We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Green Iguana Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Green Iguana Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Green Iguana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 389: English reviews
Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We booked room H-2 for two nights. We loved that we could walk down 99 steps to eat and shop without going broke taking taxis! It was a bit on the noisy side in the mornings because of roosters and dogs (as other reviewers mentioned), not the fault of Gwen and John of course, who are wonderful hosts; very friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank JMPMINFLA
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for finding us! We enjoyed having you stay with us! I make it no secret that H2 is my favorite room, mainly due to the great balcony! The view is AMAZING! As guests (before we became Resident Managers") we ALWAYS stayed in H2 for our yearly trips to STT. We are looking forward to your return visit! More 

Laurel, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We went off the beaten path (our group stayed at Windward) because we wanted to see a little bit more of the island. Wow! We definitely got a more beautiful and twice as much fun experience. Gwen and John were really nice and the place was exactly what we needed to begin our vacation. If we make it back with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda U
Management response:

Thanks for the wonderful comments Amanda! We are happy to hear your Caribbean Adventure, and your time on St. Thomas, was memorable, in the best way possible! Next time you venture off to Virgin Gorda or one of the other BVI's, you must take a few extra days to enjoy St. Thomas! More 

Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We were so pleased we found this local hotel at the top of the 99 steps. Our extended family of 10 felt quite at home with the welcome provided by Gwen and John. The area was quiet and the parking was great. Thanks for making our short stay on St. Thomas memorable. Gwen made us so comfortable we were not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
Management response:

Karen your entire family is so nice! We are happy you found us too! Booking a one night stay on St. Thomas for a large party such as yours can be exasperating! We try our very best to accommodate parties of all sizes! The Historic 99 Steps is a nice walk even if you have a rental car! Parking right... More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We loved the Green Iguana! We were married at Magen's Bay and stayed at the Green Iguana a few days before and after going to St John. The grounds were lovely and the hotel is very quiet with a beautiful view. For our wedding, Gwen recommended someone to do my hair and she recommended a great photographer who took several... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
Management response:

P&P.....we were excited to help in every way possible for your Wedding-Moon! Ms. Dawson does a wonderful job decorating the beach for a ceremony! You both were so excited to become married! Thank you for allowing us to be a part of it! Now, can we be a part of your anniversary celebrations too? Best wishes for a long and... More 

Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The Green Iguana is a great place to stay!! From the friendly welcome and local info that Gwen & John provide, to the great view from Blackbeard's Hill; Green Iguana is excellent. The bed was comfy and the AC worked great. It was also nice to have in-room coffee and a microwave. We also appreciated that the hotel can provide... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Doug H
Management response:

John and I were happy your stay was so comfortable! Being "up" on Blackbeard's Hill is a nice buffer from the hustle and bustle of Town (Charlotte Amalie)! But it IS fun to go to Town to people watch, isn't it?! We are looking forward to your next visit! Safe Travels! More 

Bonita Springs, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Gwen & John were very friendly and helpful in booking the hotel and getting us from the jungles of St. John at Maho Bay back to civilization! We loved the view, the A/C and the clean and fresh feeling of the room. The place is beautifully landscaped. The flowers in the room were a nice touch. We were close enough... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lori W
Management response:

We are happy you were able to unwind before heading back to the real civilization of the States! The flowers were from our gardens! We love to put them in the rooms and share will our Guests! We are so happy you had a 'nice find' on your Caribbean Adventure! More 

Vermilion, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We would like to thank John and Gwen for an awesome time! The hotels accomodations were very clean, with a well suplied and clean kitchen and bath. Everything was charming right down to the the fresh hibicus in the vase on the table. We stayed 6 days and the service was above and beyond, as well as, the professionalism of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Flybyta
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeff and Michelle! Thank you so much for helping us as much as we helped you! We are happy you enjoyed the snorkeling, the food, and the tropics in general! We are sure we will see you again very soon! More 

Harleysville, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My wife and I were on our third trip to St. John. We always spend the first night in St. Thomas and on our first two trips we stayed at the Green Iguana and loved it. This time we thought we'd try a new place and decided on the Mafolie Hotel because it has a pool and restaurant. When we... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Kirby A
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy we were able to welcome you Home on a moment's notice! Joining us for dinner was no problem! The restaurant did a great job of seating our party of six so quickly and that made the conversation even more pleasant! We love that we rescued your vacation! As far as being the best night? Thank you! More 

Billings, MT
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I can't say enough about this place! The location is perfect. Just a short walk to downtown, and not far from the airport. Five of us stayed here for only one night on a girl's trip on the way back from STJ/Jost. We had 3 rooms and all of them were very clean. John and Gwen were very accomodating.....they let... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaGBillings_MT
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Talk about giggly girls! You 5 were having so much fun! We are happy we could accommodate your late check out. It is not always possible but we understand some flights leave later in the day and you need a place to store your bags. If we are not able to extend your room stay for a few hours, we... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I just spent a week with John and Gwen and had a terrific stay! I stayed in Room A1, which had a balcony with a wonderful view of the Charlotte Amalie Harbor, and full kitchen including all of the pots, pans, and accessories needed for the week. The Green Iguana is a very well managed, clean and secure small hotel.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review

Frank, we are so happy you chose The Green Iguana Hotel for your homecoming to St. Thomas! We try our best to make every traveler feel at home. We are glad you found everything you needed to make your stay comfortable! Please don't stay away so long! Come back often! Your friends await your return! More 

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.5 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
508 reviews
3.6 km away
Island Beachcomber Hotel
Island Beachcomber Hotel
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
318 reviews
2.9 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
671 reviews
5.0 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,133 reviews
0.2 km away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeards Hl, Charlotte Amalie 00802-6732, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $209 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your The Green Iguana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands - Charlotte Amalie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Green Iguana Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can choose your room on the website”
 of 5 bubbles seagirl2014, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a balcony. But other rooms have wonderful views too.”
  • View from balcony of Room H2.
 of 5 bubbles stephenmL6220GF, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“the beds were great! Don't know what kind of mattress, but had a great sleep!”
  • sun rise from our balcony
  • from our balcony
 of 5 bubbles francescaf356, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Call Gwen direct- she'll get you set with a custom fit room!!”
  • The lovely walk to our room..
 of 5 bubbles carrieb767, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Call and talk to Gwen and she will make things perfect for you!”
 of 5 bubbles dondada365, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay