We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

917 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 855: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Stayed here for one night as part of my daughter and I's girls getaway. Upon arrival they were jack hammering tiles next door to the front desk making it impossible to properly communicate with the front desk agent. We had a 10% off coupon from the Sutp coupon book we bought to support local schools. The gentleman at the front...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Jennifer G
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 22 March 2015 via mobile

This hotel claims to be newly renovated well it's an extremely poor job and you're paying for it every second! We stayed at the 4 bedroom wolf condo, "newly renovated" meant pot lights hanging from the roof, a shower without proper cocking, a sink so plugged in the upstairs bathroom it wouldn't drain, a radiator that rattled all night and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J-R A
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 13 March 2015

We spent a lovely weekend at the Rocky Mountain Resort from March 6-8, 2015. From the moment we got there we were greeted by extremely friendly front desk staff. I wish I could remember the name of the staff member who was helped me throughout our stay, he went beyond what he had to do throughout our stay and always...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan J
Reviewed 13 March 2015 via mobile

My s/o and I stayed here last summer and we thought it was amazing! They gave us a free upgrade to the wolf suite, which was a nice surprise. The kitchen was stocked with basic cooking/eating supplies and everything was very clean. The service was great. Everyone we super kind and helpful. Yes the place looks a little dated, but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie B
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

We stayed here the last weekend of February to have a romantic weekend away and it was great. We stayed in the one bedroom wolf condo suite and it was super cute. Everything was renovated and the bed was super comfy. It had a fireplace in it and we were able to order firewood and build a small fire every...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amber D
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your comments by writing a review.

England
Reviewed 6 March 2015

Group of 5 adults stayed in a four bedroomed Wolf condo. This was spacious, clean and well equipped, and made for a very comfortable place to stay. Beds were very comfortable, and there is plenty of seating in the lounge area. We lit the log fire on most evenings - very cosy. Housekeeping was very good, lots of clean towels,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Family-reviewer
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Yes, the four bedroom wolf suites are great for families or a large group. We are working on plans to upgrade the pool area and changerooms and hope to do it this fall. Presently, renovated the main floor of the gatehouse. Glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your comments.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 March 2015

Stayed there for 1 week, had 2 bedroom condo, quite dated, small for 4 adults, room smelled of curry, bathroom smelled or urine but they did send someone to clean it. Not very well cleaned upon our arrival. Cleaning inconsisent. Would not stay there again. Have stayed at Douglas Fir a few years ago but it was booked. Was better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apology that your room was not cleaned to our usual standard upon your arrival at the resort. Yes, the shuttle is popular with guests we run the shuttle until everyone gets to town. We are busiest on the weekends in the early evenings. I hope you will reconsider staying with us again. Thank you for your...

Canada
Reviewed 3 March 2015 via mobile

I loved this hotel! The rooms are a bit dated (unless you have a renovated room) but the service we received was awesome, the room was clean and spacious, the bed was comfortable, the gas fireplace was very nice and relaxing, and to top it off we had an amazing view from our room. The one down side was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Canada05
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it.

Strathmore, Canada
Reviewed 24 February 2015

Our dogs had no complaints but we had to raise our noses not only about the 25.00 per pet charge per night but what they say on their fancy pamphlet about their pet friendly hotel. We chose this hotel because it is some of the few hotels in the national park that takes pets. It is also on the very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chbaldwin B
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

I was very sorry to hear we did not provide your pets with the service they deserved. All I can do is apologize it we did not get it right the first time. I hope you will reconsider and try the resort again. Thank you.

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 22 February 2015

We stayed in a renovated wolf room which was very nice. It was a little cramped for 4 people but everything was very fresh and clean. The kitchen was well stocked with amenities. The staff were very helpful and called us a cab and connected us to dominoes pizza. The lobby was a bit dated and the pool was rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taysak
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments. We hope you will come back soon and see the renovations we will have complete by June in the lobby area. Excited about the changes and the new look we will have.

567 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (82)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (326)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Junior Suite Two Double Beds (37)
Viewed
One Bedroom Condo (61)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
Wolf Two Bedroom Condo (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.5 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
1,982 reviews
2.6 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,073 reviews
2.3 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.2 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.9 km away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. Indoor 15m swimming pool • Indoor and Outdoor hot tub • 171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone • Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy • Tennis and squash courts • Onsite Laundry Facilities • Free parking and wired or wireless internet access • Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $134 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort Alberta
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Banff Rocky Mountain Resort staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Banff Rocky Mountain Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs rms are quieter. Rms on the E side have a better BBQ area, while rms on the W are closer to the pool/hot tub/bar/restaurant.”
450lubam, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an upper unit so that you don't have to listen to every footstep above you.”
DancingDivaJudy, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Second floor has a nicer view”
mvmaithai, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Dont think you could really have a bad unit. Lots of stairs!!”
D2943WMkimo, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Away from the highway would be best.”
ABCalifornia_dreamer, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5