We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Windward Passage Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

647 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 618: English reviews
U.S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our local housing authority stays here a lot and we really enjoy the location and do meetings once in a while. Just fix the breakfast staff, but the food is okay. The repair guy who adjusted our air conditioner remote was wonderful (user error) and the housekeepers are truly busy. Kind of annoying to come down to the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vihousingmgr
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is the worst I have been too...and that's a shame since I've traveled to Africa, Europe and other Caribbean islands. On entering the room, my kids said "why does it stink in here". We could not breath. It was 8pm and the room was sticky and musty with a wet moldy odor. The linens, towels and even toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 623worldtraveller
Rhode Island
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Checked in with my husband for a few days. Great little room with slight remodeling with a great view. Great dinner, great bartender, wonderful bellboy. Absolute horrible checking in process with a little hairy face & legs woman not wanting to come out of office and help a long long of people. when she did, she said she was manager...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarenGalRI
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been shared with our GM. Thank you again, Guest Relations

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked a room for two nights for about $290. When I checked out, I asked for a receipt - luckily... It showed a charge of $420.20, due to surprise bogus charges. I was able to get it back down to about $290. But, the bogus charges should never have been on the bill in the first place. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave77091
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We apologize for any inconveniences you endured during your stay. Your comments have been shared with our Management team. Guest Relations

Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let's keep it simple. Stay elsewhere. Hotel is old and run down. Staff are terrible and could care less. Rooms very dated and lots of damage to the rooms. Tv system is good, lots of choice. Restaurant is a total joke. The staff are just so bad. Totally understaffed as well. Food was good. There are plenty of better hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rsg1971
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been shared with our Management staff! Guest Relations

Ontario
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The bonus of this hotel is that it's not far from the airport, walking distance to town and the ferry port. It seems a little dated and in need of some TLC. There was no hot water, it was a little warm. The fitness room did not have water; we stayed here twice within a one week span and neither...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CSCTravelAgentKim
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been shared with our Management staff. Guest Relations

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First off let me say the staff was very friendly. But the hotel is OK . For the price point is definitely not worth it. The hotel looks to be about very old and worn down. It looked as if they were doing renovations. The hotel need some serious work as far as making a modern. On One side of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glorianicholej
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been shared with our Management staff. Guest Relations

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very conveniently located hotel near both the airport and the ferry to other islands. The rooms are ok....nothing to write home about. My room was water front "with balcony"...well, my balcony was nailed shut, so unusable. The TV worked. There was a small fridge. They have a limited room service for breakfast and dinner. I asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mayalavender
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been shared with our Management Staff. Guest Relations

Syracuse, NY
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I chose to stay here due to price and the proximity to the ferry terminal; Short version: you get what you pay for. When I made the reservation I asked about early check in, and was told 'no problem' as there was lots of availability; I was also told there was a free shuttle to Meagan's Bay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bebrbabe
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are truly sorry for the inconveniences you endured while staying with us. We have implemented new procedures for our early check ins. Your comments have been shared with our Management Staff! Guest Relations

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for almost a month. I expect good service, clean rooms, courteous staff and good food. I was happy with all these. Great location on the port watching the Cruise ships come in. The room was always clean. The staff were extremely friendly. This hotel is close to everything in St Thomas. The restaurant was wonderful! Breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
Pam K, Guest Relations Manager at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Mark for your kind words. Your comments have been shared with our hotel staff. We look forward to your next visit! Guest Relations

457 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (267)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (101)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (168)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Harborview Double Room (34)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.9 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
510 reviews
3.2 km away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
318 reviews
4.0 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
3.3 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,514 reviews
4.9 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Windward Passage Hotel is truly your bargain in paradise. We are perfect for business travelers and the ideal choice for short stays and shopping trips. Centrally located, overlooking the picturesque Charlotte Amalie harbor, we are within walking distance of the major downtown shopping district and an even shorter walk away from the ferry and seaplane docks for transit to nearby islands. Transfer to the beaches is convenient for all our guests, so they miss out on nothing on our tropical island. Our Ocean View Rooms boast a breath-taking view of the harbor and our staff is courteous and friendly. We are constantly updating and improving our facilities to serve you better. You are welcome to stop by and pay us a visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Windward Passage Hotel

Address: Veterans Drive | Waterfront, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $184 - $739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windward Passage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Windward Passage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Amalie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Charlotte Amalie
Windward Passage Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands - Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windward Passage Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Windward Passage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beware of the front desk staff”
 of 5 bubbles KarenGalRI, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are not worth the price. My room had bugs in it”
 of 5 bubbles glorianicholej, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get water front or get used to lots of noise”
 of 5 bubbles mayalavender, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A 'good room' would probably be in another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Bebrbabe, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I wouldn't pay extra for the "view"... The restaurant at the ferry docks is pretty good.”
 of 5 bubbles NativeTexans, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay