We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Barcelo Ixtapa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 811: English reviews
KC, USA
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Please note my "very good" overall rating. This resort is showing its age, especially in the rooms, so if you are looking for "luxury" this is not the place for you. However, in my opinion the outstanding service of everyone we came in contact with combined with the functionality and good condition of the common areas more than made up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelem
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were at Barcelo Ixtapa over the Christmas Holidays. There was a big group of us together on a family trip. I am going to break up this review into sections to make it easier to follow. Dining: Although there were not many great options for food at the indoor lunch and dinner buffet, the outdoor buffet made up for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lizzykay2017
Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrive in Ixtapa in 60 days for the month of March 2017 for the 10th time, and for all those times we never had anything to complain about, Here are a few suggestions, do not come a week before Easter to a week after Easter, Mexico shuts down at this time and the hotel is at 100% capacity. Arrive...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Rick B
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Rick B Thank you for making our Barceló Ixtapa your choice hotel again and for your very kind recommendation to the travel community of Tripadvisor, this positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards. On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a week at this hotel with our two teenagers from Dec 27 to Jan 3 2017. Although we were a little disappointed initially by the overall look of the hotel, it turned out to be a very pleasant stay. The common spaces of the hotel, such as the main restaurant,the lobby, the hallways are old and need major...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ginacovi
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Ginacovi: Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Ixtapa. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and...

Vancouver
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Trip advisor note: we only stay at Barcelo resort while on vacations because of their high standards. This review is not kind and only day one. Place: Ixtapa Barcelo Our trip: Having had this planned for months, we upgraded to the highest level we could get...the gubernatorial suite. Day one: Arriving at the hotel, we head to,the premium check in....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Tom F
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for bringing up to our attention the feedback of your recent stay at Barceló Ixtapa. Please rest assured that we have put special attention to your comments and corrective actions have been taken to improve our services and attentions. We hope you may give us the opportunity to regain your confidence towards Barceló Ixtapa in a...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They have an antiquated air conditioning unit that is so loud! You would think a national chain would have enough money to replace air conditioning. People come to the beach to enjoy themselves, not to deal with this kind of noise.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank FrequentFlyerMiles
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in Barceló Ixtapa hotel. We are very sorry to read the disturbances caused by the air conditionning unit in your room and not being immediately informed as we would have been able to send a technician and have it repaired in...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely nothing premium about this hotel. What they call premium is worst than any other regular hotel. Of course they charge as if it really was, don't get fooled by it. Rooms are super old, elevators make weird noises plus they are super loud and you can listen them running all night. Food is terrible! We had to go out...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Guillermo J
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Guillermo J Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay at the Barceló Ixtapa, we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion, as it helps us identify areas for improvement and act immediately in order to improve our clients' experience in the future . Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations regarding our...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed there for almost one week (6 days) with my family, it was an unexpected trip, but everything came out well during the reservation, but when we got there, there were a couple of things they need to change ASAP, which I`ll explain by areas. Reception-concierge-premium lounge-Lobby At the front desk they treat you better as a premium, when...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lexira
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Lexira We appreciate your feedback after your recent visit. As we always try to improve, your feedback is crucial to our future success. We have taken note of your comments and truly felt that you did not feel sufficiently taken care of at check-in. Our team works daily to offer the best possible service so that our guests feel...

Denver, Co
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I stayed here the week of 11.21.16, and the check in process was less than good. There was a ton of confusion and we were supposed to be on the 10th floor, however there weren't any room so we got stuck on the 1st floor for 2 nights. The rooms on the 1st floor are not only loud as hell,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mimithomp
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Mimithomp Thank you for the review related to your recent stay at Barceló Ixtapa. We are very sorry that you did not had a great experience as expected. Rest assured that we will put special attention to your feedback in order to improve our services and have the opportunity to regain your confidence and goodwill when your travels...

san diego
Reviewed 25 November 2016

I stayed there September 11th-16th, it was amazing!! Weather was great no one at the hotel until the day before El Grito. From the hotel you can walk on the beach and rent jet skis, para sail, and play vollyball or soccer. The Hotel is located very close to everything you want to do. They also have a great staff...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank djf9065
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Djf9065, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to share your recent holiday experience at our Barceló Ixtapa hotel and we thank you for your kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers. On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotel´s main strength we will definitely...

1,598 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (958)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (182)
Viewed
Dining (90)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (151)
Viewed
View from Room (110)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Other (306)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (620)
Viewed
Amenities (152)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Dining (145)
Viewed
Second Pool (13)
Viewed
Suite Gobernador (73)
Viewed
Suite Ixtapa King (87)
Viewed
Superior Oceanfront Club Premium (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.6 km away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.8 km away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#21 of 24 in Ixtapa
615 reviews
0.4 km away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#6 of 24 in Ixtapa
622 reviews
1.0 km away
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
5.1 km away
Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Barcelo Ixtapa***** is located in the heart of Ixtapa, right on "El Palmar" beach, one of the most attractive destinations in Mexico. It is the ideal place to go on family holidays, celebrate romantic weddings, organize successful business meetings and also to spend an unforgettable honeymoon. The Barcelo Ixtapa***** hotel offers a convenient way to enjoy your holidays and experience the Barcelo All Inclusive program. It also offers the perfect location for those guests wanting to experience excursions to other parts of Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barcelo Ixtapa

Address: Boulevard Ixtapa, s/n, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort)
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Price Range: $216 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo and Priceline so you can book your Barcelo Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Hotel Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barcelo Ixtapa staff and other travellers.
76 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (76)

Questions? Get answers from Barcelo Ixtapa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Premier Room upgrade well worth the cost”
 of 5 bubbles kelem, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“4th floor or higher”
 of 5 bubbles rickb410, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a nice view on the beach from our room”
 of 5 bubbles Ginacovi, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“This property has seen its days. Barcelo quality control is slacking off on this one.”
 of 5 bubbles TomFarrell2014, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get the premium rooms, they have a better view and are more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles lexira, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay