We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Sounds Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Sounds Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 89: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent one night here on our grand honeymoon tour of New Zealand. My only complaint is that we didn't spend more time. The views are stunning, the amenities are top-notch, the hosts (Ann & Tony) are fantastic, and the food and wines are superb. What an absolute treat. I hope we will be able to return in the future... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tessa M
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family had a wonderful 3-night stay at the retreat in early Nov. The place was beautiful and Anne and Tony were great hosts. However all those wonderful memories quickly turned into shock and disappointment. I realised that I was charged additional $300 on my credit card a few days later when I saw my card statement. During the stay,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ying Tat W
TheSoundsRetreat, Public Relations Manager at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this review

Please note The Sounds Retreat requires advance notice of any child travelling with guests and that a nightly charge will be accrued as per our policy. We advise all guests booking through online travel agencies to thoroughly read their booking confirmation, in particular the policies section. Agoda Travel also advises: "please note certain hotels may charge extra for children travelling... More 

Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to NZ for our honeymoon, and stayed at most of the top places throughout the North and South Islands. Rarely do I take the time to write a review, unless it is exceptional. The Sounds is nothing short of a sublime experience. It is unique in that its one private accommodation allows for a totally personal experience, catering... More 

Helpful?
Thank DLB413
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We had an amazing 2 nights at the Sounds Retreat. The room was just perfect, clean and comfortable and the hot tub was brilliant, we even got a few minutes of clear enough sky to stargaze which was pretty special. We had the b&b option and the food was fantastic! The gym is incredibly well equipt too. Anne and Tony... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucie T
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We chose The Sounds Retreat as a place to start our 10 day self drive Honeymoon. Tony and Anne were delightful and very helpful with planning our drive. Tony and Anne were perfect hosts and the house is absolutely beautiful, very romantic, well designed, spacious and definitely first class. We had a fantastic time, didn't want to leave and can't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee F
Rye, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016

If you want to be really amazed then check this out.Everything but everything here is perfection - your slightest wish comes true. Not Aladdin's Lamp but the wonderful hosts Anne and Anthony who make this a truly memorable stay. Can't give this place enough praise: from Tony's cooking to Anne's hosting - nothing is wanting. Heaven on earth - go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan S
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

It all starts when you pull up....Tony and Anne are there waiting for you in the drive.....ready to look after you. They show you to your room for the night where the views literally hit you in the face! Incredible.....from the chocolates to the wine.....they have thought of everything. It's private and exclusive.....perfect for special occasions...a gift or just a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sez1880
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

My husband n I won a Trip with Brancott estate wines with which we got to stay 2 nights at The Sounds Retreat. The Retreat was great n views fantastic especially while sitting in the hot tub. Anne n Tony were great hosts n very attentive n the meals they cooked for us were very impressive. The facility's were impressive... More 

Helpful?
Thank RochelleShaw
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2016

My wife and I loooved this place! Tony and Anne are wonderful hosts at this perfect-in-every-way retreat. I don't do spas but couldn't resist this one with the views and an obligatory bottle of (complimentary) NZ Pinot Gris. The food was abundant and professionally prepared, the all inclusive drinks were premium and plentiful - a great NZ Pinot Noir, a... More 

Helpful?
Thank mogofo
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2016

We recently spent two nights of our honeymoon at the Sounds. The accommodation, food, service, company, and atmosphere are outstanding. This spot is ideal for those who prioritize privacy but offers access to a vast array of activities and the ability to truly relax. Anne and Tony are the consummate hosts and do an amazing job.

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey R

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
2:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
22.8 km away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
264 reviews
26.4 km away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
519 reviews
11.5 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
The Portage Resort Hotel
23.7 km away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Heritage Boutique Collection
9.5 km away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the stunning Marlborough Sounds on New Zealand's South Island, The Sounds Retreat is a spectacular paradise showcasing nature and luxury living at its finest. With a focus on unparalleled service and exquisite creature comforts, this award-winning private lodge is an ideal way to vacation in a most marvellous destination. Located just 5 minutes from the famous 70km long Queen Charlotte Track. Spend plenty of time outdoors discovering the incredible Marlborough Sounds terrain, hiking or biking the Queen Charlotte Track, kayaking around placid waters, private fishing trip or venturing on a local wine tasting excursion. Whether you are looking to relax and opt for an art gallery crawl and trip to the spa, or you are seeking adrenaline-filled adventure and choose quad biking, zip lining, horseback riding, or eco tours - this destination has something for every interest and pursuit. With just a single bedroom suite, your time here is a private escape, and every amenity and facility is yours to enjoy in blissful exclusivity. The open-plan suite has private access or can be entered through the main property, and features picture windows and glass doors leading to spacious decks with private hot tub. All the thoughtful touches you could imagine are present and accounted for, including turndown service, heated bathroom flooring, heated cabana with stocked bar fridge, espresso maker, plasma television, iPod dock with iPod, and complimentary wireless internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sounds Retreat

Address: 215 Anakiwa Road, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Price Range: $574 - $1,097 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sounds Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Sounds Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sounds Retreat staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Sounds Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is only 1 room and it's awesome!”
 of 5 bubbles , 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“one fabulous room”
 of 5 bubbles 193lyndaw, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“there is only one room...but a wonderful one”
  • view from the terrace
 of 5 bubbles patl626, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Only one room, and it is amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles 739daniellap, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Stunning location and views.”
 of 5 bubbles lynleyd2014, 17 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay