Papagayo Beach Resort

Papagayo Beach Resort

Louvre deuren van woonkamer villa resort. Warmte en ongedierte (muggen) gaan hier dus gemakkelijk door heen... Alleen in slaapkamers airco.
Traveller (924)
Panorama at the Papagayo Beach Resort
360
Panoramas (26)
Papagayo Beach Resort
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 3 hotels in Jan Thiel
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Perched atop of Curaçao's Jan Thiel Village, Papagayo Beach Resort's recently restyled detached villas boast a modern feel with a dash of tropical elegance. Trendy European touches complement this Caribbean setting cleverly designed to allow a seamless flow between indoor and outdoor living. Choose between a stylish two bedroom, two bath villa or a larger, more luxurious Royal Suite that can accommodate up to eight guests. Both layouts feature a fully equipped, open plan kitchen providing you the option to prepare a meal with the same ease and conveniences you are used to back home. Papagayo Beach Resort prides itself on being able to offer you the benefits of spacious villas in combination with the service level of an upscale hotel. Whether you want to spend your time soaking in sunrays from your wraparound veranda or making new friends during happy hour on a bustling beach, Papagayo can cater to the needs of every type of visitor!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Spa
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Microwave
Kitchenware
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available

Location

Kaya Adriatiko 28, Jan Thiel Curaçao
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 81 out of 100
81
Aeropuerto Hato
15.8 km
See all flights
Flamingo Intl Airport
66.2 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,024 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Papagayo Beach Resort is celebrated for its spacious villas that boast a cozy and tastefully decorated atmosphere with a seamless outdoor connection, nestled in a location praised for its proximity to beaches and local attractions. However, some travelers question the resort's value, pointing out issues such as less-than-ideal views and management concerns. While the amenities, including the beach club and gym, generally receive positive remarks, guests suggest improvements for towel service and maintenance. The service staff is acknowledged for their helpfulness, despite occasional amenity issues, and while rooms are recognized for their comfort, there are suggestions to improve air conditioning.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,024Review41Q+A66Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 625
  • 248
  • 85
  • 35
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Bert wrote a review Jul 2022
Drachten, The Netherlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stay at the resort. We were welcomed very warmly by Leochnella and were received with a cold drink and delicious cold wipes to refresh our face after the (long) journey.
She took us with the suitcases to our apartment, number 167 garden view. She gave a short tour and told everything about staying at the resort. She also emphasized that if we needed anything, we could always ask her.
All the staff we dealt with during our stay were very friendly, helpful and service oriented.
Our apartment (no. 167) was very nice and luxurious with air conditioning in the bedrooms and a large fan in the living room. Outside on the veranda were two large lounge chairs and a sofa and also the dining table.
Every day the dirty towels were replaced and cleaning was done.
On arrival, even the fridge was already filled with the first food, so we didn't have to go to the store right away. The supermarket is also within walking distance.
The beach of Papagayo Beach is beautiful with a piece of sandy beach that ends at the swimming pool (infinity pool). The service there is also top notch and orders could even be placed from the beach bed.

All in all had a very nice stay and nothing but praise for the staff, but especially big compliments to Leochnella. What a friendly person she is!

To summarize: Perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, Marketing at Papagayo Beach Resort
Responded Aug 7, 2022
Dear berth513, Many thanks for such a PERFECT review of Papagayo Beach Resort! We are always glad to be of service and we appreciate hearing that our efforts add to the pleasure and experience of our guests. Please do not hesitate in contacting us directly if we can be of assistance, we look forward to having you back with us someday. All the best, Papagayo Beach Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Siene wrote a review Dec 2022
Oranjestad, Aruba
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went on a girls weekend break to Curadise and stayed at the Papagayo Beach resort. Room was awesome the front desk personnel was very helpful giving tips where to go for bar hopping and even gave us the chance to check in early so we could hit
The beach. The location on the beach was perfect! Nice infinity pool and waiters that come and serve you at your beach chair. We had good meals all
Around Jan Thiel! For the sports games we went to mojito and Bites, super nice staff & cocktails. Special thanks to the kitchen staff at papagayo beach resort for
Making space for my birthday cake in their refrigerator!!! And last but not least Michelle Richardson at the front desk! She really is a ray of sunshine and makes the extra mile for her guests!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, General Manager at Papagayo Beach Resort
Responded Jan 12, 2023
Dear Orsine W, Many thanks for such a great review of Papagayo Beach Resort! We are always glad to be of service and we appreciate hearing that our efforts add to the pleasure and experience of our guests, we are happy to read that all our staff was helpful and you could celebrate a great birthday with us. Please do not hesitate in contacting us directly if we can be of assistance, we look forward to having you back with us someday. All the best, Papagayo Beach Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Rembrandt v wrote a review Jun 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a very good experience staying at papagayo's beach resort. Due mainly to Hidde, our host, who was very helpful in solving some small issues when arriving the first night. Throughout the stay he was very accomodating, big praise.

The houses are lovely, huge open space when opening the sliding doors, which gives a nice breeze. Well serviced every day with clean towels and made beds. A/C in the bedrooms, nice kitchen and lovely gardens with flowers birds and...iguana's! Jan Thiel and especially Zest is perfect when you have small kids, with a salt water pool which is perfect for kids.

Recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: We think lower numbers are better, closer to the beach, and sea views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, Guest Services / Front Office at Papagayo Beach Resort
Responded Jul 19, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review of Papagayo Beach Resort. We are delighted to know you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that our convenient location made it even more memorable. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we hope to be your first choice every time you visit our area. Do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of service to you (reservations@papagayo.com), as we look forward to welcoming you back to Curaçao & Papagayo Beach Resort! Warm regards, Team Papagayo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frank B wrote a review Aug 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Papagayo is a nice place to stay, close to the beach, facilities are good. The houses are really nice, in door and outdoor. Two bedrooms (with airconditioning) with their own bathroom is perfect.

If you look closer you can seen that the houses need a renovation. Kitchen is out dated and cupboards sometimes don’t close properly, tiles are broken, same story in the bathroom and the sliding doors to the veranda don’t open easily.

If you book a house, ask for a veranda that is in the shade after 5 pm because it is really hot. We were in house 102 and we had trouble getting the house cool (no wind going though the house) because the veranda was al day fully in the sun. We tried to switch to a different house but that wasn’t possible.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, Marketing at Papagayo Beach Resort
Responded Oct 18, 2021
Dear Happiness292113, It was our pleasure hosting you at Papagayo Beach Resort. We are thrilled to know our convenient location and outstanding hospitality helped make your stay a memorable one. Your feedback is of utmost value to us as it will help us to improve. We appreciate your business and hope to be your first choice every time you all visit our area. Best regards, Team Papagayo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
btiktak wrote a review Jan 2024
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family spend the holidays at Papagayo resort. Before I review on the things that i expected to be better or should be improved let me point out the positive.

Staff;
The staff of papagayo is very friendly and helping where they can with the tools they have.

Villa's
The villa's are really well set up. They have really nice porches and outdoor seating areas. The kitchens and bathrooms are new and clean.

Papagayo management unfortunately is not up to par for the place they present to be and make you pay for. A short list of in my eyes critical key points to get right as a beach resort.

Beach towels:
New towels only available as off 9:30am and if you are not right there they run out and you are stuck with your salty wet once. Another moment if you are lucky is around 6pm.

The towels that are available are old rags and often with stains.

Pool restaurant/Bar
Closed during the day...no drink or snack to purchase during the day. Apparently the restaurant was under new management and just reopening , but as a guest..., the service experience was poor.

The Pool
Three days into the week the pool was filthy, milky and you could not see the bottom anymore. After complaining they did send a pool guy to work on it but first reaction was...he's coming tomorrow..
Management did respond to the complaint..but for a tropical resort with one pool directly situated at the management office. You would expect more.

Beach restaurant
The beach is nice place to hang out. And the bar served cold beers.
for lunch however the menu is very limited and pretty poor. If you any aspiration for a nice lunch..good food. It's not worth spending your time unfortunately because the location to the resort would be great but the whole thing feels like Costa del Carib..

WIFI
On and off very unstable. Definitely not solid enough if your planning to get some work done. But even relaxation browsing gets disrupted constantly cause the WiFi shuts off. In the villa it's fine but around the resort.pool and restaurant it's mostly down.

Believe me our family travels a lot and seen many restaurant, hotels and resorts. I write a lot of reviews and am very positive and happy recommend and write about what's good.v

Unfortunately this time at papagayo deserves the review above. If your looking for a just a house the park it's a good place..but if your looking for a resort it does not live up to the expectations nor the price charged at this moment.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Have a good look where your villa is located. Many porches are located directly on the road side...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, General Manager at Papagayo Beach Resort
Responded Jan 10, 2024
Dear btiktak, Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback about your recent stay at Papagayo Beach Resort. We sincerely appreciate your positive comments about the friendly and helpful staff and the well-set-up villas. However, we deeply regret to hear about the aspects of your experience that did not meet your expectations. Your concerns regarding beach towels, the pool, the beach restaurant, and the WiFi are essential to us, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We understand the importance of these amenities and services, and we're committed to addressing the issues you've highlighted. Rest assured, we are actively working to improve the areas mentioned, including the availability and quality of beach towels, pool cleanliness, restaurant offerings, and WiFi stability. We truly value your feedback, as it helps us identify areas for improvement. We apologize for any shortcomings in your experience, and we hope you might consider giving us another chance in the future to provide the exceptional stay you deserve. Warm regards, Papagayo Beach Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flavia De Frias W wrote a review Jun 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing location. Papagayo Beach Club offers that resort feeling that is missing from the Papagayo Beach Resort. My accommodation was filthy dirty. We arrived at a cabin where we could not walk barefoot. I had to sweep the floor at arrival. Floor was grey with dust. There is no replenishment of anything. Guests need to collect soap and shampoo from the reception every day. Coffee and sugar in the accommodation is only at arrival. There is no replenishment. Someone comes every day to collect garbage bags and change towels. That is it. No cleaning of anything. They usually come too early. I asked the lady to come back later as kids were sleeping and she said "No. Give me the towels". So, I gave her the towels, but I could not understand she was asking me to bring her the garbage bin, so she just walked in without my permission while my husband was in his underwear in the living room. Very rude! I think this is more of an Airbnb feeling than a resort. Mattress needs to be changed. Pool needs to be better cleaned. Staff at reception is very nice and at the gate too. I would come back but maybe to the hotel, rather than the resort.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, General Manager at Papagayo Beach Resort
Responded Jun 22, 2023
Dear Flavia, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We appreciate your comments and would like to address some of the concerns you raised. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the cleanliness of your accommodation upon arrival. We strive to maintain high standards of cleanliness, and it is disheartening to hear that we fell short in this regard. We take cleanliness seriously and have shared your feedback with our housekeeping team to ensure that such oversights do not occur in the future. Regarding the replenishment of amenities, we do encourage our guests to notify us during their stay if they require additional supplies. We apologize if this information was not clearly communicated to you. We aim to provide a comfortable and convenient experience for our guests, and we are working on improving the communication regarding amenities replenishment to avoid any confusion in the future. We also apologize for any inconvenience caused by the timing of our housekeeping service. We strive to strike a balance between respecting our guests' privacy and ensuring a timely cleaning service. We will review our procedures to ensure that our team members communicate more effectively with our guests and accommodate their requests whenever possible. We appreciate your kind words about our reception staff and gate staff. We take pride in delivering excellent customer service, and we're glad to hear that they made a positive impression. We greatly value your feedback regarding the resort feeling being more like an Airbnb. At Papagayo Beach Club, we offer a range of accommodations to cater to different preferences and needs. Our villas are designed to provide families or groups of friends with a "home away from home" experience, complete with a fully equipped kitchen. We understand that this setup may give a more relaxed and independent atmosphere akin to Airbnb. However, we also have a hotel option available, which may better suit your taste and preference for a traditional resort experience. Also at the Resort, we have the Royal Suite and Presidential Suite, which offers luxurious accommodations with a higher level of service. These suites provide a more exclusive and pampering experience for our guests. Your feedback helps us to continually enhance and improve our services and facilities. We are committed to delivering a true resort experience to all our guests, and we take your input seriously as we work towards achieving that goal. We appreciate your valuable insights, and we invite you to explore our suites on your next visit, as they may align more closely with the experience you are seeking. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Papagayo Beach Resort in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RexProca wrote a review Jan 2020
The Hague, The Netherlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Papagayo resort is nicely located at the Janthiel area. Use of the beach area with free beach beds is included. Shady spots are however limited. The villas are nicely equipped with large verandas. The kitchen items do need some improvement.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo_C, Community Manager at Papagayo Beach Resort
Responded Feb 6, 2020
Dear RexProca, Many thanks for such a wonderful review! We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us! Do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of service to you (reservations@papagayo.com), as we look forward to welcoming you back to Curaçao & Papagayo Beach Resort! Warm regards, Team Papagayo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fritska wrote a review Jan 2024
Zeist, The Netherlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an excellent stay in the spacious villa. The villa has an open plan design with large folding doors that provide a connection with the outside environment. We enjoyed the spacious veranda. Jan Thiel beach is within walking distance, where we can use the beach beds at the Papagayo Beach club for free. Unfortunately, the availability of clean beach towels left much to be desired: they were frequent and the towels were old.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, General Manager at Papagayo Beach Resort
Responded Jan 10, 2024
Dear fritska, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay in our spacious villa. We're delighted to hear that you had an excellent experience and enjoyed the open plan design with large folding doors, creating a seamless connection with the outside environment. It's wonderful that you appreciated the spacious veranda and the proximity to Jan Thiel beach, allowing convenient access to the beach beds at Papagayo Beach Club. However, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience regarding the availability of clean beach towels. Your comments are valuable, and we will address this matter promptly to ensure a more satisfactory experience for our guests in the future. We appreciate your understanding and hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay, where we can provide an even more seamless and enjoyable experience. Warm regards, Papagayo Beach Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wijnen2018 wrote a review Nov 2023
Winterberg, Germany
1.0 of 5 bubbles
What a major disappointment, aside from the fact that the staff appears inexperienced and unqualified, the hotel is seriously outdated and poorly maintained (broken air conditioning, clogged sinks, peeling window frames). But the worst of it all is that you're being deceived.

We booked a "villa" with a sea view but could see nothing more than the immediate foliage against the terrace. Besides the mosquitoes it brought, it's also very annoying as you're paying for a sea view. They couldn't provide a solution, just promises like "we'll trim it immediately" (which still wouldn't bring a sea view), "the manager will call you back" (which, of course, never happened), and "we'll look into a solution" (even adjusting the rate for not delivering according to the agreement didn't happen).

A lot of lies, and up until departure, a complete comedy (reception empty for 10 minutes, receptionists only able to say "uh," and so on).

The only bright spot was the gatekeeper at the barrier who was ready to help with changing the flat tire. I wouldn't recommend booking this faded glory with mismanagement.

Look for something else, Papagayo is done, and I strongly discourage it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Get a new staff, renovate the whole complex and deliver what you offer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, General Manager at Papagayo Beach Resort
Responded Dec 4, 2023
Dear wijnen2018, We extend our deepest apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay at our resort. Your feedback is invaluable, and we genuinely regret that we fell short of meeting your expectations. We're truly sorry for any confusion regarding the villa's view. Our records indicated Villa 120 as an Ocean-view villa, and we made efforts, including trimming foliage, to enhance the view as per your concerns. However, we understand this didn't meet your expectations, and for that, we apologize. Regarding the reception incident during your departure, we deeply regret the inconvenience caused by the temporary absence of our staff. Your feedback highlights areas for improvement, and we'll reinforce our procedures to ensure that such situations are managed more effectively in the future. Additionally, we're disheartened to learn about the maintenance issues you encountered within the villa. Please rest assured that we're addressing these concerns immediately to uphold the standards we aim for. Your comments about our staff's professionalism and service are taken seriously. We'll conduct thorough training sessions to ensure our team delivers the level of service and expertise that our guests rightfully expect and deserve. We appreciate your recognition of the assistance from our gatekeeper and apologize that this positive interaction was overshadowed by the other aspects of your stay. We understand your decision to discourage others from visiting based on your experience, and we hope to regain your trust in the future. Your feedback will undoubtedly help us improve, and we sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you back for an experience that aligns with our high standards. Warm regards, Papagayo Beach Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jakob G wrote a review Apr 2022
Klampenborg, Denmark
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just stayed 9 days the resort in a 3 bedroom villa.

First the positive: The location is very good and the service is generally fine. The villas are nice and the layout with a living room that opens up to become part of the terrace is as such fine but is also means that it will be very warm to sit in the living room because there is no aircon.

The wifi was really fast.

The beach club is nice with a good pool but the food there is really bad (see below).

Then the negative:

The food both at the Beach Club and the restaurant by the pool is terrible.

The menus are fairly basic and traditional and should be difficult to mess up (burger, ceasar salad, sliders, fries, club sandwich etc) but nevertheless the food is not good.

The burger is tasteless with firm and dry beef (there is also a goat meat version that we did not try).

The club sandwich came with soft wet toast bread, greyish eggs and under cooked bacon. We were actually in doubt whether it could cause stomach issues to eat the sandwich and left most of it untouched.

The dressing for the ceasar salad only tastes of mayonnaise and the chicken is dry. Even the fries have a strange taste from the oil.

We spoke to other guests that was also not happy with the food. We did not try the breakfast but understand that it is not memorable.

Being at Jan Thiel it is also clear that the outside guests much prefer other eateries than the Beach Club (eg Zanzibar).

We would strongly recommended that the restaurant chef reevaluate the food and try to get the quality and taste up to a more suitable standard. It is a shame that an otherwise nice resort is let completely down by the food.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Take the trip to Klein Curacao with Blue Finn (catamaran)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, Marketing at Papagayo Beach Resort
Responded Apr 21, 2022
Dear jakobg281, Many thanks for taking the time to post your online review. We're glad you enjoyed your clean and quiet accommodations and our location was perfect with a variety of good restaurants and attractions. We appreciate you pointing out not only what you liked, but also the areas where the extra effort on our part is needed. We are sorry you experienced these issues. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Thanks again, we hope you will choose us the next time you visit Curacao. Best regards, Team Papagayo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DanielaAndres_Viajes wrote a tip Jul 4
San Jose, Costa Rica8 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own Starlink."
Read full review
JS wrote a tip Jun 2024
Cartagena, Colombia3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sitting on the balcony or having the wall open is a must because of the heat so bring mosquito repellent. The beds have mosquito nets. "
Read full review
Edwald D wrote a tip Jun 2024
Sittard, The Netherlands3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pico poco and enjoy"
Read full review
Christine G wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not much to do with small children. Great for all adults!"
Read full review
Eli_FToronto wrote a tip May 2024
Toronto7 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would make sure you bring a ton of sunscreen as it is hot and the sun is strong. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Jan Thiel area.
PRICE RANGE
C$272 - C$549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
papagayo beach hotel
LOCATION
CaribbeanCuraçaoJan Thiel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Papagayo Beach Resort - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Papagayo Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Papagayo Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Jan Thiel Beach (0.2 km) and Out of the Blue (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Papagayo Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Papagayo Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Papagayo Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Papagayo Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Papagayo Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Papagayo Beach Club, Koko's Beach, and Tinto Bar Y Cocina.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Papagayo Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Papagayo Beach Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Papagayo Beach Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Papagayo Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Papagayo Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Papagayo Beach Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Nassau (6.8 km), Fort Beekenburg (1.9 km), and Fort Amsterdam (6.8 km).
All Jan Thiel HotelsJan Thiel Hotel DealsHotels near Papagayo Beach Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars