We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Costa Sur Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 781: English reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 8 days for the first time and having never been to Mexico we were a little apprehensive. But the staff at Costa Sur made us feel right at home from the first moment we arrived. Our concierge Gustavo was happy, helpful and went above and beyond everyday. We planned trips, dinner, gold, adventure through him and everything...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank donymac47
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest we thank you for the time you took to write your comment about your recent stay at our Costa Sur. We are very glad to have been able to satisfy your expectations as well as provide a great vacation experience, especially this being your first time in Mexico. We are very proud of our staff and we will...

Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

The concierge Gustavo helped us everyday with simple requests and provided information to make our trip extra special. The resort was beautiful and had all the amenities that we were looking for. We would definitely like to return!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claudina815
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you very much for taling the time to comment on your recent stay at our Costa Sur. We are very proud to learn that Gustavo showed the hospitality and service we look for in all our staff and that he turned your vacation into a great experience. We will make sure to pass your comment along to...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 21 May 2015

We went there for a wedding this past weekend and it's just sad to come to this page to find out that people were getting sick already before our stay because that's exactly what happened to us! all the guess and even both brides got sick from the food or water or whatever it was, one of them was even...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gianiali
Gelseyf, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gia, As I read your review I feel the need to inform you how the Norovirus works: It is a virus that is mostly common in places with large groups of people like airplanes and cruise ships. It is highly contagious and it spreads very easy if proper hygiene is not practiced like washing your hands after using the...

Longmont, Colorado
Reviewed 20 May 2015

I attended a wedding here less than two weeks ago and nearly all the wedding guests got sick. No it wasn't "Montezuma's" from drinking the water. As soon as my friends started describing to me their symptoms I knew.. Norovirus, because I got it on a cruise ship 8 years ago. After returning home a few of us were still...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lindsay W
Gelseyf, Director of Sales at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dera Lindsay, Thank you for your comments. I see you are familiar with norovirus. The hotel is taking additional steps to eliminate the virus, but the virus does not live at the property. It is carried from person to person that may well get in contact with the virus on a plane which is were it is commonly found. There...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 14 May 2015

As our one year wedding anniversary quickly approaches, we figured that there's no better time than the present to provide this long-awaited and well-deserved review of Costa Sur Resort & Spa. So here it goes: We had the most incredible time at Costa Sur last May 2014. Most notably, we were fortunate to have had our wedding there, hosting nearly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BSME2014
GerryNayarit, Director General at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you very much for your extensive and so detailed review of that wonderful, once in a life time, experience. We are very proud to have been able to satisfy and exceed your expectations, as well as providing that unique stay through our great staff and service. We will make sure to let Eric, Stefani, Flavio, Mabel and...

Northport, Washington
Reviewed 12 May 2015

The costa sur management company who sets up trades and deposits the owners guests are unprofessional, lack a caring attitude and are very inefficient. The manager of the office Dale ( I believe) has no authority to fix any of this staffs errors. A true Lame Duck!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cftalk
GerryNayarit, Director General at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir good afternoon. After reading your review I am a bit at a loss, as I am not exactly sure what the problem was (is), as we do not have any Dale working at the Resort, our Member Services rep being Veronica. I am leaving my email address on this comment (Trip Advisor advised me you were not receiving...

Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the Costa Sur Resort & Spa for 4 nights. Now let me break it down for you: 1. The Room. Prior to reserving the room, trusted some TripAdvisor reviews and booked a room on the 8th floor. Was definitely the right move! The rooms were updated with new tile floors and bathroom with stand up shower. Stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FamOf2DDSs
GerryNayarit, Director General at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you very much for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at our Costa Sur. We are very glad to have provided such a nice vacation experience and satisfied your expectations, beginning with the room reserved and all the way to the sertvice provided by our great staff. Our staff does make a difference...

Los Banos, California
Reviewed 10 May 2015

My husband and I stayed here in mid-April for 2 weeks. Although the room was out-dated, it was a minor inconvenience when we walked out on the patio & saw our view from the 5th floor. It's a view to not soon forget! We enjoyed some of our meals in their restaurant and of course Happy Hour every day from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kgaribay
GerryNayarit, Director General at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our Costa Sur. It is a pleasure to know we were able to satisfy your expectations and that the vacation experience was a great one. All our rooms, as you very well mention, fully face the ocean, therefore whatever floor you are on will...

Reviewed 10 May 2015

I'll try to make this as short as possible. My wedding was at Costa Sur and I had about 40 family and friends stay here too. This is long overdue as my wedding was a year ago, but still. Here you go... Review on our Stay: Cons: - Old rooms/resort: Although everything was super clean, with age comes old rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catalina M
GerryNayarit, Director General at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Catalina thank you very much for your great review about Mabel, your wedding and overall recent stay at our Costa Sur. We are very proud of our staff and Mabel has just shown, through your words, what and how things are done at the Resort, We love to take care and pamper our guests, making sure every detail is...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 29 April 2015

Read a few reviews before booking so was not surprised that this place is old. Our room was larger than expected with a king size bed, sofa that I think turned into a bed and wouldn't take up all the space even when open, small balcony, bathroom with large shower, small kitchenette. There was plenty of counter space in the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Friendly_Reviewer
GerryNayarit, General Manager at Costa Sur Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at our Costa Sur. We are glad we were able to satisfy most of your expectations and would like to confirm we have taken note of your concerns. We want to confirm that we are in the process of upgrading the wifi system (the Resort is full concrete...

1,136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (710)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (132)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
View from Room (89)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (296)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (339)
Viewed
Adults Pool (12)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (94)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Studio (67)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
3.4 km away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
2,290 reviews
11.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#14 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
296 reviews
3.1 km away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#60 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#11 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
582 reviews
1.8 km away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#91 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
151 reviews
7.8 km away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Costa Sur Resort & Spa is a beautiful 202 unit all suite resort just five minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It features ocean front views on each suite as well as fully equipped kitchenettes and balconies. Each room has been updated with king size beds, 42" flat screen TVs and ipod docking stations. Our pride is our private beach with ocean lagoon making Costa Sur the only hotel where guests can snorkel onsite. Costa Sur has two pools, two bars and a wonderful ocean view restaurant, "La Cascada." Make sure to check our "All inclusive add-on." We also feature a mini-mart, a wonderful spa, a gym, free Wi-Fi, ATM and an internet center. Everything for a great vacation! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Costa Sur Resort & Spa

Address: Carr. Puerto Vallarta a Barra de Navidad Km. 4.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $122 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Sur Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Costa Sur Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sur Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Costa Sur Resort And Spa
Playa Del Sol Costa Sur
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Costa Sur Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
82 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (82)

Questions? Get answers from Costa Sur Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“6th floor is street level - where you get to listen to traffic all day & night; avoid if possible!”
 of 5 bubbles katiekA9260HO, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Watch out for the concrete headboards on beds. Ouch! Rooms need brighter lighting.”
 of 5 bubbles S3280LVmichaelj, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have a view of the bay”
 of 5 bubbles maierplus, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The end rooms in the North tower (studios) are less noise, especially during weddings”
 of 5 bubbles bavaria93, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Weather was perfect mid 80s the whole time. Ocean View and Balcony/Sound of Waves are quiet when sliding door closed. Amazing Staff.”
 of 5 bubbles debbiewE1305MG, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5