Damson Dene Hotel

Damson Dene Hotel

View from the bar area
Traveller (1408)
Panorama of the Indoor Pool at the Damson Dene Hotel
360
Panoramas (5)
Marks on bed frame
Room & Suite (350)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Crosthwaite
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel near Bowness on Windermere does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Damson Dene Hotel, a nice option for travellers like you. As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV, and getting online is easy, with free internet access available. Guests have access to our Heron View Restaurant, dog friendly bar and room service while staying at Damson Dene. In addition, Damson Dene offers a pool and free breakfast, which will help make your Crosthwaite trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests. Damson Dene Hotel puts the best of Crosthwaite at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Banquet room
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitEngland.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles3,056 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled near Lake Windermere, Damson Dene Hotel has been lauded for its exceptional value, offering satisfying dining options at reasonable prices. Guests consistently commend the hotel's spotless cleanliness and the serene, well-equipped amenities, including cozy cabins and leisure facilities, even as some areas await enhancements. The friendly staff and their outstanding service contribute to the hotel's warm and inviting atmosphere, complete with inviting log fires. While the comfortable rooms are generally appreciated, there are occasional mentions of dated decor.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
3,056Reviews46Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,460
  • 1,041
  • 331
  • 126
  • 98
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Donna S wrote a review Feb 2020
Blackpool, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just spent a lovely 2 nights at the Damson Dene Hotel.

Me, hubby, 8 year old son and our dog.

We had a nice spacious room which had a double, and 2 singles, it was nice that one single bed was in a little separate area so that little one could settle into bed away for our light.

We were told on booking that it was busy that weekend and our room overlooked the rooftop and not a usual country view, it was nice to be informed beforehand.

The bathroom was nice enough although the toilet is strangely close to the sink, uncomfortably close, ...maybe a smaller sink top would solve the issue?

It was nice to have a little bath and over top shower, however the shower was more of a dribble and has no pressure at all.

The facilities in the room are lovely, ambient lighting, comfy beds, nice and warm but with the option of turning the heating down too.

The room was cleaned and fresh towels, refreshments and toiletries all replished.

The hotel itself is lovely, really nice, soooooo relaxing. The staff are absolutely fantastic, we were all made to feel really welcome, they seemed happy and nothing was too much trouble.

Unlike many places the pooches are welcomed in many parts of the hotel. The restaurant is out of bounds but there is a lovely lounge with a big roaring fire and seats you sink into and relax.

The bar area is nice and bright with lovely views looking over the garden, dogs are allowed there too.

The staff are fantastic, the bar is well stocked. We ate in the bar, the food was lovely with generous portion sizes.

The breakfast each morning, we ate in the bar area, so we had lovely views, others with their pets were there too, so we didnt feel excluded, the breakfast buffet is only in the next room...the staff paid regular visits to the bar area to top up the coffee.

The breakfast was really nice, lots of choice and super tasty, not at all greasy.

We used the pool area, it was nice enough, a little cool, but nice once you are in.

The grounds are nice, it was rather wet whilst we were there but we are already looking forward to our stay there again, in a month or two, look forward to seeing the garden with some colour.

Would recommend this hotel, dont hesitate.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Penny wrote a review Jul 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We found this hotel at about a week before we wanted to travel, it was a reasonable price range and near where we wanted to be.
Let’s start positive. The hotel is set in a peaceful setting, about 4 miles from Bowness, so a car is essential as there is no public transport. It is on a hillside and overlooks a lovely grassed area with a duck pond and a folly.
The staff, every last one of them, even at such a stressful time, were polite and friendly and could not have been more helpful. The bar is lovely, with an outside seating area for sunny days and inside clean and with tables overlooking the duck pond. There is a restaurant which was difficult to judge really because the tables were very spaced out but it also overlooked the duck pond.
The food was incredible. Breakfast was obviously waiter service and was fab, a full fry up with veggie and vegan options, cereals, toast or variations. I had poached eggs and tomatoes on toast with OJ and coffee almost every day. Nothing was a problem. We had steak, fish and chips, wild boar and damson sausage and mash, lamb shank and even wild pigeon breast. There were a few starters and desserts and coffee at the bar, you could have your entire meal at the bar if you chose. You could start a tab and charge drinks and food to the account.
We booked our room quite last minute and peering into others as we went past, I think we got a slightly less posh room as a result..it was small, but had a comfy double bed, an en-suite with bath and shower, and was west facing so saw the sunsets. The finer points were not so good. Cracks in the bath panel, the shower was hot and powerful but the extractor fan did not work, so the room was very steamy after 2 showers. The bedside tables were simple wooden affairs with a tiny drawer, and mine was so warped that the drawer would not close and the surface was so uneven that my cup fell off one evening. There are tea and coffee making facilities, and sockets behind both bedside tables and in front of the mirror. The mirror is at chest height which was a bit awkward as there wasn’t really room to sit in front of it. There was a sizeable wardrobe with shelves. We only got one key card.
The hotel lobby is gorgeous with big sofas and a real fire which made us wish it was winter.
We would definitely come here again but would hope for a better room next time. It is very dog friendly and there were many dogs here. This was not an issue for us but allergies or fears might be an issue.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tyler Rouillard, General Manager at Damson Dene Hotel
Responded Jul 23, 2020
Dear Penelope71, Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased to hear that our staff were so friendly and helpful, this is lovely to hear and your feedback will be passed on to them. We do pride ourselves on our food, so your comments are really pleasing - thank you. Your comments regarding the rooms will be looked into and we thank you for drawing these points to our attention. I do hope you will be back very soon, as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Damson Dene Hotel. Many thanks again and don't forget to book Direct for great deals. Kindest regards Damson Dene Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Dangill1987 wrote a review Aug 2020
Benalmadena, Spain
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my sister brought our dad here for his birthday weekend now know what to expect.

The hotel and its grounds and utterly breathtaking clean and beautiful.

The room we stayed in was room 40 and upon arrival was beautifully cleaned and very well presented.

The facilities such as the pool area sauna steam room bar restaurant and reception was always so clean staff couldn’t do more for us and also so polite and welcoming. Also the food was out of this world and catered for every dietary requirements. (We recommend the steak and muscles)

Big shout out to our reception lady Victoria who was VERY welcoming funny and friendly couldn’t image her not being there to welcome the guests :)

Also the bar man Arty couldn’t of done more for us and always made sure we was well watered haha! Engaged in conversations all the tine and was a pleasure to meet

I don’t doubt others will think the same

We cannot wait to return to the damson dene thank you everyone who made my dads and our trip amazing

The gills
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tyler Rouillard, General Manager at Damson Dene Hotel
Responded Aug 10, 2020
Dear Dangill1987 Thank you for your five star review!! This is fantastic feedback and we are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay at the Damson Dene Hotel and that we were able to make your Dad's birthday weekend such a pleasurable one. It sounds like your stay exceeded your expectations and the bedrooms, drinks, food and staff all excelled. We do hope you will be back very soon, as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Damson Dene Hotel. Many thanks again and don't forget to book Direct for great deals. Kindest regards Damson Dene Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trip275380 wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The most notable thing about this hotel is that the food is amazing. All cooked freshly to perfection and a really wonderful menu. I would absolutely recommend the steaks, mussels, Camembert, white bait and fantastic fish and chips at the sort of price you pay in todays gastro pubs, but a million times better quality. We originally thought we would only eat at the hotel on our first night, but actually ate there every night of our stay. We also enjoyed breakfast at the hotel.

This is a well run hotel, with the perfect mix of professionalism, friendliness, with a family run touch. We stayed in a family superior room, a double and a twin bed, nice decor, comfy beds and a really lovely bathroom with a huge walk in shower. The bathroom far exceeded some of those I have experienced in higher classified hotels.

We had read some reviews that the decor was “tired” but I would say that they have successfully updated the places that matter most i.e carpets, bathrooms, Beds, restaurant and grounds.

The grounds of this hotel are beautiful, very well maintained lake, ducks who love the left over breakfast toast and an enviable display of Dahlias. If you have a dog ( we didn’t) this would be perfect to give your dogs a walk, there were lots of family’s with well behaved dogs enjoying the gardens.

The pool area is nice, clean and a good size if you want a swim or some family fun, not completely spa level quality, but nice for a dip, sauna and jacuzzi.

I’ve booked this hotel when there was little choice at the end of Aug 2020, we had quite low expectations as it was reasonably Priced and thought it would be too good to be true. It isn’t often you find something surprisingly exceeding what you expected, but Damson Dene is a real find. Thank you to all the lovely staff who had obviously worked hard to make it a safe and wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the gardens, lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tyler Rouillard, General Manager at Damson Dene Hotel
Responded Aug 20, 2020
Dear Trip275380, Thank you for your 5-star review! We are so happy to hear that you loved your stay with us at Damson Dene Hotel. Our staff really are a very friendly and welcoming team so it is great to read that you experienced their warm welcome. It sounds like everything met your expectations, from the room to the food and the friendly ducks in our pond! And we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your swim in our leisure facilities. We will pass on your kind feedback to the staff as it is always appreciated. It was a pleasure to have you as guests at Damson Dene Hotel and we hope to welcome you again very soon. With best wishes Damson Dene Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louis S wrote a review Sep 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I knew full well I wasn't going to be in a palace, but Damson Dene heavily under-performed.
The hotel doesn't look anything like the pictures, they just have set ups inside that are made specifically for pictures, right next to the most bland and generic decoration. The room was dirty and under-equipped. This was especially dissapointing as you go to the lake district to have a nice relaxing time, maybe romantic. This hotel outdid itself in preventing that.

At my horrified surprise, coming back from a big day of hiking, dirty and only wanting a shower before throwing myself into fresh lining, I discover that nothing was done, the room didn't get cleaned, towels were wet etc etc ...

At this price point I was very surprised ... I would have had a better service in an AirBnB, I learned my lesson. I'll never go there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: don't book in this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from South Lakes Hotels, General Manager at Damson Dene Hotel
Responded Sep 8, 2020
Dear Culture720238, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Damson Dene. We disappointed to read that you feel let down by your experience. We are surprised to hear that you found the hotel didn't match our website images, we are not quite sure which part of the hotel this comment relates to? As you can see from other feedback, many of our guests feel it has a cosy welcoming atmosphere so we are sorry that you didn't have the same experience. We are sorry to hear you were surprised that your room had not been serviced, this is explained to guests in the welcome letter in the room and in the covid policy on our website. To minimise guest and staff contact during covid, we are not servicing rooms. All guests are asked to leave their towels outside the door and clean ones will be issued and toiletries, tea, coffee and milk can be picked up from reception. Due to the current worldwide pandemic we have removed a number of high-touch items from our rooms for guests and staff safety although these can be collected from reception if required. We apologise if this was not made clear to you at check-in. Thank you very much once again for your review which we will discuss at our next staff meeting as all feedback is welcome. With best wishes Damson Dene Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bcrommie wrote a review Aug 2020
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited this hotel last weekend. We were put in a tiny room on the first night. We were moved to a much bigger room next day. The receptionist Anya was lovely and very helpful but we were really annoyed to have to spend the first night in such a small room.

We were given an envelope on arrival which informed us that we would not have any housekeeping. We would have to get fresh towel etc from reception. We had to book a time for breakfast, dinner and use of pool.I know in this climate this is probably necessary but this should be highlighted on the website.
At breakfast we had to ask for napkins, teaspoons and sent my eggs back to be reheated on two occasions.
It is very dog friendly and the rooms smell of dogs.
On the positive side the staff were exceptionally nice and the grounds were beautiful.
B.C
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tyler Rouillard, General Manager at Damson Dene Hotel
Responded Aug 27, 2020
Dear bcrommie, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that Anya was able to resolve your issue and moved you to another room. Sorry to read that you didn't see our covid safety policy on our website, it is displayed as a link on all pages to allow guests to know how we are keeping them safe when they stay with us. Hopefully you will have also received this information in the pre-checkin email we sent before you arrived. We are so pleased to hear that you found our staff exceptionally nice, we agree, we do have a great team at Damson Dene. With best wishes Damson Dene Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Al A wrote a review May 2022
Maghull, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Ok, well this is how I really feel after a disappointing 2nights here. Very overpriced and overrated £320 for 2 nights and no breakfast. I didn't arrange this break and would never have paid that.
Issues.
Room dated and just about functional
"Room not serviced for ecological reasons" who are they kidding? It's just to save on staff.
Phone in room not working
Drawer fell out of cabinet on to my foot. The safety catch not working
Lack of coat hooks in room 20
TV remote dirty. Should be cleaned every time
Breakfast sausage tasted a bit sour, not quite "off" but Not nice to eat so I didn't
No papers offered
No piano bar as advertised
No books or games available by the nice log fire
Asked for a toothpick and given several but plastic not wood. Wood better for the environment
The log fire filled the room and upstairs corridors with acrid smell. In my fairly well experienced opinion the chimney is faulty or at the very least needs sweeping. I wouldn't like to breathe all that in regularly.
The pool was not as warm as expected,(saving money again) and the very dim subdued lighting didn't prevent me from noticing the dirt and scum around the sides of the pool and the jacuzzi water outlet was pure grime. I only paid one visit to these as I prefer clean pools and spas and this would have been a main reason for going to a hotel.
For the price I would expect an absolutely first class experience and this was certainly not that and No I did not complain about all the issues I go away to enjoy myself and relax not rant and rave about clear faults that should not be there. To add insult to injury the cheeky sods keep sending emails advertising breaks for £90 a night instead of the £160 room only! Well I'll not stay there again for free.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Dont bother
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kayls wrote a review Mar 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this as a break away through wowcher. I had phoned previously to make sure the hotel was still open and the receptionist on the phone couldn't wait to get rid of me it seemed. The hotel didn't look like it did on the pictures as we pulled up. We were informed we woukd have a meal and breakfast. Nobody explained the meal process such as what we were entitled to, we presumed a starter, main and dessert as detailed in the menu.
We had breakfast the next morning and checked out. We were informed we would have to ay £24.90 for the two extra courses. We were not happy about this as we were not made aware and explained this to the receptionist who was no help at all. We had a cruise booked that was cancelled due to the corona virus which was fine and she explained that they would have given us a complimentary glass of wine which we were never offered.
The spa facilities are out of date and not worth the money, I would have been disappointed if I had to pay the day rate of £8. The rooms need updated, there were signs of mould on the ceiling and windows, this is not something you should expect to see in a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tyler Rouillard, General Manager at Damson Dene Hotel
Responded Jul 23, 2020
Thank you for leaving your feedback! I am very surprised and saddened by your review of the Damson Dene Hotel. We pride ourselves on being welcoming and friendly place for everyone to enjoy a trip away or a dining experience with us. As you can see from a lot of our reviews, the Damson Dene Hotel generally offers a warm welcome and the friendliness of the staff really stand out, so we can only apologise you didn't get the same on this day. We really try our hardest to ensure all visitors enjoy the service and food and clearly, we did not meet your expectations this time. I do hope when next visiting The Lakes, you will re-try the Damson Dene Hotel as we put this down to a very rare occurrence. Kind Regards Damson Dene Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon R wrote a review May 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a superior family room for a family of 4 and were told we would have a lake view but what we got was a view of outdoor building work. We asked to move rooms for a lake view but were told all the rooms were full. A disappointing start. The room was basic and needed updating-not as nice as the website pictures. The bathroom was the nicest part. The rooms are not serviced during your stay unless you request it. I have NEVER stayed in a hotel where you have to ask for your room to be serviced. Isn’t that the whole point of a hotel? Might as well book a caravan. We asked for it to be serviced but returned from a day out at 4.30 to find the beds unmade and the cups unwashed so we spoke to reception who sent someone up to clean it. A bit inconvenient as we just wanted to relax at this point not wait to have our room serviced while we were in it. Our 2 night stay was £400 so that’s shocking value really based on the quality of service. The room maid offered to come back once we were out this evening but I told her to not bother as we’d already made the beds. We weren’t even offered a bottle of wine to compensate.

The cooked breakfast was good but a buffet would have been preferable. Apples and oranges but no fruit salad which most buffet breakfasts provide.

The pool was a little cold and the leisure facilities need updating. The sauna was not working and just Completely cold.

The lounge area definitely very dated in style but the fire was cosy and kept lit throughout the day.

The rooms were warm and quiet but dated, the service needs to make up for it but it didn’t. It was our second stay but based on the price and fact that rooms are not not serviced, we will not be returning. Disappointed! For £200 per night for 3 stars and no room service, I do feel a quite a bit ripped off!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cara-Jane Jones wrote a review Feb 2022
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we stayed in Cabin 2 at the Damsen Dene for two nights and it was absolutely perfect.

The cabin was warm and had a fire we could light if we wanted too, we had our own private hot tub which was fantastic. The room was filled with towels & slippers for us to use, tea/coffee/hot chocolates, biscuits, a box of chocolates, water and Prosecco.

We had dinner both nights & breakfast both mornings in the hotel and the food was great, we loved the roast beef for our Sunday dinner. for breakfast we had the Full English, with toast and mini croissants & pastries and we loved sitting in the big windows looking out on the grounds and seeing the ducks and Of course, giving the ducks some bread out the window at the end of the breakfast.

I had a full body massage in the Indulgence Beauty Room with Sharon, the treatment itself was fab, sharon was extremely informative about the treatment. We never used the swimming pool or gym facilities as we used our hot tub so much

We visited Kendall and Ambleside while staying here, both about 20 mins either way. We visited Redial Caves, it was a nice walk/hike took us just under 2 hours, the views around the area of the caves and the waters were absolutely beautiful.

From the minute we arrived the staff were absolutely fantastic, they were so helpful and nothing was too much for them. We can't wait to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Cabins were perfect for a secluded & quiet break!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from South Lakes Hotels, Marketing at Damson Dene Hotel
Responded Mar 23, 2022
Thank you for the 5* review! We are thrilled you had a great stay with us in one of our Hot Tub Cabins. We are also very happy to hear to you had a fantastic time in our leisure centre and made the most Beauty Room. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Damson Dene Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael D asked a question Jul 2023
25 contributions16 helpful votes
Do you have charging points for cars
Answer from DayTrip22700627383
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
Open from 7am till 9pm When I stayed there was no booking you just signed in
samtuck79 asked a question Sep 2022
South Shields, United Kingdom19 contributions1 helpful vote
Can I use the pool for free?
Answer from Caroline G
Thirsk, United Kingdom5 contributions
Yes it in included in the price
Answer from The_ManagerSLH
Kendal, United Kingdom9 contributions
Hi, We can recommend Gummers How which is a short drive from the hotel and offers excellent views across Lake Windermere. If you're feeling a little more adventurous then the Fairfield Horseshoe is another popular walk in nearby Ambleside.
Answer from robfrywakey
Wakefield, United Kingdom254 contributions134 helpful votes
I'd say -No!
Aaron B wrote a tip Jul 21
Manchester, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look elsewhere!"
Read full review
Neil H wrote a tip Jul 13
Liverpool, United Kingdom42 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If disabled request rooms on ground floor as it is an older hotel with alot of stairs around"
Read full review
chris k wrote a tip Jun 2024
Derby, United Kingdom18 contributions15 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"fussy over zealous new boss (julian) watches everyone at breakfast,so be careful what you take from the buffet breakfast even though paidfor"
Read full review
Rose T wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not a big pool, but very peaceful"
Read full review
Cowboy 59 wrote a tip May 2024
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Always book direct "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Crosthwaite area.
PRICE RANGE
C$197 - C$294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
damson dene hotel, hotel damson dene, damson dene windermere
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictCrosthwaite
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Damson Dene Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Damson Dene Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Damson Dene Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Michael Coates Clay Shooting (4.8 km), Stott Park Bobbin Mill (6.1 km), and Blackwell - The Arts & Crafts house (4.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Damson Dene Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Damson Dene Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Damson Dene Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Damson Dene Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Graze, Bandito Burrito, and Boardwalk Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Damson Dene Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Damson Dene Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Damson Dene Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Damson Dene Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stott Park Bobbin Mill (6.1 km), Blackwell - The Arts & Crafts house (4.1 km), and Sizergh Castle (8.0 km).
Is Damson Dene Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Crosthwaite HotelsCrosthwaite Hotel DealsHotels near Damson Dene Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars