We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
20 Street s/n, Merida 97302 Mexico
E-mail hotel
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$255
View deal
Priceline
US$255
View deal
Algotels
US$241
View deal
Hotels.comUS$255
Official SiteUS$319
Trip.comUS$305
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (283)
Room & Suite (216)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 158 Specialty lodging in Merida
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
We are excited to announce the re-opening of Hacienda Xcanatun in Merida on July 1st 2020. The property is now the newest member of the Banyan Tree Hotels & Resorts family, operating under its upscale brand "Angsana". Located just 15 minutes away from downtown Merida, the hacienda is in a unique enclave where history and traditions come together. Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana has recovered the its old 18th century grandeur, as one of the most iconic henequen (sisal) haciendas in the Yucatan. Transformed into a sophisticated hotel with 18 spacious and tastefully-appointed suites, all of them decorated with a fusion of local artworks and all the contemporary details necessary to make your stay comfortable, guests will enjoy being time-traveled to an era of splendor. Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana is surrounded by four acres of private gardens, filled with lush vegetation and bright tropical flowers that highlight the beauty and lifestyle that made it one of the most important haciendas in the Yucatan. Its iconic “Casa de Piedra” restaurant is a traditional favorite among locals due to its delicious and sophisticated Yucatecan cuisine, developed with French techniques.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Minibar
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
334Reviews5Q+A34Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 239
  • 44
  • 27
  • 9
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Robert K wrote a review Jan. 18
Charleston, South Carolina408 contributions73 helpful votes
Traditional hacienda setting with modern amenities and rooms. The property is going through a major upgrade and expansion. New rooms are spacious and bright. Olympic swimming pool is massive and beautiful. Nice fitness center and a new spa is being built. Restaurant is top notch (limited menu) With great food and service. A great place to totally relax for a long weekend!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: A ways away from Merida so don’t plan on visiting or dining there.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eva Lopez, General Manager at Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Robert It is so grateful to receive your valuable comments and se that you have truly enjoyed your stay and the beautiful facilities . He hope you have the opportunity to visit us in the near future so we can create more great experiences.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Francisco V wrote a review Dec. 2022
Monterrey, Mexico351 contributions70 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
Absolutely beautiful property. Amazing rooms, open areas, nice small gym, and very friendly service. Stayed in one of the suites in the original Hacienda. They are beautifully appointed and very quiet. Food in the restaurant was very good as well. Will definitely recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eva Lopez, General Manager at Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana
Responded Dec. 17, 2022
Dear Mr. Vidal It is so grateful receiving your valuable comments and thank you very much for the taime you took to share them. On behalf of the entire staff at Hacienda Xcanatun, we thank ou for your very positive feedback and see that you really enjoyed your stay. We trust you can come back in the near future and create more unforgettable memories.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RebeccaBG56 wrote a review Jan. 14
Our friends got married here so we made a vacation out of it — lucky us!! The property, rooms, and facilities are spectacularly beautiful and the staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. The resort is also very centrally located for many Yucatán attractions including Mérida, Progreso, Chichén Itzá, Celestún… We are already planning our return trip. Highly, highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eva Lopez, General Manager at Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Rebecca Wonderful to receive your valuable comments and see that you truly enjoyed the spectacular wedding and the beautiful Hacienda and surroundings. Thank you for praising the staff and for letting us know that you had an enjoyable stay. We will be happy to welcome you back in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sri Z wrote a review Jan. 8
Wayzata, Minnesota40 contributions52 helpful votes
The pros: gorgeous grounds, great design incorporating elements of old henequen factory (high ceilings, beams) with contemporary elements, decent restaurant, Asian trained masseuses in Spa (Angsanas ownership shows there) and beautiful new spa facility being built, which should be open by 2024. Staff very eager to help even if they didn’t get things right the first time. Peaceful oasis although a little far from downtown action (30 minutes by car each way made it a bit of a challenge to get to all the terrific restaurants Mérida has) The cons: We were in the most expensive suite (207, featured in all the promotional material) in the hacienda. In the old but updated part - lots of character, gorgeous room, beautiful design, updated BUT absolutely nothing worked without enormous effort on the part of the staff and even then, it didn’t (not for their lack of trying). The “private pool” and “outdoor shower” were far from private, being right next to the main walkways and shielded from them only by some greenery and open woodwork. More importantly though, the pool, which was really a hot tub, needed an engineer climbing into the greenery where the control panel was located each time to get the jets even marginally working and the water temp to even get to 38 degrees - a lukewarm tub with no pressure jets at best. Then for two days, the A/c didn’t work and again needed an engineer to climb onto the roof of the room and do some major deicing to get it working. And the chromecast streaming service didn’t work at all despite Salvador’s best efforts. By now, we have one day left in the most expensive hotel we’ve ever stayed in. Other small things that many lower priced places get right. Turn-down service only happened on day three out of a 4-day stay. First day, there were only two thin towels despite the room having a pool and outdoor shower - we had to ask for more. No map of property given to us and no one working on the grounds knew where the spa was - the one place where there was an arrow saying spa was inadequate to find it ( I was directed to the new spa which was still under construction and ended up late for my appointment). The gym had no treadmills, and the two bikes there had poor screens and hard, uncomfortable seats and no fridge for the water, and used towels thrown in a cupboard where they hadn’t been cleared for days. The staff do care and work hard to correct issues. But not all have been fully trained and the technology is a mess. All in all, ambivalent about whether we’d stay here again if we visit Mérida. One of the standard downtown hotels or a downtown Airbnb would probably be a better option, even if we’re lacking the character and the grounds.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid room 207
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eva Lopez, General Manager at Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sri on behalf of the entire staff we truly appreciate your valuable comments and see some important observations that we definetely will consider to improve. your comments were shared already with the involved departmets to give priority on the technical issues that for sure can be easily corrected. Thank you for your feedback and together with the team rest assure that we will polish these details and work for better experiences.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JORGE S wrote a review Oct. 2022
Mexico City, Mexico4 contributions
I stayed there with my wife over a long weekend. The rooms are fantastic. The scenario is great and beautiful, it's part of an old henequen hacienda. If there could be something to make it better, it would be the times in the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eva Lopez, General Manager at Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana
Responded Oct. 20, 2022
Dear Mr. Sepulveda We truly appreciate your valuable comment and see that you have enjoyed your stay at the beautiful Hacienda. Thank you very much for your observations and I will be happy to share with the staff. We hope to see you in the near future and create memorable experiences.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
C-Line1986 wrote a review Aug. 2022
Bacalar, Mexico87 contributions44 helpful votes
We stayed 2 nights at Hacienda Xcanatun on a Monday and Tuesday night. I imagine it is busier over the weekend. We were given a complimentary upgrade to an amazing room with a private terrace and outdoor jacuzzi bathtub. The room was really fantastic -- we did not want to leave. But we did enjoy the beautiful new pool area, which is quite spacious. We enjoyed the restaurant, especially for breakfast. For dinner, the food was good and service was slow but good. They seemed understaffed at nighttime, but the server did the best he could. Overall, a fantastic stay. We did not want to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eva Lopez, General Manager at Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana
Responded Aug. 22, 2022
Dear Guest So grateful to receive your valuable comments and see that you truly enjoyed your stay and had nice memories from your visit. Agree with you, new suites are amazing and I am glad to hear you receive an upgrade so you can experience the Itza plunge pool suite. we hope to see you in the near future so we can creat more beautiful moments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SPCTraveler wrote a review Aug. 2022
16 contributions19 helpful votes
Outstanding property. Beautiful rooms, grounds and great service though they still seem to be ironing out some kinks. Stayed in one of the suites in the original Hacienda buildings. They are beautifully appointed and very quiet. Food in the restaurant was very good as well. Will definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eva Lopez, General Manager at Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana
Responded Aug. 22, 2022
Dear Guest It is so grateful receiving your valuable comments and see that you have enjoyed your stay, architecture, service and food. We will be happy to share with the team and of course we hope to see you come back in the near future. You will lways be more than welcome¡
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Svetlana a wrote a review Aug. 2022
Cancun154 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
We stayed in one of the new villas and the room was beautiful, with a bathtub, inside and outside showers, very cool design and a big patio. It was quiet and peaceful. The property is big and has a typical hacienda mustard-terracotta colors, very stylish, great to walk around. There are 3 pool, one of which is Olympic size and for those who love to swim - it is a spot! There is a restaurant by the pool and in the main building. The duck tostadas, avocado toast, Chilean salmon we tried were very good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eva Lopez, General Manager at Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana
Responded Aug. 15, 2022
Dear Svetlana Thank you so much for your comments and see that you had a beautiful experience, enjoying the surroundings, architechture and new facilities. We hope to see you come back in the near future . Eva López Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe smith wrote a review Jun. 2022
1 contribution
Hacienda Xcanatun is beautiful, and the food is good. But in trying to plan an event there they dragged their feet for weeks. Never committing to anything and blatantly lying about other things. Jordani the event coordinator did not coordinate anything and seemed to be clueless or dishonest about just about everything. Even our third party planner said he was a nightmare to deal with and was unclear or dishonest about everything he spoke to us about. I think their plan was to string us along with a verbal quote that was reasonable and then when we had no other options, give us the real quote which was way more than verbally agreed upon. Super disappointed because we really liked the place.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eva Lopez, General Manager at Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana
Responded Jun. 2, 2022
Dear Jaxhum Thank you very much for your comments and I will definetely extend an apology for what you mention, however I would like to be honest, I am surprised about your feedback as this is the first time I received an observation about our sales team as they are always committed to serve and assist every guest, client and requests. I would like to better understand what you mention and I will truly appreciate if you are able to share your contact email or phone number so I can call you personally. Rest assure I will also follow up with the team and share your comments with them so we can solve together and avoid future misunderstandings. We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and meet you personally. Eva López Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RockyAdventure wrote a review Apr. 2022
Chelem, Mexico5 contributions
Hacienda Xcanatun is undoubtedly one of the best dining experiences in the area. Tonight they surpassed my expectations by putting on a beautiful Thai evening. The incredibly beautiful setting was specially decorate in Asian theme and twinkle lights among the Royal Palms. The concept was Thai street food and there were individual stations cooking food in front of us .. reminiscent of eating from a street cart in Bangkok but so much prettier. I only wish I had captured that for this post. The food was top quality, capturing the flavors and presentation of authentic Thai food. The fresh rolls, spring rolls, pad Thai, red chicken and potatoe curry, sate, papaya salad and plethora of Thai desserts were all divine. Chef Gerado who studied in Thailand and cheffed in top restaurants in Yucatán stopped at each table to great guests and made special recommendations. Manager Eva also came by in her beautifully designed Thai outfit and told us this will be happening monthly if there is interest. Please show interest
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eva Lopez, General Manager at Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana
Responded May 8, 2022
Dear Rocky Adventure¡ So amazing reding your kind review about our 1st Pop up Bangkok street food festival. We are happy to see thay you had an enjoyable evening with your friends and you found in Hacienda Xcanatun your place for a special dining experience. You describe very well that special night and we will love to do more culinary experiences in the future. Thank you for spreading the voice to your friends and family and see you soon for another Thai Festival¡ Eva López Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$218 - US$352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hacienda xcanatun hotel merida, hacienda hotel xcanatun, xcanatun hacienda hotel
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaYucatanMerida
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Merida, Mexico) - Specialty Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana
Which popular attractions are close to Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana?
Nearby attractions include Cenote X Batun (7.5 km), Gran Museo del Mundo Maya (4.4 km), and Iglesia de Jesus (6.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana?
Conveniently located restaurants include Porfirio's Mérida, Sanbravo, and Restaurante Ya-axká.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana have airport transportation?
Yes, Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hacienda Xcanatun by Angsana?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.