We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Malibu Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Malibu Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 39: English reviews
Vancouver, BC
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

My wife and I came to Guadalajara for a weekend whirlwind look at the city. We were pleasantly surprised with our stay at The Malibu Hotel. Courteous, professional staff, a great, clean spacious room and a generous, extensive 'included in the price' buffet breakfast. A great Stay. Our only misgiving is that we didn't try the great swimming pool! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2bloodysexy
HOTELMALIBU, Gerente de Ventas at Malibu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you very much for your comments, it is a pleasure to know that your stay with us was pleasant. We will continue working to improve and maintain our services. It will be a pleasure to have the honor to serve you again. HOTEL MALIBU.

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Great place to crash and take a good Sleep. It also have swimming pool, bar, restaurant and a lot of space in the room. The WiFi is terribly slow but the food had a great taste. I think it's expensive but if you don't have another option it's ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pedro L
HOTELMALIBU, Gerente at Malibu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest : We hope you´re fine. We appreciate your comments. We extend the most sincere apologies for the inconveniences that arose during your stay at our hotel with the internet, we will work very hard so these kinds of thing won´t happen again. We hope to have the honor to serve you again in the near future Cordial Greetings,...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 August 2016

What a mistake! Frankly it's hard to believe other good reviews. We had problems before we stepped into the lobby. There is a lot of construction work going on. The sound of jack hammers was deafening. The front counter staff was rude and disrespectful. We arrived before check-in time so we needed to store our luggage. When we finally got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matchpoint49
HOTELMALIBU, Director General at Malibu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest: We hope you're fine . We appreciate your comments . Sincerely we are very surprised About what you wrote Because We don't receive comments like yours very often. Even though, we extend The most sincere apologies for the inconveniences that Arose During your stay at our hotel , we will work very hard so these inconveniences won´t happen...

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 5 February 2016

We just spent another week here during our annual trip to Guadalajara. I cannot understand the compliants of the previous people. We were afforded a very reasonable rate which included a delicious buffet breakfast (none of that continental junk), but, cooked to order eggs and omlettes and a wide variety of fruits, juices, pstries and hot dishes). They are continually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelownakid
HOTELMALIBU, Gerente de Ventas at Malibu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest : It is a pleasure to receive your opinion about your stay at Hotel Malibu, actually we remain in constantly renovation for the benefit of all our guests and it is comforting to know that you noticed. It will be a pleasre to have the honor to serve again. Have a nice day! Lic. Violeta Mota HOTEL MALIBU.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 4 December 2015

We reserved two rooms at Malibu hotel last month. It was a convenient location for our trip but it was a bad choice. Although the personnel was very attentive and friendly, the rooms were very poorly kept. We arrived at 12:00 noon and they didn't have any rooms ready so they asked us to come back in 1.5 hrs. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaytePrida
HOTELMALIBU, Gerente de Ventas at Malibu Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado huésped: Espero se encuetre muy bien. Lamento mucho los inconvenientes que surgieron durante su pasada estancia en Hotel Malibu....

Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

We were in the Puerto Vallarta area as Hurricane Patricia bore down on the coast of Mexico. The Hotel Malibu tried to charge us $486 US for the first night, when all other nights were $45-60 US. Arriving from a 7 hour taxi trip across the mountains we had to hassle with the hotel and finally contacted Booking.com. They canceled...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacqueline Sent... P
HOTELMALIBU, Gerente de Ventas at Malibu Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado huésped: Espero se encuentre muy bien. Me gustaría mucho explicarle la situación pues la forma en la que usted...

Calgary
Reviewed 2 November 2015

We evacuated Puerto Vallarta on October 23, 2015, when the strongest hurricane Patricia was about to hit. We went to Guadalajara to spend the night at Malibu on advice of our traveller companions. At the hotel we were told the hotel has a "special" rate for that night only at $461. The rate would drop to $200 the following day....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Calgary_Traveller002
HOTELMALIBU, Gerente de Ventas at Malibu Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado huésped: Espero se encuentre muy bien. Me gustaría mucho explicarle la situación pues la forma en la que usted...

Aguascalientes, Mexico
Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

All the premises have a strange smell. The facilities are old and have no sign of renovation. They hadn't validated my booking through Expedia after 2hrs. The tiny window in the room makes it depressing and the shower is tiny (like European tiny). Not happy. Bed is too soft and the chairs' fabric looks worn and dirty.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mimitours360
HOTELMALIBU, Gerente de Ventas. at Malibu Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped: Espero se encuentre muy bien. Agradezco de antemano la opnión que nos hace llegar por medio de Trip...

West Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Stayed once before and enjoyed this hotel. Came back again and found our first experience was not an anomaly but just their regular consistent level of service, cleanliness, and great breakfasts. If you book directly with the hotel before arriving you can get a promotional rate including breakfast. It is best to book by telephone at the numbers on their...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BCGIRL2014
HOTELMALIBU, Gerente de Ventas at Malibu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest: I hope you´re doing great. It´s a pleasure for all of us to receive your comments. I´m very glad to read that your first stay with us was confortable and that you came back to stay here again. About the comment that we often don´t answer the e-mails, we will put more atention to that issue. We hope...

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 22 February 2015

We regularly visit Guadalajara but this is the first time we stayed at the Malibu. Always before we stayed in Centro Historico but as we have seen all of the historic sites over and over we decided to stay somewhere different. This hotel is in a great location, right beside the Gran Plaza Shopping Mall which with it´s food fair...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kelownakid
HOTELMALIBU, Gerente de Ventas at Malibu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest : I hope you are doing well. It's really an honor to receive your opinion and know that your stay with us was enjoyable and makes us very happy to know that you plan to return soon because it indicates that we have gained a loyal customer . We will continue working to provide you the best services...

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel & Suites Quinta Magna
Hotel & Suites Quinta Magna
#51 of 128 in Guadalajara
61 reviews
2.0 km away
European Life Style Suites
European Life Style Suites
#23 of 128 in Guadalajara
226 reviews
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Guadalajara/Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Victoria Ejecutivo Guadalajara
Victoria Ejecutivo Guadalajara
#17 of 128 in Guadalajara
448 reviews
3.9 km away
Aurea Hotel and Suites
Aurea Hotel and Suites
#18 of 128 in Guadalajara
176 reviews
0.4 km away
Camino Real Guadalajara
Camino Real Guadalajara
#50 of 128 in Guadalajara
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
During your next visit to Guadalajara do not hesitate to stay at Hotel Malibu, has a privileged location, close to the most important points of the city and next to the biggest shopping center. It also offers an excellent service which ensures your stay will be very pleasant and will exceed your expectations. The hotel has 170 comfortable and safe rooms with services tailored to suit your needs. Our rooms are equipped with LCD screen, tel., Mini split, mini bar, coffee maker, hairdryer, safe and ironing kit. For pleasure or business Hotel Malibu is your best choice because we have beautiful gardens that make you feel relaxed, as if he were out of town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Malibu Hotel

Address: Avenida Vallarta 3993 | Zapopan, Guadalajara 45020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Price Range: $47 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malibu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Malibu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Hotel Guadalajara
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#10 Best Value Hotel in Guadalajara
#12 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Malibu Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Malibu Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A Junior suite)in the tower) costs only a little more but is worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles kelownakid, 5 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Like the tower best; the rooms numbered 132,232.......532 and 133, 233..............533 have more closet space to put your luggage out of the way.”
 of 5 bubbles BCGIRL2014, 8 Mar 2015 | Read review
“We were in the tower facing north. This would be a good choice for summer as south side would get very hot.”
 of 5 bubbles kelownakid, 22 Feb 2015 | Read review
“There is a tower and then the other rooms are motel style for people who drove there. I chose the tower as it seemed the safest option. Having said that the property is gated with a guard 24/7.”
 of 5 bubbles Colleen56_11, 29 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms by the entrance, as these are susceptible to traffic noise”
  • view of the hotel from the Gran Plaza
 of 5 bubbles Hansblix, 16 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay