We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Okiwa Bay Lodge

250 reviews
Save
Traveller (152)
Room & Suite (55)
Dining (3)
Overview
  • Excellent94%
  • Very good3%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“susie martin”(15 reviews)
“south island”(23 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
4.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Okiwa Bay Lodge
Special Deal: Free breakfast with your stay
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (250)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Okiwa Bay Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
215
7
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
215
7
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssusie martinsouth islandqueen charlotte soundother guestshot tubb bmarlborough soundswonderful hostshoneymoon suitenew zealandthree course mealbreathtaking viewsbeautiful homewarm hospitalityglass of winewonderful stayone night stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

We had done two weeks travelling the North Island and thought we had seen some beautiful and amazing scenery which of course we had, however on arriving at Okiwa Bay Lodge we were both totally blown away by the absolutely stunning views. We had the...More

Thank Powell1024990
Response from Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay LodgeResponded 10 February 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are always delighted to hear that our "Piece of Paradise" has not disappointed. The ever-changing views from the deck are captivating and we never stop looking. We do hope that you will be able to return...More

Reviewed 7 February 2017

What a fabulous place - the view is to die for and the hosts, Susie and Martin, make sure that you are looked after from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave. We booked for 2 nights but enjoyed it so much that...More

Thank Brian C
Response from Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay LodgeResponded 9 February 2017

It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay in our "Piece of Paradise". We were so pleased that you were able to do part of the Queen Charlotte Track and Mountain Bike and Kayaking. Conversations over dinner can be wonderful and lots of fun....More

Reviewed 25 January 2017

Susie and Martin are very nice hosts and let us feel like at home. In addition, Susie is an excellent cook. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Okiwa Lodge is our favorite Bed&Breakfast on the south island.More

Thank Ruedi V
Response from Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay LodgeResponded 27 January 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We try to ensure that all our guests thoroughly enjoy their stay in our "Piece of Paradise". It is always a pleasure to cook for people who enjoy good food and conversation round the dining table. We hope...More

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Quite a steep track up to Susie and Martin's beautiful house. Stay in Room 1 if you can, you can sit in bed and look down to the Queen Charlotte Sound, it is magical. If not Room 1 then you can enjoy this view from...More

Thank Gamp21
Response from Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay LodgeResponded 20 January 2017

Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at our "Piece of Paradise" and hope that you will be able to return in the not too distant future to explore more of this outstandingly beautiful area.

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Is was hard to leave this wonderful relaxing place. We've spent five nights here and felt truly welcome and at home. We've enjoyed every moment: the stunning views, the sun, the birds, the delightful meals, the tracks, our spacious and clean suite and - last...More

Thank BURGWIN
Response from Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay LodgeResponded 13 January 2017

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are always delighted to welcome people from all over the world who enjoy the peace and beauty of our special home. We very much hope that you will able to return in the very near...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
191011121346
About
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice
2018 Winner
GreenLeaders Gold level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Hot Tub
Details
Price range
US$213 - US$232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$213 - US$232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (152)
Room & Suite (55)
Dining (3)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Okiwa Bay Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"we used all rooms"
Read review
"Room 1 will be my choice next time."
Read review
"Pick one overlooking the Sound."
Read review
"Clean & comfortable with nice views. Little hard to determine individual room amenities on website but..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing