Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Traveller (10895)
Swim-up bar
Pool & Beach (2963)
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#4 of 4 all-inclusives in Cabo San Lucas
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
El hotel Riu Santa Fe Todo Incluido 24h (renovado en 2022), está situado en la playa de El Médano, Los Cabos, y ofrece impresionantes instalaciones para unas vacaciones inolvidables. Con las mejores comodidades, nuestras más de 1.100 habitaciones cuentan con WiFi gratuito, aire acondicionado, minibar y dispensadores de bebidas. Te invitamos a disfrutar del clima cálido en las 10 refrescantes piscinas del resort, algunas con swim-up bar, o a darte un chapuzón en la zona de playa y en nuestro divertido parque Splash Water World. Además, queremos que aproveche al máximo nuestra amplia oferta gastronómica, con restaurantes temáticos, desayunos buffet, con show cooking y una gran variedad de platos, en nuestro fabuloso restaurante principal. También encontrará sabrosos snacks y aperitivos en nuestros 10 bares repartidos por todo el hotel. Además, nuestro equipo de animación se encargará de que la diversión continúe, con deportes y actividades durante el día y una discoteca con espectáculos en directo por la noche. Los más pequeños también tienen su propio club infantil RiuLand, con actividades especialmente para ellos. Además, podrás relajarte en el Renova Spa, con increíbles instalaciones y tratamientos para tu bienestar. Visita este idílico lugar para tus vacaciones, con rincones maravillosos como El Arco, el Faro de Cabo Falso y varios Parques Naturales. ¡Descubre Los Cabos con RIU Hotels & Resorts! #RiuParty en el Hotel Riu Santa Fe. ¿Te gusta disfrutar de las mejores fiestas durante tus vacaciones? ¡RiuParty está hecho para ti! Baila al ritmo de la música de los mejores Dj's y transfórmate con los espectáculos y performance que te ofrece cada fiesta. ¡Aprovecha tu Todo Incluido y disfruta de la mejor diversión con RIU!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Car hire
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Iron
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Riu Class Benefits

Location

Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23453 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 60 out of 100
60
Los Cabos Airport
35.6 km
See all flights
11,570Reviews1,611Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,565
  • 3,970
  • 1,923
  • 983
  • 1,131
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
alexbond007 wrote a review Feb 2020
Toronto, Canada29 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Big Property but very nicely manicured. The rooms are spacious, clean and equipped with nice 49 inch LG flat screens, coffee makers, in-suite safes,( poorly positioned in corner of our clothes closet made it hard to use), nice appointed bathroom but the bathtub had a narrow con caved shape which would not be convenient to bath in and hard to shower!. The Pacific ocean is a little rough and a little chilly, unlike the Caribbean Ocean but still swim able with precaution. You can stroll the beautiful sandy beach to town in 35 mins. 4 theme dance parties in the evening geared towards great music and catering to ages 18 and older. The themes are Jungle, Neon, Pink and White and can dancing accommodate and did 1400 persons. They were a lot of fun. The food was very good at the La Baja buffet and only average at the specialty restaurants. The steak house steak (rib-eye) I found tough and tasteless and I noticed that most of the other guests had also left half of their steak on their plate that evening. Talking to other guests through out the week I found it was a general consensus that they all preferred the buffet. Breakfast was very good with lots of variety to choice from and lunch was pretty good down at the Torote restaurant down by the beach. Tipping is appreciated but not mandatory. Checkout is at 11 AM but they provide a FREE complimentary suite with 5 showers, towels, sink and mirror to freshen up before boarding the departure bus to the airport. Nice touch
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Responded Feb 28, 2020
Dear Alex, Thank you for being our guest and sharing your experience. We are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and we thank you also for recognizing our spacious rooms, our friendly service team and our delicious food. Certainly, it is also wonderful to hear how impressed you was with our famous Riu Pool Party. On the other hand, we apologize we were unable to exceed your expectations on this visit regarding our steak house. Please be assured we will look into this with our Chef. Your wellbeing is our priority! We hope we have the opportunity to have you as a guest again when your travels bring you back to Cabo San Lucas. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Santa Fe Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leanne H wrote a review Mar 2020
Regina, Canada167 contributions85 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were there during US spring break and it was very busy! Our room was in building 1 which was away from the noise, and furthest from the beach, but close to the main buffet and main square. The pools were nice, beach was great besides all the vendors trying to sell you stuff. Food was good, buffet had a great selection. The a la carte restaurants were lacking, although the Italian one was food. Most were buffet style and you couldn’t make reservations so there was sometimes a wait, especially for bigger groups. Drinks were excellent and the bar tenders were fabulous. The water slides were fun, and very fast. All piercings & rings are required to come out before going on the slides.
The Riu themed parties were fun, lots of people. It’s very loud in the rooms that are located close to the foam party pool area. They had parties 3 times per week.
Rooms were nice and clean. They all have a patio or balcony. There is a liquor dispenser in the room along with beer, pop & water in the fridge.
The wifi wasn’t great, with 2 of us in the room trying to connect 2 phones and 2 laptops it wouldn’t work.

Beautiful grounds and views of lovers beach. We even saw whales one day.

It’s a nice 45 minute walk into town along the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Responded Apr 24, 2020
Dear Leanne, First of all, we would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your visit to our hotel and the trust you have placed in us. We are pleased that our team was able to ensure you a relaxing stay and that you felt comfortable in our hotel. We would be very much looking forward to seeing you again soon. In the meantime we wish you all the best and hope that you stay safe! Warm regards, Hotel Riu Santa Fe Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kia T wrote a review Jun 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I hate to give Riu Santa Fe a 3 out of 5 because:
The staff is AMAZING! We had big one issue with anyone from concierge, to receptionist, cleaning staff, chefs, waiters/ waitresses. Everyone was so kind and pleasant. It was definitely a great feeling and felt like vacation.
The grounds of the resort are so beautifully maintained! It definitely looks like a resort. Beautiful trees, clean pools, plenty of seating, the architecture was memorable. And the open air lobby was a site to see.
The food was plentiful and delicious. If you wanted local favorites, they had that. If you wanted typical American burgers and nuggets they had that too. They even had a wide array of sushi dishes. Each restaurant had something different to offer. Suggestion: Go to the steakhouse for lunch, NOT dinner! It’s a la carte, and items are not cooked to order, from steak, to salmon, to chicken, they were all over cooked and difficult to chew. But at lunch they have crab and shrimp that are to die for!!
Now the downfall - the room presented in the gallery online is NOTHING like what we had. I loved that we had a separate door off the hallway that gave us a little more privacy as we had 2 rooms, but the decor, furniture, mattresses, blankets, and towels have definitely outlived their prime. While everything was immaculately clean, everything was dingy from old age. Our mattresses were buckled in the middle which made sleeping next to my partner a challenge as we had to either squeeze next to each other on a full sized bed, or we had to sleep on separate sides of the crack. The beds were low, excessively firm, and the pillows stacked weren’t even enough support. Lastly, only one of the villas has an elevator, that’s villa 7. Thankfully we had a room on the bottom floor, but I couldn’t imagine a long day walking around this huge resort, on the sloped beach, then climbing 3 flights of stairs to wash up, just to go back down and up again to enjoy dinner/ night life.
Unfortunately, during our stay, COVID numbers had risen, so there was a mandatory curfew of 10pm in Los Cabo’s, that meant the resort as well. No entertainment, food, or drinks after 10pm. The first night the night life didn’t end until 1 am, the next night, everything was shut down. I understood the reasoning, but we definitely feel like we missed out on some fun.
The staff was great about politely asking people to wear masks in public spaces, which was really appreciated as well.

Overall, the resort is great. We met others who had better experiences with their bed/s than we did, so I’m sure the discomfort we experienced isn’t the same for everyone. We have decided that we would return, but we’d either request to stay in villa 7 (also the building with the ocean views) or one of the sister Riu resorts on either side of Santa Fe.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: To book excursions, go to the beach. The Twins give the best deals. There’s about a 1 mile walk...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Responded Jul 2, 2021
Dear Kia T, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your opinions about your recent stay at our Hotel Riu Santa Fe! First of all, we really appreciate to read your kind words in regards to the warm and professional service of our staff, to our facilities and to our wide gastronomic offer. We are really happy to know you would come back! On the other hand, we would have liked to have been informed about the inconveniences in regards to your bed during your stay, as we provide with mattress toppers upon request. We also regret that our protocols against Coronavirus made your holiday less pleasant; we kindly hope for your understanding that every action is taken in order to preserve the health and security of all our guests. We have taken note of every comment, and you can be sure they will be reviewed by the appropriate departments. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back! With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Santa Fe Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dfreelon13 wrote a review May 2023
San Francisco, California44 contributions44 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I really enjoyed my solo stay at the Rio Santa Fe. It was exactly what I was looking for. I was in Los Cabos for extensive dental work. This place was perfect for relaxing after sitting in the dentist chair all day.

My check-in was smooth and easy. I received an upgrade and, because of some knee problems. They made sure the room was close to the elevator, and on a lower floor. It was also very close to the pools and the beach. Maid service was excellent.

This place is really big. It’s a long way from the beach all the way to the main courtyard where four of the five restaurants are. The grounds are beautiful and well kept and walking through them is pleasant.

The food is what’s to be expected at this price point. Everything was fresh, properly prepared, and well presented. No real luxury foods here. So don’t think you’re going to have a gourmet experience. That’s definitely not what this place is about. I really enjoyed the Asian restaurant which is a buffet. And the steak restaurant was decent. The main buffet and the breakfast buffets were very good. Lots of variety.

There’s a bar in your room that gets restocked every day. It has beer in the fridge and then bottles of tequila, rum, gin, and vodka in dispensers. I went to three of the four pool bars as well as the sports bar in the main courtyard. All were great , whether I was having a mixed drink or just a shot or a glass of wine, service was excellent and the booze was medium level brand names.

The pools were wonderful. All of them are infinity pools, looking out over the Pacific. The famous rock formation, the arch, is prominent on the seascape. There are lots of pleasure craft and cruise ships. Vendors on the beach below the infinity, pool are selling all the standard Mexico touristy crap they sell on every beach in Mexico.

Check out was smooth and easy, as was arranging transport back to the airport.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Get to the steak house early. They have limited seating.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Responded May 29, 2023
Dear Douglas F, Thank you for your great review. We are really glad to learn that you enjoyed your experience during your stay at our Hotel Riu Santa Fe! We would be delighted to welcome you back in a near occasion. Have a lovely day, Hotel Riu Santa Fe Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bnew95 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I don’t have much to say about this place that is positive. Resort is run down and if you are looking for good food then this resort is not for you. I ordered fajitas at the mexican restaurant and received green looking beef on my skillet. The American restaurant was the biggest waste of time for us, we waited for two hours to get a seat after seeing numerous groups cut the large line to get in and the staff did nothing about it. The steaks were paper thin and had the consistency of a car tire. I also did not like the waitress harassing us for a tip on the way out after the terrible service we received. The pools are full of sand and look dated. If you can manage to get in buildings 8/9 you will have a more updated room with a nicer walk in shower. If you are looking to drink like a fish and party 24/7 this resort is good for you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Responded Jan 22, 2020
Dear Bnew2020, Thank you for your time, We are sorry that in general your experience with us was not what you expected and that you left our hotel with a totally opposite impression to that which we always try to convey. In RIU we are committed to provide excellent quality products and services to our guests, so we appreciate your comments as they help us improve our services. For this reason, we will share your impressions with the Management team to take actions if needed. We hope to host you again in one of our worldwide hotels in the future! Greetings, Hotel Riu Santa Fe Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cladler wrote a review Feb 2020
Frisco, Texas5 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I wanted to bring to your attention some feedback about my stay at your resort. It has taken some time for me to prepare this email as I have been traveling a lot for work and then became very sick. My cousins and I were very excited about our visit to stay at the Hotel Riu Santa Fe, Cabo San Lucas. We came for their wedding anniversary. However, we encountered many disappointing things. We we’re hoping this would be a great stay so that we could relax and possibly come back for another visit. Perhaps your resort next door is better.

Here are a few things happened or didn’t happen
• No one cleaned our room – we had to request towels as need
• Our bed was never tended to or made
• I left my towel card at my room and they harassed me over getting one towel. I finally went to a manager and she gave me a key and when I went to get a towel it was an old, ripped towel.
• There was no pool service to order drinks. Very disappointing. I like to relax and order for the staff at the pool. And I pay a very generous tip to them
• Very disappointing that there was no food service at the pool. This is one of the extras people enjoy when on vacation.
• Disappointed there was no room service
• The food at sports bar is deplorable. We pay good money to not have to eat hotdogs and sandwiches that everyone has touched or picked over from the refrigerator
• There was no top shelf alcohol like Titos, only cheap Smirnoff
• Our room was very dirty on the bed skirt and curtains – very gross
• No ice in the ice machine. Very frustrating
• No lights in the stairways – this is VERY dangerous. Especially when people are drinking or elderly
• We saw an employee (omelet chef) take papaya off the tray that was being replaced with another tray and she ate it with her hands then went back to working on peoples omelets. That’s just gross and bad hygiene.
• Lastly, the policy to check out of your room and you need a tag to do so is absolutely absurd! I’ve never had to do this at any resort and I’ve stayed at hundreds all over the world.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Hotel Riu Santa Fe at Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Responded Apr 29, 2020
Dear Cladler, Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and for choosing us to spend your wedding anniversary! First of all, we are very sorry to hear that you have been sick and hope that you will become well soon. We want all of our guests to enjoy a comfortable and unique experience with us at a great value, and we are sorry to see that some aspects of your stay were not what you had in mind. Trust that your comments will be reviewed among our team, as we continually strive to improve for the comfort of our guests, and we would love to get another chance to welcome you back. We are however very surprised by your comment about the cleanliness and hygene as we have strict policies regarding these areas. We will of course follow up on this in case standards has not been met on your occasion. We really hope we will have the chance to welcome you back again for a more positive experience! All the best until then, Kind regards, Hotel Riu Santa Fe Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Canadian-britt wrote a review Jan 2020
7 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I read the reviews on here before my trip and was terrified about going. We booked last minute getaway looking for some warmth from the Canadian polar vortex. I debated paying $200 more per person staying at the Riu Palace but thought I would just save myself money and book at the Santa Fe. I travelled with my husband, toddler, 7 month old baby and my parents.

The resort is big in comparison to other Cabo resorts but no bigger then standard resorts in the Mayan. Request building 7 if you like being closer to the ocean and infinity pools. Rooms were clean, showers nice and hot. Mini bar in room restocked every 2 days and whenever I called for more water it was always brought shortly after.

This resort has a party atmosphere and is perfect choice for people wanting to have a good time. Pool parties 4x/week. We didnt go but they looked crazy and like a lot of fun If you are young and single and looking to party. I had my young family there so moved away from the party atmosphere at the one swim up bar by the ocean and sat on the other side. The inner pool by the lobby was always quiet but I came to Cabo to be by the ocean so never sat there. My main complaint about this resort is the other swim up pool bar by the ocean was only open ONE day. Riu hire more staff and open the other bar everyday!! Staff work SO hard and can’t keep up with people wanting drinks! The other swim up bar was so packed no way I would go in there. The reviews are true, you do have to wait in line at the bar to get a drink or get a drink from Nazar who has a little mobile cart. There are no servers who bring you drinks so if you don’t want to wait in line and get drinks yourself the pay extra money and book the palace.

Another complaint is the pools are COLD. People were barely swimming because water was so cold, heat them up!

The ocean they say you can’t swim because of strong undertow but many people were still swimming. I would never let little kids go in there.

Bathrooms: very limited by the infinity pools only one below the restaurant. I recommend adding more washrooms. Staff were always cleaning them and they were always clean!

Food; Was AMAZING for buffet. Tons of selection! Was so good! A la cartes no reservations but to get table need to be there in line at 530 or else it’s a hour + wait. We didn’t eat at any because we have kids but buffet was perfect. They had a band playing rock music in courtyard outside buffet at supper almost every other night and my complaint was it was obnoxiously loud. Relaxing dinner music would have been nicer to hear.

Staff were all soooo friendly and kind. Bersain was our server at buffet and he was fabalous! Works so hard.

Kids water park and slides were amazing!!

Overall beautiful resort. If you want quieter atmosphere with better drink service then I recommend booking at the Palace but for cheaper price we all had a great time at the Santa Fe.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Responded Jan 28, 2020
Dear Canadian-britt, We greatly appreciate your review. We are glad to hear that you liked the nice rooms, the service provided by our friendly staff and the water park. However, we are saddened to hear about the difficulties that you experienced and we would like to assure you that we do our best to always provide a high standard of service to our guests. We take careful note of your comments and suggestions and look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Riu Santa Fe. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Santa Fe Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott S wrote a review Feb 2020
Harlingen, Texas236 contributions108 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall, I really loved the Rui Santa Fe. There are a few things that if they could fix, they need to take the high standard higher and could be a 5-star hotel. The property is beautifully kept and staying in building 7 gives you a great view of the Sea of Cortez. It is a close walk to the beach and the lounge chairs near the pool. The room was nice and cleaned everyday, and actaully one of the few resort properties, I did not have to ask for towels. There is a bar in the room and you can start the party any time. The foam parties are a total blast and a must go to event. Young and old hang out together dancing in a pool of foam. Overall the food was good and tasteful, I was disappointed all the so called "Fine Dining" was actaully buffets. The only restaraunt that was not a buffet was the steakhouse. Make plans everyday as there are lines to get into the fine dining restaraunts and each restaraunt is not open everyday. We would typically eat breakfast at El Toroto and Maribel was provided awesome service when she was there. It was disappointing not getting the same servers for breakfast or lunch, so they could learn your eating habits. Mostof the food was cool and not very hot from the buffets. The entertainment staff was fun and got guests invovled during the day. However, I have seen better high school theatre performances than at the Rui Santa Fe. The guy in charge of the entertainment staff and theatre performances should be embarrassed but yet all he wanted you to do was "applauso, applauso" or "everybody clap your hands". Time for new entertainment if he thought this was good. All the staff was super polite and helpful and I never felt as I was bothering anyone with a question. I would go back again, and hope some of the standards are raised "higher"
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Dear Scott S, Thank you for taking the time to share a wonderful review about your memorable experience! We are glad to read that you had an awesome time during your stay! We appreciate your kind words and have taken notes of your few suggestions and will share them with our Management team so that they can take them into consideration! It was our pleasure to take care of you and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon in one of our worldwide hotels! King regards, Hotel Riu Santa Fe Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hopeinme wrote a review Feb 2020
Campbellford, Canada10 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a week at Riu Sante Fe, Los Cabos. Upon arrival to the hotel with our fellow travelers we were greeted with a welcome Margarita. Check in was very organized and very quick considering the number of people checking in. Our room was located in building 7, as I need a wheelchair to get around, they have elevators in that building and also in building 8. The hotel grounds are massive, everything is spread out nicely. The grounds are immaculate. Beautiful to see, everything is cleaned constantly. Hats off to the garden staff as well to everyone who keeps the hotel so clean, WOW! We actually never got around to see the entire resort, we really only missed out seeing the waterpark, which was no interest to us. The location of the hotel is ok. Not much around it other then a couple other hotels, so either be prepared to walk or take a taxi. The ocean view is gorgeous from buildings 7 and 8 as well from the large infinity pool, which faces the ocean as well as the Cabo arches, beautiful! There are 6 restaurants, unfortunately not all of them are open every day except the 1 buffet for breakfast, lunch and supper as well one other for breakfast and lunch, but it is a steak house in evening so it rotates when it is open. The restaurants open at 6p.m for supper, so be there fairly close to that time or be prepared to wait. Waiting never was a problem as tables are set up everywhere and they give you a buzzer to signal your turn. So relax and have another drink. Which flows freely from the bars, lol. Activities are great during the day by the infinity pool as well as other spots throughout. Definitely the infinity pool area is the biggest go to spot though. There is also a themed pool party 4 days a week at a designated pool area. Gets Very loud, usually 2-7p.m or 7-11 p.m. Went to it one night, was great, not just for the young ones as I had thought. CRAZY!! overall great time, only real complaints are beds hard and pillows not super comfy. Other then pool party, not much in the way of entertainment for the evening. Few shows they have are done by 9. Accessibility is easy around the resort, ramps everywhere. The only real accessible rooms are available only in building 1 which is away from everything. So my husband and I had to do some work for me to be able to access the shower as it was only a tub/shower combo. Was worth it as we had a great view. All in all a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Dear Hopeinme, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and with the travel community! We are glad to learn that you had an outstanding vacation during your stay at our Hotel Riu Santa Fe! We appreciate your kind words! It was our pleasure taking great care of you! We hope to host you again in one of our worldwide hotels in the future! King regards, Hotel Riu Santa Fe Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alvaro Ruiz wrote a review Jan 2020
The Woodlands, Texas14 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and my two boys (20 and 14) went to Los Cabos for a short vacation right after New Year. We picked Riu Santa Fe among many other options because we liked the location and the value proposition. We could not speak higher of this resort. The service and the attention are exquisite, the place is big so you don´t feel overwhelmed by the amount of people there and the quality of the food was excellent. Breakfast buffet was amazing and among the different options for dinner, the Italian restaurant was just amazing. We felt safe even walking on the beach to the Los Cabos marina (even took an Uber a couple of times).
100% recommendable!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Responded Feb 3, 2020
Dear varo1969, Thank you so much for sharing your experience and for your five-star rating! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a nice time with us at Hotel Riu Santa Fe! It was our pleasure to take care of you and we do hope to have the opportunity to host you again someday soon! Kind regards, Hotel Riu Santa Fe Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erica L asked a question May 2024
3 contributions
What is the check in age during august?
Answer from wiza
Waterford, Canada212 contributions141 helpful votes
I am sorry but I do not know that answer.
Answer from Nebs74
Windsor, Canada22 contributions13 helpful votes
18
Answer from Jason F
New Westminster, Canada1 contribution
Absolutely. You can also attend if you are staying at Riu Palace Cabos or Riu palace Baja.
Answer from Joylee
Okanagan Falls, Canada16,825 contributions378 helpful votes
#1 or 2 , but bad guests do make noise after parties\disco in all buikdings. You can do a request 10 days out, not before as they don't assign rooms till then. All go tru Riu website. Just red\white\ sparkling, not the best. Stand in line, at Steakhouse on beach hardest to get into, 1\2 hourbefore opens at least, others are not as bad and can be better steak at other's. Beeper given . The American isnt even shown on layout. Bus, about hour ride, info given on board, look for rep ask you exit , they point you to transfer , direct., confirm on return. If booked with Sunwing. If you booked with hotel, confirm with the tranfer co, on your booking, a taxi or van.,
Efren H wrote a tip Jun 17
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool get crowded so try getting a spot early. Take comfortable shoes,there's a lot of walking in between the hotel itself. "
Read full review
bannerlaw wrote a tip Jun 11
Cincinnati, Ohio16 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take the day trip to Totos Santos (All Saints) on the Pacific side. Phenomenal!"
Read full review
canhadlywait wrote a tip Jun 8
Toronto, Canada184 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We definitely enjoyed the quieter pool, which is close to the lobby. We found the resort was not as huge as everyone stated"
Read full review
GrandTour17368742456 wrote a tip Jun 3
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The only positive thing are all of the pools "
Read full review
Beverley W wrote a tip Jun 1
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Depending on your age, chose your pool, we stay at the adult pool, so the younger go getters party at the others !🤣😂"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cabo San Lucas area.
PRICE RANGE
C$299 - C$408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riu santa fe cabo san lucas, riu santa fe los cabos, riu sante fe, hotel riu santa fe
LOCATION
MexicoBaja CaliforniaBaja California SurLos CabosCabo San Lucas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1,288
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Riu Santa Fe - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Santa Fe?
Nearby attractions include Cabo Party Fun (0.6 km), Medano Beach (0.7 km), and Cabo Bash VIP Services Specialists (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Santa Fe?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Santa Fe?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Santa Fe?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Santa Fe?
Conveniently located restaurants include Metate Cabo, La Casona, and Carbon Grill Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Santa Fe?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Santa Fe have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Riu Santa Fe offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Riu Santa Fe?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Riu Santa Fe offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Santa Fe?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Church of Saint Luke (3.2 km).
Does Hotel Riu Santa Fe have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Cabo San Lucas HotelsCabo San Lucas Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cabo San LucasHotels near Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars