Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen

Carretera Playa del Carmen-Cancun Km 294 Corasol, Playa del Carmen 77714 Mexico
Traveller (4102)
Pool & Beach (139)
Best avocado toast ever from room service!!!
Dining (135)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, May 2
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
C$1,945
Fully refundable before Thu, May 2
C$1,806
C$1,571
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#29 of 283 hotels in Playa del Carmen
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Exquisite taste and exotic views will capture your heart at Secrets Moxché. Escape into luxury™ in the heart of the Riviera Maya, just a 10-minute drive from Playa del Carmen's famed Quinta Avenida (Fifth Avenue), and indulge with an expansive and unique array of international cuisine. Set on a pristine strip of white sandy beach, all of our 485 lavish suites offer a contemporary experience with an earthy feel including luxurious amenities, stunning views, an in-room rolling bar, all complete with our signature Unlimited-Luxury® experience. Secrets Resorts & Spas are committed to redefining and elevating the all-inclusive experience. With Unlimited-Luxury everything is included with your stay - from best-in-class service and gourmet restaurants and top-shelf drinks to endless day and nighttime activities. Secrets Moxché provides the ultimate backdrop for unparalleled pampering, romantic rendezvous and lasting memories.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Car hire
Valet parking
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Tennis court
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Adults only
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Carretera Playa del Carmen-Cancun Km 294 Corasol, Playa del Carmen 77714 Mexico
Name/address in local language
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,929 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen is celebrated for its meticulous cleanliness and vibrant atmosphere, complete with live music and varied entertainment that captivates many travelers. The hotel's prime location offers stunning views and easy access to local attractions, while the service receives high marks for staff professionalism and warmth. While rooms are generally applauded for their elegance, some guests have noted inconsistencies. Despite the impressive amenities, including lavish pools and gourmet dining, some travelers feel the value is compromised by additional costs.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Modern
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
World-class
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
1,929Review128Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,544
  • 188
  • 102
  • 52
  • 49
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Alin M wrote a review Aug 2022
Chicago, Illinois20 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment I arrived and until I left loved the resort.
This brand new resort its done so well. The room is very contemporary and neutral that works for every taste. A plus is the automatic blinds who comes down or up with a touch of a button. Also the use of wood/walnut and stone ( granite ) it wold so well. Even the tub on the balcony is made of stone. I used it twice on my visit that how much I liked it. The amenities are great. You have everything in the room from tooth brush till razor blade and insects repellent spay. The stuff is so nice, polite and willing to help or go the extra mile if you need something.
the food was amazing. The Observatory on the roof top for the prefer had amazing food for breakfast and lunch. I had lunch the first day and the fish mahi-mahi was so fresh and delicious like was caught right before I arrived there. I also enjoyed the Ember steak house restaurant. The service and the meat was delicious. Also liked for dinner the Sea Soul restaurant by the beach. Beautiful decor and such delicious food. The grounds are so clean and enjoyable. They have done a beautiful job with the pools and hammocks by the pool but also by the beach. The beach is nice and they clean it every day . You have plenty of chairs, balls beds and hammocks. Also the spa is amazing. Got a great massage and the hydrotherapy was so efficient. The grounds at the spa and the massage room .... Amazing, YOU have a shower in the room if you want to take a shower, a private pool outside...just to be able to be pampered all the way. The resort have 8-9 pool and 3 manmade "cenotes" which gives you more privacy if you want.
Definitely will return to this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Preferred pool/ocean are the best room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anahí Acosta, Propietario at Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Dear Viorel M, We would like to thank you for choosing Secrets Moxché Playa del Carmen on your recent getaway to Riviera Maya. It was a pleasure to have you here and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad to know that you have found the views that characterize every suite of our resort breathtaking. We are also delighted to read that you have enjoyed the facilities and special amenities delivered to Preferred Club guests, especially our Observatory in the Roof. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion and providing you again with the exceptional quality and service that characterize our brand and resort. Warm regards, Anahí Acosta E-Concierge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sabrina L wrote a review May 2022
6 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are actually in this new hotel, opened recently and we find the hotel and the services excellent and its deserve to be known especially for European people.
The accommodation is just perfect the rooms and services are very nice, clean, and the decorations is very chic
For the restaurants there are many, please try them all, this is what we did each day with special cuisine, we can't recommend one but please try the French one and the cuisine of the young chef Omar, he personally looking to get the comment fron his guests

The facilities are very nice and all the team are looking to make your stay memorable, water activities, swimming pools with open bars, theater for the night events....

Be patient some times the services can be late, or you can see some workers still doing some installation, but every one try to make your stay as memorable

Wile you are doing the reservations, make sure to shoose your room, we wanted to have the best view they have reserved the ocean view but this was the lowest category, we succeed to change our room in the midel of our stay

Hope you will find our comments interesting if you are planning a good stay in playa del Carmen

FRANCOIS ET SABRINA LOUIN
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anahí Acosta, Propietario at Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen
Responded May 18, 2022
Dear L6951QYsabrinal, Thank you for choosing the Now Jade Riviera Cancun for your destination and thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to read your comments and it is a compliment for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our location, rooms, food & beverages, bars, daily activities as well the service from the entire staff includes attention to details that exceeded your expectation. Thank you so much for all of your recognition and recommendation and looking forward to welcoming you back to our home Secrets Moxché Playa del Carmen soon. King regards, Anahí Acosta E-Concierge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
Lori_C wrote a review Sep 2022
Saint Louis, Missouri36 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went with 3 additional couples. The resort grounds were beautiful! The staff were so friendly and top notch! Our room and bath set up was great! The shower was roomy with the toilet being private. Loved the sliding door to bathroom area by sink. The resort looks big in pictures but everything is easy to get to.

Our favorite staff members were Maria who served drinks to us in the cenote pools and Jeremiah from the chill pool bar. Friendly, fast, made us feel welcome and reminded us we were on vacation.

The preferred rooftop pool was a great first day location! The lagoon/scuba pool was relaxing. I wasn’t a fan of the glass pool or party pool bc the water was really hot and grossed me out.

If you’re going with a group, don’t expect a table to seat more than 6. Many nights we had to split up. The Italian restaurant and the bamboo restaurant were my favorites followed by the steak restaurant. The breakfast buffet didn’t feel like a buffet, they had great local food options (nopales my favorite) and comfort foods. The night time after hours options were fun too.

Free kayaking was great, we didn’t get haggled on the beach and we lucked out with clear waters and no seaweed. Make sure to have a drink at the bar with the swings.

This has been the best resort and vacation I’ve had in a loooooong time and will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Give yourself plenty of time for room service. Take a soak in the patio tub. Don’t expect your...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anahí Acosta, Owner at Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen
Responded Sep 30, 2022
Dear U9920HBloric, Thank you for your feedback. We are excited to hear that you found the accommodations to be impressive, along with the facilities and the service. We are all glad to know that we were able to deliver an unforgettable experience for you and that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, from the restaurants to our beautiful grounds. Looking forward to hosting you again in a near future. Cordially, Anahí Acosta E-Concierge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeff wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution13 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
To start, this is the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed at. The front of house employees were wonderful. The Hotel is nothing short of incredible to look at, but the grievances began to stack up quickly. After a long flight, the first thing we were hit with was a hard sell on scheduling a timeshare breakfast. When we said no we were left waiting in the lobby while others came and went for half an hour. Was this our private check-in? Got to the room and discovered the view was mostly of a dirt and sand construction lot. We could see the ocean, but would have much preferred a more pleasant tropical view. Someone had decided to use our restroom a day or 2 before we arrived and decided not to aim or flush.

The pools are amazing, the activity staff is amazing, and we had a lot of fun during the day. Dinner each night became a major bummer. Food constantly took forever and many times was just plain bad. Our last night there we we waited an hour for just appetizers and another hour for the entrees while being repeatedly told just 5 more minutes.

Nightlife is non-existent. The place become a ghost town at around 9:30 as there is no nightclub or dancing to be had. The sports bar was the only place to hang out. Upstairs it had pool tables with no pool cues, air hockey with no puck, fooseball with no ball, and a really cool golf simulator that they wouldn’t let anyone use. The live DJ they claim to have is an unmanned laptop.

Despite being beautiful, and at times incredible, this hotel just seemed half open the whole time. The rooftop bar and restaurant felt like the only actual perk of paying for preferred. So if that isn’t a must have then it would certainly be worth skipping. A lot of little things kept adding up each day, creating a pretty disappointing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anahí Acosta, Propietario at Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen
Responded May 9, 2022
Dear Puddle_Pirate_311, We appreciate the time that you have spent writing a review of your stay with us. Although we are very grateful for the great opportunity you gave us to serve, we regret that you left the resort not completely satisfied. Please, be sure that we are already taking proper measures in the different areas mentioned in your review. We will work to make sure that such inconveniences will not occur again in the future. As you mentioned, we are new property and every day our staff working so hard in order to improve our quality and service. With this said, we look forward to having the opportunity of hosting you back on a renewed opportunity to redeem your confidence in our resort and service. Sincerely, Anahí Acosta E-Concierge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margo M wrote a review Nov 2022
Cambridge, Canada2 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros
• The Service is bar none 100% from the servers, and bartender to Concierge. The staff always smiling and willing to help. I tried to apply my limited Spanish, but they responded back perfectly in English
• The pools and surrounding areas were magnificent and so lush could not get over all the palm trees and foliage that surrounds the area. The Lagoon pool is the ultimate in design and eye fetching spent two days there!
• Preferred Club rooms amazing, 3800 floors the view is outstanding probably the best in the resort as you could see the pools, ocean, and in the distance Cozumel!
• The food was delicious and well-represented. Our favs were Sea Soul very consistent, and the fish tacos and calamari were perfect every time. The Barefoot Grill was generous in their amounts and the burgers were photo-worthy. The Italian great choice as well just not sure if they know that spaghetti and meatballs with red sauce should be on the menu!
Cons
• The Tequila in almost every bar apart from Preferred lounge the better quality is hidden or not to be found. I understand using the cheaper versions for mixed drinks but asking for 1800 or Don Julio is a given for a high-end resort. The only time we could be assured of the quality is to go direct to the Bartender ourselves, the waiters either did not know or tried to fool us!
• No Buffet Dinner? We saw many groups of men in summer shorts or 30% leisurely walking around with their wives baffled when they could not go into the a la carte. We had two couples in front of us turned away to get better dressed or be placed for outside seating. Not everyone wants or appreciates finer dining, and this would reduce the lineups and provide a theme buffet dinner to make everyone happy!
• Lining up for breakfast and having to provide your name and room number each time, makes no sense. We all must eat in the same place unless your Preferred then go to the pool observatory. However, sometimes the wait was 20 minutes. Surely all you need to do is to be
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anahí Acosta, Propietario at Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen
Responded Nov 24, 2022
Dear Margon48, First and foremost, allow me to thank you very much for taking the time to share with our Trip Advisor Community your experience at our Resort. Your review is very much appreciated as it grants us the opportunity to know how much you enjoyed your stay as well as to be able to identify several opportunity areas that we can improve on. Please, be certain that all the aspects that you have raised to our attention are currently under review. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion and providing you with the exceptional quality and service that characterize our brand and resort. Sincerely, Anahí Acosta E-Concierge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Haley D wrote a review Sep 2022
Toronto, Canada132 contributions52 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have visited a number of Secrets and adults only resorts. Aesthetically the resort and rooms are beautiful. Staff are friendly and attentive. However, this is a new resort with some growing pains still. Half the resort is still under construction which you can hear from the pool. Entertainment has been better than most adults only as well as drink selection. The live music has been phenomenal. I would say the food has been average across the board with nothing exceptional to note. Mini bars only have snacks if you are a preferred guest. We made the mistake of requesting and received a Note and phone call instructing us that this was only for their preferred guests. I’m not a fan of this treatment as well as all of the better quality options only available at a cost. If you are a sensitive sleeper you’ll need to ask maintenance to cover the flashing smoke detector directly above your bed. In building 2 the odd number rooms face outward and are very quiet with a view of the beach. The pool options here are incredible. Hard to say what it would be like with a full resort but for now there are always options. We attempted a day on the beach but a number of ppl set up directly in front of us to try to sell their services etc. and the lifeguard instructed people not to go in the ocean.The gym has decent equipment as well as spin and yoga. Make sure to note the dress code which has been enforced including men needing to wear tshirts not tank tops even to the buffet. All in all it has been a pleasant stay so far but would not be the top choice for adults only or secrets destinations.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anahí Acosta, Owner at Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen
Responded Sep 30, 2022
Dear Haley D, First and foremost, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your stay. We regret not meeting your expectations during your recent stay at our resort. For us, our guest's service is a priority and we would like to mention that we are sorry that despite the fact that we attend each request from you, we didn't exceed your expectation. Even when you text us via Facebook we tried to help you and you did not accept our assistance. As you mention, we have construction, however, the staff is working hard in order to offer our guests the best service. We regret to know that our restaurants have not met your expectations. Please, be certain that all the aspects that you have raised to our attention are currently under review. Please be certain that your comments will not be overlooked, and we truly hope to have the opportunity to host you back home in the future. Warm regards, Anahí Acosta E-Concierge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Todd Ashton wrote a review Nov 2022
Wallingford, United Kingdom78 contributions47 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
...The words we were greeted with as we arrived at the most amazing entrance to the hotel. There are not enough words to describe how amazing this hotel is but a couple of things that stood out to us were:

The Rooms - we chose not to upgrade our rooms and, as far as standard rooms go, our room was impressive! The ambient lighting, large bathroom with double sink, large balcony (we had sea and pool view), the beds were comfy, fully stock mini bar etc...The room included a tablet with hotel info including the menus for all restaurants, entertainment schedule along with room service request or request for extra toiletries/hangers etc. The cleaning staff did an amazing job tidying our rooms every day along with a turn down service at night. Only thing that I would suggest (being british) we love a cup of tea! A kettle, some milk and breakfast tea would have been great!

The Food - THE BEST FOOD WE'VE EVER HAD at a hotel! There was so much choice for breakfast and lunch, the standard and quality was so high. We thought the desserts were something you would see at an afternoon tea at a top London Hotel! Each restaurant was A La Carte, our favourite eas the italian, we had a very good waiter too! Sometimes you was given a buzzer but didnt have to wait more than 30 mins, which was a good opportunity to have a drink at the bar with a choice of premium international drinks.

Pool: We were spoilt for choice when it came to the pool areas, there was certainly an area for everyone, whether that be a quiet plunge pool, activities pool, or having a drink at the pool bar. The staff served you drinks poolside, along with great customer service from pool staff, helping you with the umbrellas, loungers, towels etc. We didnt have an issue with sun bed availability.

Entertainment was good but would suggest they do a 14 day programme for those staying longer than 7 days. As we ended up watching the same shows twice!

We stayed here for our honeymoon and couldnt be happier with our choice of hotel, the staff made it extra special with a banner on the door, sparkling wine and chocolate dipped strawberries.

Overall we would highly recommend this hotel and would love to return some time in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anahí Acosta, Propietario at Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen
Responded Nov 17, 2022
Dear Todd A, We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to share such a detailed and amazing opinion of your experience. By looking at your comments we know that in your case we delivered the type of service that we strive for. Thank you for appreciating the distinguished service provided by those who somehow contributed to your great experience. We are honored to know that you were able to enjoy every single part of your holidays. This being said, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Anahí Acosta E-Concierge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael wrote a review Jun 2023
Macomb, Michigan3 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort, pools and cenotes are top notch. Our room featured a spacious walk-in shower with a large rain shower head that was wonderful. The beds have cooling sheets, which were very comforting. However, we had no snacks included in our mini-bar while friends of ours in another room had snacks. Most likely because they had an oceanview (more expensive) room than we did. And trying to get a refill on the mini-bar took entirely too long (6 hours). This should be refilled DAILY, without requiring a request. Food is not five star, but wasn't bad. Entertainment was OK, but nothing special. Not much to do at the resort besides sun bathing and drinking. I can't ever see staying there more than a weekend without getting seriously bored. Staff was friendly, but the push by VIP services to join their vacation club was a HUGE turn off. Cost of goods in the stores are outrageous. Based on the price paid and overall experience, I will not be returning.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: June 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anahí Acosta, Propietario at Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen
Responded Jul 5, 2023
Dear mdmorelli, We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. All the comments from our guests are really important to us since feedback is always taken into consideration to improve and be able to offer our guests remarkable experiences. Rest assured that your comments have been addressed accordingly and measures are being taken to ensure we keep providing the service and attention our guests deserve. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. In the meantime please accept our sincere apologize. Best regards. Anahí Acosta E-Concierge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AnnyBC1 wrote a review Oct 2022
Chicago, Illinois8 contributions24 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a 6 night stay and we were excited for our first preferred club (ocean view) experience. The positives….the resort is new and beautiful. Our room was amazing and very comfortable. The food (although very different from other Secrets we’ve visited) was very good as were the drinks. Our favorite was the Mexican restaurant and Sea Soul (for lunch & dinner). The French restaurant was also top notch. The staff at the buffet (Victor) and pool grill were also amazing and friendly. The beach is small but we enjoyed the beach beds and Jose from the Sugar Reef pool bar was excellent. The pools are amazing however I could see where things would get crowded when the resort is at full capacity.
Areas for improvement….We have visited 3 other Secrets resorts in Mexico and the Dominican Republic as well as Hyatt Zilara in the past. In comparison, Moxche has room for improvement with their service levels. We were disappointed with a lack of consistency with service and honestly not a good first impression with paying for the preferred club. The first day, our room was not cleaned and we were skipped several nights for turn down service. We did not hear from a concierge or butler until the second to last day and honestly they didn’t provide any value. We traveled with several other family members and they had a much better experience as they were in a different building (also preferred club). They received champagne in their room, etc where it seemed like the staff forgot we were there. The restrooms near the beach and pool were out of hand soap and toilet paper at some point every day and there was a lack of seating / umbrellas, and an overall appearance of lack of staffing. Not sure how this resort is going to be able to accommodate another 100+ rooms when the impression building opens in December. Our party of 6 arrived at Ember one evening when they opened at 6pm and although the dining room was less than half full, we were made to feel like we were an inconvenience. Several of our orders were incorrect and when my husband asked if he could get the appetizer he ordered he was told no, sorry! Yikes! All of these little things added up and not in line with service levels that we have experienced at other Secrets properties. Although a stunning resort, Moxche needs more time to live up to what’s offered at other Secrets properties.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anahí Acosta, Propietario at Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen
Responded Oct 13, 2022
Dear AnnyBC1, We sincerely thank you for taking your time and sharing with us your experience, each one of our reviews is highly important to us. Due it allows us to know your observations and motivate us to work in the areas mentioned, as our priority, will always be your satisfaction and comfort. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your suite, and the food, especially Dos Almas and Sea Soul. On behalf of all of us, we want to offer you a sincere apology for the inconvenience you had during your stay. Saying this, with great concern we read your comments about the perception you have of our staff, this is definitely not the kind of experience we strive to provide for our guests, we are focused to deliver the best service with care and respect for everyone, we are already checking how to improve this uncommon lack of service. If we do have the chance to accommodate you in the future, it would be our pleasure to speak with you directly about how we can provide you with a stay that is worthwhile in every way. Warm regards, Anahí Acosta E-Concierge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LalyG80 wrote a review Jun 2022
Jacksonville Beach, Florida189 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for a week at this brand new resort. The property is beautiful and well kept, the rooms are modern, spacious and have everything you may need for a long stay; the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The beach had lots of sargassum when we arrived, but the resort cleaned it often and after a stormy night, the beach was clean and beautiful the next day.
The food is delicious, our favorite restaurants were the Ember and Bamboo, and the Market Cafe for breakfast. Drinks were good but they lack variety in liquors and beers.
Nightly shows are an excellent production of music, acrobatics, dance, and vibrant colors, our favorite shows were the Mexican night and the Quirky show.
The service was excellent, everyone was very welcoming, attentive and cordial, each and everyone from the front desk, to the entertainment team, servers, bartenders, maid, hostess, porters, ground keepers, absolutely everyone said "buenos dias" and offered an smile. Our favorites employees were: Mariana at the Fitness Center, very amiable and informative, she kept the place immaculate, she was always disinfecting the equipment and making sure there were paper towels, towels, and water available; Fernanda, Samantha and Cynthia from the Entertainment team were always cheerful and lively; and Analilia at the Market Cafe, she made the best omelettes and handmade tortillas for breakfast, she was always kind, smiling and welcoming.
I would definitely recommend this resort and come back in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anahí Acosta, Propietario at Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen
Responded Jun 14, 2022
Dear LalyG80, We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit to Secrets Moxché Playa del Carmen. We are overjoyed to read that you have enjoyed your stay, especially your dinner in Ember, Bamboo, and the breakfast in Market Café. Please be confident that we have shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offering truly remarkable experiences to our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management. We sincerely hope we can have the pleasure of being your host again in the near future. Cordially, Anahí Acosta E-Concierge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Depplep
Florida1,647 contribution221 helpful votes
I honestly don't remember music so if there was it was not loud or obnoxious. We were at the main pool by the beach. The pool just behind that one was definitely more laid back.
mispi72 asked a question Apr 1
Beaumont, Texas24 contributions52 helpful votes
what kind of beer is stocked in the mini frig in the room?
Answer from Daniela Rodriguez
5 contributions9 helpful votes
Dear Mispi72, Our mini fridges are stocked with Dos XX Lager. Kind regards, Daniela Rodriguez E-Concierge
Carlottabeth wrote a tip Apr 20
3 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No notes. Everything was excellent."
Read full review
Navigate35743898546 wrote a tip Apr 17
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make Dinner reservations. Or potentially wait specifically at the French in Japanese sushi."
Read full review
Tony L wrote a tip Apr 13
Perry Hall, Maryland, United States20 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get to the pool early!"
Read full review
ryan wrote a tip Apr 9
Derby, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would pop down and grab a buzzer for restaurants 30 minutes before my wife was ready to reduce waiting time during busy periods."
Read full review
Jack K wrote a tip Apr 8
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring stomach sickness medicine."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Playa del Carmen area.
PRICE RANGE
C$936 - C$1,438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaPlaya del Carmen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
485
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen
Which popular attractions are close to Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen?
Nearby attractions include Playacrawl (0.5 km), Coco Bongo Playa del Carmen (0.4 km), and Ambarte (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen?
Conveniently located restaurants include Roxy's little Fish Shack , Señor Frog's Playa del Carmen 5ta Av, and La Vagabunda.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Is Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Playa del Carmen.
Are any cleaning services offered at Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Playa del Carmen HotelsPlaya del Carmen Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Playa del CarmenHotels near Secrets Moxche Playa del Carmen
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars