The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta

The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta

Boulevard Riviera Nayarit 254 Paseo de Las Moras, Nuevo Nayarit 63735 Mexico
Traveller (5008)
The Grand Mayan Bedroom at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta
Room & Suite (444)
The Burger Custom Made at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta
Dining (284)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#4 of 9 resorts in Nuevo Nayarit
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
From the moment you enter the awe-inspiring lobby flanked by iconic Mayan statues, you know you’re in a majestic place where the vibrant spirit and gracious warmth of Mexico converge with luxurious and spacious accommodations. Located on Mexico’s Pacific Coast at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta, this extraordinary resort hotel gives guests access to multiple pristine pools, a variety of gourmet dining experiences, tranquil spas, world-class golf and beautiful mountain-to-bay views, as well as vast entertainment options and unlimited activities for all ages.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Game room
Babysitting
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Golf course
Tennis court
Water park
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Solarium
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Park View
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Boulevard Riviera Nayarit 254 Paseo de Las Moras, Nuevo Nayarit 63735 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 73 out of 100
73
1 Attraction
within 0.5 kilometers
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles8,929 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta offers a convenient location and a lively atmosphere, with guests often praising the cleanliness and range of amenities such as pools and entertainment. However, some travelers find the resort's fees steep, questioning the value for money. While the atmosphere is filled with fun activities like karaoke, it can sometimes edge towards noisy. Room experiences vary, with reports of dated interiors and maintenance issues. Service receives mixed reviews, as staff attentiveness is occasionally overshadowed by long waits and timeshare pressures.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Abundant

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
8,929Reviews758Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6,255
  • 1,368
  • 618
  • 314
  • 379
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
woodmister wrote a review Feb 2020
Edmonton, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a very good resort. The kitchen in our unit is dated as is the furniture. The bed was comfortable so sleeping was good. The restaurants on the property are expensive but if you stay longer than a week then buying and fixing your own food makes the stay reasonable. Also if you come as a family, the Grand Mayan is a wonderful bargain. These unit sleep up to six so a stay for six, some local groceries and six airfares this place is a bargain.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grupo Vidanta, Owner at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Dear woodmister; We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your detailed impression of your stay. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options, our facilities, the accommodations, and our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever. Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. It will be our pleasure to have you as a guest again. Happily, The Grand Mayan Staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D wrote a review Jan 2020
Atlanta, Georgia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having previously visited the Vidanta Resort in Riviera Maya, we celebrated New Years at the resort in Nuevo Vallarta. As a whole, the resort is very impressive. Located north of Puerto Vallarta, it is a world unto itself. With seemingly endless land, this resort will be expanded for years to come. At the Grand Mayan resort, our one-bedroom suite was spacious and well appointed, but not super luxurious. The unit had a nice balcony, a wading pool, a bath tub in the master bedroom and adequate kitchen amenities. Very comfortable, the bed was neither hard nor soft, somewhere in the middle. The building Gym and spa are impressive and widely used. Swimming pools abound the properties, but as with most resorts, getting out there early during holiday periods is a must to reserve chaise lounges. Same with the beach, it was very nice, but getting out there early as close to 9:00 a.m. is a must to settle in under one of the Palapas. The resort includes many restaurants, both less formal and a bit more formal. For the nicer restaurants, reservations are usually necessary. We very much enjoyed the La Cantina Restaurant near the lake and night time light show for New Years. The Italian Restaurant Tramonto was also quite good. The Spanish Restaurant Chiringuito was across from the beach in a great spot, but the menu and food were just OK. The restaurant prices are not inexpensive but not a "rip off" either because of the need to cater to both couples and large families. Getting around the humongous resort often required taking the shuttle system, which was fine and pretty well organized and coordinated. . The resort also includes an extensive labyrinth of walkways and walking enables one to "get their steps in" while on vacation. The whole experience was very enjoyable, Vidanta is top notch in everything they do. That said, it is true that the time share sales program is ubiquitous as they are at most resorts and the sales people are very well trained and persuasive, although we were able to avoid the usual "hard sell" presentation this time around. Finally, the only major criticism wold be the check in and check out procedures. For a resort which is mostly technologically advanced, it would seem that they could devise a system that would not require the waiting in snail paced lines for either procedure. The cruise lines do a better job with this, processing both check in and check out for the same number of people at the same time. There has to be a better way, or otherwise, all of the superlatives about the resort can easily be negated by a disgruntled guest from an unreasonably slow check in and check out process. All in all, however, a delightful vacation experience and we look forward to booking another Vidanta resort in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean View.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grupo V, Manager at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta
Responded Jan 13, 2020
Dear Jeffrey D; Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and accommodations. Your comments are always welcomed. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much-deserved vacation. We truly appreciate your preference and look forward to serving you again in the near future. Happily, The Grand Mayan Staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
robertgS6700XC wrote a review Feb 2020
Spruce Grove, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Gorgeous resort with first-class restaurants with a wide range of fare offered. Lots of pool access and fun activities for all ages throughout the day. Beach has a relatively strong surge burst there are stretched where wading and swimming are safe. Too-notch service from all staff and tight security. No unauthorized beach vendors is a nice respite from other area beaches. Accommodations are first-rate in terms of cleanliness, amenities, space and quiet. Highly recommended!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Room Tip: Ocean/resort view is very difficult to acquire unless you negotiate it as a perk for attending a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grupo V, Manager at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta
Responded Feb 16, 2020
Dear robertgS6700XC; Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation. Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job of making your stay enjoyable. We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future! Happily, The Grand Mayan Staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Guylaine C wrote a review Feb 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are celiac don't go there, there's not dedicated facility at all, they do not understand cross contamination except in the 2 most expensive restaurants. Some restaurants have buffet with a gluten free section but cross contamination is really easy to see. At the Plaza you cannot have anything except canned tuna, fruits and vegetable. Only one dressing is gluten free, and the fruits are not even fresh, the orange was dry and not sweet. The gluten free bread come from outside the resort but it is serve side to side with the others breads without being bagged!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grupo V, Manager at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta
Responded Feb 5, 2020
Dear guylaine2020, Thanks for providing your mixed experience in our property. It is disappointing to learn that your experience was not satisfactory. We spend considerable resources training our staff to maintain the highest possible standard of cleanliness and hygiene which we know our guests expect when staying at our properties. It is important to note as well that we are pleased to be distinguished as a top safety rating resort through different high-level certifications (Cristal and Check Safety First), obtained by monitoring - on a regular basis, our food, and water safety. Nevertheless, all areas concerned will be notified of this since we constantly strive to achieve the utmost level of satisfaction. Your comments will be taken into consideration. Warmest regards, The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda E wrote a review Jan 2020
Colorado Springs, Colorado
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Grand Mayan resorts are always a hard sell but this one was impossible. Took us 8 hours! and we were staying there. Our 2-bed unit was the same as they have been for the last 10 years. We were on the 7th floor so had a view of the interior of the property and were able to watch (and hear) them assembling the gondola system for the Cirque de Soleil park they are building. This resort has gone by leaps and bounds and they don't want you to leave their property but stay and use just their facilities which charge higher prices for everything. We had to pay a $75 per week transfer charge plus $20 per week for valet parking (which isn't optional). There is LOTS of walking to be done and, even though there are shuttles between the resorts, there is still a lot of walking to and from these sites. There was so much construction while we were there for 2 weeks, that they closed down several of the pedestrian bridges so that we had to take longer and longer walks to get anywhere. They have lots and lots of employees all over the facility but Juan Rodriquez, our concierge went above and beyond to help us find great deals. We purchased two laundry cards to do just 2 loads of laundry and later found out that we paid $6 per load plus the deposit on the cards which we promptly returned. They nickel and dime you to death, if you don't succumb to the residence sales pitch.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Higher up in the buildings or toward the ocean/pool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grupo V, Manager at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta
Responded Jan 23, 2020
Dear Linda E, We would like to thank you for sharing your mixed experience in our resort. It is outstanding to know that our concierge Juan Rodriguez was above and beyond to help you with our offerings. On the other hand, It is disappointing to learn that your experience was not satisfactory. As one of the most successful companies in the Mexican tourism field, we clearly communicate the terms and conditions associated with accepting an invitation to our sales presentation. We appreciate their visit whether they decide to acquire our products or not. Nonetheless, this highly exceptional occurrence will be shared with the appropriate area since we strive to make each and every one of our guests feel cared for, appreciated and respected. Lastly, It is important to mention that is the reason why our resorts are constantly being refurbished, as we aim to ensure that our facilities are in the best condition possible for our guests to enjoy. Nonetheless, our primary goal is that you are able to relax during your much-deserved vacation. Your comments are always welcomed. Warmest regards, The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MimosaOttawa wrote a review Feb 2020
Ottawa, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort is visually stunning and the service staff are extremely good.
However, the company is going in a direction that totally negates the goodwill generated by the positives! The resort is huge and getting bigger. Navigating the raised pathways has become an adventure as many have been shutdown to facilitate construction of the Amasol Beach Club and Sky Dream Gondola Ride, neither of which, we expect is intended for use by Grand Mayan guests.
The Mayan Palace swimming pool was permanently closed at the beginning of February 2020 to use the space as part of the Amasol complex. This has resulted in extreme overcrowding at the Grand Mayan Pool and beach area. There is not enough seating and the existing chairs and lounges are packed together extremely closely! The overcrowding has had a negative effect on the washrooms in terms of cleanliness and odour!
The resort is designed to discourage guests from leaving the premises and it’s overpriced food and beverages to explore other parts of the Puerto Vallarta area. The only way off the resort is either by hiking a kilometre down the beach or taking a taxi from the taxi stand (also a good hike).
The sales and marketing is unbelievable! You cannot check in without being accosted to sign up for an “Owners Update” if you are an owner or a sales presentation if you have exchanged in. Owners are told that that there is vital information that will be explained and are offered a breakfast and 10% discount on all food and drinks for attending. The vital information is usually that unless you “invest” more money you will have less access to what you purchased. Also not mentioned is that the discount on food and beverages does not apply to Happy Hour or other promotions. The update is usually very unpleasant and prolonged. NO is not acceptable to these people! Best to just refuse to attend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grupo Vidanta, Owner at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Appreciable MimosaOttawa, Thanks for submitting your mixed experience in our resort. We are pleased to know that you liked our property. Also, it is delightful to find out that our service staff was good. They work tough to satisfy all our customers during their stay. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointing stay. We take great pride in creating incredible vacation experiences for our guests; however, after receiving your remarks it appears this was not the case with your stay. Rest assured your comments will be addressed by the appropriate areas since our staff works day and night to do their best to help our guests and members enjoy their vacations. Your feedback is very important to us; in the meantime, if you have anything else to add to your report or if you would like to continue this dialogue directly through our Customer Care Centre, we kindly request that you reach out to our Customer Care Center at 1-800-292-9446 or at customerservice@grandmayan.com and reference this message. Feedback from our members and guests are always welcome and encouraged, as it helps our team continue to provide the very best care and support. Sincerely, The Customer Support Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leah L wrote a review Feb 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I am 5 days in to a 8 day stay at the Gran Mayan Vidanta with my family (8 of us in total). The good: The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, the beach is nice, most of the staff is friendly, the lazy river is nice and relaxing, the drinks have been very tasty and our room is quite spacious. The bad: It is SO expensive. Meals are not only pricey, but often very slow to come and mediocre in taste. Tonight we waited a long time for our meal and it was served to us stone cold. Apologies are fine, but it doesn’t change the fact that the average price of our entrees was $35-40 CDN and we ate very small portions of cold food. We have tried to have meals in the room to cut down on some of the costs, but the kitchen is stocked at a very basic level. A margarita is around $12 CDN. And you can not bring any food or beverages of your own anywhere outside your room. My sister is diabetic and needs to keep her insulin cold, so we had a small cooler with us down by the pool. We were approached by two staff members who told us that coolers were not permitted around the pool. So we opened it up to show them that it was only insulin and a bottle of water in there. They still continued to insist that we couldn’t have it there and wanted our room number and name and wrote it down. I don’t know if this was a written up warning, but we were being reprimanded but the staff for having medical supplies and water! It seems as though rates for Vidanta guests are automatically higher. Taking a taxi from the hotel (they order and arrange the cab for you) is substantially more expensive than the return trip in which you arrange the cab for yourself. And nothing is fast or easy. If you want to leave the resort, you have to walk to the shuttle area, then shuttle to the taxi area, then wait for them to order you a cab. And the same for the return. We’ve always had to wait for the shuttles. I understand that it’s vacation and there’s no need to rush, but when absolutely everything takes time and it feels like you’re spending a good portion of your day sitting in a restaurant waiting for food or waiting for transportation, it becomes frustrating. Overall, the trip hasn’t felt overly relaxing because everything is so expensive that you can’t help but be conscious about the vacation cost. And everything, from going for meals to exploring the resort or areas outside of the resort, is not smooth or easy. And we have been given incorrect information or varying information from staff members many times. Next time, I will stick with an all-inclusive.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grupo V, Manager at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Appreciable leahlO7599JF, Thanks for submitting your experience in ou resort. It is delightful to find out that you enjoyed our grounds and the beach. Also, we are pleased to know that our rooms, our lazy river, and all our staff were friendly. They work tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most enjoyable experience ever. However, we apologize for the inconvenience you had with our security service during your stay. Rest assured these are not the best business practices that we spend considerable time, energy and resources training on, and they will not be tolerated. We strive to make each and everyone feel cared for, appreciated and respected. Lastly, we would like to point out that our prices are very competitive compared to other resorts with the same quality. Your comments are always important. Warmest regards, The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jinder wrote a review Jan 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been going to the Grand Mayan for close to 20 years and have had great experiences, but now we are done with this property. It took us over 90 minutes to check in because they held us hostage since we did not want to sign up for a timeshare presentation.
RCI has been amazing over the year for all our bookings, but being at the Mayan this year was terrible. We asked for our 1 bedroom suite to be connected to the studio we booked for our friends. They purposefully gave us rooms at the exact ends of the hallway even when adjacent rooms were available.
This resort has added a $30/person resort fee, which is a great way to generate more revenues so they can keep expanding on their property. Numerous employees admitted to that. We finally decided on the last day to go on the timeshare presentation and have half of our resort fee deducted. After a 4 hour sales pitch ordeal and pressure to buy we were told the resort fee would not be deducted, only monies taken off our bill. After speaking to many front desk people, timeshare people and a manager they would not adjust anything. The manger did us a favour and gave us a $500 Vidanta gift card. When we got home to check online, the gift card was a total scam which gets us nothing. There are many stories such as ours when you search.
The rooms have not been updated in over 15 years - furniture was old, worn out, tired. The room smelled and was very musty and our cloths were always damp.
In the quest to make money and expand their resort they have forgotten about service and providing a nice facility.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grupo V, Manager at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta
Responded Jan 13, 2020
Appreciable 795jinders, Thanks for providing your experience in our resort. We are very pleased to learn you have been faithful owners of our brands and you continue to enjoy our tropical paradise. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointing experience with the sales team during your stay. We take great pride in creating incredible vacation experiences for our guests; however, after receiving your remarks it appears this was not the case with your stay. Rest assured your comments will be addressed by the appropriate areas since our staff works day and night to do their best to help our guests and members enjoy their vacations. Your feedback is very important to us; in the meantime, if you have anything else to add to your report or if you would like to continue this dialogue directly through our Customer Care Centre, we kindly request that you reach out to our Customer Care Center at 1-800-292-9446 or at customerservice@grandmayan.com and reference this message. Feedback from our members and guests are always welcome and encouraged, as it helps our team continue to provide the very best care and support. Sincerely, The Customer Support Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cindyparks1958 wrote a review May 2022
Rome, Italy
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve been going to Grand Mayan for 21 years when it was only the Mayan. They are letting the Grand Mayan not be so grand as far as upkeep and don’t realize that most people go there to relax and enjoy family time. We had no hot water when arriving which was fixed the next day but not in our shower, rooms are very outdated and show their age and the ac vents were covered with dust. The dishes in the room were dirty and with all the Covid why don’t you put a fresh set of sanitized dishes when a new party arrives. The last day we were there we received a call from the concierge that we could check out that night and avoid the rush the next morning so after dinner we walked around a bit then checked out with our bill which we glanced at. Had an early flight the next morning so we went to bed early but our phone rang at 10:30 pm and it was the restaurant we had dinner at earlier saying we owed for dinner and could they send the waiter to our room to collect payment. It’s now 11 pm and he loudly knocks on our door and we apologize and pay. I guess we should have paid closer attention to our 2 page bill and why did the restaurant wait until after closing to run the change. They charge you for the water bottles and coffee in the room whether you use it or not. Food was just okay and expensive compared to a year ago. I think it’s time to move on and find a place like the GM used to be.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grupo Vidanta, General Manager at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta
Responded May 31, 2022
Dear cindyparks1958, Thank you for posting a review of our resort on TripAdvisor. Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointing stay. These highly exceptional occurrences will be thoroughly investigated since we aim to ensure our facilities are in the best condition possible for our guests to enjoy. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future to truly impress you with what we have to offer. Sincerely, The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
oleg s wrote a review Jun 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
What I liked:

Huge area itself, many pools, restaurants, just a beautiful place. Everything clean and taking care of. Lazy river was very fun as well.

What I didn't like:

The location is secluded, so do not expect to just leave the hotel and go around the city to eat cheap authentic Mexican food.

Restaurant prices are the same as in California (where I'm from), or even higher.

Ocean is warm, but due to dark sand the water is not as clear. Other beached, that require driving, have much clear water.

With that many pools I have not see a single hot tub.

Our room was smelling very moldy.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Grupo Vidanta, General Manager at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta
Responded Jun 7, 2021
Dear olegs131, We are pleased that you chose The Grand Mayan for your vacation and thank you for sharing your review with us. We are glad to learn you thought our resort was nice, you enjoyed our pools and facilities. However, we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. For that reason, this will be all shared with the appropriate areas as we are constantly striving to achieve the highest level of guest satisfaction. We would like to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts. Sincerely, The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neils57 asked a question Apr 2024
Ormond Beach, Florida94 contributions30 helpful votes
Are there any cigar shops in vidanta
Answer from Ash L
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The resort is cashless. You can sharge everything to the room. We left our bags around and they were fine. We only brought one of our phones at a time just in case but never had an issue. The activities (at least the ones we did) are included and do not cost anything.
Answer from vogtcrew5
Wilsonville, Oregon47 contributions20 helpful votes
Beach loungers under umbrellas, absolutely. We didn’t check into other rentals.
RP44 asked a question Mar 2024
Fargo, North Dakota1 contribution1 helpful vote
Do they have a smoking area?
Answer from duan R
3 contributions
Resort is make fee
Hector L wrote a tip Jun 23
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid RCI at all costs and Vidanta too! It’s made pretty complicated to move around and out of the place so that you stay there forever."
Read full review
Moises R wrote a tip Jun 20
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t be afraid to use the telephone; they’re very responsive. "
Read full review
James U wrote a tip Jun 15
Portsmouth, Virginia76 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book with the hotel and not an agent."
Read full review
Miguel Carbonell wrote a tip Jun 14
New York City, New York9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good place to be "
Read full review
Xai C wrote a tip Jun 8
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"explore, there’s so much to see "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nuevo Nayarit area.
PRICE RANGE
C$941 - C$1,115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand mayan nuevo vallarta hotel nuevo vallarta, wyndham nuevo vallarta, grand mayan resort nuevo vallarta, grand mayan puerto vallarta
LOCATION
MexicoPacific CoastNayaritRiviera NayaritNuevo Nayarit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta
Which popular attractions are close to The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta?
Nearby attractions include Marina Nuevo Vallarta (0.7 km), Playa Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta (0.5 km), and Stage and Forum Nuevo Vallarta (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gong, Maizul, and Café Del Lago at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta have airport transportation?
Yes, The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parroquia de San Miguel Arcangel Church (7.9 km).
All Nuevo Nayarit HotelsNuevo Nayarit Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Nuevo NayaritHotels near The Grand Mayan at Vidanta Nuevo Vallarta
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars