We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Windward Passage Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

668 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Windward Passage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 639: English reviews
Douglas, Michigan
Reviewed 20 February 2015

We booked our family of 6 adults into this hotel unfortunately! This is the worst hotel we've ever stayed at! All our rooms were disgusting! We wouldn't even shower because the tiles were dirty and moldy. The bathroom overall was nasty. The bed sheets looked like they were worn down to almost threads, the carpet we wouldn't walk on without...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Happy2bthere14 H
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been forwarded to our a managment staff. Regards Pam

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 14 February 2015

I stayed at this hotel over a year ago. During my stay, it was clear to me that some staff members were very rude. I did not let this ruin my stay, I simply overlooked this. I did not know however that it would come back to bite me! I unfortunately left my car keys behind in the room and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alyssa J
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

I'm truly sorry for the inconvenience you have endured. Your comments have been forwarded to the Managment team, again sorry for the lack of customer Service! This is something we continue to work on daily. Regards Pam

Georgia
Reviewed 14 February 2015

I booked this hotel for a 4 day 3 night business trip to the island. The hotel is in a convenient location being right in the middle of Charlotte Amalie, however it should be noted that the shops, restaurants, and attractions in Charlotte Amalie close up as soon as the last passengers head back for their cruise ship, no matter...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CarribDreamer
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We look forward to your next visit! Pam

Michigan
Reviewed 12 February 2015

Dirty, Dirty, Dirty... Never again, I do not care how convenient they are located to the ferry doc in CA. We would not even use the shower, it was full of mold.. They workers were OK, but offered no help. Also waited unitl 530pm to get into our room, it should have been ready by 4 pm. There was some...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cherylwi
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been forward to the Managment team which they take very seriously! Regards Pam

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 12 February 2015

This hotel is really nice. We stayed for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. Can't beat the view if you have a Harbor View room. It is also in the middle of town so there was a lot for us to do in a walking distance. Only downfall is the time it took to receive breakfast. Took 45 minutes to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jet W
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We look forward to your next visit! Pam

Ennis, Ireland
Reviewed 11 February 2015

We recently stayed at the Windward passage hotel for 6 nights. Having read a lot of the not so complimentary reviews on here we were slightly nervous but given the lack of mid range hotels on the Island and our budget we took a chance on it. We booked a King View Harbour View And requested the top floor which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeisureGuy32
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We look forward to your next visit! Pam

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Possibly the worst experience I have ever had travel around the world. Manger would not even deal with the problems, staff promised he would address issues and nothing. Roaches were everywhere in room, they offered to spray room.., no refund or discount. Left the room at 3am for another hotel. Absolutely disguising. Beware of this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DDanW
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been forward to the Managment Team which they take very seriously. Regards Pam

Gulfport, Florida
Reviewed 8 February 2015

I stayed over the Dec holidays on return from sailing in Tortola. Perfect location..could just walk across the street from the ferry and check into the hotel. The place had been renovated a year ago. What a wonderful surprise...lovely spacious, clean room and terrific bath area. the pool was great. All the staff I encountered were friendly, helpful and efficient..Bell,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debstt
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We look forward to your next stay! Pam

Reviewed 8 February 2015 via mobile

This is not a place you'd want to stay. Why? Pros: * A nice elevator * A kind bartender Cons: - Cockroaches. - If you pay for breakfast in advance, and you aren't with a tour, you can't order anything above 4$ - We got locked outside our room - Restaurant personnel is hostile. You do not feel welcome. -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Emil V
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your comments have been forward to the Managment Team! Regards Pam

Louisville, KY
Reviewed 5 February 2015

We needed a place for one night prior to a week on St. John. Booked online, choosing a King bed, harbor view room at a cost of $20 more than the double bed standard room. Upon arrival we were given a double bed room. Did not discover this until we entered the room, of course. Back at the desk, we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DeirdreLouisville
Pam K, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I do apologize for any inconviences you endured. Your comments have been given to the management staff which they take very seriously Thank you for being our guest and hope you will return one day. Regards Pam

457 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (269)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (101)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (168)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Harborview Double Room (34)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
3.9 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
612 reviews
3.2 km away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
344 reviews
0.9 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.6 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
3.3 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Windward Passage Hotel is truly your bargain in paradise. We are perfect for business travelers and the ideal choice for short stays and shopping trips. Centrally located, overlooking the picturesque Charlotte Amalie harbor, we are within walking distance of the major downtown shopping district and an even shorter walk away from the ferry and seaplane docks for transit to nearby islands. Transfer to the beaches is convenient for all our guests, so they miss out on nothing on our tropical island. Our Ocean View Rooms boast a breath-taking view of the harbor and our staff is courteous and friendly. We are constantly updating and improving our facilities to serve you better. You are welcome to stop by and pay us a visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Windward Passage Hotel

Address: Veterans Drive | Waterfront, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $209 - $741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windward Passage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Windward Passage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Amalie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Charlotte Amalie
Windward Passage Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands - Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windward Passage Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Falmouth, Massachusetts
3 months ago
Granada Hills ,California
Charleston, South Carolina
2 months ago
Falmouth, Massachusetts
3 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Windward Passage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor was quiet and over looks the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles vont2017, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ocean view is what you want.”
 of 5 bubbles MamieKelley, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beware of the front desk staff”
 of 5 bubbles KarenGalRI, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are not worth the price. My room had bugs in it”
 of 5 bubbles glorianicholej, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get water front or get used to lots of noise”
 of 5 bubbles mayalavender, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5