Runaway Hill Club

Runaway Hill Club

Harbour Island, The Bahamas Dunmore Town Harbour Island
Bedroom
Traveller (136)
View from Alice Emily porch
Room & Suite (31)
Beach Area
Pool & Beach (30)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#6 of 9 hotels in Harbour Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Beach front 11 room Inn and four bedroom beach house located on the pink sand beach of Harbour Island. Beachside pool and restaurant nestled on 13 tropical acres. A variety of rooms including a one bedroom owners cottage makes this the perfect location for intimate weddings, birthday celebrations or family reunions. Our Chef, Krishna Higgs, has a wonderful menu which features daily local fresh fish options. The Four Bedroom Infinity House has sliding glass doors in each bedroom and endless deck. Newly renovated it offers everything you could wish for in a rental home and offers all the amenities of a hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Heated pool
Restaurant
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Business

Location

Harbour Island, The Bahamas Dunmore Town Harbour Island
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 77 out of 100
77
North Eleuthera Intl Airport
Governor's Harbour Airport
38.6 km
See all flights
173Reviews6Q+A38Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 153
  • 9
  • 6
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kirsten L wrote a review Feb 2020
5 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is my favorite place to stay on Harbour Island. It's on the beach, it has a pool, and it's small enough to be cozy and not feel like a huge hotel. I think there are only 11 rooms.They have kayaks, paddle boards, and other fun beach toys. Also, there's a great reef in front of the resort that offers excellent snorkeling! Beautiful clown, trigger, angel, and parrot fish! We always feel like we're staying with friends when we stay here. We love the staff and look forward to seeing them each year. I cannot say enough about Jenny Messier, the manager. She's so friendly, down-to-earth, and accommodating. She really makes our stay special year after year and is happy to offer recommendations for excursions, like fishing, jumping into the sapphire hole, or swimming with the pigs. My husband and I came alone this trip, but we usually come with our kids and they love it!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: upstairs room have a private rooftop deck.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Messierjen, General Manager at Runaway Hill Club
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Thank you. The best part of our job is to share the beauty of Harbour Island with our guests. We are happy you love it as much as we do.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary G wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I traveled to Harbour Island for the first time this summer and all of our expectations of Runaway Hill were far exceeded. Kendrick the hotel manager personally greeted us with the warmest welcome and they were so kind to upgrade our room to have more space for our family. The accommodations are simple but perfectly clean, the location and views can not be beat, and the food..breakfast, lunch, and dinner were all absolutely delicious. The girls at the front desk BJ and Lachante and all the others were all so kind and accommodating and the waitstaff, bartenders, the cleaning staff, all wonderful and professional. They all became our friends and it was just an overall beautiful experience. The breathtaking pink sands beach outside your door has everything you need: lounge chairs, umbrellas, paddle boards, kayaks, and towels. The service was top notch. Overall just a wonderful experience for our family.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathy S wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Runaway Hill has a very special feel to it. Love that it's a smaller inn, which makes for a nice quieter and intimate place to relax. The inn is nestled in the lush vegetation with a spectacular view of the ocean from the bar, inside and veranda dining areas. This view can't be beat. All staff were super friendly and always attentive. Detarrior, at the front desk and Kendra were great in finding restaurants with live music and local Bahamian dishes for us. We felt the restaurant at Runaway consistently had the best food of all the resort restaurants that we tried. Runaway HilI Inn really helps you slip into the islands's relaxing pace as soon as you arrive! Highly recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Kathleen room has fresh and simple decor. Great view of ocean, private deck off the suite.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie G wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel through Bahamago.com for two nights in February. Booking was confirmed so subsequently booked other hotels before and after those dates on other islands as part of a two week island hopping vacation. The following day, the hotel cancelled my reservation with no explication. After calling the hotel, I was informed that it has a three day night minimum - though no mention of this on the travel website. I explained that if I had known this I could have reserved three nights, however, I was now locked into other hotel reservations and only had two nights available. I asked if they could make an exception while it was not my fault that this predicament had arisen. While I do appreciate the hotel policy of a three night minimum, they shouldn’t then offer the possibility to reserve less than three nights on an external websites. I was informed by the person I spoke to that they would need to speak to their manager for approval and would call me back. After three days of no news, I called the hotel and was informed now there was no availability for those dates. Was genuinely surprised by the absolute lack of interest in helping me find a solution. Very disappointing experience, especially since after waiting so many days for a response, there is very little availability in other hotels on the island. Will not book again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Messierjen, General Manager at Runaway Hill Club
Responded Feb 4, 2020
This review is inaccurate. The individual booked with a third party Vendor BahamaGo.com which has no relationship to Runaway Hill Club. They presented her with false information and they had no authority to confirm a reservation. No money was collected by Runaway Hill Inn and no confirmation was ever sent. We do not allow online booking or use third party vendors for exactly this issue. The reviewer is blaming the wrong party to her travel issues. Very disappointing that inaccurate information can be posted without confirmation of the facts. You cannot book again a reservation which was never booked in the first place.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth J wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I had delighted in our yearly visit to Runaway Hill for five years. Following an unexpected hiatus of 3 years, (due to back surgery and COVID), we were so very eager to return again this year. We were greatly disappointed. In the past, the hotel afforded a gathering of kindred spirits, laughter, discussions and coffee shared in the mornings in the front room, a welcome by Jen (a most gracious hostess), an honor bar, and rooms open to the spirit of the beautiful Caribbean sanctuary that it was. This year, our room had all of the windows painted shut, and inoperable fan and air conditioning. (Incidentally, we were told that the windows are painted shut to avoid their being open while the air conditioner is running...seriously!) We were relocated to a lovely room for the next four nights; but, were required to move back to the first room (air conditioner fixed, but water main broken) since we were told that the rest of the hotel was totally booked. We are so totally disheartened to grieve the loss of the "original Runaway" that we loved. So many details have been neglected...especially a gracious welcome and the casual, charming beauty of the accommodations. While the staff are, for the most part, very friendly, we did not find the management to be very hospitable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kendrick Stewart, Innkeeper at Runaway Hill Club
Responded Feb 22, 2023
Hello Elizabeth, We are so sorry that our team did not meet your expectations. As the Operations Manager of Runaway Hill, I take my position very seriously and I hope to provide the best service that I can. I believe that I am very hospitable as is our entire team. The Inn has not changed its gathering spaces and we have complimentary coffee set out from 7:00 a.m. You were certainly welcome to sit in the lobby with whomever you wished. We did have to end the honor bar as many times, we would realize that guests were not marking down drinks, though there had been drinks consumed. We do have service from early morning until 10-11 p.m. and if you wanted to have drinks beyond that, we would love to have known so that we could accommodate your request. The windows were not painted shut on purpose. We repainted the hotel prior to opening as is normal. We did not realize that the windows in this room were painted shut until you brought it to our attention and we do apologize for this. The fans were working. The Air conditioner was broken when you checked in. It is a common problem due to electrical surges. Though we try to stay on top of this problem, we did not succeed in your case. I moved you to an alternative room for as long as bookings allowed, fixed the A/C. You did not want to move back to the room but I had no choice as we were fully booked. We have a full time Concierge that greets all guests upon arrival, as well as myself and our Assistant Operations manager. We offer a complimentary welcome drink and assist you with your luggage to your room upon arrival. I understand that you miss Jen. She was a good friend to many guests. I do believe that our entire team committed to your service. I am the leader of this team and I am proud of the job they do on a daily basis including for your stay. To further extend our grace, we have reimbursed you for the 2 nights you stayed in your original booked room as I do agree that the standards of this room were not acceptable. In terms of Rooms being open to the spirit of the beautiful Caribbean sanctuary. I respectfully disagree. We are still a beautiful Caribbean Sanctuary, minus Jen and the Honor Bar. The guests who have been visiting us for the last three years and beyond-love what we do and who we are. Best, Kendrick Stewart Operations Manager Beriska Moss Assistant Operations Manager Iesha Samuels--Head of Dining Datarria Grant--Head of Concierge/Guest Services Krishna Higgs-Executive Chef Jonas Socrates-Head of Maintenance Kiesha Hudson-Head of Housekeeping
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
T Y wrote a review Feb 2021
New York City, New York10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I just completed a 4 night stay at The Runaway Hill Club and am already planning my next trip back. This is smaller boutique hotel complete with a tiled pool, oceanfront property, amazing restaurant and lovely staff.

There is a fantastic little bar that looks out onto the ocean and the food was the best that I ate on Harbor Island an that included meals at all of the other resorts (Dunmore, Pink sands, Coral Sands etc...) all had good food but runaway Hill was my favorite. It's quiet and low key and the perfect getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Runaway Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Runaway Hill Club
Responded Feb 22, 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charles M wrote a review Mar 2023
Richmond, Virginia14 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family has been traveling to Harbour Island for 40+ years and we have enjoyed staying at Runaway Hill for many of those visits. This trip was special because the weather and beach were perfect and the stay at Runaway was relaxing and enjoyable in every regard. The staff, especially Detarrior, Kendrick, Big Al and Ashlyn were very welcoming and super helpful throughout our visit. We also enjoyed delicious breakfasts and dinners on the terrace with wonderful views of the ocean. All in all, one of our best visits to Runaway Hill and Harbour Island.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kendrick Stewart, Innkeeper at Runaway Hill Club
Responded Mar 16, 2023
Dear Charles, We very much appreciate you taking time out to write this review. We truly hope to provide guests with an enjoyable experience and it is rewarding for us to hear that we have provided you with a memorable stay. With sincere gratitude, The Runaway Hill Family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samantha S wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We love this place. Recent issues with the room we’ve occupied for the past five years were addressed expertly, professionally by Kendrick, the new manager here. We so loved Jen. Kendrick’s predecessor.
So impressed with him though. Kendrick met our every need.
He’s filling Jen’s shoes just beautifully!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Cannot go wrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nikki H wrote a review Nov 2022
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota836 contributions108 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Six of us had dinner here outside under the stars and it was fabulous. We had the lobster spring rolls, the conch chowder, lobster, curry grouper, pork chops and the pasta. Every dish was wonderful. I’d highly recommend. The service was spot on as well.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Girlfriend wrote a review Apr 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Where to start? The View - way up on hill overlooking expansive ocean and pink pands. Excellent start. Ambiance - It has a small boutique feeling, from swings at the bar, colorful walls, small patio seating, every seat seems important. Food - the flavours on the chicken lettuce wrap were both interesting and savory. Bell peppers, fresh herb and mint, sweet and spicy Jelly remoulade, wrapped in lettuce. Very good. Coffee and desert were fantastic. Servers were more than courteous. My favorite bar and restaurant on Harbor Island.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: My favorite bar and restaurant on Harbor Island.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Animal C asked a question Jan 2019
Charleston, South Carolina244 contributions
When will the 2020 calendar be open for reservation?
Answer from Messierjen
7 contributions6 helpful votes
We have availability and low season rates apply.
Answer from Messierjen
7 contributions6 helpful votes
Yes, we do have rooms available.
Girlfriend wrote a tip Apr 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"My favorite bar and restaurant on Harbor Island."
Read full review
Heather and Adam wrote a tip Feb 2023
14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid Spring Break Minimal nightlife Low key beach vacation Great food $$$$"
Read full review
Kathy S wrote a tip Feb 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Kathleen room has fresh and simple decor. Great view of ocean, private deck off the suite."
Read full review
Samantha S wrote a tip Apr 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cannot go wrong"
Read full review
Joaquindapark wrote a tip Apr 2022
Oakville, Canada112 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Arm yourself with patience and compassion."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Harbour Island area.
PRICE RANGE
C$1,089 - C$1,538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
runaway hill club hotel harbour island
LOCATION
CaribbeanBahamasOut IslandsHarbour Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Runaway Hill Club - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Runaway Hill Club
Which popular attractions are close to Runaway Hill Club?
Nearby attractions include Dunmore Town (0.4 km), Briland Art (0.2 km), and Pink sand beach Bahamas (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Runaway Hill Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Runaway Hill Club?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Runaway Hill Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Runaway Hill Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Dunmore Restaurant, Rock House Restaurant, and Bahamas Coffee Roaster.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Runaway Hill Club?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Runaway Hill Club located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Harbour Island.
Are there any historical sites close to Runaway Hill Club?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dunmore Town (0.4 km).
Does Runaway Hill Club have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Harbour Island HotelsHarbour Island Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Harbour IslandHotels near Runaway Hill Club
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars