We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kinnitty Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

727 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kinnitty Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 717: English reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with my fiancée to sample food and atmosphere... both were amazing... was a freezing night out but l roaring fires and stunning library bar made a cosy place to enjoy a whiskey and boardgame after our meal. We were blown away with the food and service and have booked our wedding as a result. We are very happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sinead l
KinnittyCastleHotel, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sinead1, Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments about your stay at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and got to experience the Castle's food and charm. We look forward to welcoming you both for your wedding and helping plan your special day. Kind regards, The Management Team

San Francisco
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Probably the most amazing hotel experience I've ever had. If you want to stay in a castle that actually has character and history (and isn't completely madeover like a lot of them are), stay here. It was like staying in a museum. We stayed in the Suret Suite and it was the most gorgeous room I've ever been in. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheNative
KinnittyCastleHotel, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear the Native, It was lovely to read your recent review about your stay at the Castle, we are pleased that you experienced our Award Winning Cuisine and enjoyed it. We pride ourselves on the level of service that we provide and will pass on your kind comments about the Staff. We do hope that you will come and visit...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 22 July 2015

I REALLY, REALLY wanted to like this place. I made reservations more than 3 months ahead of time, booking the full equestrian, 4-course meal and "individually styled bedroom" package via the hotel's web site. In other words, we booked early and bypassed discounted web sites where sometimes you might not secure the best rooms. We were planning a special experience...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SJLreno
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Had my wedding reception 15 years ago. Went back last Saturday and the place still looks fabulous and so real! Really enjoyed going to the basement where you can see the Knights at the round table and many many treasures...went up for a drink at the bar, despite the fact that there was a wedding on we enjoyed a drink...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nadia d
KinnittyCastleHotel, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NadiaADA Thank you for your review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your nice comments to the staff and I hope you don’t leave it 15 years before you visit us again. Kind Regards

Reviewed 15 July 2015

Nice Hotel with very pleasant staff. I do believe the castle is haunted. I took a picture of the castle and in the picture there appears to be what looks like a shadow of a person who was not there when I took the picture. Went horseback riding at the hotel. This was awesome! But wear bug spray!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sharon F
KinnittyCastleHotel, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharon F, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Castle, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, The Management Team

Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

I wanted to stay in a castle hotel in Ireland and this was exactly what I envisioned. The grounds were beautiful and the staff were friendly. Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night and took a walk around the horse stables, dungeon bar, and beautiful trails. The hotel offers horse back riding and archery but unfortunately we did...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashley Q
KinnittyCastleHotel, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ashley, We were delighted to read the review that you left about your recent stay at Kinnitty Castle Hotel and that you managed to experience some of what we have to offer. We hope to welcome you to the Hotel again when you could sample some more of the activities. We will pass on your kind words to the...

Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

Fantastic venue. The medieval look to the castle and the Dungeon bar is very tastefully doneGreat food and atmosphere ! The grounds are amazing and the forest walks have to be seen if you go there!We'll be back in the future. Well done to all involved.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donal K
KinnittyCastleHotel, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharon F, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at the Castle, we are delighted that you enjoyed the Horse Riding that is available . We do hope to welcome you to the Castle again in the future. Kind Regards, The Management Team

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 7 July 2015

We were two friends travelling together through Ireland and decided we couldn’t pass up a night in a castle as a stopover on our way from Dublin to Galway. Offaly is a lovely rural area that has great views and lots of fresh air. The castle itself is off to one side of the road that passes through a small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julesmay
KinnittyCastleHotel, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jules May, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about your recent stay at the Castle, we are pleased that you got to experience alot of what we have to offer and will pass your kind words about the staff, we are glad that you enjoyed your Horse Riding experience in the Slieve Bloom Mountains. In...

Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

I loved every detail from the drive in, to the walk around the grounds, the traditional music in the bar... not to mention the room waowzers who doesn't love an old style free standing bath never mind the most extravagant bed, which was hand carved and in the shape of boat. Every detail was just divine. Would love to visit...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sarah H
KinnittyCastleHotel, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah H, Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted that you got to experience all that the Castle has to offer. And we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, The Management Team

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

Amazing views, great historic venue with stories of "Geraldine" roaming through certain areas of the hotel. Very obliging and friendly staff. Great food. I would recommend you visit here while in Ireland.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mopdoc
KinnittyCastleHotel, Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mopdoc, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us , we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, The Management Team

553 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (536)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (266)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinnitty
14.3 km away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
201 reviews
14.0 km away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
18.5 km away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
649 reviews
36.7 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,753 reviews
23.2 km away
Central Hotel Tullamore
Central Hotel Tullamore
#3 of 3 in Tullamore
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kinnitty Castle, is close to the picturesque village of Kinnitty, Co. Offaly set beautifully against a backdrop of the Slieve Bloom Mountains. The Castle has a long and turbulent history. Dating originally from 1209, Kinnitty was destroyed and rebuilt not once but twice and yet it retains character and oozes charm. Kinnity is in a great location only 90 minutes from Dublin and is a great stop off point for journeys west or southwards. It is an exceptional place for lovers of good food and the great outdoors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kinnitty Castle Hotel

Address: Kinnitty, Kinnitty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Kinnitty
Price Range: $235 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinnitty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinnitty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kinnitty
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kinnitty Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Kinnitty Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a view or a room in the main house.”
831niamhw, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view at the front of the castle so you won't overlook overgrowth at the back”
Leonie398, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a smaller room and we loved it. We saw the bigger rooms and felt they had a little less charm.”
  • Our room. Simple and charming.
Judy_Schmidt, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms amazing but our favourites are , the O'Carroll suite (Bridal suite) (wow) The Hutchinson Suite (huge), The del la pore, (fab)”
Jenleejen, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all very good, ground floor rooms can be slightly louder”
924nateb, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5