We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel La Media Luna

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel La Media Luna
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Media Luna
See the most recent reviews
Showing 124: English reviews
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Posada Media Luna is in a perfect location, on a quiet street just a half-block away from the centro's pedestrian-only street, with so many restaurants and shops. The owners are fabulous and they are very pet-friendly. We travel with our dog and it's hard to find hotels that accept them, and here they are welcomed. They have a nice kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pepperswartz
Palm Springs, California
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Hotel la media luna is located at the entrance to the city, close to the bus station. It is close to the main street, and close to many restaurants. It is not close to the open air market. The rooms are ok,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Felizmujer
la_media_luna, Owner at Hotel La Media Luna, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking time in reviewing our property. I'd just like to point out that the hotel is located downtown, not at the entrance of the city. We are only 3 blocks away from the main place (some 300 meters), and a few meters from one of the main pedestrian streets crossing the historical centre. The open marketplace...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I want to start my review by emphasising my disapointment when I saw the Hotel. Firts of all, this is not a hotel, this is not much better than a hostel. I stayed there in September 2013 and this accommodation was the only downside of my visit to San Cristobal de las Casas. I made the reservation (for five days)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GeneO8080
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We got what we expected and Can only recommend the hotel. It has all the things we required for two nights. The Best part of this place is that it is situated in the center and all is in walking distance. The staff is great and ask Jesus to give u a map of town and he Will describe everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Although, we missed our first night (partly due to our fault and mother nature (read: thunderstorms)), once we arrived, it was a nice place to settle into for a good night sleep. It is only a few steps to the beginning of the walking market on Miguel Hidalgo, which leads you directly to the historical city center, the Cathedral, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marissa A
Ithaca, New York
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Media Luna is located close to all the downtown sites of interest. It is a simple hotel with good value for the price. The owners arranged a taxi to pick us up in Tuxtla because our flight arrived late. The owner was helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Randi607
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I have nothing to complain about the room itself, but rather wanted to give some advice on the pricing of the rooms since there are no prices available on the website. I contacted the posada for a price list in march and was quoted 55usd a night for an ensuite double room in July. When I got there I inadvertently...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JadeJaguar2013
la_media_luna, Owner at Hotel La Media Luna, responded to this review

Hi, First of all I want to remark that I was not embarrassed, but rather astonished, as evidently you had been checking all over a place which was supposed to be reserved to employees only. Anyway, I thought I had explained you the situation when we spoke, but maybe I couldn’t make me explain very well in a foreign language....

Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Decent hotel of the budget-mid range style. Nice sized rooms and bathroom. Really friendly staff. Some sheets were a little old but not a major problem. Strangely, there is no late checkout which is difficult when you're waiting for an overnight bus.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 17_AB
Devon, UK
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hotel is a good choice for central San Cristobal. The location is excellent, right by the arch and just a few minutes walk to the main square. It is also within easy walking distance of the ADO bus station, which is very handy. We never had any trouble with noise, as the street that the hotel is located on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CLC_Devon
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I spent 8 days at the Media Luna in April. This is a simple hotel with a great location at a great price. It is within blocks of most of the main attractions in San Cristobal de las Casas, you can walk everywhere from here. The rooms are very basic, this is a value hotel, not a luxury hotel. During...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank peter826

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.6 km away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
109 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Don Quijote
Hotel Don Quijote
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
87 reviews
1.2 km away
Casa Na Bolom
Casa Na Bolom
#23 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#19 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
314 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mision Colonial
Hotel Mision Colonial
#30 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
47 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel San Marcos
Hotel San Marcos
#26 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hotel La Media Luna

Address: Calle Hermanos Dominguez No. 5, centro historico, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: $50 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Media Luna 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Media Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Media Luna Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel La Media Luna staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Progreso, Mexico
6 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel La Media Luna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“DO NOT book here! There are plenty of great options for the same price nearby!”
 of 5 bubbles 259tereg, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“all roos are good”
 of 5 bubbles Fenia42, 10 Mar 2014 | Read review
“The beds sizes are more European than US. The Queen sized beds seemed closer to Double bed size - if you are large (like my spouse and me) you would probably be more comfortable getting a room that has two beds - which is what we did.”
  • A table in the courtyard
  • Our Room
  • the shelf & writing table
 of 5 bubbles Lbuggs, 7 Mar 2014 | Read review
“If you HAVE to stay here, rooms upstairs are slightly better than downstaris (rooms from 9-11?)”
 of 5 bubbles GeneO8080, 5 Nov 2013 | Read review
“If you have heavy bag,s ask for a room on the first floor. There are no elevators and usually it's ladies at the check-in desk. However, if you don't mind the climb to the third floor, which is where we stayed, then you don't have to worry about people walking above you...the floors are tiled.”
 of 5 bubbles MarissaA995, 18 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5