We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Riviera Paradise

Crta. Federal Cancún Chetumal, km 296 Manzana 020 Lote 007-1, Playa del Carmen 77710 Mexico
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (14335)
Pool & Beach (2793)
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!20% off Room Rate
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#80 of 282 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Ocean Riviera Paradise is a new five-star resort located on the seafront in the Playa del Carmen area of the Riviera Maya. The resort is noteworthy for its size and the extensive selection of services on offer. It boasts spectacular swimming pools, exclusive Junior Suites and Suites, a wide range of cuisine, a Despacio Spa Centre, Privilege, Exclusive Rooms and Services, a Dive It! diving centre and a great choice of entertainment for the whole family.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bowling
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Game room
Tennis court
Water park
Aerobics
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Waterslide
Nightclub / DJ
Video game console
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:20% off Room Rate

Location

Crta. Federal Cancún Chetumal, km 296 Manzana 020 Lote 007-1, Playa del Carmen 77710 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Ocean Riviera Paradise
14,582Reviews2,847Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 9,986
  • 1,998
  • 1,104
  • 629
  • 870
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Harrisonrd wrote a review Today
Fort Nelson, Canada60 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
This resort was a pleasant surprise for all of us in our group. We booked with a group of 15 with 9 kids. For the price, we were expecting some minor issues which there was related to rooms. The place is beautiful and was clean and well kept. Has a lot of picturesque areas that made it fun for our own photography. The kids had a lot to do. We had ages 6-16 and they were able to keep busy having fun in the pools in the games provided. They played alot of basketball with other teens and joined in on the daily activities in the pool. They loved the ice cream and coffee shops. The food was really good. The buffet was better than some other more expensive resorts we went to and always had good options for our kids to pick from. We loved Route 66 for breakfast. Sakura was a good spot for a family dinner for my daughter’s birthday, they had cakes available at the end for her. Pez Vela is an awesome spot for a lunch by the ocean. Not really a complaints on food other than the reservation system on the app is a bit funky at times. We also had room service once, it was good and came fast. The rooms were decent, standard resort rooms I felt. They didn’t get cool enough with the AC so we were up a lot at night. They felt big even with 3-4 kids in one. The one room at a leaking roof for a day and one room didn’t have cushions on the outdoor chairs and some stains on the couch. Really this is the only negative part of the trip. Overall we really enjoyed the resort, pools are a good size and lots of fun. The nightly entertainment in the main plaza we enjoyed a lot and had good service from drinks each night. Don’t forget your towel cards soon as you check in. Be in line to book Sakura by 8am. Same with the pools, get your towels on chairs early at eden pool.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Towels on chairs early, the water slides are slow, waffle places closed randomly so try it if you...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alex wrote a review Jul 2023
4 contributions22 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Overall the Ocean Riviera Paradise experience with my wife and 5 y/o child was a memorable one and we will look back on it with mostly fond memories but we want to share how it really was for folks who are considering visiting. Also, we're going to give it 3.5 stars for the sake of this review and are rounding it up to 4 because we can't rate with half stars on Trip Advisor. Allow us to explain why it was 3.5 stars... The intro to the hotel, upon arrival, was a farce. We were basically given an intro by a dude who purely wanted to up-sell us on our holiday and was trying to upgrade us to Privilege-tier guests instead of the standard all inclusive we'd already paid good money for. This felt very distasteful after such a long air & land journey to arrive in PDC, from North California and he missed various important facts about the hotel, seemingly because he wanted the commission for an up-sell. All things considered, this was a terrible start to our hotel experience and it left a bad taste in our mouths throughout the stay. All this being said - we'd advise ANYone against the Privilege intro tour that these guys try to pitch you in the first few days. (We were also advised through hearsay that these take way longer than the allotted 1.5 hours) General tours/amenity harassment (incl. spa and water sport deals) between the lobby and the beach pool were also draining. Of course, we get that people are always gonna try and sell you extra tours while on your hols. but it was pretty relentless, even on the hotel grounds! To the point at which, every time we entered the lobby we feared we'd receive another sales pitch, because of the aforementioned intro. Not to mention that the beach peddlers also became a bit of a nuisance (with the hotel seemingly doing little to deter them from hanging inside the boundaries of the hotel's borders and around the beach pool). The laundry service at the hotel was an absolute scam. I'm sorry, but being charged per item, for what was effectively only two normal-sized loads of washing for our little family, ended up being offered to us at $140 USD, no less!!! Fortunately, we managed to find a laundromat about 1-mile up the road (by a restaurant called Funky Monkey + a 711) that offered a load of/4Kg washing for less than $5 USD - which we were able to conveniently pick up the next day ~ well worth it. There was no beach, don't let the pics of the hotel beach fool you. While the beach pool itself was splendid, the hotel beach is now non-existent with giant sandbags taking up the space instead and tons of washed up sea weed, making the sea a murky green. As such the cordoned-off area that is ORP's safe swimming area was definitely not the beach experience we were expecting from the pics available on Google, so we felt hugely misinformed on this aspect of the hotel. We do however recommend taking a catamaran tour to Isla Mujeres for that true Caribbean Sea vibe. Note: Peak times for algae/washed-up seaweed is May to October in this part of Mexico, but for whatever reason this didn't impact Isla Mujeres, which was truly beautiful. The monkey sanctuary was exceedingly disappointing. It's basically only a 10-meter-long viewing platform and there was lots of litter on the jungle floor. Also at the time we visited, there were 0 monkeys to be seen and we were surprised that despite the seemingly hard work that the groundsmen put in, towards the upkeep of the beautiful hotel grounds, in general, there was little to no effort made to make this an actual sanctuary. Of course, from our initial intro, the monkey sanctuary was made out to be a thing of beauty - instead, it was quite frankly a depressing site and an example of human carelessness and litter pollution :( Moving on, I was due a FedEx delivery for some medication, which became rather urgent during my stay. However, instead of guest services keeping on top of the delivery I had to proactively ask them on 2 separate occasions to actually collect it from security. It felt like a ball was definitely dropped in this scenario and there was seemingly no sense of urgency/inquiry as to why it had been delivered to security but was not passed onto us. I then proceeded to have to wait over 24 hours to pick it up from guest services after demanding for it to be found. (I also notified the front desk of the package's arrival at least 48 hours prior to its scheduled delivery too, to no avail) The volume/music levels for the majority of evening shows, particularly the fire show outside in the main plaza + the Disney show in the theatre were dangerously high - especially for children. The room desk/drawer unit was broken. The drawers for this unit were totally dysfunctional in the camp bed part of our junior-style room. (Where we stored our child's toys, etc.) For a 5* hotel one would expect these things to be checked pro-actively by maintenance prior to arrival + despite there being a whole team of folks who took care of the room's facilities, this was overlooked. (In hindsight we should have reported this to reception + changed rooms or indeed drawer units, because this was unacceptable and somewhat dangerous for child's fingers) Airport transfers ~ we were surprised the hotel didn't offer this proactively or even provide info. about recommendations on how to go about this. Instead, the airport transfer felt like a wild goose chase! After our trip, we discovered it was definitely better to get a taxi (for approximately $1,000 MXN at the time of writing, if your travel provider does not provision it, so why not suggest that ORP?). Alternatively, the on-site TraficTours tourist agency also offers transfers at a similar cost, but again these are not offered proactively anywhere by the hotel, which is disappointing. AC in the main restaurant buildings left a lot to be desired. These rooms were seemingly too large to have efficient air-con., something we'd hope would be much improved if we were ever to return. Paddle boarding - while the chap who ran this was great, this session definitely needs improving. There were no signs to suggest where to sign up and who was on the waiting list and at the time of writing there were only 3 paddle boards on offer, for the entire hotel! In the end we only had 20 minutes because we had to pass on the paddle boards to the next set of folks who wanted to do it, which definitely wasn't enough time to enjoy the ride. ------------- All things considered, our stay certainly wasn't all bad and overall, like we stated at the beginning of this review, we did enjoy our stay at ORP, so it's important we also mention the pro's here too... Room cleanliness & spaciousness was first-rate and lived up to its 5* rating. (With thanks to the maids and water re-fillers too, who made our room welcoming & spotless on a daily basis). The bathroom was also fantastic with a separate shower and toilet room + dual wash basins; a well thought out design for a little family to use all at once :) Daisy/Kids Club - The ladies that ran this on a daily basis were outstanding and indeed lived up to the 5* experience one would expect of a hotel like this. We were so grateful to drop off our 5 y/o at kids club every day and were so impressed with how they gracefully embraced the kids who attended. Not to mention their work rate morning, afternoon and night for the general entertainment, on site! Our child also looked forward to going back to Daisy Club every day, while we were there ~ A clear sign that things were working really well <3 Aside from the excessive volume, the theatre shows were outstanding. Including, not least, the Disney show, where all the children even got to meet and be photographed with every character on stage! The shows were always compelling and again, definitely lived up to the 5* experience. We also want to give a special shout-out to the Shining Paradise crew who put on a show every Thursday evening, while we were there and truly went above and beyond with their performance, which was thoroughly entertaining, as were their musical accompaniment choices! Air-conditioning in both our room (in extension of the ceiling fan) and indeed the lobby was always a welcomed treat, to return to. We just wish it could've been this way in the larger restaurant areas too :( The scent of the lobby was always inviting & welcoming! I don't know what magic concoction they were using but sales folks aside, we always looked forward to walking through the lobby just for the smell of it, LoL. Parking at the hotel was free! Thank goodness. Also, it is well worth renting a car while you're there to explore Playa Del Carmen's restaurants (we recommend Ictio & Carboncitos restaurants in downtown PDC). Also don't forget to check out the Cenotes and Mayan temples if you're feeling adventurous. Just make sure you shop around for rentals (outside of the hotel too, to compare rates Vs. convenience of hotel bookings!) Taxis to and from these places are also relatively cheap as an alternative from time to time instead of renting a car and can be booked from the hotel/front desk ~ so long as you level-set with the drivers beforehand about the journey cost Vs. what the hotel's/locals expected rates are. Note: Above all, please don't let the taxi drivers get the better of you as a tourist, as they often can and will; especially if you don' speak the language! ---------- Finally, here's some constructive feedback/suggested improvements on how we think the hotel can improve as a whole and live up to its 5* reputation... Add a hotel / beach pier or at least a jetty (if possible). This would be amazing for numerous reasons incl. better access to the actual turquoise sea + skipping the rocks. It would also make the beach a lot more appealing than it is now, in its current state :( Not to mention to help overcome the algae/seaweed issues for the poor staff who have to work hard clearing it all up, every-single-day. Note: A short walk away to the South of the hotel (< 1 KM), along the beach is something just like this setup with a pier and indeed a protected beach. Something which ORP seemingly do little about, when it comes to protecting their own beach unfortunately. Improving the up selling / returning visitor / Privilege tier debacle. Please don't take advantage of brand new guests, as you did with us. This definitely marred our initial ORP settling in period and could be conducted so much better - even if it was a day or two into the holiday, out of respect, after folks have had a long journey. We might have considered things differently if this had been conducted in a more decent/professional manner, sometime into our holiday. The key take away for us was that instead of giving folks all the important information about the hotel, it felt like we were just another entity to sell to, which was disgraceful. The standard WiFi, wasn't happening. For a 5* hotel surely it isn't too much to ask to have an optimal wireless mesh experience to sufficiently serve the hotel guests!? Even a cell phone tower that serves the guests outside of the WiFi would be nice but at the Daisy Rooms the WiFi was genuinely awful. (Not to mention that we would definitely have been willing to pay for a secure network/improved Internet experience!) Drinks - they were just far too sweet. We definitely don't want to demean the overall service experience because the service staff in general were fantastic, but we would definitely have been willing to pay for some premium drinks at the pool bars and add the cost to our room from time to time; incl. better choice wine options and craft beer options too, of course!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't believe the pics of the beach on Google - the hotel's beach is pretty much non-existent and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
17 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Concierge Online Ocean Riviera Paradise, Owner at Ocean Riviera Paradise
Responded Jul 9, 2023
Dear Aldavewebbs, Thank you for taking the time to leave your opinion about your stay at Ocean Riviera Paradise. We are pleased to hear that you found some of our amenities and services enjoyable. Your suggestions will be taken into account as we continue working on areas for improvement and strive to provide you with an even better experience in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Kind regards, Ocean Riviera Paradise
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kornelija N wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
We regret to report that our stay at Hotel Ocean Riviera Paradise was marred by several disappointing experiences, leading us to strongly advise against choosing this establishment. Firstly, a concerning incident occurred when my husband slipped on slippery tiles, resulting in injury and damage to property. Despite this, the management's response was dishearteningly unsympathetic, displaying a lack of concern for our well-being and focusing solely on financial compensation, demanding an exorbitant sum of 500 American dollars. Furthermore, interactions with many bartenders left much to be desired, as their demeanor often conveyed annoyance rather than hospitality. On one occasion, we were even denied service before the official closing time, an unacceptable lapse in customer service. However, we must commend bartenders Christian, Jonathon, and Meminis for their exceptional service and delightful cocktails. The culinary experience also fell short of expectations, with instances of subpar food quality leading to discomfort and illness. Regrettably, room service proved to be equally disappointing, with excessive charges and prolonged wait times adding unnecessary stress to our vacation. Additionally, the lack of evening entertainment, or the poor quality when available, contributed to a sense of dissatisfaction with our overall experience. In summary, our time at Hotel Ocean Riviera Paradise was marred by various shortcomings, from safety concerns and indifferent management to disappointing dining experiences and inadequate amenities. We have no intention of returning and cannot in good conscience recommend this hotel to others seeking a pleasant and hassle-free vacation experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs dont waste your money if you want to have a good vacation
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Anthony S wrote a review Yesterday
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Loved the hotel and the adults only section! Loved Mathew Fernando! Very handsome and has some excellent dance moves at the pool! The drinks are super yummy and the games at the pool are really fun! This is the second time we’ve been down here and we’ll be back again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
issam k wrote a review Apr 18
2 contributions
Amazing Experience from start to finish! The people, the activities, the food & the service were faultless. Best 40th birthday present! The activities team made the adult only experience perfect! Best staff was Celeste, Fernando, Aranza, Carlos & Leonardo!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Manager, Owner at Ocean Riviera Paradise
Responded yesterday
Dear Esteemed Guest, We are delighted to hear that your experience with us, from start to finish, was nothing short of amazing! It brings us immense joy to know that our dedicated team members, delightful activities, delectable cuisine, and impeccable service all contributed to making your 40th birthday celebration truly special. Your recognition of Celeste, Fernando, Aranza, Carlos, and Leonardo is greatly appreciated. They are indeed invaluable members of our team, and we will ensure they receive the recognition they deserve for exceeding your expectations. Thank you very much for choosing to celebrate such a significant milestone with us. It was our pleasure to be a part of your special occasion. We eagerly await the opportunity to welcome you back for another unforgettable experience. Warmest regards, Guest Experience Specialist Ocean Riviera Paradise
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
holidayawayUK wrote a review Apr 18
Derbyshire, United Kingdom7 contributions
+1
Hotel it’s self nice but unfortunately ruined our holiday. Upsetting, on arrival to the room, room had strong smell of fresh pain called reception and went to reception to mortify room smell of fresh paint. They checked on system salon nothing painted. After 10h fly and commute we fall a sleep. Wake up with bad headache and check wardrobe it’s painted inside got my fingers into the pain glad I didn’t put my close in. Would have been on paint . Went to reception they agreed to change the room. But had to wait from 12-15 to change the room means I would can’t be swapped until Ready. Went at 15:45 to check what room we had and room ready but suitcase not. So waisted an other 30 min with no clothes. Disappointed and no even a sorry. I would not expect from the hotel this behaviour. Sure it’s not a 5 starS stayed in Mexico in September not experience this: Room service food ordered pizza don’t bother it’s hard worse then from the shop if you cook your self . Pool was so dirty of leafs where children area is Eden area. Rooms a spacious ✅ Food in restaurant okay wouldn’t starve Can’t comment on anything else as day one and thinks happen. I wouldn’t bother of paint but having 2 children on the room that’s not appropriate
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Manager, Owner at Ocean Riviera Paradise
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We greatly appreciate your patience and understanding as we continually strive to maintain the beauty and functionality of our rooms through ongoing maintenance efforts. It deeply saddens us to learn that your holiday was marred by the issue with the painted wardrobe. Please rest assured that we take such matters seriously, and we have addressed this with our maintenance team to prevent any recurrence. We understand the frustration caused by the delay in changing rooms and the inconvenience of waiting for your suitcase. We regret any disappointment or discomfort this may have caused and assure you that we will review our procedures to ensure a smoother transition for our guests in the future. Regarding your feedback on room service food quality and pool cleanliness, we have taken note of your comments and will use them constructively to make necessary improvements. We want to assure you that providing a comfortable and enjoyable experience for all our guests is of utmost importance to us. Guest Experience Specialist Ocean Riviera Paradise
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stephanie N wrote a review Apr 18
1 contribution
This is my 6th time in Mexico but first time at ocean riviera paradise. This is a very nice resort and it has great pools. We are pretty easy going BUT this time I had to write a review. You will wait a long time for everything. Service is slow. Restaurants take 40 mins before you get your appy. Line ups at the buffet and always a big line up at the beach side restaurant for lunch. Maybe there’s just not enough staff? If you want to order room service for breakfast, it’s an extra charge. There are no ‘to go’ boxes, our kids got sick and they wouldn’t let us take food up to the room for them, even after explaining. They are very good at asking what allergy you have but that’s as far as it goes. We were able to find one employee to help us get gluten free food since I am celiac, but almost all the staff had no clue what it was. The beds are terrible. Mine was sunken in. Other guests said the same. Our A/C didn’t work until the end of our trip, we had someone fix it. The room doors need a good slam in order to shut, so all night long you are awaken by others slamming their doors. None of us slept well. The bowling alley was fun at night, but a couple of the lanes were not working, so you may have to wait, however you don’t have to pay extra to bowl. There is an arcade /game room but you pay and it’s pricey. Both my husband and I would have some drinks throughout the first couple of days and we didn’t feel a thing. I’m the type to get a buzz off of 1-2 drinks. I ordered vodka, rum and tequila mixed drinks and you couldn’t taste the alcohol. So I’m not sure if there was any alcohol in there as said by other reviewers. It’s too bad, it’s a nice resort, aesthetically pretty and good food but needs some improving in other areas. I would give it a 3.5 star.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Feed your kids a snack from the buffet before going to the restaurants as it’s usually a long wait.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Manager, Owner at Ocean Riviera Paradise
Responded yesterday
Dear Stephanie We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay at Ocean Riviera Paradise. While we're pleased to hear you enjoyed the resort's amenities and aesthetics, we regret that certain aspects fell short of your expectations. We appreciate your feedback regarding service speed, restaurant wait times, room service charges, and staff knowledge of allergies. Rest assured, we're addressing these issues to enhance guest satisfaction. We apologize for the discomfort caused by the beds, A/C, and noise disturbance. We've taken note of your comments regarding the bowling alley, arcade, and drink quality and will work to improve these areas. Thank you for your valuable feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the future to provide a more enjoyable experience. Guest Experience Specialist Ocean Riviera Paradise
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Geekaye wrote a review Apr 18
Melbourne, Australia122 contributions59 helpful votes
We’ve had many 5 star experiences, and sadly this was not one of them. This is an excellent, family friendly mid range option that I’d personally rate about 3.5 stars, in my view it it is not a 5 star or luxury experience as was advertised to us. The quality of the food, the cleanliness of the hotel, and the staff attentiveness and responsiveness all need to be addressed and significantly improved for this to be a 5 star experience. We had broken items in our room, no hot water, cold room service, dirt and bugs in food, and repeated times where we had to ask for the same thing multiple times. If you find a good deal are looking for a relaxing time at an all inclusive (particularly with kids) - I recommend! If you’re paying peak prices and want a true luxury experience, I suggest looking elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Bring your own inflatable toys, sunscreen and small bills for tipping as items are insanely...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Manager, Owner at Ocean Riviera Paradise
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, We deeply regret to learn about your disappointing experience. Your feedback is highly valued, and we want to assure you that we will take proactive steps to address the areas for improvement you've highlighted. At our establishment, we strive to provide an exceptional experience, ensuring that all our rooms have hot water and that our staff delivers top-notch customer service. Regarding your concern about the lack of hygiene in the food, we kindly request further details so that we may address this matter appropriately. It's important to note that we maintain very high standards of cleanliness in our kitchen. We earnestly look forward to the opportunity to demonstrate our unwavering commitment to your satisfaction in the future. Guest Experience Specialist Ocean Riviera Paradise
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dan B wrote a review Apr 18
1 contribution
Great time. Food was amazing. Staff were very helpful. Celeste, Fernando, Carlos, Jessica all deserve a raise! Eden pool is the place to be! Best in the business!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Manager, Owner at Ocean Riviera Paradise
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest: Thank you for your fantastic feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed our amazing food. We'll make sure to pass along your compliments to Celeste, Fernando, Carlos, Jessica, and the rest of the team. We agree, Eden Pool is indeed the place to be! Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Riviera Paradise for another exceptional experience. Best regards, Concierge Online Ocean Riviera Paradise
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jenny R wrote a review Apr 17
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Just got back and it was a decent stay. I don’t know if privilege is really worth it. Our butler Ariz was really great though, she made our son’s bday really special and decorated another room too! She also checked in constantly even though I was a bad communicator with her. There wasn’t a daisy kit or slippers for our child just bath amenities. They charged extra for drinks when it was free for others a few weeks before. The only thing that was kind of annoying was trying to book a bowling lane, the guy working seemed annoyed and the bartender said that they only served canned beer and said the liquor on the shelves were fake and not for drinking lol maybe he was just tired or having an off day
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Online Manager, Owner at Ocean Riviera Paradise
Responded 2 days ago
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel with your family and friends. We're glad to hear that overall it was a decent stay for you. We're thrilled to hear that Ariz, your butler, went above and beyond to make your son's birthday special and provided exceptional service throughout your stay. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to her. We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the daisy kit and slippers for your child. We'll review our amenities to ensure they meet the needs of all our guests, including families. Regarding the drinks, we're sorry for any confusion or inconsistency you experienced. We'll look into this matter further to ensure our policies are communicated clearly and consistently. We appreciate your feedback about the bowling lane booking process and the bartender's service. We'll address these issues with our team to ensure better service moving forward. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an even better experience in the future. Concierge Online Ocean Riviera Paradise
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Playa del Carmen area.
PRICE RANGE
C$297 - C$417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaPlaya del Carmen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
974
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Ocean Riviera Paradise - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Ocean Riviera Paradise
Which popular attractions are close to Ocean Riviera Paradise?
Nearby attractions include Playa (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ocean Riviera Paradise?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Ocean Riviera Paradise?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ocean Riviera Paradise?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Ocean Riviera Paradise?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ocean Riviera Paradise?
Conveniently located restaurants include MVNGATA Beach Club & Rooftop, Coco's Cabanas, and Koh Thai - Wok Cuisine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ocean Riviera Paradise?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ocean Riviera Paradise?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ocean Riviera Paradise offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ocean Riviera Paradise?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Ocean Riviera Paradise?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Zona Arqueológica Playa del Carmen (7.3 km) and Roan Experiences (5.1 km).