We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

914 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 908: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The resort is absolutely the best in St Thomas Virgin Islands. During a business trip which was extended to a personal trip we decided to always stay at Sugar Bay Resort and Spa. The spa is incredible. Mark did wonders on my tension. The staff (Tina, Cora, Shirley, Swayne, Lois, Maurice, Phyllis, front desk, etc) are highly professional and courteous!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaishatu
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear lettsbegin, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful business trip with us and are glad that you also got to have some personal time here as well. We appreciate you recognizing Mark from the spa, Tina,...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having visited several Caribbean all inclusive resorts over the last few years, both my wife and I were unimpressed with most of Sugar Bay, especially as we had opted for the "All Inclusive" option when booking. I'll start with the highlights: We had an ocean front room that had the most impressive view of any resort we've ever stayed in....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crallred
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear crallred, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review to TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback regarding our team member service, recreational facilities and offerings, as well as food & beverage. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay and we have shared your feedback with the highest levels of executive...

Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I arrived at Sugar Bay extremely excited and ready for our vacation. When we arrived we were met by the friendliest front desk staff, offering us cookies and rum punch. The General Manager, Ron Maidens personally handed out his card and introduced himself. We went to our room, which was beautiful with breathtaking views and unpacked. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lauren C, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments regarding our front desk team, views, and executive management. We also value your feedback regarding the tour desk and food & beverage. We apologize for the service that you received from these two...

Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had was a bit worried based on some of the reviews. However, this resort hit it out of the ball park. We had one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in throughout our travels in the Caribbean. From our balcony perched on a cliff, LED mirrors, fabulous views, fabulous food, friendly people, private beach (no pesky vendors)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamara P
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tamara P, Thank you for taking the time to write and this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback regarding staff service, food & beverage, and location and will pass along your compliments to the team. We also value your feedback regarding our NYE dinner buffet. Our Executive Chef and his team really...

Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewed 1 week ago

To escape the unbearably cold Midwest winter, I decided to take a trip to one of my favorite places, St Thomas. I got the all included package which was a great deal. I stayed in a room with a breathtaking ocean view. The size of the room itself was large and comfortable - 2 beds and a large bathroom. Everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baspaulding
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Baspaulding, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had a much deserved relaxing time away from the cold of the Midwest. We will share your positive feedback regarding our facilities, food and beverage outlets, as well as our recreational...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We may have visited at an off season, but for being and all inclusive resort the entertainment was a bit lack luster. The rooms were clean,and beautiful. There were beautiful views of the ocean and surrounding islands from almost everywhere. The food was just okay, and the distance from anything was a bit annoying, you had to take a taxi...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesli H
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lesli H, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback regarding the rooms, pool facilities and location. We also value your feedback regarding the food & beverage, as well as distance it takes to get to off resort locations. Your comments and review...

Brampton, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The al inclusive has great views and the staff at the resort are awesome only good things to say about them. Our room was clean and efficient. Down side to this resort is the food and liquor options. They served the same food day in day out and very quickly became boring. After the first day they ran out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heatherwel
Berneta A, Owner at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear heatherwel, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback regarding staff service and the views. We also value your feedback regarding food & beverage offerings as well as internet. Your feedback has been shared with our executive leadership team for improvements as we...

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I just returned from our our glorious trip! The weather was great, the water beautiful, the people were amazing and the resort was beyond our expectations! We chose the all-inclusive package and from the moment we arrived, until we left, we didn't have to pay for anything else. The food was magnificent, the staff were ever present...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gayehansen
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear gayehansen, Thank you for writing this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time with us and that the weather was beautiful for your time here. Yes, we agree with you that the all-inclusive package is the way to go for our guest so they don't have to worry...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This resort really has potential. We got the all inclusive deal which was okay not the best food. The grill near the pool is good but, very limited selections. The breakfast was the best, fresh fruits and good pancakes, pastries and more. The dinner selections were horrible not worth all the money for the all inclusive. The manor house buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elan v
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Elan v, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review to TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our food & beverage outlets, recreation and our pool area. We have shared your feedback with the executive leadership team for improvements as we do not take your constructive feedback lightly. We are...

Mackinaw City, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sugar Bay Resort absolutely beautiful! New management on board for last few months and doing a wonderful job. The staff is friendly and outstanding and we wanted for nothing! All 8 of our family members had wonderful rooms and enjoyed pool and beach plus various excursions. Evening dining offered 3 different restaurants and all very good. Want to mention in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank time2travel47
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear time2travel47, Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review of Sugar Bay Resort and Spa to TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your feedback regarding our team members, new management, pool areas, food & beverage, and rooms. Your comments are valuable to us and have been shared...

1,450 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1067)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (162)
Viewed
View from Room (105)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (184)
Viewed
Room/Suite (120)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (419)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (362)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Beach (19)
Viewed
Beach Pool (23)
Viewed
Garden Plus Room (29)
Viewed
Interior Pool (26)
Viewed
Oceanview Room (34)
Viewed
Oceanview Suite (40)
Viewed
Premium Oceanview Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
3.1 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.5 km away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
6.6 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
910 reviews
5.1 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,149 reviews
0.6 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, you can enjoy amenities including gorgeous inter-connecting pools, an award-winning spa, and private balconies! This St. Thomas resort is located just 15 minutes from the famous Mahogany Run Golf Course. Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is located on a secluded white beach with breathtaking, panoramic ocean, bay, and mountain views. The Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is the perfect destination for your next St. Thomas vacation! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802-1350, St. Thomas (Formerly Dreams Sugar Bay)
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Price Range: $508 - $664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Sugar Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Sugar Bay Hotel
Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort St Thomas
Wyndham Hotel St Thomas
Wyndham St Thomas
Wyndham East End
East End Wyndham
Wyndham Sugar Bay St Thomas
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sugar Bay Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
230 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (230)

Questions? Get answers from Sugar Bay Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Stevetravelsoften, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean View only. Spend the extra few dollars, it is worth it.”
  • View from balcony
  • View looking east from Gazebo
 of 5 bubbles dshearer2017, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My room had a full ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles Luchita01, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front are the only rooms to have”
 of 5 bubbles crallred, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The 340 to 350, 240 to 250 rooms are right on the cliff over looking the water - like a post card”
 of 5 bubbles 481tamarap, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay