We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Horse Inn

Agoda.comUS$82*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$95*
US$82*
Great Deal
US$95*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Black Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

525 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 525: English reviews
Start your review of Black Horse Inn
 Click to rate
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a delicious meal here recently to celebrate a belated mothers day with family. The food as always was delicious, good portion of Sunday lunch with plenty of veg etc. The décor in the restaurant is cute with bunting and gingham chairs, tastefully done, Moving on to desert (a must) all of our deserts were delicious and well presented.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abb1ehannah
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Our Sunday lunch is a very popular experience. I am a Yorkshire pudding snob and ours really do tick the box. So glad you enjoyed your visit I shall let the Chefs know. As for our décor. There is a plethora of words to describe it and I think it is cute too. Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Tyne & Wear
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

The Black Horse Inn is an old country pub with rooms, but is not all dark wood and red carpets as is often the case. It was very tastefully decorated with a modern and light twist. I really loved the decor. On arrival we were met by a chirpy lady who took us to our room, Kauto Star. What a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cugs22
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

What a detailed review. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Dating back to late 16th century the Black Horse has been around for a few years. We definitely are not everyones cup of tea but those who like our décor are delighted with their stay. Glad the baked beans were appreciated...... my Chef giggled at that comment. Please...

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have used the Black Horse regularly for a number of years and unfortunately the overall experience gets worse with time. Whilst the rooms remain quirky, odd and wonderfully 'Alice in wonderland' (superbly comfortable and clean) the food seems to have been in steady decline for the last 2 years. The breakfast is almost always poorly cooked with hard inedible...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback which we totally encourage, however I cannot say I am nothing but mystified by your comments. The Black Horse is very well supported but our regular customers and we are very grateful for this. As you will see by previous customer comments the standard of food we serve continues to delight both our old and...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We called in to the Black Horse Inn by chance on Good Friday and we're welcomed by the staff with a cheery smile and open arms. I won't tell you what I ordered off the menu, however, it was one of the best meals I have had in a long time, piping hot and cooked to perfection. My wife's meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Happy Easter to you. I trust you had a good one. Fred and Ginger are presently on a sabbatical (voluntary work in Zimbabwe). You will be pleased to know that you are not the only ones who miss them. They keep in touch but are on an open ticket which is slightly worrying! Glad you enjoyed your meal. We have...

Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not much to say about this little gastro pub,,,but,,, if you've never been you're missing out ! A little bit off the beaten track but in my humble yet honest opinion one not to be missed out on. The rooms are quaint and well presented, a little awkward on check in (but maybe thats me) couldnt fault the evening staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barleychaser
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. A little off the beaten track ie 10 minutes from junction 51 on the A1M. Less than 60 minutes drive away from York, Newcastle, Durham, Leeds and Harrogate. We are located in a beautiful sleepy Yorkshire village in a very tranquil location. We get a lot of repeat visitors from people breaking their journey north/south....

Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved this place. Have been several times for Sunday lunch and decided to try an overnight stay. The room was spacious and well presented. We decided to eat in the very nice bar area as opposed to the restaurant. Food was excellent

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dav1dmorton
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Lovely to receive your feedback. So glad your enjoyed your stay. The menu is the same throughout but we can provide two very different atmosphere depending if you eat in the bar or restaurant. Do come and visit again soon.

kinster
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Gorgeous accommodation (the only negative I can say was the bathroom floor was VERY slippy!). The staff were lovely and welcoming. The food was outstanding and the breakfast yummy. Well worth the money!! I would totally recommend a stay or a visit to eat.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kinster
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Our kitchen team are really rocking at the moment and it is great to see them receiving such fabulous feedback. All our bathrooms are provided with bath mates to ensure customer safety but I shall investigate further into your feedback. Please do visit again soon.

Beckenham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one evening. We were delighted with our room which was spacious, immaculately clean and had clearly been furnished by an expert in interior design, it was cosy and welcoming. My husband loved the quality of the ale and our supper was delicious. One of our highlights was having one of the best breakfasts we've had in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mdcarroll
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay. Our black pudding is infamous and really is the icing on the cake in terms of breakfast. You are right we are booking up well for the Summer thanks to all our great reviews o0n Trip advisor.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went on steak night. 2 steaks and a bottle of wine for £30. Fabulous cut of meat and cooked exactly as requested. Chunky chips and the works. Delicious. Lovely country pub would definitely recommend this for a nice occasion

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb_Ian1976
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your meal. Our steak night is incredibly good value for money and very popular with everyone.

Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found the Black Horse while on our way south in January. It was so lovely we had to go back in March for five nights. The decor (classy shabby-chic), comfy beds and the whole ambiance lends itself to a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. They have just thought of everything for your convenience and comfort, not to mention the really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pdsraf
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to look after you for the duration of your stay. I also glad you chose to stay for five nights. We are so ideally located to explore the North Yorkshire and you definately made the most of the opportunities.

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Fleetham
23.6 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
443 reviews
8.0 km away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
273 reviews
16.7 km away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
671 reviews
34.6 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
645 reviews
9.9 km away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Brompton
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Horse Inn is set in the heart of the village of Kirkby Fleetham, in the North Yorkshire countryside and benefits from free parking and free Wi-Fi. It also features a Bar, a Garden and a Restaurant. Each of the seven bedrooms have been decorated in neutral colours and boast shabby-chic furniture, a HD Flat-Screen TV and a small refrigerator with fresh orange juice, milk and water. The en suite bathrooms feature either a bath and/or a shower and complimentary H2K toiletries. Some bedrooms benefit from an in-room roll-top bath. Guest can relax in the bar or in the garden and the restaurant serves traditional British pub food, all prepared using regional ingredients. Black Horse Inn is just 10 minutes' drive from Catterick Racecourse and 40 minutes' drive from Yorkshire Dales National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Address: 7 Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkby Fleetham
Price Range: $152 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Horse Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and LateRooms so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Horse Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Limoges France
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Black Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great room, loads of space and lovely bathroom ”
dav1dmorton, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The bathroom floor was really slippy as was the flooring around the roll top bath in the room. Otherwise it was pretty much perfect! There are even ladies sanitary products in the room. Everything is thought of!”
kinster, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Shergar for aspect, size”
Sue&Ian, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Shergar (ground floor)”
Pauline267, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms in the annexe are great for those of us with creaky knees!”
Judy160, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$82* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$95
Priceline
TravelocityUS$95
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates