We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Black Horse Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Black Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Black Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 470: English reviews
York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Highly recommended by a friend & we weren't disappointed. This one night stay was a surprise for my partners birthday. The accommodation is first class & the rooms are named after racehorses. Ours was Kauto Star. The food excellent & the staff welcoming & friendly. The pub is set in a pretty & quiet location. The ideal place for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

The Black Horse is a very specail desination for a wedding, party, weekend escape etc. So glad you had a specail time with us.

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016

My wife and two grown up children decided to book a table at the Black horse for an evening meal and we were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and even had dog biscuits for our terrier and fussed over her. The food was amazing and so was the whole atmosphere, lovely beams showing and the whole place felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theredref
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Our local beer is Black Sheep and is very popular with both locals and visitors......its all to do with the Yorkshire Water!!!! So glad you had a good meal and thank you for the glowing recommendation

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Been going to the black horse inn now for over a year we found it on a off chance on a day out had my parents and my partners parents there, basically you can't fault it in anyway beautiful surroundings fantastic A+ food and great staff! Perfect for your Sunday lunch!! Everyone try it you'll be more than happy!! Xx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CBH38
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Fantastic from the off. Staff were so helpful . Beautiful quaint bedrooms. Food to definitely die for.Will be looking forward to coming back. Thankyou!!! The children loved it and really enjoyed the homemade chicken nuggets.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cpritchard1
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

We are a very unique destination and take a lot of pride in what we do. Many thanks for your great feedback it means so much to us and has a very positive impact on futre customers decision making. Hope to welcome you all back shortly

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

One night away dbb. Staff very friendly and provide a relaxing atmosphere which makes you feel like nothing too much trouble. The room was of a good size with a large walk in shower and beautiful roll top bath. Good toiletries! Dinner was of a fantastic quality with a good range to select from. Very tasty! Breakfast was large and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drdavina
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many many thanks for this priceless recommendation

Askrigg, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Met friends here for lunch. It was our first experience of the Black Horse and we heard they had a new, young, head chef, so we really couldn't rely on previous reviews. We need not have worried. The food was fabulous, lots of choice, including a daily (very reasonably priced) 'Market' menu. Tristan (said head chef) took the trouble to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 597ian
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

WOW indeed. What a lovely review to receive. Thank you it was our pleasure.

Darlington
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Back yet again for a fab lunch with some friends. Nice table in the bar. Great pint of Black Sheep followed by a superb lunch. For me; whitebait followed by calves liver. The Stilton soup looked really good. Homemade chips. Yum Yum. Great atmosphere; lovely staff and a sensible price. Plenty of car parking; outside seating; it's the place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teesdalepark
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your cracking review. The Bar team put a lot of effort in to ensuring the beer and all its equipment is looked after to the highest possible standards and take immense pride in its quality. We have a new chef who has joined the team here recently. You ate off the Market Menu which is proving highly...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I stayed in a french style room on the ground floor and I couldn't have been happier. There were so many little touches that made the stay special and me feel welcome. A wonderful bath with Molton Brown products and a very comfy bed added to the stay. I also had my own little garden which was an added bonus....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyMD
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

What priceless feedback. We try very hard to ensure the Black Horse is a relaxing and comfortable environemnt for all our guests. So pleased you had an enjoyable stay and have given us such a glowing recommendation on Tripadvisor.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We stayed here on our way back north from the south of England. The rooms are very well set out and had lovely touches like homemade shortbread, drinks in mini fridge etc. Felt more like staying at a friends house than a hotel. The family room was a great size with nice comfy beds. The food and drink in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corneilious101
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

It was lovely meeting you and your family. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The family room is ideal for a family of 4. The additional room for the children just offers that touch of privacy which is often much apprecaited. Due to our great location 10 minutes off the A1(M) we benefit greatly from passing trade. Do...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We booked in for 2 nights recently and found our room was lovely, the staff were very friendly and the food was great. We ate there both nights and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Breakfast was freshly cooked each day by the lovely Rosie. I would thoroughly recommend staying here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clare_wyatt
Rosie B, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Oh bless you. Thats a great recommendation. Hope to see you again shortly.

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Fleetham
8.0 km away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
245 reviews
23.6 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
418 reviews
39.3 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#15 of 31 in Harrogate
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
608 reviews
10.3 km away
The Castle Arms Inn
The Castle Arms Inn
#1 of 14 in Bedale
278 reviews
4.3 km away
Greyhound Inn
Greyhound Inn
#7 of 14 in Bedale
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Horse Inn is a beautiful, charming village inn in Kirkby Fleetham with Five Star AA Rated Rooms and a Two AA Rosette Restaurant, in the Hambleton District of North Yorkshire, which resides between the North York Moors & Yorkshire Dales National Parks. Offering seven en-suite bedrooms with flat-screen TVs, regional real ales and modern British food. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Address: 7 Lumley Lane, Kirkby Fleetham DL7 0SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirkby Fleetham
Price Range: $113 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Horse Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Horse Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Limoges France
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Black Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“some of the rooms are in a seperate building , which is where we stayed and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Dutchy001, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Beware of the room fridge which goes on and off all night, but a great bath in the room”
 of 5 bubbles davidgY3117NM, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Shergar room is great, on ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 824TeresaG, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“i believe the downstairs is slightly bigger but we were in the Desert Orchid and it had a roll top bath in the bedroom”
 of 5 bubbles MellyJane15, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for the annexe area esp.Shergar suite if you have a dog”
 of 5 bubbles 746daveh, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay