We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Victory at Mersea

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Victory at Mersea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 164: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First night away from baby to celebrate anniversary - close to home but Mersea is a special place for us. The positives are the Victory has a prime location and the food is good pub standard. The negatives? The passage between bedroom and bathroom was very cold, the whole space tired, dirty, dated. The heating had not been switched on,... More 

Thank Redangelact
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, although my understanding of the problem is somewhat different, as the heating in the main bedroom was operating at 20+ degrees when you complained and while the short passageway to the bathroom is not heated (with no complaints in 6 years), the bathroom heating was soon in action as a previous guest had turned it... More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of the reasons I picked to come to the Victory was the location and in that respect it did not disappoint. Beautifully positioned on the edge of a marina with lovely views. We were welcomed pleasantly and taken to our room upstairs. A quirky room with a lovely view. Okay, it was not the biggest room that I have... More 

Thank lkrmusic
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The Victory is situated on the sea front and has panoramic views across the estuary. It is essentially a large food pub with rooms albeit the rooms are of hotel standard with en-suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities. Being a very busy establishment, and having booked very late on, we could only get the sea view room for the second... More 

1 Thank OhmyGod12
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Glad that you enjoyed yur stay. We do get booked up very quickly in the summer/autumn but at least you got to stay in 2 completely different rooms. You are right the family suite works extremely well for families with young children as they are with the children but they are not in... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2016

My son and his partner arranged to meet my husband and myself here for a meal to celebrate my sons birthday. He had stayed here in May 2016 and thought the food was excellent. How disappointed we were, restaurant prices for cheap ingredients £18.95 for a small steak with a few frozen fries, a bit of salad on the side,... More 

1 Thank jennynewman2016
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I can only apologise for the bad service and disappointing meal that you had at the Victory. You obviously told the staff of your dissatisfaction because they gabe you the discount but should you ever decide to return please mention this review and we will give you a complementary meal. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

We spent our 11th wedding anniversary at the Victory, it was only the one night but we were impressed with everything about the accommodation. I contacted the hotel a week or so before just to arrange a couple of small extras...flowers, champagne etc and the communication was second to none. I received several calls throughout the week to confirm that... More 

2 Thank Alan_Galaxy
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us for your anniversary. Sorry about the tables but we seem to have had a reaction between the varnish we used last year, the sanitiser and the sun. We will be re-varnishing the tables over the winter which we hope will solve the problem. We... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Stopped off here for lunch whilst visiting with family. Had fish n chips, of course! Very tasty and fresh. Not at all greasy. Staff were very friendly and attentive. I would definitely dine here again.

1 Thank Nim V
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad that you enjoyed your fish and chips and look forward to seeing you again soon More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Stayed two nights here in room 6. I would suggest they try to watch the tv in the upstairs room from the bed, impossible as the bracket doesn't tilt. However the food was very good, especially breakfast, best scrambled eggs i have had for ages. Staff very helpful, lending us some plates and crockery so we could have snack time... More 

1 Thank Jay761
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and we will investigate getting a tilting bracket for the tv in the upstairs room, thanks for that. More 

Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Lunch at the Victory today. Very pleasant. Lovely lunch. Calamari v.Nice. bacon & brie sarnie likewise. Staff are welcoming and helpful. Pub garden is spacious and well tended. Not pretentious like other establishments.

2 Thank SCHARL2273
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad that you enjoyed your experience, we don't try to be something we are not, we are a pub that serves good food and are pleased that is how we came across to you, thanks More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Stayed here over the weekend. With 2 other couples. We couldn't get a balcony room which overlooks the sea even though we booked 6 months ago. However all of the rooms are very clean and well cared for our friends had the garden rooms which were lovely but the beds were small double not ideal if you are very tall.... More 

2 Thank LichfieldPenny
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry that you did not have a sea view but pleased that you enjoyed the garden. We do have some larger beds but the majority are standard doubles. Very pleased that the team looked after you More 

Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We stopped off here for a quick lunch off sandwiches and chips. The food was tasty and fresh. Great view. My children enjoyed the play area. We ordered at the start of lunch service and our order seemed to take a while. But the staff were polite and we had a lovely time. Short and sweet trip.

1 Thank GemmaJeffrey
EssexBoaters, Owner at Victory at Mersea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry that the food took a long time but we have been extremely busy and when everyone orders at the beginning of service there can be an extra delay. More 

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (33)
View from Room (2)
Room/Suite (10)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Dining (4)
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersea Island
11.9 km away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
566 reviews
12.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
17.4 km away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
188 reviews
15.5 km away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
13.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Victory at Mersea

Address: Mersea Island 92 Coast Road, Mersea Island CO5 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mersea Island
Price Range: $123 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victory at Mersea 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Victory at Mersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victory At Mersea Hotel Mersea Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Victory at Mersea staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Victory at Mersea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For families, room 6, sea views, 3”
 of 5 bubbles OhmyGod12, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a balcony if possible and book early to avoid disappointment they are very very busy during the summer months.”
 of 5 bubbles LichfieldPenny, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 has a balcony with chairs, overlooking the water”
 of 5 bubbles josephines690, 11 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the main building for views. Garden rooms to the rear for accessibility.”
 of 5 bubbles travelmaniac18, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“the superior suite is large and roomy with a large en suite”
 of 5 bubbles littlecrafter, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay