We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 271: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 22 October 2014

We booked this hotel for 2 nights. But we cancelled it after 1 hour in the room. The rooms are wet and they smell really old and damp. Our children became sick, so we had to leave the hotel. The rooms are neglected. It´s too expensive for that service! But: The surrounding is very nice. We saw fotos in the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank sille501
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

We were a bit disappointed at your comments but nevertheless we shall take them into consideration and make the necessary changes.Thank you once again and by the way The Cameron Highlands Resort is definitely not 50 Euros more than us.

Reviewed 12 October 2014

Planters country hotel or formerly known as Bala's Chalet is a nice cozy place. It has the nice european look. Property is very good. Staffs are friendly and food is also nice. This place is highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sisir P
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments.We truly appreciate the wonderful words and will make sure to live up to your expectations.We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 12 October 2014 via mobile

We had high expectations when we arrived at this place. It looks really beautiful, but in the end we were kinda disappointed: our pricy room (560 myr for 2 nights) had mold all over the place, the sheets weren't that clean and the place just feels a little a bit like it has past his big peak years ago. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ruurd d
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel.We hope to see you again to rectify matters.All the shortcomings have since been addressed and once again we apologize.

Reviewed 16 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed there only for a night. The food was great but can still be improved (we only tried some breakfast menu and the tea+scones deal). We love the quiet and peaceful ambient. Thats the best thing about this place. To us, the staffs were very accomodating and helpful too. Personally, the only thing we see lacking was the low...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ahmadf4rhan
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for your very useful comments.There was a problem with the Cameron Highlands water supply at the time of your visit hence the low water pressure.But it has since been rectified and the pressure is back to normal.We will definitely take into account your advice and do the necessary as regards to bidet and increasing the quality of...

Reviewed 29 August 2014

The first night was not good but on changing room to the Diana suite for the next two nights, we had a lovely luxurious and comfortable room. This room was clean, bright and well equipped with a lovely feel where as the first, and cheaper room, was shabby and with a leaking toilet. The shower in the second room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for your comments.The problem in the first room has since been rectified.We are extremely happy that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.We hope to see you again in the future.Thank you.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at Bala's for 2 nights in August on our way to Penang. What a beautiful place. The outside was so quaint the house covered in flowers and plants and the gardens were gorgeous. We had a cream tea in the garden on arrival whcih was lovely. The room was clean and tidy and had everything we expected, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for your lovely comments.We shall definitely take into account your very useful comments.We have instructed our existing staff to improve on their attitude towards guests be it for service or friendliness.We are regularly having meetings to improve on customer service and also we have noted that we need to take extra staff to improve on customer satisfaction.Thank...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have stayed at Balas Chalet for 5 nights. The setting is wonderful. The houses are covered in climbing lianas, flowers everywhere, a bit of a fairytale feeling. Yes rooms need a lot of fresh air, but all in all it was ok. The restaurant is not bad, I especially recommend the Indian classic set served there. (if you want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Southseadreamer
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you for your lovely comments.We have taken into account your advice about the expensive menu and taken the necessary steps to modify our menu to include some varieties and change in price.Thank you.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Yes, the place is beautiful but could be better with a bit of humbleness. I booked the Raffles Suite from Agoda but upon check-in, I was given a deluxe room even though the print out from Agoda clearly shows the room type. They insist that if I want a suit I have to pay the extras and blame it on...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Suzie_Yau_Andrew
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,We have noted your comments and taken the necessary steps.Firstly your booking with Agoda was for only 2 people and when we saw you had a child in tow we overlooked that matter at the reception.But as it turned out there were actually 4 people in your group.Our agreement with Agoda states that we allocate the rooms according to...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What could I say, I just simply in love with this place. I knew this place more than 10 years ago and still used to call this place as "Bala's". My husband and I were there during an off-peak season, and we were given the privilege to view and choose a room upon arrival (disclaimer: this is definitely not the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pegwong
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank You for a your lovely comments.Its nice that someone appreciates the effort taken by us to arrest the moist problem.This is a big issue for all hotel owners in Cameron Highlands.But nevertheless we will still try to upgrade and make the rooms as comfortable as possible for the guests.

KL, Malaysia
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I didn't know that this place has a rich history and that makes up for a nice story to be honest. The surrounding is actually quite nice, overgrown plants etc, lots of photographic ops if you crop certain things out and oh so much potential if only they hire the right professional. However as it is, with its kitsch deco...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Danielwongkaifai
Shyamala S, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you found our prices steep the reason being It was a public holiday weekend.But please come back again and we will surely throw in the b/fast for you.We aim to keep our place different from the rest hence the creepers etc.Hoping to see you again in the future.

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (309)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (122)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
1.8 km away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
507 reviews
2.4 km away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
759 reviews
6.8 km away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
2.6 km away
Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands
1.3 km away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 12 in Tanah Rata
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Lot 55 | Cameron Highlands, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia (Formerly Bala's Holiday Chalet)
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Price Range: $63 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bala`s Holiday Chalet Hotel Cameron Highlands
Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get the suite...it's tucked away from everyone else”
  • This is a suite with an attic above
 of 5 bubbles LionelY_13, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room in the main building more chance of hot water”
 of 5 bubbles davidwplaird, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Chestnut for views & your private balcony. However if the dining hall starts the fireplace, close all your windows or taste soot.”
  • Chestnut room, private balcony
  • Chestnut room, private balcony
 of 5 bubbles andrewy609, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you have special needs, write to them so they can make arrangements to cater to your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the garden Executive suite and Family Room are the best room as it's overlooking the garden and very large.”
 of 5 bubbles marynasuke, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5