We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Amigo Zocalo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Amigo Zocalo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 42: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Amigo Zocalo
 Click to rate
Longview, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this place is very basic as the others say but the staff and location make up for it. it is really ONLY A 2 STAR property but we give it 4 because the staff first of all are 100% and were very helpful for first timers to the city. second reason is the location, it's 1.5 blocks from Zocalo square...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence D
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you are a complete budget traveler, this place is pretty decent. Pricing is affordable, however please note their is no ac or fan im the room. My stay was in April so it wasn't too hot but it can definitely be warm. They provide a free breakfast which provided some basics cereal, hot potatoes & fruit. It's an older...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelica F
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great staff! Wonderful and welcoming. Great ideas for dinner. The room was small but had everything we needed. Plus fresh orange juice delivered to our room, and breakfast because we were leaving early. Wonderful stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
New York, New York, United States
Reviewed 8 February 2017

This hotel was centrally located. Staff was courteous and helpful. It was a plus to have two restaurants at the hotel. But the TV fare was very disappointment. The only English-language news channel was Fox News. Why not CNN? Why not MSNBC?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
Moscow Oblast, Russia
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We spent three nights in this hotel just before the New Year, it is located in a very extraordinary space! So if you are searching for a funny full of music, urban noise, hundreds of tourists, regular striking of a clock, you are always welcome! It is situated in the heart of Centro Historico, so you only need to open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monty T
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Pre-paid 3 nights but couldnt stay there -dodgy location, dirty bed sheets and curtains, no hot water at all -they told us to wait 5-10 minutes for hot but never worked-condition of the bathroom!! (see yourself pictures) -we arrived late so stayed one night had no other choice -then moved to plaza revolution hotel (this one is amazing -go there).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomasz C
josearo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Amigo Zocalo, responded to this review

Hello, Tomasz. Thanks for your comments. We're sorry you didn't have the best experience while staying with us. We're making improvements in different areas of the hotel to avoid mishaps like the mentioned above. We'd like to know if there's more info on how we could improve this situation so it doesn't happen again. We're truly sorry for the inconveniences...

london
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Spent 3 nights in early May, bit concerned considering some recent indifferent reviews. The desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms although not high class, they were adequately appointed with all the necessaries. Cleaned daily with fresh towels and bedding. Towels presented in a different arty pose every day, making a pleasant and cheery entrance to a fairly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pactor
josearo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Amigo Zocalo, responded to this review

Hello, amigo! it's good to know you had a nice time staying with us, despite the inconveniences. We're currently working to improve the quality of our services in order to provide the best we can to all our friends. We hope you come back to Mexico City soon and give us the chance to show you such improvements. Greetings, Amigo...

Reviewed 24 April 2016

The noisiest hotel I've ever stayed at! In a great location in the historical centre, but that doesn't make up for the terrible experience! Apart from the guy on the desk at check in and check out, the staff were rude and unhelpful. The rooms are small, but that is ok, they were clean, the pillows however were horrendous! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jules_of_oz
josearo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Amigo Zocalo, responded to this review

Hello, Jules. Thank you very much for your comments, we're sorry you didm't enjoy your staying with us. We assure you we are working to provide the best service to all our friends. We hope you come back soon and give us another chance to show you we have improved. Best regards. Amigo Group

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Hotel Amigo is right in the middle of the Zoloco, it's a great location right in the thick of everything, it's a short walk to Bellas de Artes and the metro is 30 metre away. It is really exciting walking out your door and seeing what street vendors you can choose from. We stayed here a year when we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cbush44
josearo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Amigo Zocalo, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your comments, we're sorry you didn't enjoy your staying with us. We assure you we are working to provide the best service to all our friends. We hope you come back soon and give us another chance to show you we have improved. Best regards. Amigo Group

Reviewed 1 April 2016

excellent location. BUT it's a Horrible hotel. Wifi went out for 2 days. The only elevator stopped working one night. Another night after walking around town all day the door was locked. We couldn't get inside. we were locked out for 30 min. even after i called the hotel and rang the bell no one answered. hotel key didn't work....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norma F
josearo, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Amigo Zocalo, responded to this review

Hello, Norma. Thank you very much for your comments, we are sorry you didn't have the best experience while staying with us. We offer you an apology, and assure you we're working to provide the best service to all our friends. We hope you come back soon and let us show you by then that we've improved. Best regards, Amigo...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Hotel Roble
Hotel Roble
#138 of 306 in Mexico City
130 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#134 of 306 in Mexico City
247 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
Hotel Ritz Mexico
#126 of 306 in Mexico City
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hotel Castropol
Hotel Castropol
#65 of 306 in Mexico City
271 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo Suites
Hostel Amigo Suites
#18 of 206 in Mexico City
254 reviews
Centro Historico
Hostel Amigo
Hostel Amigo
#33 of 206 in Mexico City
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centro Historico

Neighbourhood Profile
Centro Historico
The beating heart of the city lies within Centro Histórico, the vast expanse of historical buildings and monuments that are a must when exploring Mexico City. Places such as the Museo Biblioteca Palacio Postal, Casa de los Azulejos and Palacio de Bellas Artes are the perfect eye candy for anyone seeking to admire arts and architecture. Don't forget to visit the wide variety of markets and plazas where any vintage item, handicrafts and jewelry characteristic of each state in Mexico can be found on Sundays. Admire majestic views of the city from the Monumento a la Revolución and Torre Latinoamericana, and round out the experience with restaurants of all cuisines nearby.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unbeatable location just 50 meters from the main plaza, Hostel Amigo Zocalo offers great private rooms and dorms all en-suite with Cable TV, Electronic Safety deposit in the room, Free Wifi in all the hostel, bath tub, 24 hour bilingual reception. From our rooftop terrace you will be able to see the Zocalo and downtown while you enjoy your breakfast, dinner or just a beer. We also provide tours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Amigo Zocalo

Address: Calle Moneda 8 | Del. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Price Range: $24 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amigo Zocalo 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amigo Zocalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amigo Zocalo Mexico City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Amigo Zocalo staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Amigo Zocalo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stay in a inside room not facing the front”
  • twin room
  • basic twin
LawrenceD505, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“small rooms - but it is an old hotel - it works!”
michelledQ1486PJ, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are no good rooms!”
Jules_of_oz, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The room backing into the stair well seems to be the loudest avoid them where possible”
Cbush44, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here,”
  • Watch your head when getting out of the bathroom.
  • Blood in the sink
Alpineman88, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5