The Reef Playacar

The Reef Playacar

Traveller (5222)
Panorama at The Reef Playacar
360
Panoramas (1)
The Reef Playacar
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#21 of 37 all-inclusives in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
From the moment you arrive at The Reef Playacar, you’ll see why we’re one of the best family-friendly resorts in Playa del Carmen. The relaxed comfort of our boutique-style hotel takes inspiration from the Mayan traditions, magically blending the quiet seclusion of a tropical rainforest with the white-hot beauty of one of the world’s most spectacular beaches. Nestled among brilliant gardens in an exclusive gated community, just a 15-minute walk from the vibrant shops, dining, and nightlife of 5th Avenue, The Reef Playacar resort ensures that nothing comes between you and an unforgettable Riviera Maya beach getaway. Our resort is uniquely suited to provide you with a range of unforgettable experiences, from the exhilarating to the serene. You will have the chance to book your room with two different options: All-Inclusive package or bed + breakfast. Fill your days with diving, skydiving and eco-adventures or explore and relax in Playa del Carmen’s tranquil ancient setting.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Vending machine
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Diving
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal

Location

Paseo Xaman-Há, Retorno Sayil, s/n, Playa del Carmen 77710 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 63 out of 100
63
Cancun Airport
52.1 km
See all flights
Aerodromo de Playa Del Carmen
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles7,886 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Reef Playacar boasts a modern atmosphere and tropical setting that many guests have enjoyed, complete with a relaxing terrace and lively entertainment. Its jungle-like location offers a serene retreat with easy access to town and beach activities, which has received high praise from visitors. Guests commend the resort's cleanliness but have expressed concerns over value, citing unexpected costs and underwhelming food. While the spa and beach are highlights, some find the amenities, such as dining options, to be lacking. Service quality appears to vary, with some guests applauding the staff's friendliness, while others experienced slower service. The rooms are generally well-regarded, though there are occasional mentions of odors and the need for further updates.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Tropical
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Limited

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
7,886Reviews432Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,301
  • 2,497
  • 1,114
  • 544
  • 430
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
E8508QYkimberlyr wrote a review Aug 2020
Dallas, United States23 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve been to the Reef Playacar many times, so we chose this resort for our first travel experience during the pandemic. The hotel is small, unbelievable landscaping, and has many unique touches to it, which is why we keep coming back.
We were extremely impressed with all of the safety measures in place. All employees wore masks all of the time, the rooms were sealed after cleaning (prior to arrival) and they let 24 hours pass before anyone could enter the room. They were limited to 30% occupancy. .
The breakfast and lunch buffet had changed to an a la carte menu. For breakfast, there were American and Mexican food options, and we loved the Mexican options. The juices and fruits were in closed jars over ice.. For lunch, it was basically the same. The appetizers and desserts were in jars,, and your ordered off the menu. We were very impressed with the quality and variety of the food.
Dinner varied between a Mexican and Italian theme. They had a Mexican buffet one night, and the employees served the food to you so there was no worry of contamination.
The pools were kept very clean. They disinfected the lounge chairs frequently throughout the day.
The employees we’d like to recognize are Zohaila, Jesus at the front desk, Fernando, Mary, Gladys and Jorge at the restaurants, Pedro and Manuel at the bars, and Victor the bellboy. There were others but we can’t remember their names!
Everything exceeded our expectations and we hope to return soon. We felt safe the entire time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Micaela C, Propietario at The Reef Playacar
Responded Aug 24, 2020
Dear E8508QYkimberlyr, Thank you for the trust you gave us for choosing our hotel once again as your holiday destination. We were very happy to welcome you here again and to provide you the courteous service you deserve. Our staff is highly committed to excellence and they sincerely will appreciate the time you have taken to recognize their efforts. They keep working relentlessly to maintain our high standards in quality and service. We continuously endeavor to go beyond our guest’s expectations of service and it is satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. We can ensure you that all of your comments will be taken in great consideration and we certainly hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again in the near future. Kind regards, Micaela C. Brand Executive socialmedia@thereefresorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kmooney11 wrote a review Mar 2021
Louisville, Kentucky1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very clean rooms and grounds were meticulously kept and beautiful. The staff repeatedly went above and beyond to accommodate every single request. The Mexican and Italian restaurants had great atmospheres, and while the overall food was fair, the presentation made up where it lacked. The Buffett was many food options and was better than the restaurants. Breakfast and lunch options were my groups favorite times. The coffee was good and they even daily made cappuccinos that were divine. The location of the resort sits beautifully on the well maintained beach and the pool area overlooks the Sunrise each morning coming up over the water by Cozumel which you can see from a distance. The rentals for kayaks and paddle boards were free and we used them daily. The bar was fantastic and the free delicious frozen drinks were made well and not cheaply with little alcohol. They were generous In all they did.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lizeth Arratia, Otro at The Reef Playacar
Responded Mar 11, 2021
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing The Reef Playacar to spend your recent vacations and for sharing a review. We are delighted to know that you loved every aspect of your stay and we appreciate your recognition to the service provided by our staff. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Stina168 wrote a review Aug 2020
Dallas, TX9 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This resort is a hidden gem and it’s a wonderful value for your money! I haven’t been in a few years but was reminded on our trip in August 2020 why it’s a favorite of our family’s. We went during the pandemic with our daughter and felt extremely safe. Everything was very clean and they took lots of precautions to ensure cleanliness and safety. All workers wore masks as well.

The hotel has lots of charm—from the beautiful palapas, to the waterfall and cenote with lush vegetation, to the beautiful ocean view. Another perk is it’s located in a gated community, plus they have tons of security at the hotel so we felt very safe.

I was so impressed with the quality and variety of food too. The buffet now serves appetizers and desserts in individual glass containers and entrees are served a la carte. On the nights when the buffet was open for dinner, servers put the food you selected on your plate for you to ensure cleanliness. In the a la carte restaurant, Botticelli, the food quality and presentation was so impressive. One suggestion would be to change up the menu more like they do for breakfast and lunch downstairs but overall it was so so good!

A big shout out to those who went above and beyond on our trip. Zouhaila, Jesus at the front desk, Victor the bellman, Antonio who worked various bars, Mari, Gladys, and Jorge in Chula Vista, Fernando in Botticelli, Pedro at the lobby bar and the afternoon/evening hostess in Chula Vista/Botticelli—I forget her name but she was so sweet. Humberto at the main pool makes a fabulous Bloody Mary!

Everyone works so hard so please make sure you tip. Even though it says tips are included, they still make very little so please share the love!

We will definitely be back to our favorite hidden gem!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Micaela C, Propietario at The Reef Playacar
Responded Aug 24, 2020
Dear Stina168, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your vacation with us. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our lush gardens! The nature surrounding the property is a favorite of ours as well. We are delighted to hear that you were able to take the opportunity to enjoy the variety of our food. Our executive chef will be glad to hear about your positive feedback. We are glad to read that you were provided with our courteous, outstanding service. Our staff is highly committed to excellence and they sincerely will appreciate the time you have taken to recognize their efforts. They keep working relentlessly to maintain our high standards in quality and service and to provide unique experiences. Your satisfaction is our reward; we really appreciate the time you took to provide us your positive feedback and would be happy to welcome you here again. Kind regards, Micaela C. Brand Executive socialmedia@thereefresorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Juck2020 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The first impression of the hotel is nice. We loved all the greenery and the beach.
First we received one of the non-renovated rooms. The air conditioning was loud and parts of the ceiling in the bathroom fell down. Our room was not cleaned twice but complaints at the reception have been ignored. The walls are very thin and you can hear people talking. After a conversation with a manager we received a new room which was better.
The food in the buffet restaurant definitively needs improvement, more flavor and spices and better cooking skills overall are required. The food in the Mexican/Italian restaurant was ok.
We booked "all inclusive" which included only the basics. Every special service created additional costs.15$ for Wifi per day is far too much for an all inclusive hotel.
The service in the restaurants was friendly but the reception is unacceptable, it took forever to check-in or check-out
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Road18409230168, Brand Executive at The Reef Playacar
Responded Jan 14, 2020
Dear Juck2020, We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences. Our goal is to ensure our guest satisfaction, we always make our best effort in making feel our guest special and valued during their stay. Certainty, it appears we did not have the opportunity to fulfill this during your time with us and would like to express you our most sincere apologies on the behalf of the entire staff of The Reef Playacar. We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating. It is a pleasure to announce that we will be implementing many of these upgrades to the property within the next couple of months and that twelve villas had already been remodeled. In taking great care of our charming hotel, our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere. We hope that we can convince you to change your mind about another visit to our property. Your opinion regarding our restaurants will be an important source of information for us in order to keep improving. However, we would like to point out that we usually receive positive feedback regarding the variety and quality of food we daily please hundreds of guests with. Regarding your comment about the Wi-Fi we would like to mention that, as we have accessible rates, we thought it would be important to always give our guests different package options for them to choose from depending on what they consider it is better. We have two different packages: Standard and Premium. Please note that the Premium package offers the most amenities and benefits such as the Wi-Fi in the entire property. The Superior package includes Wi-Fi in the lobby but if you would like to have access to it in all the areas of the hotel you will have to pay a surcharge of 7 USD per day for three devices by purchasing it for your entire stay. The situation mentioned in no way reflects our standards and rest assured we will consider this situation with the Management in order to avoid any further inconveniences. We are saddened to read that you do not intend to return to our resort but we truly hope we may prove you in the future our commitment to exceptional customer service and satisfaction. Please email us your travelling dates, full name, room number to socialmedia@thereefresorts.com so that we can follow up internally. Thank you again for your remarks and it is our hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Kind regards, Micaela Castilla Brand Executive socialmedia@thereefresorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Customer7501 wrote a review Aug 2021
Valley Springs ca2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been to Playa Del Carmen many times and never have I had such bad service. It started at check in, I reserved a room with a King sized bed paid in full months in advance. Upon arrival I was given a room with 2 double beds, both too small for even me much less my wife and I together. I was told for an additional $900.00 they would give me the room I reserved and already paid for. Bars have no bartenders, only the tiny bar in the lobby is open and it closes at 9pm. Swim up bar closes at 7pm and half the seats are obstructed with cones so they cannot be sat at. Children take about half of the remaining 6 seats ordering virgin drinks and sodas. It takes about 20 mins to get a thimble sized drink while squeezing past the 5 year olds sitting at the bar. The entire resort closes down at 9pm or so including all pools. Masks must be worn outside. Tonight the hostess at the buffet wandered around lazily cleaning tables while there were only 3 tables eating and 10 people in line waiting to be seated (mandatorily) no self serve drinks of any kind at the buffet, our waiter arrived to take our drink order after we had already finished dinner with not even water to drink. He literally took our empty plates away as he took our drink order. The restaurant was not busy at all, 4 or 5 tables and an army of staff there. Food servers are rude and sling food onto your plate, no one here speaks English and the lazy staff continuously chides guests about masks, hand sanitizer and are obsessed with taking your temperature every time you enter a building. My hands are cracked and dry from sanitizer and I have had my temperature taken at least 10 times today. This is by far the least hospitable “resort” I have ever stayed at, staff harasses you about time share sales and acts as if they are doing you a favor by being there. Would give this 0 stars if that were an option.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lizeth Arratia, Otro at The Reef Playacar
Responded Aug 12, 2021
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing The Reef Playacar to spend your vacations in Playa del Carmen and for sharing your feedback. We value all of our guest’s comments that do not just include the positive but the negative ones as well and we understand you did not have the experience that you were anticipating and what we expect to provide. Regarding the situation at check-in, we would like to mention that they are all requests subject to availability upon arrival and that the offer was for an upgraded room not for the type of bed. Furthermore, concerning our hygiene protocols due to the pandemic, we can assure you that our guests’ well –being is our top priority, therefore, all our staff is committed to reinforce those protocols for the safety of all our visitors. Please accept our sincere apologies for the mentioned inconsistencies in the service at restaurants. These situations in no way represent the service we aim to offer to our guests. Rest assured we will review your observations with our Management in order to avoid any further inconveniences. We truly hope we may prove you in the future our commitment to exceptional customer service and satisfaction. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vernon S wrote a review Dec 2020
Loveland, Colorado14 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a repeat visit, probably approaching our twentieth time at this hotel over an 18 year span. it was different this time, due to the virus, but still really good. The check in was good, with the staff checking temperature and asking the appropriate health questions.

The occupancy was low, probably 30% or maybe even less. We appreciated that! The buffet restaurant is no longer a buffet, but a staff-served arrangement. Using a QR code, you order from the server off your phone menu. The food qualify was excellent. The staff was always cleaning!

The beach chairs were plenty and always available. No seaweed this trip! The only bar that was closed all the time was the Chiquita bar. This posed no problem for us, as the beach bar and the pool bar were open all day long, and with the reduced occupancy, provided a great level of service for us.

The italian restaurant (Bottecelli's) was the only premium restaurant open in the evening, due to guest occupancy, but served the menu items from the La Teraza Grill as well.

Our trip happened between a hurricane and a tropical storm. The tropical storm happened during our last two days at the resort. Plenty of umbrellas available for the guests to use (very nice). The storm made quite a mess of the resort, but the staff worked incredibly hard on cleanup. By the day after the storm, it was hard to tell anything had happened.

We love the staff at the Reef! Very friendly and helpful!

First, we'd like to recognize Mary, Jorge, Gladys and Paulino in the Chula Vista restaurant. Soooo nice, upbeat and a joy to talk to each day! There are others, but we didn't get all of their names.

Then there are the bartenders! Felix and Humberto always take care of us, above and beyond! Thanks, guys! Antonio is awesome as well!

Manuel in the animation staff is great! always followed up with any issues we had. Thanks to Brenda, too!

Julianna at the concierge desk was extremely helpful!

We will be coming back in December (just a few weeks away) for an early Christmas visit. We are already looking forward to seeing all of the "Reef Family" again!

Best regards to all!
Vern and Laura, Colorado, USA
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: This is a smaller property. All rooms are less than a two minute walk from the beach. We prefer...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lizeth Arratia, Otro at The Reef Playacar
Responded Dec 3, 2020
Dear guests, We would like to thank you for sharing such a detailed review regarding your most recent stay at The Reef Playacar; we deeply appreciate your loyalty. We are happy to see that once again you enjoyed your stay with us and that you especially appreciated our restaurants offer and the excellent service provided by our staff. Rest assured that your feedback will be shared with all the mentioned staff members. We look forward to welcoming you this month. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terri W wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay from beginning to end. If you are looking for a small resort, this is the one for you. We did not have an upgraded room, but it had all the amenities we needed including the lovely balcony overlooking the jungle/cenote garden.

I had some of the best food I’ve eaten at a resort in the Mexican and Italian restaurants, and I loved that you could go as many times as you like no reservations required. The buffet did get a little tired by the end of our week but you could always find something to eat. Clearer signage on the stations where chefs are cooking would be helpful.

The beach was lovely and we enjoyed every minute. The resort is small, but the staff make the most of what is available to them. There are plenty of pool activities if that’s your thing. A coffee bar and an ice cream bar are available every afternoon. The rooftop bar is nice in the evening to relax and have a cocktail.

The location in the gated community of Playacar was perfect, close to 5th ave in town, or a 10 min walk to Plaza Playacar for any essentials or souvenir shopping. If you’re looking just to chill and enjoy the beach then you can’t go wrong. I’ve stayed at the big resorts with wave pools and archery and shopping malls - and those are nice too. For the price, this resort offers a lovely getaway.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hector D wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed for a few nights. The rooms were very clean and beds were very comfortable. Rooms were cleaned everyday and mini-bar supplied daily with beer and soft drinks. The way they served food was very clever since we were still under pandemic conditions. Food was ok but service was quite slow in the restaurants and the pool bar. We believe they were a bit understaffed. Pool activities were really fun, specially the aquaerobics with Maia and Brenda. It was an overall good experience as it was not very busy.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Micaela C, Propietario at The Reef Playacar
Responded Jul 30, 2020
Dear Hector D, We sincerely appreciate the time invested to share your detailed, personal impression of your recent visit at our resort, it was all our pleasure to host you. We are sorry to know that there was an inconvenience with the service. We would like to mention that we are working very hard to avoid any future disturbance as it is very important to us to know that all our guests are being provided with the best service. Please rest assured that your feedback has been displayed in the hotel for all our staff to see, especially for Maia and Brenda. They will be truly motivated by your kind words, as they continuously endeavor to go beyond our guest’s expectations of service. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel. Please send us an email to socialmedia@thereefresorts.com as we have a special rate and benefits for repeat guests. Kind regards, Micaela C. Brand Executive socialmedia@thereefresorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Siteseer1 wrote a review Dec 2020
Jacksonville, Florida946 contributions206 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We took this trip over Christmas as our usual option, cruising, is a no go. We booked through their site and got 2 for 1 on a number of things, tours, snorkeling, spa. We did not book the private transfer from Cancun airport through them as it was double the price of booking a private transfer with any of the other companies that do it. Check in was good, no issues, though they do have people that try to sell you on their version of a vacation club, we did not do it as we like tor try different places. The property was great, jungle, cenote, waterfall, and wildlife Agouti and coatimundi. The beach was nice though small, hurricane wash out. The room was large and comfortable, though a side window let a lot of light in at night, the put a shade up for us. The sllep quality was low for us as the bed was very firm and we were close to the area of the nightly show and music. The buffet was a hybrid, the food was laid out so you could see it, a limited amount, and they were always making fresh, and they would serve you what you wanted. I liked it because you don't have the kids touching all the food. The 2 restaurants, 1 Mexican,excellent, 1 Italian, ok, italian with a Mexican flare. The staff were fantastic, friendly helpful, doing everything they could to make you stay plesent. The dive shop near the beach was also great setting up snorkeling, parasailing, and diving for sure. An outstanding stay that makes us rethink our Chrismas options. 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen is about a 15-20 minue walk, we walked ther, all the way down and took a cab back to the hotel 180-200 pesos.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a room away from the bobby or front of the resort, midway to the pools is probably best.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lizeth Arratia, Otro at The Reef Playacar
Responded Dec 30, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing The Reef Playacar to spend your Christmas vacations and for sharing your opinion about your stay. We are delighted to know that your stay was up to your expectations and that you especially appreciated our natural surroundings, the room and our location. It will be truly a pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Majo A wrote a review Nov 2021
Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were supposed to stay for a week, luckily we had to reduce our stay because it hasn’t been that great over time.

The hotel:
Our bathroom lights leak from the bathroom above. We called maintenance and all they did was clean the mess and screw the lights back again. They told us that this happens because the people in the room above us flood the tubs so that it was likely to happen again, which it did.
The doors have issues opening, maintenance had to fix our door and even after fixing it it was difficult to open.
The staff do not know the hotel facilities, you kinda have to go and wander and figure things out on the go because they are unable to give you directions.
The staff do not request the guests to respect the safety protocols at the hotel. There were areas where masks were required staff members did not ensure this was being followed by the guests. They have antibacterial gel dispensers that are all empty.
The food and buffet are very good unless it’s raining. If it rains, the buffets are left alone and some people actually recurred to serving themselves their food without following safety protocols.

We were here with a friend that had an “upgraded room” with a golden bracelet that ended up being very similar to our room (blue bracelet) and non of the amenities that were offered to him for paying extra were actually given.
He called 3 times to the lobby and request them to the hotel staff, they were still not given. He had to actually go to the lobby and complain about this in order to have it be sorted out for him… after this we were invited to this “Leading Vacation Club” sales thing which wasn’t that great of an experience because honestly I felt we were being scammed all along.

I wouldn’t recommend this place. The beach is gorgeous but I’m positive this isn’t the only hotel with a pretty beach in Cancún.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lizeth Arratia, Otro at The Reef Playacar
Responded Nov 6, 2021
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing The Reef Playacar as your vacation destination and for the time invested in sharing your review. It is regrettable to know that you left with a negative impression of our service and facilities. We offer you a sincere apology for the inconveniences experienced in your room. We work tirelessly to ensure our guests’ satisfaction; therefore, we appreciate your feedback regarding some areas of opportunity. You can rest assured that we will give the utmost consideration to your observations in order to keep providing memorable stays to all our guests. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the complications that have arisen in your stay, we hope that we remain an option for your next vacation and that we have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MVZ asked a question May 2024
Pearland, Texas2 contributions
Is there seaweed? Will be there next week!
Answer from Brand Executive
Boston, Massachusetts
Good afternoon! Although we would like to know exactly when there will be seaweed, it is a bit difficult to predict as it is a natural phenomenon. However, I would like to let you know that we have a team that cleans the beach every day to ensure it is enjoyable. Looking forward to your visit next week! Kind regards, Thaís S. Digital Concierge Assistant
MVZ asked a question May 2024
Pearland, Texas2 contributions
Is there seaweed? Will be there next week!
Colleen R asked a question May 2024
Brigantine, New Jersey5 contributions4 helpful votes
Hello, is there designated smoking areas at resort? Thank you
Answer from Lisa L.
Salt Lake City, Utah35 contributions16 helpful votes
I think all inclusive is still the way to go. You get all the drinks and food you want. Except for the cocktail cart that roams around the grounds with specialty drinks and the VIP bar on the sand. We had the VIP upgrade and drank over there the majority of the time. Only place you pay extra for drinks is at specialty restaurants is if you order something of their menu (like a nicer wine/bottle).
Rebecca M wrote a tip May 2024
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Purchasing a cooling drinks canister at the beginning of the trip was a game changer and stopped from waiting a long time at the bar. "
Read full review
Maria P wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The higher # villas are closer to pools and ocean 900s and 1000s are close "
Read full review
Connector51503792620 wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Kid's pool is right next to the main swim up bar and it can get little crazy with some intoxicated adults in the afternoon."
Read full review
Mark P wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Serve food that isn't geared to children "
Read full review
Lynn C wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take a sponge topper for the bed "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Playa del Carmen area.
PRICE RANGE
C$223 - C$331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
reef playacar hotel playa del carmen, the reef playacar, reef club playacar, reef playacar mexico, reef playacar playa del carmen
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaPlaya del Carmen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
198
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Reef Playacar - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Reef Playacar
Which popular attractions are close to The Reef Playacar?
Nearby attractions include Plaza Playacar (0.6 km), Zona Arqueológica Playa del Carmen (0.3 km), and Playacar Center Shopping Mall (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Reef Playacar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Reef Playacar?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Reef Playacar?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Reef Playacar?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Reef Playacar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Don Sirloin Playacar, Lara & Luca Playa Del Carmen, and LABRIOCHE PARIS - Panaderías.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Reef Playacar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Reef Playacar have airport transportation?
Yes, The Reef Playacar offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Reef Playacar offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Reef Playacar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Reef Playacar?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Zona Arqueológica Playa del Carmen (0.3 km) and Roan Experiences (3.7 km).
All Playa del Carmen HotelsPlaya del Carmen Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Playa del CarmenHotels near The Reef Playacar
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars