We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Lion

View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Red Lion
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Lion
See the most recent reviews
Showing 141: English reviews
St Ives, Cambridge
Reviewed 5 March 2016

We called in here for lunch and as soon as we walked through the door we were cheerily greeted and shown to the conservatory at the back where we could choose any table we liked. Drinks were brought to us at the table and we were informed that one item on the menu was not available as it was sold...

Thank Dawn9363
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2016

I stayed here in a single room for a few nights in early late January while in the area on business. I had a very pleasant stay, the room was clean and tidy. The bathroom, while spartan on decoration was both spotlessly clean and well equipped. The excellent shower was appreciated, as all too often hotel showers are anaemic and...

Thank JonPT
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

Pretty on the outside and friendly and busy inside. Stayed the weekend through a Groupon voucher and was a great little find. Nice to see a village pub that is obviously loved by its community. Great local ale and homemade food at its best. Accommodation is above the pub or in the annexe at the back of pub. Bit noisy...

Thank Lindsay Y
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

Change of management and a poor result. Room was cold, the open fire was not lit because the staff could not be bothered to clean. Just don't stay here , big pot holes in the car park. The inn is up for sale so as soon as it goes through we may check it out again. But I will not...

Thank Coolberryhawk
Fiona P, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to read your short but poor review. John and I have been here a year now so we are hardly new! and you obviously do come that often or use the pub regularly or you would see the difference we have made is quite dramatic !! You seem to have summed us up purely based on...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Happened upon this place on way back from Ely, were greeted and taken to back room for lunch, nice and clean and lovely fire on. Menu is quite extensive and were both very happy with what we had, big portions made no room for pudding! The sausage and mash had an abundance of sausages...more than menu said, but would recommend...

Thank susanh194
Fiona P, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal here and delighted that you would recommend us. Our 2 course lunch for £9.95 is back and is available from Monday to Friday and our new menu will be out in the next couple of weeks, so hopefully we...

Garden Route, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2016

The night I spent at the Red Lion has to take the record for the worst night I have spent at any place. The walls of my bedroom must have been made of paper as I heard everything that the guy did (or didn't do) in the room next door to me. In addition, every time he went out of...

Thank m0zchick
Fiona P, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Wow, you really were disappointed clearly! and what a shame you didn't mention any of this when you checked out in the morning, Im sure we could have offered you some sort of compensation.I will try to address your issues.The door closer on the bedroom doors are quite strong because of fire regulations,Unfortunately some people let the doors slam behind...

St Ives, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2015

The Red Lion Team hoisted our End Of Season Sunday Dinner on the 29th November. The main course was prebooked (dead easy ) On the day the Conservatory where we eat looked really nice, the tables were nicely arranged. The food was really nice and the service was good. Everyone enjoyed themselves. Well done the Red Lion. Thanks very much.

Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. Arrived late evening after a very long drive. First impression was a very local pub with rooms. Greeting was friendly had ground floor room so couldn't open curtains to let in natural light at all as over looks pub seating area. room clean and compact. Dinner was nice eat in restaurant but no atmosphere or background...

Thank helen19675
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Having seen a negative review or two...very surprised......we stayed at the front...aware on booking it would be a 'bit noisy' (Friday night!)....alternative accommodation was available and offered. However, we were quite happy with the expectant night out crowd so it wasn't a problem. Room was extremely clean, well fitted out...and what a comfy bed!! :) Restaurant is a bit 'tired'...

Thank TJT343
Fiona P, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Hi and thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to let us know. I always let the staff know when we get reviews whether good or bad and its lovely to share something positive with them. I look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Fiona

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015

I have been using the Red Lion for over two years as a base for my work which is located just outside Ely. The Lion is a village pub with guest rooms . Good food served in the lounge & conservatory or in the bar where you can watch the sport as well. Guest real Ales & local cider (...

Thank tonybfg
Fiona P, Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you Tony for your lovely review which has cheered me up no end. We must be doing something right for you to keep coming back every year. I think its great when a local village pub makes someone feel like a home from home, especially if they are on their own but feel that they are among friends whenever...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (13)
Room/Suite (4)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Bathroom (1)
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (1)
Room/Suite (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stretham
6.6 km away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ely
516 reviews
9.9 km away
The Three Pickerels
The Three Pickerels
#11 of 34 in Ely
62 reviews
7.9 km away
The Old School B&B
The Old School B&B
#1 of 1 in Coveney
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Grove Barn Cambridgeshire
6.2 km away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#10 of 34 in Ely
184 reviews
3.0 km away
Woodlands B&B
Woodlands B&B
#1 of 2 in Witchford
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Lion

Address: 47 High Street, Stretham, Ely CB6 3LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely > Stretham
Price Range: $118 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Stretham
Red Lion Cambridgeshire
Cambridgeshire Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Norwich, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not 7 or 8”
GillP689, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Only ate in the pub”
anns514, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms 10 & 11 are allocated to people with dogs, and or disabled guests”
SJD1305, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 14 is a twin bedded dog friendly room.”
167Dave8, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in annexe overlook the patio at the rear and are reasonably quiet”
Chelseagirl47, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$75* /night
View Deal
View all 5 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates