We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Samarinda

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Samarinda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 41: English reviews
Start your review of Samarinda
 Click to rate
Marcoola, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you book these Apartments, say you do not want to stay in Apartment 11. We stayed for 2 nights and room was very poor.....dirty, rusty and in a poor state of repair. Would definitely return to Point Lookout, but absolutely not to these apartments.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
Sharon and Pete... T, Manager at Samarinda, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback on Samarinda Apartments. We apologise if the apartment was not up to our usual standards and will certainly be following up on your comments about this apartment.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a fantastic stay at Samarinda. We were there for 4 nights for my cousins wedding and was my first visit to Australia. The apartment very nicely decorated and had everything we needed, very comfortable and homely. Its a stones throw from the beach which goes on forever. There is a walkway round the cliff edge where we saw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruby229
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The suite, is excellent, ocean views, fully supplied, managers are obliging and polite and helpful. Unit was very clean and full of comfort. would genuinely recommend. Excellent ,clean pool with lovely barbecue facility. Handy to everything. Shall return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelo P
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the big apartment, ground floor but could still see the ocean. We really liked the artwork too..had a real beach feel to it. The rooms were clean and large woth big balcony overlooking the pool. Had our own parking spot and management very helpful and friendly...a short walk down to main and south gorge beaches...cafes just around the corner...would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank celeste2363
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really enjoyed our stay here. Relaxing hide-away on Straddie with all the comfort and mod cons for a beach get away. Great location with short walk to all that Point Lookout has to offer. Cafes and restaurants short distance from here also. Doctor and Chemist close to here as well. The appartment we had is very well appointed with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katey247
Sharon and Pete... T, Manager at Samarinda, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Samarinda. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Great location, close proximity to the beach and with a pool. Minutes walk from point lookout cafes, shops and gorge walk. Very spacious accomodation in good condition and well appointed. Balcony views lovely. Would have given it 5 stars if aircon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slinky B
Sharon and Pete... T, Manager at Samarinda, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Samarinda. We appreciate your comments and are happy you enjoyed your stay!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Great accomodation, very clean and tidy and comfortable. We had a 3 bedroom apartment that was perfect for our family of 4. Pool and BBQ area are an added bonus (how do you keep that BBQ so clean!). Location is perfect - ocean views, close to the beach and shops and restaurants and of course the North Gorge walk (we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank klokan747
Sharon and Pete... T, Manager at Samarinda, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Samarinda!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Thank you Sharon and Peter for your wonderful hospitality we had a lovely break.. the weather was perfect and little warm but the breezes were lovely.. the unit was well equipped with everything we needed.. see you later in the year we will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renae M
Sharon and Pete... T, Manager at Samarinda, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again at Samarinda.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Thanks Peter and Sharon. We had a great holiday and will be back again next year. Nothing was too much trouble and hope you have a fantastic year. Our rooms were clean and spacious, with great views of the ocean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timbow997
Sharon and Pete... T, Manager at Samarinda, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are happy you enjoyed your stay at Samarinda!

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at Samarinda every year for the last 4 years over the New Years week. 8 families stay every year. This was our LAST year. We have stayed in pretty much every apartment and apart from 2 of them, they are sorely lacking in basic amenities. Virtually none have adequate fans so be prepared to be very hot!!...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Robert J
Sharon and Pete... T, Manager at Samarinda, responded to this review

We were not prepared to rebook this group next year due to their noisy, inconsiderate behaviour on several occasions. On New Years Eve, the writer of the above review was decidedly aggressive when asked politely by the manager to keep the noise down and at 1am to vacate the pool area. It is interesting that now the apartments are lacking...

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Lookout
1.5 km away
Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel Spa Resort
9.0 km away
Allure Stradbroke Resort
Allure Stradbroke Resort
#2 of 4 in North Stradbroke Island
130 reviews
0.1 km away
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Point Lookout
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Islander Holiday Resort
The Islander Holiday Resort
#8 of 10 in North Stradbroke Island
58 reviews
2.9 km away
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
#4 of 10 in North Stradbroke Island
83 reviews
1.6 km away
Pandanus Palms Resort
Pandanus Palms Resort
#2 of 3 in Point Lookout
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Samarinda

Address: 1-5 Samarinda Dr, Point Lookout, Redland City, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland 4183, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Redland City > North Stradbroke Island > Point Lookout
Price Range: $181 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samarinda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Samarinda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Samarinda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not book Apartment 11”
 of 5 bubbles 269nickw, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The first room on the ground floor close to the office. Sorry not sure of the number.”
  • View from our apartment.
 of 5 bubbles Ruby229, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best views are top floors, bottom floors are better for access to pool”
 of 5 bubbles timbow997, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Ocean view room”
 of 5 bubbles AJM1009, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Top floors have fantastic views, only the main bedroom had air conditioning, there were ceiling fans throughout.”
 of 5 bubbles 185chriso, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5