Camping on the Gulf

Camping on the Gulf

10005 West Emerald Coast Parkway, Miramar Beach, FL 32550-4962
Traveller (293)
Photo from inside our RV on the second row
Pool & Beach (77)
Arriving at our site
Room & Suite (23)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#2 of 3 campsites in Miramar Beach
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Family friendly campground located right on the beautiful beaches of the Gulf of Mexico in Miramar Beach. Camping On The Gulf has 220 sites which include cabins, glamping tents and a beach house for rentals. We have 16 sites that sit directly on the beach. The whole park sits on the beach side of Hwy 98 or Emerald Coast Parkway, so any site you choose is just a short walk to the beautiful white sandy beach. We are located close to great shopping and restaurants located in the Miramar Beach area and are a short drive to any Destin attractions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Ocean View

Location

10005 West Emerald Coast Parkway, Miramar Beach, FL 32550-4962
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 52 out of 100
52
Ft. Walton Beach Airport
21.7 km
See all flights
Destin Airport
15.1 km
See all flights
422Reviews22Q+A75Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 231
  • 82
  • 33
  • 33
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Katrina Coker wrote a review Aug 2021
Dallas, Texas38 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend and I just rented one of the small glamping tents. This included two single beds with linens, a shelf for storage, two lighting options, a portable AC unit, and a trash can on the inside of the tent. Outside the tent there is a covered porch with two chairs and a table. We stayed when it was in the '80s and '90s outside, And with the exception of one very hot day, The tent stayed very cool. It was plenty comfortable for a good night's sleep. There are a few glamping tents that have full coverage of trees so those will probably stay cooler. I also brought two rugs on my own to make it a little more comfy on the feet. The bathhouse with individual bathrooms that include shower toilet sink and a bench are right around the corner. It's important to note that this is an RV resort, So most guests have their own shower and toilet so we never had to struggle to get a bathroom. And had hot water most of the days.

Also on the property are large glamping tents, cabins, and a beach house. Each of those have their own bathroom and shower. Some have patios and some don't. Some allow pets and some don't. Be sure to ask about these upon reserving.

Camp Gulf is right on the beach. Our unit was closer to the front of the property but it was still only a short walk to the beach access. And there are two pools one has a slide and the other is also a heated pool during the winter time. Resort is open year round.

I thought it was decently priced and I will definitely go back again. Great location to restaurants and entertainment as well.

Staff are all very kind. Phone wait times can be very long but worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MAttCer wrote a review Jun 2021
Chicago, Illinois20 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve been at camp gulf for the last week and wanted to write a review of the place after reading some of the latest reviews from people not even staying here but upset about phone support or whatever issue that has nothing to do with the RV resort.

I will start by saying that overall this has been one of the most amazing vacations we have ever had and the first beach vacation we have ever taken in our camper. We usually go west.

The atmosphere at camp gulf is amazing. If your bringing your family, there are tons of family’s here and everyone has kids.

The beach is absolutely gorgeous. Ranks right next to Barbados and the clear water was a huge surprise.

There are three bath houses. All of which were clean.

The grounds were spotless. Rolling hills and the back half of the park was tree lined and shaded. The sites were concrete and level and all of the utilities were within a few feet of the pad on the correct side. Pools were spotless and there’s a food truck on site.

Staff were very friendly. Despite a review I read the check in was a breeze. I didn’t even have to get out of my truck. I followed a guy on a golf kart and he assisted me getting into the spot. Saved my wife and I our usual verbal altercation while parking.

Truly a spectacular place and we enjoyed every minute. My advice is depending on what month you come, the beach spots might not be the best choice. They looked sooo hot. We enjoyed the shaded tree lined rear of the park. You also get more room.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
T M wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When are 2 kids were young, we would take our RV and get a site on the beach. For the past 3 years, wife and I have rented a cabin for the entire month of January. Next year, we have reserved the same cabin for December, January, and February. It’s not perfect; but a good value. Campgulf has always been friendly and helpful. We have met so many new good friends and they consistently reserve for the next year. Although the 2 other State Parkers are significantly less costly, you can not easily walk to the beach. So much better than staying in one of those high rise condos…

The laundry room has been updated with new washers and dryers that can be operated using coins or your phone.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Camp on the Gulf is totally overpriced. I have been there 10 days ago and I paid $187 per day for a site far from the beach and, as a reference, that is 4.5x more expensive than the Topsail Hill State Park, just a few miles away from this park. And the sites with a beach view are even more expensive. What do they offer for such a rate? A couple of swimming pools (walking distance from the ocean does not make much sense during summertime, in my POV) a WI-FI signal very limited and not much more. It will take more than 3 minutes to get hot water on the bathhouse rooms, which are not very clean and the worst part is: there are 3 or 4 lines of canopies and umbrellas at the beach because, on the sides of this park, there are private beaches that the campers cannot use so, all the hundreds of beachgoers from this park will concentrate in just a small portion of the beach. If you pay a premium price for the sites at the beach you should know that you will be able to see the ocean only for 5 minutes of the day from sunset until gets dark and you will not have full hookups and you should schedule sewer service with the park. A very bad experience for the price….
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TravelLover8098 wrote a review Aug 2021
Del Rio, Texas330 contributions110 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second trip to CG and I will say it has gone downhill since our last trip. On our previous stay we were greeted by staff and escorted to our site. This time we were met by a semi-young guy with a scowl on his face. When we asked him a question he said “you’ll have to take are of that when you check-in,” (isn’t that what we were doing? Not to mention you have to come back to the front and check-in after you get settled). It was inconvenient considering the fact that we were very close to the beach and had to walk or drive all the way back up. When I came back in the person I needed to speak to regarding my question (billing related) was not in. I asked if they could call me back (since they DO NOT answer their phones, and if they do you wait an hour plus to get someone on the line). The attendant told me I’d have to come in—which meant more wasted vacation time. We eventually got it worked out, but considering this place calls themselves a resort, they should be willing to go above and beyond to make the stay for their clients a pleasant one.

In addition to service being poor, the park is very crowded and things like the slide are only open a couple of hours a week. The best part of the stay is the beach. The ONLY reason I plan to return next summer is because their beach is honestly one of the most pristine locations in Destin. We’ve driven to other beaches to meet friends or go parasailing and the water in other places is much greener. The water here is as turquoise as it comes. We also made friends with other return families and booked our stay for next summer so that it coincides with their stay. It’s a great place to make memories for the kids. They played with all the other kids in the park and I always felt safe letting my kids ride bikes or walk around.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Beware of the horrible phone service and inability to get ahold of front desk staff.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
alexknepp wrote a review Apr 2024
Montgomery, Indiana27 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sites at this campsite aren’t cheap by any means but like most things in life, you get what you pay for. Sites are spacious, nicely landscaped, have excellent amenities, and the location can’t be beat. Highlights include daily activities and onsite food trucks that you’re notified of via text messages, shower houses that are constantly being cleaned throughout the day, and of the course the great location right on a beautiful beach and also within easy walking distance from restaurants and grocery stores. We’ve been to this campground twice and have really enjoyed our stays both times.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Sites on the beach are memorable but sites in the middle of the CG are next to the shower house...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom T wrote a review Apr 2023
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the tale of 2 management companies. We’ve been coming here for 15 years. The quality has declined significantly. It starts when you go through the duct taped gate arm, and continues with a staff that show no interest in helping you park. One employee said “ you drove it here, you park it”. We used to be escorted to the spot and expert help was given to park your camper. The spaces are EXTREMELY close, and for a large RV there are too many trucks to dodge. The bushes and grass at our site were unkempt an over grown. The white picket fence was knocked over and unrepaired. The cable TV was discontinued and we no longer get a pamphlet with WI-FI passwords. The lake is falling in, several areas of the retaining wall have collapsed and need repair. The entrance to the main office was a debris field of old limbs and leaves from a storm 2 days prior. The volley ball net that looked like it had been left out all winter was in shreds. There used to be a fire in the fire pit by the swimming pool every night. It is the small things that we miss. Uniformed, courteous employees on golf carts that are looking for excuses to help you used to be the standard, now you are lucky if you get a smart aleck reply. We’ve been coming here for 15 years, it is still the only place like it on the coast, and we still come, but service has deteriorated and the prices have gone up 30%. I wonder if Mr. Bradshaw is as proud of this place as he once was
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you have a camper longer than 35 feet and you have a back in spot, be prepared for a tight...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ebrzegowy wrote a review Mar 2020
Palatine, Illinois2 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I know that emotions are running high right now due to Covid-19 and it's a stressful situation that we are all in. I wanted to say that my experience every time I called was very positive. The staff members I talked to were both very nice, informative, and professional. They are not the ones who are making decisions about the policies. This campground does not hide or put in a small print all the information about cancelation policies-its right there. They are helping people out as much as they can by allowing to change dates even at a very last minute. Looking forward to visit next year! Stay safe everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darron W wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We are unable to visit in April and called to transfer our one night deposit to a reservation for next year but they wont transfer dates so I'm just out $140. They didnt tell me that when I made the reservation and it doesnt show that on my confirmation email. Now I'm going to stay at a great place that will work with us...Ocean Lakes in Myrtle Beach!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Concerned Family wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
In 2019 we visited Camp Gulf where there was excess rain. Some of the park flooded. The facilities are decent however are tight quarters. In 2020 we planned to return however with COVID we were hesitant. In reviewing the facilities the inside dome pool, lodge and tight quarter caused us to request a cancellation. Camp Gulf is greedy and will not even offer a full refund. This is unfortunate as there are 2 positive case at Camp Gulf for Coronavirus per their staff. It has been talked about that the beach and other areas will be shut down. Traveling to a RV park so the family can be sheltered in place does not seem exciting. Consider the well being of your clients vs the money going in your wallets.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pat O, Manager at Camping on the Gulf
Responded Mar 26, 2020
Sorry to hear that you had 2 badly timed visits. We control neither the rain not the CV outbreak. I wish the fear from rumors did not scare you away, however the beach was eventually closed. There would not have been any need to shelter in place here. We are willing to work with you regarding a credit. Please email me you reservation number or name so we can take care of this. pat@campgulf.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from general m
Miramar Beach, Florida
We do not have life guard stands. Walton County has a flag system to let everyone know the surf conditions. There is a rescue team but what you have probably read about is when people swim during ‘red flag’ conditions. I am not aware of ‘very high amount of rescues’. The Gulf of Mexico is relatively calm compared to coastal oceans. We have one ride per day which is about one foot change. If you experience a red flag day we do have 2 swimming pools, hot tub, slide, Wibit, and many activities scheduled in the park.
OutOfPlaceCuban asked a question Jul 2019
Greenville79 contributions44 helpful votes
What is the charge per day to rent a golf cart?
Answer from Amber R
Cave Creek, Arizona8 contributions
I think it is $50/day
crut77 asked a question Jun 2018
Poplar Bluff, Missouri20 contributions11 helpful votes
Is this open year round?
Answer from David B
Mansfield, Texas232 contributions50 helpful votes
Yes
alexknepp wrote a tip Apr 2024
Montgomery, Indiana27 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sites on the beach are memorable but sites in the middle of the CG are next to the shower house and equal distance from heated pool & beach."
Read full review
James R wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"be ware of their non-refundable deposit family."
Read full review
Christen O wrote a tip Oct 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"No refunds given for unforeseen circumstances! "
Read full review
VMP220 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Doylestown, Pennsylvania5 contributions24 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"You will have to get up At 4am if you want a spot at the oceans edge or you will be looking at a row of tents. "
Read full review
Julie G wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wake up at 4:00am daily to select your spot at the beach or you will have a difficult time getting your feet in the water!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Miramar Beach area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
camp gulf hotel destin
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Camp Gulf
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida PanhandleDestinMiramar Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
220
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Camping on the Gulf - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Camping on the Gulf
Which popular attractions are close to Camping on the Gulf?
Nearby attractions include Silver Sands Premium Outlets (0.9 km), Escapology Destin (1.1 km), and Footprints Gift Shop (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Camping on the Gulf?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Is parking available at Camping on the Gulf?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Camping on the Gulf?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bijoux, SunQuest Cruises, and Tuscany Italian Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Camping on the Gulf?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Camping on the Gulf?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Camping on the Gulf have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Camping on the Gulf accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Miramar Beach HotelsMiramar Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Miramar BeachHotels near Camping on the Gulf
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars