoped it would be a great vacation in a great location. From a noisy room location with missing woodwork to the wait staff who seemed to have much better things to do and places to go - unfortunate for visitors...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 50Cathie
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear 50Cathie, We apologize that we did not meet your expectations that you have come to expect when staying at a Marriott property, and that you took the time to let us know areas where we fell short. We take pride in offering a vacation spot with wonderful views, restaurants, and service, and we are sorry to hear that you...

Sewell, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Read a lot of reviews on TripAdvisor before booking, and I can say they all were true, both good and bad. I am a Marriott "Lifetime Premium" Rewards Member, so I called in advance to see if I could avoid some of the pitfalls. Unfortunately, the GM's office staff are not impressed with Rewards members, and put me in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob M
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bob M, We appreciate your loyalty to Marriott properties, and for being a lifetime rewards member. As a guest who has stayed in many Marriott hotels throughout the years, you have come to expect certain things, and we apologize if we fell short on some of these while here with us. We apologize that your room accommodations did not...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed during the first week in January for a few days to attend an intimate wedding. The rooms in the main building require maintenance, and housekeeping leaves much to be desired! We had water damage, a poorly cleaned room, shower curtain with mold and soiled linens. The service at CoCo Joe's - lets say there was no service. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rfidman
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rfidman, It is great to hear that you rely enjoyed our infinity pools, and our beautiful views, but were disappointed that we fell short in other areas of the resort. Thank you for your feedback, and comments. It is helpful to hear your impressions regarding the ways we can improve our service, and areas in the resort. We use...

Beaufort, Slo Country
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

my comments to Marriott: this was a one night stand for us because of bad connections between Virgin Gorda and FLL. we had a nice room at Morning Star although we didn't know that's where we would be so the taxi driver dropped us off at the main hotel. we had to wait for a shuttle which took about a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joeyeatsout
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear joeyeatsout, We appreciate your feedback, and comments about what you liked and didn't like on your overnight stay with us. Reviews like your help us to pinpoint areas where more attention or improvements can be made for future guest's stay. We apologize that you did not feel our resort was a good value for your travel dollar. Our prices...

Runnemede
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I was only here for two days, on my way to JVD. But I quickly fell in love with it. Great views of the harbor on three sides. Beautiful sunsets by the a great pool. Your high on a mountain side which makes the views all that more stunning. But a easy walk down to the beach which has a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rbrown59
MrChrisDonohue, General Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear rbrown59, It is great to hear that your first stay with us was a great one, and that you fell in love with our resort, especially the great views, and easy access to the beach. Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your dining experiences, taking in the views at each meal, and that you felt...

2,773 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2410)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (498)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (577)
Viewed
Dining (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (210)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (211)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (792)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (266)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (9)
Viewed
Main Pool (30)
Viewed
Morningstar Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Amenities (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.1 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
8.1 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
934 reviews
6.1 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,366 reviews
2.5 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,160 reviews
6.6 km away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in East End
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $308 - $809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands - Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
226 questions
Ask a question
Roanoke, Virginia

See all questions (226)

Questions? Get answers from Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room with balcony overlooking water in Morningstar”
 of 5 bubbles Bill60763, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we had an island view room which actually ended up being harbor view room, very beautiful view”
 of 5 bubbles megansul427, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Love the ocean front rooms at Morning Star. If you get a garden view I would suggest a 2nd or 3rd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles carletonsoccer, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pick a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 44stuarth, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No elevator in Harbor View annex”
 of 5 bubbles jwpnpd, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5