We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elk + Avenue Hotel

Traveller (334)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (293)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Just a few steps from the quaint streets and ample restaurants, shopping and nightlife of downtown Banff, Elk + Avenue Hotel brings an upscale twist to the classic mountain escape. Whether you're looking for a relaxing après-ski sanctuary or a big night on the town, our contemporary designed rooms pair clean, minimalist design with cozy Rocky Mountain-inspired elements to create the ideal accommodation for exploring the best of Banff.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Sauna
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
1,992Reviews
655Photos
22Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 663
  • 800
  • 353
  • 124
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
When we first arrived at this hotel we stood at reception in front of a girl with a sour face - no smile to greet us. She was busy doing something on the computer as was the other girl. I always appreciate warm hospitality and do expect this if I have paid good money to stay
Read more
I wouldn't recommend staying at this property unless the weather is consistent (middle of winter, middle of summer). What was explained to us is that with the swing in temperature, the AC cannot keep up or accommodate. The room was boiling hot, and we had to switch rooms. We
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from PursuitBanff, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay. We appreciate knowing where we excel and where we need to improve. Last summer, we installed a new A/C system which fulfills the dual role of providing heat in winter. Due to a long spell of -30C weather in February, we disabled the A/C function. Unfortunately, enabling the A/C back to normal was not as simple once warm weather hit in March. Today however the entire cooling system has been reset and guests can once again control the cooling to their desire. Again, we appreciate the feedback as the comfort of our guests is forefront in our minds. Warm Regards, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Elk + Avenue Hotel
Read more
We had such a wonderful time at this hotel! The location is amazing and so close to everything! Rooms are absolutely beautiful and the service was top notch! Will definitely be going back everytime we are in Banff. Very impressed!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from PursuitBanff, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for sharing your amazing time at the Elk + Avenue. I was delighted to read that you were very impressed and that you found the service top notch and the rooms absolutely beautiful. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I look forward to seeing you again. Warm Regards, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Elk + Avenue Hotel
Read more
The hotel is a fantastic place to stay right at the top of the main street with bars and shops. The hotel staff were fantastic and could not do enough to help you. The included breakfast was a great set up for a days skiing and the ski bus stops outside the hotel. If I had one
Read more
Response from PursuitBanff, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Elk + Avenue. It is a great pleasure to hear that you had a great holiday and found our hotel a fantastic place to stay. Your comment that the staff 'could not do enough to help you' is very warmly appreciated. It is also great to know that you found the breakfast a great setup for skiing. I will make sure our teams are aware of your gracious feedback and we hope to see you again. Warm Regards, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Elk + Avenue Hotel
Read more
A lovely hotel, with good restaurant and bar. the staff were friendly however, the room was hot despite the air con. Also incredibly disappointing that we had a room on the third floor for four days with no view except that of the flat roof of the second floor.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from PursuitBanff, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for choosing the Elk + Avenue Hotel for your recent stay and for submitting a review. I am very pleased to hear that you found our hotel lovely and that the restaurant and bar stood out in particular. It is unfortunate that you could not be assigned a room with a view. As much as possible based on availability, we are happy to assign guests to a room with a view. The week you stayed was busier than usual mid-week as there was an annual conference in town. Should you visit us again, please put in a request before arrival and we will do everything we can to accommodate. Warm Regards, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Elk + Avenue Hotel
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorElk + Avenue Hotel
The Modern Two Queen at the Elk + Avenue Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorElk + Avenue Hotel
The Deluxe One King at the Elk + Avenue Hotel
We had a very quite room but not much of a view form this one.
PreviousNext
12345658
Does this hotel have air conditioners in the rooms?
Yes they do.
1 vote
Show all answers
Does this room sleep 6?
The room we had had 2 queen size beds.
0 votes
Show all answers
Their phone number is listed online as +1 403-762-5666; hope that's helpful!
0 votes
Are you guys dog friendly
We did not see any provision for dogs but we weren't looking as we didn't have dogs
1 vote
Show all answers
As the above response I booked with trailfinders and all was fine. The Hotel commented on my review you might be able to contact them via that. Sorry I can't be more helpful.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345
"Can't guarantee views from the room as hotel is corner plot facing residential houses/supermarket on 2 sides."
"Quieter rooms are on the top floor, not facing Banff Avenue."
"Hopefully they work on their customer service issues"
"Ask for a room towards the back if you need quiet."
"If you can get a room facing the back it would probably be quieter."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
banff international hotel
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesBanff National ParkBanff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
162
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing