We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Costa Sur Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 819: English reviews
Warm Springs, Oregon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This a great property with good beach access and really good food. Pools are spotless, rooms are spotless. Keep in mind this is a Mexican Resort in Mexico so don't be surprised by great Mexican food. The only disappointment is that Puerto Vallarta is rapidly declining, the scammers are back stronger than ever, the past presence of the white shirt...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimB19482017
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you very much for your very nice comment about your past stay at our Costa Sur. We are very glad we have been able to remain your home resort when coming down to Puerto Vallarta and that our services are still satisfying your expectations. We have taken note of your observations regarding the town's ambiance and have...

Regina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, great beach, nothing wrong with the service or food. However, the only downside was that the rooms are so outdated that they are actually pretty grimy and gross - especially the kitchen. This hotel is in dire need of renovations. The bed was clean and comfortable though. The beach is amazing - swimming in calm water and seeing...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T4821WEjennifert
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you very much for the time taken in commenting about your recent stay at our Costa Sur. Your observations are very important to us, please accept our apologies, and you can be sure we are already working on the issues you encountered in the room, in order to correct them at once. Once again thank you and...

Ontario
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel needs a lot of work. Food was terrible. Our waiter took my dinner back and didn't charge us for it. The beds were very old . The bath room sink taps leaked so anythink on the counter was wet. Smoking everywhere on the property if you are allergic you can't get away from it. Would not recommend this...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Wendy thank you for taking the time to comment on your recnet stay with us. We are very sorry we were not able to deliver the kind of experience you would have deserved and would like to assure you we have taken note of the inconveniences encountered in order to work on corrective measures to resiolve these issues. We...

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here on a timeshare exchange. It's a older resort that could use some cosmetic maintenance. That said, it's a nice place with a great staff that really works hard to take care of your every need. The rooms are nice with very comfortable beds. Out of town a little ways so it is pretty quiet. Just a short bus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AKCRUIZER
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our Costa Sur. We are very glad to read that you had a great vacation experience and that we were able to satisfy your expectations. A large part of this experience depends on our staff and we are very proud to see they...

Iceland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a week and it was really relaxing and nice. The food is very good and the service excellent. The private beach wasn't accessible because of high waves and it was difficult to get sunbeds unless you woke up at 6 o'clock. I would highly recommend more sunbeds, at least enough for all the guests Beware of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank islandesa
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you vey much for your nice comments about your past stay at our Costa Sur. We are very glad we were able to satisfy your expectations and that the vacation experience was a great one. We have taken note regarding the sunbeds and will be working on a system that willl allow for a better use of...

Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful location with every room looking out over the bay with a glorious sunset every night (well almost). Excellent snorkeling in their man made lagoon and wonderful activities staff to help if you want to do other water sports. Excellent gym, very modern and up to date. Great food, we could eat their mexican omelets three times a day, so...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank basti0n
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you very much for such a nice review of your recent stay at our Costa Sur. We are very glad we were able to satisfy your expectations and that we delivered a very successful vacation experience, mainly through the service and friendliness of our staff who we will make sure to copy on your comments, as they...

Glenwood Springs
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Costa Sur could use an upgrade for sure. Butt All the rooms are super clean and so is the resort. The Staff and atmosphere are the best, which makes up for any down fall of not being as up to date as other resorts. I love the food, drinks and people who allways come back year after year. Its a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald P
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Donald thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice comment on your recent stay at our Costa Sur. It is a pleasure to know we are a favorite of yours for your stays in Puerto Vallarta and that we have been able to deliver the constant level of service and friendliness that satisfies your...

Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this resort for 4 nights at the start of our trip in Puerto Vallarta. The rooms themselves were average. They did not appear very clean and the floors were so dirty they made the bottom of our feet black on only the first night. One plus is there were two bathrooms and a personal kitchen if you...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashleysR6924UY
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ashley thank you for taking the time to comment on your recnet stay with us. Your observations are very important for our operation and we want to assure you we have taken note of them in order to take the necessary measures to correct the situations and avoid future inconveniences. We wsill be reinforcing the training in both areas,...

Denver, Co
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This resort was fine for the cost. It is not luxurious. It has a large pool with a fabulous pool and a separate "adults only" pool with no view. The menu is fairly large, but there are no other choices, no other restaurants nearby. The specials are usually discounted meals or 3 course meals, but no variation from the menu....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trave1Bu5
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our Costa Sur. We are very sorry for not having been able to convey to you the choice of nightly theme dinners we have on a daily basis and that are a little more than just a three course meal (Surf & Turf,...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We took advantage of a Travelzoo deal for $89/night. The room is spacious, the view is magnificent. The hotel isn't old, but certainly not new. They are converting one high rise to a vacation club and tried to tempt us to hear their presentation, but we quickly declined. The location is south of town, not walking distance, so you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelehb
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you very much for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at our Costa Sur. We are very sorry about the inconvenience encountered due to the reservation of lounge chairs in the pool areas and would like to confirm that we are, again, reinforcing the "no reservation" policy through our security and activities staff...

1,159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (733)
Viewed
View from Room (93)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (134)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (303)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (339)
Viewed
Adults Pool (12)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (94)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Studio (67)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
3.4 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
2,371 reviews
11.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#15 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
311 reviews
2.0 km away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#9 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#59 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
655 reviews
8.7 km away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
1,497 reviews
1.8 km away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#95 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $115 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Costa Sur Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
84 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (84)

Questions? Get answers from Costa Sur Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want to sit by the pool under an umbrella come early because the covered spots are very limited”
 of 5 bubbles EROhio, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in 1 bedroom on 6th floor which is the "ground" floor near the entrance so noise from coming and going at night and early morning. ”
 of 5 bubbles LibraryMs, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Talk to Veronica or Fernando they are the best!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles sutherland1030, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Suggest a one or two bedroom for the large balconies. Try to get on the 5th floor or lower to avoid the road noise which is on floors 6 and above. All rooms have an ocean view!”
 of 5 bubbles KCislandgirl, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are oceanfront!”
 of 5 bubbles susancg2017, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5