We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,033: English reviews
Richmond, Texas
Reviewed 23 March 2016

We stay at the Mount Royal every year for approx. two weeks during ski season. What keeps us coming back here are the location, the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms. We have a room that we actually prefer, so we put in a request prior to our arrival and the hotel granted our wish. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverly E
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Hi Beverly E, We all at the Mount Royal Hotel would like to thank you for your wonderful review! I loved hearing that you join us every year for the ski season! Even better to see that the location, our friendly staff and our clean rooms are what keep you returning to us. We really appreciate the positive feedback about...

Albertacce, France
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Too bad this hotel is in ine of the best locations in banff. The rooms were hot the 2am street noise and the lack of parking are the reasons I will not book here again. The staff were friendly enough.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ancB5158UX
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Good day ancB5158UX, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Mount Royal Hotel. We do apologize that your stay was not what you were expecting. Our Maintenance team is working hard to ensure all our guest rooms are the best possible temperature they can be within the standards of the historic status of the...

Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights here. Location is fantastic, rooms ok. We had room on the second floor and could hear banging and footsteps from the floor above. We could also hear walking and talking from the hallway in the middle of the night. The rooms are comfortable, but need an update. There is no fridge in your room which is bizarre,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kellie W
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Hi Kellie W, Thank you for your 4 star rating of the Mount Royal Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. The Mount Royal Hotel is part of heritage here in the town of Banff! This provides our guests with a nostalgic stay, however, the age of the building does have its limits in some...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 22 March 2016

good but hot tub was dirty and needs major renos and a good coat of paint. Location is great and the rest of the hotel is very nice and clean with friendly staff. Too bad the lounge closes at 11 PM on a Saturday night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q1606MCcharlesd
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Dear Q1606MCcharlesd, Thank you for your review of our Mount Royal Hotel. We take all feedback to heart and look towards the future to see what we can do for improvement of our hotel. Your comments about our hot tub area will be duly noted for this planning process. We will pass your comments about the lounge closing at 11pm...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Excellent Hotel with a friendly staff. There were a few minor issues with the room (hair dryer and lamp didn't work) but they were handled in a timely manner by the staff. The location to shops, restaurants, rental equipment and shuttle service to the mountains was fantastic. I think the longest walk we took was 5 minutes to reach any...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMN1536
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Hi Jmn1536, We thank you for your lovely 4 star review of our Mount Royal Hotel! It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly for you and your partner. I am sorry your hair dryer and lamp weren't working but I am happy to see it was resolved by our...

Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewed 20 March 2016

The rooms on the street side are a bit noisy at night. Bring earplugs. The bed was comfortable, room clean, and staff very helpful. The rooms with King size beds are interior rooms - facing other walls/rooms of the hotel. For a view choose a 2 bed room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BelleCamino
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Good day BelleCamino, We, at the Mount Royal Hotel, thank you for your recent review of our property. It was great to read that you and your partner had a comfortable stay in our clean rooms ! We love hearing such positive feedback on our staff and I will be sharing your kind words with them ! Thank you again...

Kaneohe, Hawaii
Reviewed 20 March 2016

My sister and I were in Banff for three nights during our road trip through Canada. Mount Royal Hotel is in the perfect location, as it is right in the center of the town, and walking distance to restaurants, bars, shops, etc. Our only complaint was the loud noise the toilet and shower made above us. Otherwise, we had a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 675katherinel
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Hi 675katherinel, Thank you for your lovely 4 star rating of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are glad you and your sister enjoyed our perfect location and had a wonderful stay. We apologize for the noise issues you had above your room. The Mount Royal team is working at ways this can be improved for all our future guests. We...

MB
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Very noisy. Simple conversation in next room could be heard clearly. Hallway noise came right around the door. Noise below came through floor too easily. Not the place for a good nights sleep! Is advise requesting a third floor room, if possible. Location is hard to beat though.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 639evane
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Good day 639evane, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Mount Royal Hotel. I was trouble to hear you had issues with the noise levels at our hotel. We are always working hard to ensure the best noise control is in place for our guests. We do apologize this was not the case for...

Reviewed 19 March 2016

I'd like to preface this review with the fact that while I have lurked on tripadvisor for ratings for many years, I'd never actively participated. My experience here at the Mount Royal Hotel motivated me to open an account to hopefully prevent others having a similar experience. On to the review: I write this sitting in my stale-smelling room, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CanadianTlraveller
Chicago
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Large hotel with a lot of atmosphere and friendly staff. Also a good value. There are shuttle buses to the ski resorts that run reliably, but unfortunately it's quite a distance, especially from Louise, and the buses run only approximately once per hour, so you definitely have to plan your day around catching them.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernhard W
Brewsterhospitality1, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Hi Bernhard W, Thank you for the review of our Hotel! We always love hearing from our guests about their recent stay with us! I was so happy to read that you felt our hotel had a lot of atmosphere with friendly staff as it is one of our lovely features at the Mount Royal Hotel! I hope you were...

505 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (237)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Hot Tub (14)
Viewed
Premium King Room (38)
Viewed
Premium Two Queens Room (30)
Viewed
Suite Pinnacle (49)
Viewed
Suite Rundle (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#17 of 32 in Banff
967 reviews
0.1 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.6 km away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#16 of 32 in Banff
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 32 in Banff
1,336 reviews
0.7 km away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 32 in Banff
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range: $135 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal
Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED Banff, Alberta
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Rockville, Indiana
over a year ago
over a year ago
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mount Royal Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The corner suites give ample view of the beautiful mountains!”
 of 5 bubbles CelineDelisle, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room away from the "pub" if you wanna sleep early”
  • the view once you step on the main road. ...a bit of a zom cam in play
 of 5 bubbles virafh, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Good location”
 of 5 bubbles Chino_Mac, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“try and get a room facing the street...cool at night to watch”
 of 5 bubbles DavesIKnow, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“stay somewhere else... but don't go to banff international...that's another dump.”
 of 5 bubbles TRAVELFREAKONE, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5