We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mar Mac Lodge

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 campsite in Lake Esnagi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mar Mac Lodge is a remote fly-in or train-in wilderness vacation hotspot in Northern Ontario. We specialize in all-inclusive style fishing and wilderness vacations on Esnagi Lake, north of Wawa and Sault Ste. Marie, in beautiful Algoma Country. The business has been and continues to be family owned and operated through multi-generations. We know how to ensure the most successful of wilderness vacations!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Suites
Family rooms

Location

Lake Esnagi, Ontario Canada
Mar Mac Lodge
15Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
E D wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Excellent stay at Mar Mac Lidge. The food was fantastic, all facilities were clean and updated - very nice staff and hosts. The boats were cleaned each night and dock staff was very helpful. Definitely planning a return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Johnston, Owner at Mar Mac Lodge
Responded Nov 7, 2023
Thanks so much for taking the time to review Mar Mac Lodge. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Go42884548748 wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
A trip to Mar Mac is indeed a pleasant fishing experience! The accommodations are complete and comfortable and their dedicated staff are wonderful and helpful at every turn. The cedar strip boats are comfortable and reminescent is earlier times. We did the American plan and the food was both delicious and plentiful. The fishing was great and the shore lunch prepared by our great guide provided the freshest, sweetest fried Walleye one could experience. Director Ken is very personable and helpful with any issue. I will surely look forward to returning to Mar Mac for another great fishing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Johnston, Owner at Mar Mac Lodge
Responded Jul 8, 2023
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent Mar Mac vacation. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to host you again in the future. Enjoy the remainder of your summer!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marisa S wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
+1
My fiance and I look forward to our trip every year! Were not the best at fishing but the guides have 5+ years of experience on the lake and seem to always know the spot to cast your lure! Our main activity of choice is getting out in the canoes to explore the beautiful shore lines, hiking trails and islands that surround the lodge. Food is not only delicious, but also abundant. Staff is extremely helpful, owners are welcoming and you won't find cleaner cabins anywhere. 11/10 recommend
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Johnston, Owner at Mar Mac Lodge
Responded Jun 7, 2023
We are so happy to hear you enjoy your time at Mar Mac Lodge! Thanks for taking the time to review our services and share your favourite activities. We look forward to seeing you both again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dannysfree wrote a review Dec 2022
25 contributions13 helpful votes
Stayed at the outpost in 2018 and again in 2022. The maintenance seemed to be nonexistent. Deck was rotten and dangerous. Fishing was pretty good with lots of big pike and walleye. Prices were very high compared to many other lodges we have stayed at over the many years in Ontario. Exchange rate was poor. Really cannot recommend this place over the many other lodges I actually would try the other lodges on the lake first
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Johnston, Owner at Mar Mac Lodge
Responded May 17, 2023
Hi Dan, Thank you for reviewing your stay at the NORTHEND OUTPOST on Esnagi Lake. First off we want to apologize for just noticing this review and responding so far beyond the date you wrote it. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations of a remote outpost location. The Northend Outpost is 26 miles away from Mar Mac Lodge. Outpost stays are not lodge stays and unlike a Mar Mac stay, a service and maintenance team is not on site. We do wish you would have alerted the Mar Mac representative who visited you mid-stay to any concerns you had, or contacted us upon your return home in September in order we could have addressed the issues directly. We would have invited your group to come and stay directly at Mar Mac Lodge. In regards to the exchange rate, we do offer a fair exchange, equal to that you'd be charged at a bank or on your credit card (often better than what a credit card company will offer after they charge additional fees). We do not control international exchange rates. Please understand that the pandemic took a toll on the remote hospitality industry and we are all still in recovery. Businesses were forced to increase rates due to the increased costs of supplies, transportation of said supplies, and insurance that occurred. Thank you for your business and we wish you a successful 2023 angling vacation wherever it may be.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
HappyTraveler wrote a review Jun 2021
Barrie, Canada9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Last week we had a great fishing trip to Mar Mac lodge. We have fished for walleye at many different lodges over the last 30 years, both northern Ontario and elsewhere. This was our first time at Mar Mac and one of our best trips ever. Due to COVID, we had to wait 18 months since we booked to get there, and it was worth the wait! Mar Mac lives up to its top- notch reputation. We caught a lot of good-sized walleye over the week we were there, topping out on our last day with a 30 incher. Beyond the fishing, the food is great. Given the lodge building had to remain closed to guests due to COVID, we enjoyed patio dining for breakfasts and dinners, and a couple great shore lunch fish fries with guide Aaron. We’ve had good fishing at other lodges, but what really set Mar Mac apart for us, is their service. Both before, as we navigated COVID, and while we were there, Debbie and Ken were very attentive. Emily’s service on the patio was excellent. And all of the staff are very customer service-oriented and friendly. Amazing dock service. One of our boats left their cooler of bevvies and lunch on the dock one day whey they headed out. The dock staff boated out and found us half way down the lake, to deliver our cooler to us. Thanks Mar Mac, we’ll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Johnston, Owner at Mar Mac Lodge
Responded Jul 1, 2021
Thank you very much for your kind words! It makes us happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting your group again 😊.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
WeLoveFoodTrucks wrote a review Jun 2021
Niagara Falls, Canada40 contributions25 helpful votes
We had the pleasure of visiting Mar Mac for our annual walleye fishing trip June 12th to the 20th. Mar Mac is a first class lodge. There is an attention to detail that we haven't experienced at other lodges. The service was excellent! Comfortable well maintained cabins and grounds. Good dining, comfortable geisler boats with excellent motors that are well suited for the lake. As other reviewers have noted the walleye fishing was very good with quality fish. We caught a number of trophy size fish as well as plenty of eaters. We had Aaron guide us the first day to show us the lake and prepare a shore lunch. COVID restrictions didn't allow us to take advantage of the main lodge but the weather cooperated and we dined 'al fresco' for most meals. We had a great time and plan to return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Johnston, Owner at Mar Mac Lodge
Responded Jul 1, 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our services. We really enjoyed hosting your group and are super happy that you had a great time! We look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Todd Mackie wrote a review Jun 2021
5 contributions
+1
If you want to catch trophy fish after trophy fish, this is the place to go. We just came back from a 4 day adventure where we caught 183 fish (Pike and Walleye), 133 of those were all over 22" and 50 of them were 25"-29.5"(Just talking walleye). Ken and Debbie run a great camp, there's great fishing guides if you need help finding the spots. We also landed 3 personal best Pike ranging from 9-10.7 lbs. If you love fishing this is the spot.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All the cabins I've stayed in are great. Vertical log cabins with great decks to share fish...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Johnston, Owner at Mar Mac Lodge
Responded Jun 15, 2021
Thanks so much for staying with us and especially for taking the time to write a review. We're happy to hear you and your dad had such a succussful fishing trip. We had a lot of fun going through your photos and watching your video too!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BonnieC wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
My husband and I stayed at the lodge from Thursday August 20th to Sunday the 23rd. From the moment the sea plane landed at the dock, we were spoiled by Ken his lovely wife Debbie and their daughter Emily. Our cabin was perfect, all you needed and then some. Food was very tasty and plentiful with lots of accommodation for special dietary needs. As this was my first fly in fishing experience I did not know what to expect. The cedar boats, all the gear we needed was there and waiting for us(we rode to White River in our motorcycles). The fishing was great. We had a guide day with Aaron as well as a fantastic shore lunch. It was really worry free. I definitely want to go back, the scenery was spectacular and waking up to more loons than I’ve ever seen in one place was magical! Hope you enjoy your trip as much as we did.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Johnston, Owner at Mar Mac Lodge
Responded Oct 19, 2020
Thanks so much! We loved having you visit during our 2020 pandemic season and look forward to hosting you in a more normalized future :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David T wrote a review Sep 2019
Sunfield102 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
MarMac Lodge is definitely a destination that should be on every outdoor lovers bucket list. Ken & Deb and their staff work hard to make sure that every customer has a great experience. The accommodations (cabins) are clean, comfortable, and have full kitchens, and all the comforts of home! Bring your own groceries and cook your own meals, or opt for the American plan, where meals are provided. The meals are very delicious and satisfying. They offer fly-in or train-in options and several different length of stay choices. I have opted for the seven night option for several years. Fishing packages include the use of 18ft Giesler wooden boats, motors, fuel, and dock service. The fishing on Esnagi Lake is great! The 27 mile long lake has very healthy walleye, northern pike, whitefish, and perch. Beautiful sunsets are always enjoyed out on the lake!! Give MarMac Lodge a try... you won't be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from marmaclodge, Owner at Mar Mac Lodge
Responded Sep 18, 2019
Thanks Dave! It is very important to us to provide successful wilderness vacations and we are happy to know you have enjoyed your stays. We look forward to seeing your group again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ellen MacDougall wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
Just finished my second visit to Mar Mac and I hated to leave. Great fishing, great boats, great accommodations, great meals and everyone treats you well. If you like fishing GO!!! Great place for a couple, or a family get away. Esnagi Lake is a huge, beautiful lake that has so many fishing spots for Walleye and Pike. I am already thinking about planning another trip. I have used the train and have flown in on services of White River Air. While both are great, the plane ride in over the lakes and Northern Ontario landscape is the way to go. There is something about just getting away, truly away from it all, and having the pleasure of such comfortable accommodations that really makes it great. The lake has huge Walleye and Pike that make the fishing special. Thanks Debbie and Ken for being great hosts!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from marmaclodge, Owner at Mar Mac Lodge
Responded Aug 25, 2019
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your vacation at Mar Mac Lodge. Thanks so much for the review!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lake Esnagi area.
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioNortheastern OntarioLake Esnagi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Mar Mac Lodge - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Mar Mac Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Mar Mac Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a business centre.
What food & drink options are available at Mar Mac Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Mar Mac Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mar Mac Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.