We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Damson Dene Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,054 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Damson Dene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,053: English reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed here for a three night break and loved everything about the hotel, so booked a two night stay three weeks later. The hotel is set in a stunning location, it's a perfect tranquil retreat and ideal for exploring the beautiful lakes. The staff on reception were welcoming and couldn't do enough to please. Wayne the manager is absolutely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annie D
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

What a title to a lovely review! Thanks for posting it and visiting. We love the spot we are in and are pleased you did as well. The reception staff appreciate your comments too. Thank you and we will look forward to seeing you shortly!

Reviewed 1 September 2014

Spent Tuesday,Wednesday night here the last week in August and can truly say that we had a fantastic time, staff were friendly and did all they could to make our stay pleasurable. The food was really good and of a high standard. Rooms were clean and the bed very comfortable. However my elderly father in law had problems with the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John S
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review and wonderful comments about your stay with us. We're delighted you had such an enjoyable time and for recommending us to others. Thank you.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The room was excellent size and quality for a family of 4 and for the price was excellent quality. The staff were so nice and helpful. The amenities were brill for the family i.e. leisure club with swimming pool, Spa bath and steam room. The food was good and they were very flexible with the menu as initially it looks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Wonderful 5-star review, thank you. Thank you also for visiting. We particularly appreciate your comments about the quality of our food (breakfast and dinner) and flexibility of our menu. We also thank you for your kind comments about our staff as well. We certainly hope you will visit us again. Thank you.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Very disappointed with this hotel, we obviously had a dog friendly room/ family room as when we got there i could make hair balls with the dog hairs on the carpet had to complain to get it hooved!! the hotel is tired needs updating, sauna has broken cracked tiles on the floor, restaurant didn't have a good choice of meals...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Leslie W
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

We were very sorry to read this review, but we do appreciate the feedback. There are areas where we can and will improve on. We have to admit we are surprised at the comments about our food. We receive such excellent feedback on here and at the hotel about our food. It is a shame that this guest didn't get...

Manchester UK
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The hotel is in a lovely location in its own grounds about ten minutes drive to Bowness. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and tidy with tea and coffee making facilities, TV etc all the usual requirements. There are separate lounge, dinning and bar areas with plenty of seating and an outside terrace. Breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnston364
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Wonderful review thank you. You do an excellent job of highlighting some of our best features so thank you for that. The ducks certainly appreciate being fed and all of the money from purchased duck food goes to charity so it is win-win! Thank you again and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here for 4 nights with our two dogs,and we loved it. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room was clean and comfortable. The selection available for breakfast was very good,and they seemed to be happy to accommodate guests requests for variations to the menu. The bar meals although limited we very nice also,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smiffy59
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely review thank you and we enjoyed viewing your photos as well, thank you for posting them. We are always happy to cater to guest requests in our restaurant (and throughout the hotel for that matter) and you are right in thinking that our dinner, bed & breakfast rates do represent excellent value. Thanks for saying you will visit again,...

Yeovil
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel is set in lovely grounds - beautiful dahlias in bloom while we were there. The dining room and bar have excellent views over the gardens and trees beyond. Plenty of seating outside and also comfy big settees in the lounge. The food was excellent, served by attentive staff in an attractive dining room. Our room had no frills,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Wendy M
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely, 5-star review thank you. We couldn't be happier with your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our staff and quality of meals offered as well. We do hope we will see you again soon, thank you.

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We booked a Travelzoo deal for a 2 night stay and requested a twin room. Apparently this info didn't "come through on the system" and we were given a standard double (4'6" bed). We asked to be moved and were..... to a room with a double with a single bed; a much nicer, cooler and a more spacious room. Unfortunately,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline S
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we're sorry for the mixup on your booking. I am pleased, however, that we were able to make it right and that you enjoyed our location, view and leisure facilities. The heat in the room you are talking about was the towel rail, which has to be turned off in the room using the switch....

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Can't praise the quality of the hotel enough, ALL of the staff we encountered were extremely helpful, polite and pleasant and couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were very good and very clean with extremely comfortable beds. The facilities at the hotel are first class, the pool and spa and also the gym are excellent and spotlessly clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stueya7
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We are also enjoying Mother Nature's glorious colour in the garden, as it may be the best its been for awhile! Your review was very enjoyable to read and we are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Christmas is particularly enjoyable around here and hopefully we will see you...

England
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My Husband and I stayed for a 2 night break for his Birthday. The women on reception was ignorant, never looked up from the computer to greet you (short hair). On the Wednesday the other receptionist was lovely and pleasant. Room a little small and the bathroom dated, room 9 shower mixer didnt work. Bath should have been cleaner. Food...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jan9mel
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

We always appreciate helpful feedback and we are sorry you did not find us to be as friendly as the vast majority of reviewers on tripadvisor. We were only too happy to change the wine to something more suitable. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and we will use your review to help us improve. Thank you.

595 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (447)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (166)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
7.4 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,282 reviews
3.7 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,212 reviews
9.4 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 15 in Kendal
965 reviews
7.6 km away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Price Range: $120 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Damson Dene Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Damson Dene Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on ground floor small Avoid Room 25!”
 of 5 bubbles stuartbruce42, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“stayed in room 11 overlooking the small lake and garden but be prepared we woke up to ducks sitting on the windowsill”
 of 5 bubbles 350KarenT, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on a Groupon trip so were on the ground floor as we were the last time, the rooms we had were 24 and 28, both functional and comfy”
 of 5 bubbles geob442, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Any room from 13-21 would be the best.”
 of 5 bubbles alanbG8502DF, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“not 28 if you are a couple or have a pet”
 of 5 bubbles mjack2016, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5