We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Las Palmas Maya

Show Prices
#14 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Las Palmas Maya
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

339 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Las Palmas Maya
See the most recent reviews
Showing 321: English reviews
Madrid
Reviewed 22 February 2017

If you want a no-frills economical place to stay, this hotel is just fine. With very little investment however, I think they could vastly improve the rooms wtih better lighting, a new bathrug. I´thoguth the bed was comfortable. There are some mosquitos on this non-beach side of the street and yes there is unavoidable noise from other guetss walking by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carla B
Tom H, Manager at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review

Hi Carla, Thanks for sharing your review with the world - I'm glad you found us to be a great value during your visit to Tulum. Immediately after reading your review, we replaced every floor-mat on the property, rooms and bathrooms, I regret that didn't happen during your stay. We do pride ourselves on being a fraction of the cost...

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed here with my fiancée for 4 days and we both loved it. The rooms are very spacious and tidy. The hotel is in a great location and is also very well maintained. The hotel is not right on the beach, it is only on the other side of the road and you have very easy access through Om...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gsorohan
Tom H, Manager at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review

Thanks so much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor! I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much and appreciate you noticing all the work we put in to maintain this salty piece of land. Hope to see you during your wedding week and let me know if there's anything I can do to help. Cheers!

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Thank you to Tom the owner for a great stay. We were here for 4 nights for a wedding. We arrived off a red eye and were able to change into suits and hit the beach while we waited to check-in. Our room was spacious and faced the street so we caught the ocean breeze even though the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meggane
Tom H, Manager at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review

We appreciate your review so much. I'm glad you enjoyed all the services we provide, especially the super-strong showers! Still the highest water pressure in all of Tulum! Do come back and see us soon? :)

Newport Beach, California
Reviewed 18 January 2017

From the initial contact I had with Tom, the owner, through the entire stay my family and I felt like royalty. Tom and Malika, his girl friend, were extremely genuine and helpful! The rooms, grounds and buildings are well maintained and the grounds keeper, maid and night time security person were very friendly. While Las Palmas Maya is on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jack M
Tom H, Manager at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review

Reading happy guest reviews is one of my greatest pleasures in life, thank you for your kind words. I am thrilled you enjoyed your visit so much - our communal kitchen is such a wonderful amenity, a great way to relax with Family, meet new friends and save some $$ :) Come see us again soon? Remember, all returning guests...

Reviewed 17 January 2017

Las Palmas Maya was the perfect place for us to stay in Tulum! There were so many great things, it is hard to find a place to start! Check In: Tom allowed us to check in early, but due to a laundry emergency, we didn't get to sit down with him until later that evening. With our keys in hand,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pam R
Tom H, Manager at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review

Hello Pam! Thank you so much for your thoughtful, detailed review. I appreciate your praise about our price point - we really do pride ourselves on delivering top-notch service, amenities and location, at an affordable price. The bikes, truly are a treat, aren't they? Such a relaxing way to travel around. Now that you mention it, I never noticed on...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

I've been lucky to visit Tulum for the 4th time now, thus my review here is based upon comparing our previous experiences to Be Tulum, Beach Tulum, & Villa Pescadores. If it wasn't for Tom, the manager here, I wouldn't give this hotel more than 2 stars when considering its many limitations & price around $230/night in January stay. However...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Clyde M
Tom H, Manager at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying with us and your kind words about our Service. When we envisioned and built this humble hotel, at no point did we set out to compete with the other hotels you mentioned, which are ocean-front, ultra-luxury resorts beginning at 750 USD/night during our short, 4 week Holiday season. Since day 1, we have prided ourselves...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The great thing about this place is its location - if you want quiet and beaches and yet low prices (because instead of being ON the beach, you just walk across one small road and you're there, and prices are much better) -- and it's close to ruins and cenotes. Another thing I love is the communal kitchen - I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lpritchett2017
Tom H, Manager at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review

Laura! It was so lovely to meet the rest of your Family this year and I'm so pleased that everybody enjoyed themselves. May 2017 bring you much success and happiness - please keep in touch as I would *love* to see the soon-to-debut theatrical version of your new BOOK!!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

...but after our really enjoyable time, last year, we decided to repeat the experience. We were not disappointed. The standard of service, cleanliness and attention to detail had, in no way, fallen. In fact, this year, we had the added benefit of breakfast being made available at the Las Palmas Maya Restaurant (see separate review) which was great because we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Fionairene
Tom H, Manager at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review

Fiona & Peter, you two are such wonderful, special people. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting with you both, every day. Thank you so much for your sweet gift, we enjoyed some more of it last night! We can't thank you enough for returning and entrusting your vacation with us and truly hope our paths will cross again.

Reviewed 6 January 2017

Tom, the hotel manager and owner, was incredibly helpful and went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed to enjoy ourselves in Tulum. During our trip, I found a baby kitten and wanted to take him back with me to the USA. Tom, called Delta to inquire about the process and also hooked me up with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Daniel M
Tom H, Manager at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review

Hey Daniel! Thanks for taking the time to write your review - how is little Chapito? Did he make it back without issue? Please send me an email and let me know - hopefully he is learning English at the top of his class!!

Reviewed 5 January 2017

Had a brilliant three night stay here - the room was really nice and quite spacious, the shower hot and the communal kitchen well equipped. The host, Tom, is really friendly and helpful and genuinely made us feel at home at his place. He had lots of great tips and gave us great attention and advice when one of our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kata V
Tom H, Manager at Las Palmas Maya, responded to this review

You two were such a treat to host, thanks so much for staying with us and for your kind words. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit so much and hope our paths cross again.

231 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (91)
Viewed
Standard Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 km away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#12 of 92 in Tulum
822 reviews
5.9 km away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
7.3 km away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#4 of 92 in Tulum
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
4.5 km away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
236 reviews
0.4 km away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 92 in Tulum
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Las Palmas Maya is a welcome retreat in the jungle of Tulum. With beach access just across the road, you are only footsteps away from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world! The recent addition of 24hr electricity is a huge amenity, offered at only a few beach zone hotels. Our newly renovated communal kitchen and lounge offers guests the opportunity to keep a few groceries on hand for small meals or snacks, and a wonderful place to relax, read, or chat with other guests. Our rooms have been completely remodeled and are fresh, clean and airy. Some of the other amenities offered are private bathrooms with pressurized hot water, free wi-fi, and bicycles available for rent. In addition, Las Palmas Maya is pet friendly! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Las Palmas Maya

Address: Km 8.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Price Range: $111 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Las Palmas Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Tulum
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#7 Family Hotel in Tulum
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Las Palmas Maya staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
London, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Las Palmas Maya staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They don't have AC which we didn't mind at all. There was a ceiling fan and the temp at night was perfect!”
alim129, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Treetop Suite or other rooms upstairs have more natural breeze”
pamr33, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I have stayed in three rooms now.... love the treetop room”
lpritchett2017, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Love the Gecko room.”
Fionairene, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the south side may be a little quieter”
wendyhp2016, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5