Papagayo Beach Hotel
Traveller (840)
Panorama at the Papagayo Beach Hotel
360
Panoramas (54)
Papagayo Beach Hotel
Videos (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#2 of 3 hotels in Jan Thiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Opened in 2013, the Papagayo Beach Hotel is the first of its kind on the island of Curaçao. Located in the vibrant Jan Thiel area, adjacent to Papagayo Beach Club this sprawling property looks out over the glittering Jan Thiel Bay, its manicured grounds in colorful contrast against its clean, white lines. The modern designed hotel has several outbuildings and a main building, which houses the lobby with an intimate bar and a colourful reception. The main building has rooms with views of the Jan Thiel Boulevard, the lobby with garden and the sea. The outbuildings are located in the beautiful garden overlooking the sea, the garden or both. The Papagayo Beach Hotel combines the comfort of spacious design hotel rooms with the services of a classic five-star hotel in an exclusive location directly by the sea.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Children's television networks
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Ski rentals
Snorkelling
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch, German
Hotel links
Special Offer:Direct Booking Benefit

Location

Kaya Ártiko, Jan Thiel Curaçao
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 79 out of 100
79
Aeropuerto Hato
16.1 km
See all flights
Flamingo Intl Airport
66.1 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles951 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Papagayo Beach Hotel offers spacious rooms with impressive views, which guests frequently admire, though cleanliness and noise have been points of contention. The service receives mixed reviews, with commendations for friendliness alongside criticisms for inefficiency. Travelers are charmed by the hotel's inviting atmosphere, but some find the rooms dimly lit. Its picturesque yet remote location is well-regarded, though a car rental is often recommended. While the hotel's cleanliness and amenities like pools and beach access are appreciated, the value proposition is questioned, especially with extra fees for services typically included.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
951Reviews32Q+A77Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 491
  • 259
  • 106
  • 64
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
M Y wrote a review Feb 2024
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I enjoyed my stay at the Papagayo Beach Hotel, I met an amazing woman Rougenka. She helped us with the checking, explained everything very well and also at the check-out she was there to help us.

Without far Rougenka was kind, helpfull and always was smiling. After the check-out Rougenka checked the rooms, where we forgot a luggage and she was running back to us at the moment we where leaving!

We are very gratefull for her help, hospitality and kindness!

We cannot wait to comeback, and we sure will, and hope to meet Rougenka and her colleageus again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The poeple who Works at the Papagayo Beach Hotel where amazing, specially Rougenka, they made our...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, General Manager at Papagayo Beach Hotel
Responded Feb 9, 2024
Dear M Y, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Papagayo Beach Hotel! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Rougenka made such a positive impact on your visit. It's fantastic to know that she provided excellent assistance during your check-in and check-out, going above and beyond to ensure you had a smooth and enjoyable experience. We are incredibly proud to have Rougenka as part of our team, and we will be sure to pass on your kind words to her and her colleagues. Your appreciation for Rougenka's help, hospitality, and kindness truly warms our hearts. We can't wait to welcome you back to Papagayo Beach Hotel, and we look forward to the opportunity to make your next stay just as memorable. Until then, take care and safe travels! Warm regards, Team Papagayo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashley K wrote a review Apr 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the best experience! This was a huge resort with everything you could ask for on site (including scuba and jet ski). All of the staff throughout the resort were excellent. We saw everyone daily so got to know all the staff and they were beyond hospitable and always provided excellent service. Even the security guards (at parking and at pool entrance) were always helpful and always made us feel safe and welcomed. The entire team at Papagayo was incredible (extra thank you to Chompi at the desk and Faynton at the pool bar). The resort had so many restaurant options on site and in walking distance along the beach and along the street. There were even popular night clubs and live music in short walking distance along beach. On property is a classic infinity pool and then also a large salt water infinity pool. Papagayo gave us beach passes to Jan Thiel beach, very short walk and very nice beach. And the hotel provided huge beach towels with a beach bag, exchanging dirty towels for new ones daily. We booked an ocean view, the room was huge and large balcony with view- had everything and more (note they have European plugs so need adapter- luckily front desk had 1 adapter for us to borrow). Papagayo made our visit to Curaçao relaxed and all inclusive- we will be back!! Thank you to the entire team at Papagayo!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: European plugs (desk had adaptor but would also recommend to bring )
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, General Manager at Papagayo Beach Hotel
Responded Apr 3, 2023
Dear ashleykP4227UG, Many thanks for such a wonderful review. We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that all our staff was friendly and caring about your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back to Curaçao & Papagayo Beach Hotel! Warm regards, Papagayo Beach Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Rob V wrote a review Nov 2021
Zuid-Scharwoude, The Netherlands
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The famous name of Papagayo did not fulfill to our expectations. We expected, especially after the difficult Corona period more and better service. We experienced a lack of employees during breakfast and at the beach bar and cleaning of the room was mostly only end of the afternoon. Almost all times there hang a sewagesmell when you entered the beach from your hotelroom and we also smelled it from our balcony.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, Marketing at Papagayo Beach Hotel
Responded Nov 4, 2021
Dea Rob V, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share this review. We will use your feedback to make the necessary adjustments to our service. We look forward to you having a more pleasant experience during your next stay. Best regards, Team Papagayo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trina R wrote a review Sep 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband went over and above to plan the perfect 50th birthday trip for me and it has been anything but perfect. We arrived at the hotel Wednesday afternoon around 2 p.m. to discover the hotel had an electrical fire which apparently caused a lot of chaos among the staff. It was all downhill upon check-in. The internet was down due to the fire so staff was reading from print-outs. Although "surprise" was written on the paper, the staff literally ruined every single thing my husband had planned for me. On my actual birthday my room was supposed to be decorated while we were at the Spa getting massages, but of course that did not happen. My husband was so disappointed that all of his time spent planning went down the drain. He even spoke directly with the manager Juron (?), but apparently customer service is not his main concern. I completely understand that some situations were out of their hands due to the fire, but their damage control was awful. In a service industry customer service is always the priority and the overall service at Papagayo was substandard.

First off, the hotel did not provide washcloths for our entire stay. They initally blamed the fire and the inability to wash the towels, but I have never stayed at a hotel that did not provide washcloths. The pool towel bag that should have been in our room upon arrival was not there so we had to request pool towels from the bar. We subsequently went back to the front desk to request a towel bag and "explain" that we never received one. Remember due to the fire the phones were out of service so we could not simply contact the front desk for anything. We either had to walk to the front desk or settle. But who wants to keep settling for what was supposed to be a beautiful trip? On Friday our room did not get cleaned even after I specifically told the front desk staff (when requesting the pool bag) that we were out of the room and it needed to be cleaned. Saturday morning when I looked inside the towel bag I noticed the welcome packet that we had not received. The packet contained a lot of necessary hotel and area info, but we had already been there 2 1/2 days. The internet was down the first 3 days which again was out of their control, but only added to our frustration. The beds are soft, lumpy and uncomfortable. On our 5th day, housekeeping finally made the bed so that the sheets would at least reach our neck. Oh and the pool closes at 7 p.m. which was also strange very strange to me.

In all fairness the staff is incredibly nice and I do have every single name of staff that went over and above and the very few staff that didn’t. Again, I can honestly say the staff is nice and tried to be accommodating, but there seems to be some misaligned processes or managerial issues. Unfortunately I can not recommend this hotel especially not for a special occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, General Manager at Papagayo Beach Hotel
Responded Oct 4, 2022
Dear Voyager782583, We apologize for the problems with your wife's Birthday surprise, indeed we had an incident in the hotel that altered our system and processes. We know how frustrating this can be and are so sorry for the inconvenience, we always want to serve our guests with the highest levels and we failed in this case. The reason why one of our managers went personally to apologize to you... We are working with our team to address these issues. We appreciate your comments and hope you will return to stay with us on your next visit to the city. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Papagayo Beach Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thomas O wrote a review Oct 2021
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is luxurious and the service is very good!
We stayed in the ‘ocean front’ room, which had a beautiful view on the ocean and sunset. The room was clean and was cleaned every day.

Less good was the toilet smell outside when you walked to the beach/pool. This was also at our balcony.
Also the Jan Thiel bay was way too crowded imo. You need to make a reservation in time for a good beach bed and for a good place in the restaurants. For the price you pay for Papagayo I expect that a proper place at the beach or pool would be arranged automatically.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, Marketing at Papagayo Beach Hotel
Responded Nov 4, 2021
Dear thomasoN286JN, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share this review. We will use your feedback to make the necessary adjustments to our service. We look forward to you having a more pleasant experience during your next stay. Best regards, Team Papagayo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jdk100 wrote a review Sep 2022
Silver Spring, Maryland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel staff is nice. However, my room stunk like bad body odor/bodily functions. Hotel checked but said they couldn’t find anything. Two nights later I got a whiff of the comforter. It smelled horrible. Also, there was no mattress pad cover, just two sheets on top of the mattress. It felt very unsanitary. And there was no sheet between my body and the comforter. Needless to say I was grossed out every night. I asked for another sheet and they brought it but the next day it was gone. I used American Express points and because of that I wasn’t afforded a minibar and my room was smaller than my friends even though we paid the same amount (I just used points). They also charge you a $25 deposit for everything including your room key. I was not impressed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Check the room for cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, General Manager at Papagayo Beach Hotel
Responded Oct 4, 2022
Dear jdk100 Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. We apologize that you didn't find the price in line with your expectations. We review our amenities regularly and I have taken good note of your comments. Thanks again, we hope you will choose us the next time you visit the island. Sunny regards, Papagayo Beach Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angry_of_Antwerp wrote a review Jun 2022
Antwerp, Belgium
1.0 of 5 bubbles
You know the feeling instantly when you have truly made an error in choosing your hotel and I'm afraid that's how we felt when arriving at the Papagayo Beach Hotel. My wife's first reaction was, let's find another hotel. Unfortunately it was in so-called high season and we could literally only find one other room at the Van De Valk Kontiki Hotel, and for that we would have had to pay again for the room and board as the Papagayo does not refund your costs, so beware!
Sorry to say, but our first impression was that it really is, and I didn't think they existed anymore, an 18-30s hotel full of tattooed youngsters (we felt a little weird not being able to display a single tattoo between us), loud music pretty much everywhere you go, and our first evening meal was punctuated with the sounds of "5,6,7,8... Salsa" loudly in the back ground. And this hotel was billed as a quiet one. I would hate to think what a noisy one is like, so travel agents please take note.
And don't be fooled by the photos. as this private beach hotel has open public access, so there will be you and dozens, no, cancel that, hundreds and thousands, lying side by side. If I had wanted that I would have saved my money and gone to the Costa Del Sol. Shorter flight and the wine's cheaper!
On the positive side, the staff were great (I'm afraid I can only include all the staff in the restaurant in this comment, as those at the front desk were sour and relatively disinterested and the bar staff could barely understand me and were thoroughly inattentive and more content to talk to each other than wait on customers), food was passable, room was relatively quiet (as quiet as a hotel room can be, anyway) and the management were kind enough to send us a bottle of prosecco for our anniversary, so that was a small redeeming gesture.
So please be careful what you wish for on Curaçao. Having come from an idyllic place in Bonaire which we would recommend without fail (take a bow, the Harbour Village. Now that's one we highly recommend ) the Papagayo Beach Hotel was a let-down and honestly we couldn't wait for the end of our stay there. If we could have gotten back on a Divi Divi flight back to Bonaire and stayed again with the good people of the Harbour Village, we would have done so in a heart beat. Sadly we could not and had to grin and bear it at the Papagayo for a week.
I, for one, was never so happy to get on our Air Belgium (another great product by the way) flight to Belgium and home... and I really hate flying!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't choose a room at the Papagayo!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, Marketing at Papagayo Beach Hotel
Responded Jun 23, 2022
Dear Angry_of_Antwerp, Thank you for making Papagayo Beach Hotel a part of your anniversary. It’s a pleasure knowing you had an enjoyable experience and that our convenient location and helpful associates made it even more memorable. We offer options to our guests, that's why our Hotel pool never has music but only the infinity pool at Papagayo's beach Resort, that way they can choose if they prefer a chill place or a place with more ambiance. We take comments like yours very seriously, so we are looking into where we went wrong and making changes to our processes to better serve our guests. Thank you again for choosing us for your stay. We would welcome an opportunity to accommodate you once more and earn your highest marks. We look forward to welcoming you back to Curaçao & Papagayo Beach Hotel Warm regards, Papagayo Beach Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
C S wrote a review Apr 2024
Nashville, Tennessee
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a challenging review for me to write. I write honest and objective reviews, reflecting the overall experience positively. However, this review will NOT be positive. Still, it will give the reader an honest perspective of the property and the overall atmosphere of the area. Papagayo Hotel is a part of a conglomerate in the Jan Theil area of Curacao. The hotel is a modern structure with a beautiful infinity pool, the main highlight. We booked a room with two double beds. However, they gave us a room with a King, which they separated to make two twin beds. Also, the electrical outlets are European; this should be mentioned on their website. The front desk will "give" you one adapter per room but stresses not to lose it, or there will be a charge. On another note, they only provide ONE room key card per room. You can get another one for a charge. The Beach Club restaurant is severely overpriced for the quality of its food. A recurring theme is the QR code the staff throughout the resort ask you to scan to give them great reviews while they stand over you. There is no Concierge to assist with booking tours. Again, they suggest you use a QR code for a tour company whose website is non-functional.
There is a supermarket and a small plaza next to the hotel. The service at both was not customer-friendly. Particularly the boutique named the Walk-In Closet. Very rude. Renting a car is a must. Taxi service to almost anywhere on the island from the hotel is costly. Lastly, I thought I might be overreacting until I read some other reviews about the Jan Theil area, but there is an undercurrent of racism. I did not feel welcomed by the primarily Dutch staff; I felt tolerated. I do not write this lightly, but I strongly encourage anyone considering staying at the hotel to reconsider. This experience has soured me from ever wanting to revisit this island.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Beach is rocky, bring water shoes. Restaurants are pricey. Rent a car if you want to leave the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, General Manager at Papagayo Beach Hotel
Responded Apr 6, 2024
Thank you for sharing your feedback, cs593. We appreciate your honesty and understand your concerns. Regarding the electricity outlets, we apologize for any inconvenience caused. We strive to provide all the necessary information on our website, including the fact that the outlets are European-style 220V power outlets. We will review our website to ensure this information is even more visible for our guests. We are deeply saddened to hear about your experience with our staff and the racism comments. We want to assure you that diversity and inclusion are core values at Papagayo Beach Hotel. Our team is very diverse, consisting of locals, Dutch, Latin, and various other backgrounds. We do not tolerate discrimination in any form, and we will address this matter internally to ensure that all guests feel welcomed and respected during their stay. We regret that your overall experience did not meet your expectations, and we apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our services for future guests. Sunny regards, Team Papagayo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
happytravler79 wrote a review May 2024
Orlando, Florida
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Lacking promised amenities, could a be 5 if managed properly. Check in was at 3pm didn't get to the room until 4:30, they just started cleaning the room at 3:30 pm, I knew they were going to overlook things. Pro: Beach club Con: No one actually serving you while sitting by the pool,when you go to the bar, bartenders are rude. Pro: Beach towels Con: Never any Beach towels, no matter what time of day. Order more towels, period. Pro: Mini fridge Con: no microwave. Pro: Beach view balcony, quite large. Con: if you're in the bed, they the TV literally blocking the view, just an awkward lay out. Also there are buildings and unkempt palm trees kind of obstructing as well Pro: ice bucket as small as it may be. CON: you have to go to the front desk to get ice, if you're closer to the water it's quite a uphill walk. The bed is extremely uncomfortable, didn't sleep well at all. The linens don't fit the bed, The mattress pad they have bed is thin and slides off, the tiny pillows that originally were on the bed are the awful kind, where the filling separates when you lay your head on it. The sheets feel like sand is on them, I even used my lint roller, it was like rolling around on sand paper. I did speak to management, they sent better pillows, why those are the standard pillow for the hotel is crazy. They have shower gels in the shower, but they were empty the whole week we were there. They tried to fix the mattress issue, didn't do any good. Doors slamming all hours of the day and night, echoing, LOUD,I cannot express enough, if you are light to medium sleeper it is rough. The A/C wasn't too bad which was a plus and a little grocery store was in really close proximity. The restaurant was very good, there are other restaurants right there you can walk to,OK, but they weren't much better. I would not recommend this hotel nor would I return. It's just being poorly managed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: This side of the island has alot more traffic and can really get congested. April 27th is a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, General Manager at Papagayo Beach Hotel
Responded May 7, 2024
Dear happytraveler79, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are truly sorry to hear about the challenges you encountered during your stay with us. Your comments are important to us, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We regret that you had to wait longer than expected for your room to be cleaned upon arrival. Please know that we are actively working to improve our check-in process to ensure a smoother experience for our guests in the future. We also apologize for any issues regarding the availability of beach towels and the inconvenience of having to go to the front desk for ice. Your feedback regarding the comfort of the bed and the layout of the room is valuable, and we will use it to make necessary improvements to enhance our guests' experiences. Regarding the private event, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. While we strive to inform our guests in advance of any events or disruptions, there are times when last-minute changes occur. We appreciate your understanding in this matter. Our team ensured that your bed would be improved so you could have a better sleep; we also granted you a Resort Credit to use at both the Papagayo Beach Club and the Specialty Restaurant, and we hope you will enjoy your dinner. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant and the proximity to other dining options. However, we understand that your overall experience fell short of your expectations, and for that, we sincerely apologize. We truly value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to provide you with a more enjoyable stay. Sunny regards, Team Papagayo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RENG6869 wrote a review Sep 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Thanks for the free room update Papagayo. We really enjoyed our stay. Overall 4****+, we think one of the best hotels in Curacao. Room for improvements: that bad sewage smell at the beach/beach front rooms seems to be a big problem, investments needed to fix this. Every day late room cleaning between 16-18hrs is really annoying.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Papagayo Curacao, Marketing at Papagayo Beach Hotel
Responded Oct 7, 2021
Dear RENG6869, It was our pleasure hosting you at Papagayo Beach Hotel. We are thrilled to know our convenient location and outstanding hospitality helped make your stay a memorable one. Your feedback is of utmost value to us as it will help us to improve. We appreciate your business and hope to be your first choice every time you all visit our area. Best regards, Team Papagayo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
damaris1748 asked a question Mar 2023
The Netherlands26 contributions2 helpful votes
Is the breakfast buffet good value ?
Answer from Rebecca A
Hi Family Wiegman, Yes it is very easy to commute from the hotel to willemstad with the Bus. with costs about $3 per person.
Sunshine609349 asked a question Feb 2022
Detroit, Michigan1 contribution3 helpful votes
how are you able to get your bags to your room if there is no elevator
Answer from Papagayo_C
Willemstad, Curaçao2 helpful votes
One of the buildings, the lobby view has an elevator. The rest of the buildings have stairs but we have personnel ready to help our guests.
Holly C asked a question Dec 2019
Washington DC, District of Columbia2 contributions4 helpful votes
What is the best way to get to the hotel from the airport. Is renting a car very necessary at this location?
Answer from Papagayo_C
Willemstad, Curaçao2 helpful votes
You can rent a car or a Taxi. It depends on your plans, if you're planning to explore the island, definitely you will need a car. If you're planning to spend your days relaxing by the pool/beach and just walking around Jan Thiel, then just grab a taxi.
François P asked a question Jul 2019
Enschede, The Netherlands77 contributions48 helpful votes
Can you use the beach and lounge chairs (for a fee of course) if you are not staying at the hotel?
Answer from Papagayo_C
Willemstad, Curaçao2 helpful votes
If you are not staying at our Hotel or Resort you can still spend a day at Papagayo Beach Club. At the entrance of Jan Thiel Beach you pay an entrance fee of ANG 6,- and at Papagayo Beach Club you can choose between a regular sun-lounger (ANG 10,-) or you make it a really special beach day on our VIP bed cabana. (ANG 100,- including bottle of water, fruit platter in the morning and snack platter in the afternoon)
Elma K wrote a tip Jun 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is really a pity the resort guests can’t use the “private pool” from the hotel, for the guests hotel and resort is the same premises "
Read full review
Climber51056027834 wrote a tip May 2024
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is only a 2-lane road into this part of the island. Expect traffic delays going either direction, depending on the time of day. (Sitting in traffic right now)"
Read full review
DrQ wrote a tip May 2024
Rotterdam, The Netherlands8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy drinks ate the beach club and have a talk with the staff"
Read full review
Rosemarie A wrote a tip May 2024
Staten Island, New York55 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is next to Zanzibar Beach, which hosts many events! Zest is a great beachside restaurant and cafe. Tintos is a very romantic and perfect sunset dinner spot."
Read full review
Vincent W wrote a tip May 2024
Harrisburg, North Carolina186 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own beach towel and bug spray. Also wash rags are uncommon they use hand towels for bathing. Cabs are pricey to downtown and food locations but worth it."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Jan Thiel area.
PRICE RANGE
C$222 - C$327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanCuraçaoJan Thiel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
155
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Papagayo Beach Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Papagayo Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Papagayo Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Jan Thiel Beach (0.3 km) and Out of the Blue (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Papagayo Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Papagayo Beach Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Papagayo Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Papagayo Beach Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Papagayo Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Papagayo Beach Club, Koko's Beach, and Tinto Bar Y Cocina.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Papagayo Beach Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Papagayo Beach Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Papagayo Beach Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Papagayo Beach Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Papagayo Beach Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Papagayo Beach Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Nassau (7.0 km), Fort Beekenburg (1.7 km), and Fort Amsterdam (7.1 km).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars