We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Green Iguana Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Green Iguana Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Green Iguana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 395: English reviews
Allenhurst, New Jersey
Reviewed 10 March 2016

My Boyfriend and I were on our way home from St. Croix where we had a quick layover on St. Thomas. The staff from our first flight misplaced one of our luggage tags which held us up at the airport just long enough to miss our connecting flight home. With no other option available, Cape Air found us a vacant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

What can I say other than Thank You! You were so distraught when you arrived, however you did relax and put your worries behind you for a little while! Aren't the local food trucks awesome? They have "Food Truck Night" occasionally in Town, you get to sample local dishes like Salt Fish Pate' and Rotti, not to mention some of...

Pasadena, Maryland
Reviewed 10 March 2016

We needed a one night stay before leaving for a charter vacation. This was a nice stay; walking distance to downtown, clean rooms. John and Gwen (managers) were friendly and responsive. The rates are very reasonable. I noticed that they had beach towels, chairs, water toys and sunscreen for guests to use.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene607
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

When your flight arrives after the last ferry departs, we enjoy providing travelers a homey place to relax! We do have beach things available for Guests to borrow! Chairs, Coolers, Floaties, towels, we even have snorkel gear you can check out in the office. We have a "free-cycle" table as well, supplied by Guests who have left over sunscreen, and...

Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewed 9 March 2016

We selected this hotel sight unseen and we were pleasantly surprised - the rooms were very nice, spacious and some had small kitchens. The hotel managers were very helpful, friendly, accommodating and approachable- a little bit like a bed and breakfast without the breakfast! They arranged for a taxi to meet us at the airport and were willing to make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wtstanf
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Green Iguana Hotel! My husband John describes the Hotel as we live in this really big 10 bedroom house/villa and you get your own private bed and bath! It is a quiet little property, easy to get to from air or sea. I have to admit, the relationship with the taxi...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 28 February 2016

For our short stay we did not need lots of amenities, just a nice place to stay overnight. Green Iguana fit the bill.Hosts were very gracious, and its a short easy walk downhill to hill town, a short cab ride back if you tired from exploring town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayme S
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

When you are transitioning from home to your vacation destination, you sometimes need a stop over night somewhere! We are happy to fill that bill for you! We trust that you slept well and were ready to continue your Caribbean Adventure refreshed! We hope to see you again next winter!

Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Stayed for the first time this February for 1 night before hopping the ferry to Tortola BVI and stayed 2 nights on the return trip. Very simple rooms but clean rooms and the hosts were great and very easy going. The birds in the garden were beautiful! Would stay here again. It is away from the busy part of town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank francesca f
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Did you see the turtles and iguanas too? They love to stop in for a drink of water we leave for them in the gardens. The little bananaquits often wait by the office door for John to open up in the morning and bring them sugar! And the hummingbirds! They aren't shy like North American hummingbirds I've seen and fed!...

Caledon, Canada
Reviewed 25 February 2016

We stayed at the hotel for one night layover until we moved on to the BVI. The management was friendly and always responded to email enquiries and supplied information as requested. The hotel is not modern but rooms are adequate, include a/c, satellite tv, coffee maker, mini fridge, coffee, etc. The issue we had was simpl due to noise. Quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnDWong
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry your stay wasn't all you wished for. I don't remember what the celebration was while you where here, but it is usually pretty quiet, especially at night. We are constantly working to upgrade the rooms to make your stay comfortable. The roosters are island birds and we can't do anything about them, however!! Thank you for...

Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Reviewed 11 February 2016

Charming property adorned with beautiful local greenery... You feel welcomed and at home right away. John and Gwen are the perfect hosts. Spent our mornings enjoying views of the water, watching ships come in, or simply checking out the iguanas and birds in their natural environment. Our room also had a full kitchen , which was perfect for our family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carrie B
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Carrie, We are so happy your family enjoyed your stay on St. Thomas and at The Green Iguana Hotel! We enjoyed the couple of evenings of conversation in the gardens and are happy you enjoyed some of the islands activities, and that you learned to snorkel! We hope you will bring your family back for another Winter Warmup soon!

Winter Garden, Florida
Reviewed 19 January 2016

We had the pleasure of staying at the Green Iguana. Small, quaint and very charming! The room was very clean, nicely decorated with a balcony and amazing view of the island! Its very convenient and centralized within walking distance (or short drive) to many attractions on the island. The innkeepers, John and Gwen did an excellent job in making you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laurieluvs2
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

You have described us PERFECTLY! Small (9 Rooms) Quaint (I love that word!) and charming! Our housekeeper Evie does a great job of keeping the Guest rooms clean! Town is a short walk away, or taxis will pick you up at our front door with about a 15 minute notice! We try our best to keep up with the newest...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 18 January 2016

We needed a place to stay for one night before flying back home and we stayed at The Green Iguana Hotel. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. Since we were only staying in ST. Thomas for a day we wanted to be close to Charlotte Amalie and to be in walking distance to shopping and restaurants and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy G
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for finding us! We are happy to hear the Hotel offered everything you were looking for! We hope to see you again on your next Caribbean Adventure!

Red Bank,NJ
Reviewed 14 January 2016

We needed a place to overnight before catching the early morning ferry to Tortola for our sailing charter. This place was convenient, clean and exactly what we needed for our 12 hour stay. The owners arranged an airport pick up and drop off taxi for us. They even allowed us to mail some provisions to them before hand. We easily...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JulieBellaB
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Airline luggage fees can add up quickly! If you have special items you need to bring with you, we don't mind receiving a small box or two in advance of your stay. Do keep in mind we have just about anything you could desire here on St. Thomas! We are thankful we have a great relationship with a local taxi...

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte Amalie hotels
0.5 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
523 reviews
3.6 km away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
330 reviews
0.6 km away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
597 reviews
0.2 km away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
403 reviews
2.9 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $223 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your The Green Iguana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands - Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We loved room H1; beautiful outdoor terrace with lounge chairs. Perfect for sundowners. Big kingsize bed and cream,/white color palette.”
 of 5 bubbles R9959YXvickym, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in A6 and it was great.”
 of 5 bubbles stmoody, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“You can choose your room on the website”
 of 5 bubbles seagirl2014, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a balcony. But other rooms have wonderful views too.”
  • View from balcony of Room H2.
 of 5 bubbles stephenmL6220GF, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“the beds were great! Don't know what kind of mattress, but had a great sleep!”
  • sun rise from our balcony
  • from our balcony
 of 5 bubbles francescaf356, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay