We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Dolce Vita

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Dolce Vita
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 97: English reviews
Start your review of La Dolce Vita
 Click to rate
Duncan, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The top floor ocean view is by far the best room to book. This is much more private and has a small deck with an ocean view. It is in need of a renovation. It is very tired... stove-top that does not work, an old, dirty futon type couch, rusty stove top fan, very small bathroom. Watch out for a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CowichanConnoisseur
Petawawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came here for 9 nights with our two small children. The room was great for what we needed. Breakfast was always filling and yummy!!!! Steps from the ocean which never had more than 50 people in eye view! The kids could find tons of amazing beautiful shells too. A few good restaurants we could walk to so you can...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank vanessa b
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We spent 3 nights here and loved it. The customer service was amazing, the room was very clean and everything worked as it was meant to, which is not always the case in Costa Rica. It is right on the beach and listening to the surf at night was wonderful. We will come again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristy Y
ladolcevita10, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review

Dear Kristy, thank you very much for your great feedback. It is a real pleasure when our guest felt the hard job we applied everyday, starting from the communication, up to the services on the place. We are glad if you desire to come at Esterillos Oeste again!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

The location was fantastic, a stones throw from the beach. Pool area was nice, with the option to take loungers and chairs onto the beach if you wanted. The apartment had everything we needed, 2 balconies, a kitchen area, living room, TV, air conditioning and a good shower. Breakfast was good, something different every day and delivered to our balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blimey79
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for spending your time to review back La Dolce Vita. We are glad you had such a lovely stay, and furthermore we are glad you appreciated the amazing nature surrounding the hotel and Esterillos Oeste. I hope to have you again here for your next journey in Costa rica!

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Our family spent three days in this tiny and special hotel. We had a warm welcome and have been given an apartment that was freshly renovated with a brand new bath room. Our apartment had climatisation, TV, kitchen with a huge fridge, WiFi and hot water shower. Breakfast was good and well presented by the couple serving us in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcprost11
ladolcevita10, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for sharing your opinion about La Dolce Vita with a such complete review. We are glad you felt the experience of a pure Costa Rican stay, fully immersed in the nature, with her animals and plants that only Costa rica can offer. We hope you are bringing with you a nice memory of Esterillos...

Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Great value place to stay. The rooms were very clean, despite being a little older. Beds comfy enough, A/C worked great! A breakfast of fresh fruit, toast, jam, delicious coffee and juice was brought to our little patio every morning. No hot shower (has an electric shower head that we were not going to try), but as I mentioned, it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
ladolcevita10, General Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review

Dear Jill, thank you very much for spending your time to review La Dolce Vita, and thank you for share your nice opinion to the other travellers. Your description is truth: La Dolce Vita is a little hotel but we try to give to our guest the best experience to enjoy the place. Pura Vida!

Salt Spring Island, Canada
Reviewed 16 December 2016

The beach is absolutely amazing! You can walk for miles and see almost no one! We stayed on the second floor where there is one apartment with a view. The bed and pillows were super comfortable and breakfast was a welcome site in the mornings! The owners are in the middle of upgrading and they have great taste and skills!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy T
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review

Dear Cathy, thank you so much for your feedback. This was high appreciated, and we are happy you got nicest rest at La Dolce Vita, and we loved you enjoyed the breakfast... some fresh fruit is the best to start the day!

Penticton, Canada
Reviewed 23 November 2016

The family that runs this place are really nice.We liked the location of this hotel as it was close enough to both Jaco and Manuel Antonio. The hotel is right on the beach and has a small pool as well. The apartment we stayed in was small, cute and clean. The air con, wifi and hot water worked well during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichelleGee8
ladolcevita10, General Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your opinion of La Dolce Vita with the other travellers. we are glad you enjoyed your experience here, and we appreciate you felt happy and satisfied even you were here during a mainteinance work. You got the same spirit that everyday let us able to welcome our guests in the best way possible, and...

St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Emilio and Jasmin do a great job of making your stay pleasant at La Dolce Vita. The rooms are small but clean. Everything worked well including the wifi. The beach is steps away. It was very quiet in November. There was renovation work being done while we were there so they do maintain the facility.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 366PKM
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for spend your time and share your positive experience to the other guests. Renovations works are already finished, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again to discover the improvements done to the structure and the newest "superior rooms".

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This hotel was nice and clean. It's so close to the beach it's amazing. You want to relax then go to La Dolce Vita.The area is great close to 2 restaurants with great food,a little market called SuperSol. People there are so nice they make you feel that your part of the community. We will go back again. It's easy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JeanYvesakaSkip
ladolcevita10, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your opinion of La Dolce Vita. The hotel is little as the town of Esterillos Oeste, but here we offfer all the services needed to get a pure Costa rican experience, made by deep relax, amazing beach and nature, and why not some great dinners in the local restaurants!

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterillos Oeste
5.7 km away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#1 of 5 in Esterillos Este
292 reviews
7.5 km away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
212 reviews
8.1 km away
Delfin Beachfront Resort
Delfin Beachfront Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Bejuco
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#17 of 44 in Jaco
131 reviews
12.2 km away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
89 reviews
5.9 km away
Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel "La Dolce Vita" is located on the beach in Esterillos Oeste, Jaco, facing the shore of the Pacific Ocean. The Hotel, with its seven apartments facing a wonderful garden, is a new, first class construction building offering all comforts. Each apartment has patio/deck, terrazzo-balcony and is smartly furnished, bathroom with hot water, air conditioning, fan, kitchen, fridge with up to 4 beds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita

Address: Esterillos Oeste, beach, 50 meters from Bus Stop, Esterillos Oeste 60901, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Oeste
Price Range: $84 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Dolce Vita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Jaco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Dolce Vita staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Passaic, NJ, United States
over a year ago
Passaic, NJ, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from La Dolce Vita staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would recommend top floor ocean view room... hopefully it is slated for a renovation soon!!”
CowichanConnoisseur, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose the second floor apartment if you want a view.”
cathyt58, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I love being close to the ocean for the incredible ocean breeze.”
Turtleboylover, 10 Mar 2015 | Read review
“There is one second floor room, on the end, with a huge window that looks directly out over the beach and ocean, it's $10 per night extra to reserve but TOTALLY worth it.”
poncarob, 12 Mar 2014 | Read review
“There are 7 apartments and they are all pretty much the same. accommodations are basic, but the place is kept clean and maintained. Showers were a bit tricky, but we got them figured out after about 3 days. Turn on the swith for hot water, and don't crank the water wide open. AND for the love of GOD- DO NOT ADJUST WHILE WATER IS RUNNING. They don't call 'em suicide showers for nothing. Enjoy yourself!”
  • room view
MelBel177, 26 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5