We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell at Hampton Poyle

Traveller (93)
Dining (47)
Room & Suite (7)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
563Reviews
129Photos
1Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 397
  • 104
  • 33
  • 23
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We have eaten at the Bell numerous times before and had always had an enjoyable experience, so was really looking forward to an evening with friends there, how disappointing, we arrived to find no parking spaces in the car park so had to leave our car out on the road some way
Read more
My sister had booked a table for 8 adults and 5 children 3 weeks prior to our visit to celebrate an 18th birthday. She also phoned last week to check on the booking and was told all was fine. However when we turned up yesterday we were told we would have to sit at two
Read more
Response from belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your response to your experience. I am fully aware of your reservation as I personally tried to ring you on three occasions and left a voicemail to discuss your booking. A lot of our guests request a private room which seats 10 comfortably, however as you were 13 guests I tried to find out if you did require the private room, but I could not reach your sister. I appreciate that someone rang to confirm and spoke to a member of staff, however as a manager I wanted to discuss the table allocation and confirm the details in person. You sister mentioned that she had a missed call but did not ring back. Therefore there was nothing I could have done, only try to ring with no answer. On the day, I was checking with my staff who was appointed to look after your tables to find out if you were happy and not once did anyone mention that you were not. As we politely asked you to move at the end, I thought it was not the best service and therefore I decided to offer you a discount as an apology. I am very sorry to hear about your disappointment and once again I can only apologise. I tried to do my best to ring you and discuss your details, once you were here I had one of the best member of staff looking after you and making sure that your lunch is most enjoyable and on the end I have offered you a discount. I truly hope that you will give us another chance and book again. Perhaps directly with management. Kind regards.
Read more
Warm welcome after a long journey. Checking in was smooth and lots of helpful information. Rooms were really comfortable. Refreshments - tea, freshly ground coffee, hot chocolate, bottles of water and home made biscuits were nice touches. The best however was the food -
Read more
Response from belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle
Responded 2 days ago
Amazing! A big thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you are our loyal guest and that you shall be returning soon. We hope you are booking over the phone and getting your well deserved complimentary glass of prosecco. Kindest regards and looking forward to having you with us soon again.
Read more
Now this is an amazing place to visit, this is a hidden gem. The Bell is a special place extremely clean tidy with amazingly polite staff. The food has the wow factor, great flavours which are well presented. The pub was busy but due to great customer management everything went
Read more
Response from belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle
Responded 2 days ago
Fantastic! Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your experience with us. We wish you all the best and we hope to see you in the near future.
Read more
Another mid week visit for lunch that involved great food, nice atmosphere and service with a smile. A table for four, and 4 very happy diners. The constantly adapting menu is a joy. Thank you We’ll be back soon.
Read more
Response from belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle
Responded 1 week ago
Fantastic! Thank you very much for your short and sweet review. We are extremely happy that you and your friends have enjoyed another lunch with us and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon! Kindest regards.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerDining Room & Suite
Room 12
Room 12
View from our window...No4
Walk in shower
Room 8
PreviousNext
12
Are your rooms easily accessable for disabled wheelchair people
I would advise you to contact the hotel direct, as Simon from Newcastle said the staff are very helpful, sorry i cant give you anymore help.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Great clean pub children friendly"
"All rooms comfortable. Do you want direct access to terraces, or seclusion upstairs in main building?"
"Rooms get very warm, make sure you choose a room with AC, be warned, they can make strange sounds. (Room 9 offers AC)"
"does not make any difference, all lovely."
"We have never been disappointed with any room."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$93 - US$208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the bell at hampton poyle hotel kidlington
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKidlington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing